Opinion Columns

Janis McGregor: A need to express all opinions without being singled out

January 30, 2015 — 

I found Jim Hemig’s editorial of Jan. 23 to be very disturbing.

In my opinion, he assassinated Jim Firth’s character in writing and then named community members in the article that supported his opinion of Mr. Firth. Not only is that extremely tacky but very inappropriate for the publisher of a local newspaper.

Learn more »

Byron York: Obama trolls, talks trash with a purpose

January 29, 2015 — 

Politically, President Obama has never been weaker, after losing both House and Senate. At the same time, he has never talked tougher. There is a connection between the two.

Obama recently told Democratic lawmakers that he’s going to “play offense” in coming months.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: Civil rights — from Sundance, to Selma, to South Carolina

January 29, 2015 — 

PARK CITY, Utah — On March 21, 1915, a motion picture was screened for the first time inside the White House. President Woodrow Wilson sat down to watch D.W. Griffith’s “The Birth of a Nation.”

The film, considered one of the most nakedly racist of all time, falsifies the history of Reconstruction, depicting African-Americans, freed from slavery, as dominant, violent and oppressive toward Southern whites.

Learn more »

Pat Rose: First of its kind GSA Summit a resounding success

January 28, 2015 — 

On Saturday, the Unitarian Universalist Community of the Mountains in Grass Valley was filled with the happy sounds of teenagers attending a summit to learn how to have effective and supportive Gay/Straight Alliances (GSAs) in their high schools.

They and some of their advisors came from 13 schools, including four local high schools and three community colleges. PFLAG and the GSA Network had been working together to plan this GSA Summit and anticipation was high for a wonderful event.

Learn more »

Joyce Hoffman: Tired of the way Grass Valley City Council has been running this town

January 28, 2015 — 

Publisher Jim Hemig’s column recently implied that a member of our community, Jim Firth, should stay out of politics.

Hemig has taken several potshots at Firth, but he cannot tell one of us that we should keep out of politics or stop trying to make a difference.

Learn more »

January 28, 2015 — 

Carrtoon

Learn more »

Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 27, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Jack Sanchez: Nevada Irrigation District holding salmon hostage at Hemphill Dam to avoid correcting water rights violations

January 26, 2015 — 

Salmon are being held hostage by NID to pressure Foothill Water District (FWN), of which Save Auburn Ravine Salmon and Steelhead is a member, to withdraw its formal protest against NID to correct these water rights violations.

“Some have asked what our plan is for this site (Hemphill Dam) and that is a great question,” NID General Manager Remleh Scherzinger wrote. “We are currently negotiating with the Foothill Water Network regarding a filing with the State Water Resource Control Board (SWRCB) and Hemphill is caught in that process. I would imagine that as soon as those talks are complete we would begin working on a long-term solution to our problem.”

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 24, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Susan George: Jobs first for Penn Valley sustainability

January 24, 2015 — 

The State of California mandates high density zoning as a way to ensure that jurisdictions meet their required share of the Regional Housing Need Allocation (RHNA) for low-income housing. Like many rural counties, Nevada County must rezone a number of sites to satisfy this state mandate.

An important step in the process is that the selection of sites to be rezoned is determined locally, providing elected representatives with oversight and the ability to apply sound planning strategies that will encourage sustainable communities.

Learn more »

Toni Gomez: Frankie and Toni reunited after 63 years

January 24, 2015 — 

I was in nurse’s training at O’Connor Hospital in San Jose in 1951, when I met a guy with black curly hair, green eyes and the longest eyelashes I had ever seen.

He also had a smile that lit up the room.

Learn more »

Nancy Garcia: Governmental gridlock, inaction has negative consequences

January 23, 2015 — 

Byron York’s recent column (“Can McConnell really make the Senate better?”) clearly illustrates why our congressional system has been so broken.

Without regard to which party dominates at a given time, the rules of conduct and procedure should not be determined by one single individual who can control and stymie the efforts of 534 elected representatives of the people.

Learn more »

Deborah Wilder: Time to put the rhetoric aside

January 22, 2015 — 

I may not have voted for President Obama, but as my president, I wish him well. I want him to be successful in domestic and foreign policy matters which are in the best interest of Americans.

As I listened to his State of the Union on Tuesday, I was disappointed. He told us that his “only agenda” is what he thought was best for America.

Learn more »

Fran Cole: Volunteerism, generosity form the backbone of our community

January 21, 2015 — 

Just after dawn, we heard the rumble of the trucks with horse trailers coming down the road, and they just kept arriving in a steady stream, trailer after trailer.

The 41-horse rescue near Garden Bar Road had begun, and it was clear from the nonstop parade of trailers that Sammie’s Friends urgent call for help to Gold Country Trails Council and other local groups and volunteers had been decisively answered. The cavalry had arrived, and it consisted of all types of folks: cowboys, ranchers, rescue groups, animal lovers and others. The Union, YubaNet, and TV channels 10 and 13 were also on site to cover the events.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Jan. 21, 2015

January 21, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 20, 2015 — 

Learn more »

William Larsen: It’s time to learn how to get along

January 20, 2015 — 

Christmas season of 2014 found our world more divided than ever: Jew vs. Arab; Russia vs. the West; tribal warfare throughout Africa; our country’s narcissistic polarization of Conservatives vs. Liberals (currently fueled by the rageful pique of the far Right and a looming battle over Obama’s veto pen).

