Opinion Columns

Former chief chooses to ‘shoots the messenger’

September 18, 2014 — 

The most vital characteristic that a journalist must possess, whether he or she be reporting on a local, national or global level is the ability to speak truth to power. As any journalist will tell you, when you dare to confront the powerful with their inadequacies they will most often resort to casting aspersions on the speaker — the tried and true “shoot the messenger” technique.

While the tactic is all too common in this business what is striking about former Penn Valley Chief Gene Vander Plaats’ latest attempt (“In fact, all is well in Penn Valley Fire Protection District” The Union, Sept. 17) to employ this strategy is how riddled it is with utter falsehood.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Sept. 18, 2014

September 18, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Hemig: Breakfast with the publisher

September 17, 2014 — 

Want a good breakfast? Want to learn more about your local newspaper? Have a burning question you’ve wanted to ask The Union’s publisher?

Do you have an opinion about the paper, or a specific article? Would you like to support Nevada Union’s High School culinary program?

Learn more »

In fact, all is well in Penn Valley Fire Protection District

September 17, 2014 — 

On Oct. 3, 2013, The Union published an article written by staff writer Matthew Renda regarding the Penn Valley Fire District chief and the board of