Oh yes, what jolly festivities the new year portends.

Learn more »

Fay Booth: Silver is gold to communities able to attract retirees

January 19, 2015 — 

After reading a recent “Other Voices” column, I’m beginning to think this feature should be titled, “I’m Hearing Voices.”

Because someone is not appointed or elected does not mean “newcomers” are lied about, shut out, or shunned. When you come from another place your past is largely unknown, but that doesn’t make it nonexistent. When one runs for public office, they voluntarily expose themselves and their past. We could argue the fine points (when Jim Firth worked as a legislative assistant for Leland Yee; Yee was not yet a “discredited state senator,” campaign money was not coming directly from any “union”), but the public is not stupid and can form an educated opinion.

Learn more »

Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 17, 2015 — 

Learn more »

PAUL HALSTEAD: A micro-house village in our city?

January 17, 2015 — 

Can the communities of Nevada City/Grass Valley come together to support a micro-house village and new community center with a supported life skills program?

With a carefully planned and well-funded life skills program, a homeless person would be able to transition from a life of poverty and dependence, (a drain on public resources), to one that gives back to the community. Without combined support from local government, the private sector, and a coalition of nonprofit groups, there is virtually no hope of achieving such a proposed model. Funding would be through major private donations, grants, and multi-fundraising campaigns.

Learn more »

Eric Christen: High speed rail project a mistake

January 17, 2015 — 

Two things occurred last week that perfectly demonstrate why California is in the economic mess that it is: Gov. Brown’s inauguration and the groundbreaking of the California High Speed Rail project.

Gov. Brown in his inauguration laid out a vision that he said would lead to a greener, cleaner, and more prosperous California. While most of this vision relied on hyperbole, there was one specific project he identified worthy of billions of dollars we don’t have: “high-speed rail.”

Learn more »

Chuck Frank: Lost rights restored

January 16, 2015 — 

With Judge Dowling’s last and final property rights ruling in favor of Lockyer and Erickson, Nevada County administrators and lawyers must now decide whether to admit defeat or take the four-year old case to the next judicial level, that being the 3rd District Court in Sacramento.

After setting aside $100,000 or more money to fight round one and two, and losing, how much more of the taxpayers money must be wasted by the county chasing a property rights issue that has already been decided by the court? If Nevada County has that much money to gamble with, then it is time for them to also lower property taxes across the board. Furthermore, how much more of taxpayer money is being used with regard to court issues that are clearly unnecessary? Does anyone really know? Where is the accountability for the county’s $200 million yearly budget where lawyers are reaping the benefits and not the people?

Learn more »

Goodman: The other Charlies

January 15, 2015 — 

The massacre at Charlie Hebdo, and the subsequent killing of a policewoman and mass murder at the Hyper Cachet kosher market, shocked the world.

Young fanatics with automatic weapons unleashed a torrent of violence and death, fueled by zealous intolerance. At the Paris offices of Charlie Hebdo, the satiric newsmagazine, 12 were murdered and 11 wounded.

Learn more »

York: Can Mitch Mcconnell really make the Senate better?

January 15, 2015 — 

To outsiders, some of the changes new Majority Leader Mitch McConnell will bring to the Senate might seem like inside baseball. But they could bring about a huge improvement in the way the Senate works.

And that could in turn lead to a huge improvement in the way Washington works.

Learn more »

Valentina Parkman: Not all ‘newcomers’ have had same experience as Firth

January 14, 2015 — 

Jim Firth laments in his Other Voices column, “Politics is a brutal business.” This reminds me of the childhood nursery rhyme, “Nobody likes me, everybody hates me, I think I’ll go eat worms!”

Mr. Firth, maybe it’s some of your opinions you submit to The Union that has caused your failure to be elected to represent the citizens of Grass Valley. You have made it no secret you have served as the president for the Democratic Party, for which some brutal articles have been published against your opponents. After all, it is freedom of speech. It could be, too, that maybe people from both sides of the aisle don’t agree with your vision/opinions.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Jan. 14, 2015

January 14, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 13, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Politics is a brutal business

January 12, 2015 — 

The Grass Valley City Council wants to, “… start having conversations that are actually bettering the community.”

My definition of the phrase “bettering the community” is to provide employment opportunities, offer quality education for our youth, and create a decent quality of life for all of our residents.

Learn more »

Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 10, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Join the League’s effort to inform, engage our community

January 10, 2015 — 

We are all so busy. It is hard enough to make time to connect with friends, or to get into the gym, so how can we find time to participate in our community? How can we make a difference?

The two of us recently had the chance to visit at the League of Women Voters Holiday party. We got to talking about what an insightful, intelligent group of people comprise this organization (yes, men can join too!). They are the “doers” in the community, and it is absolutely inspiring to be around them.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion Columns »
Back to Top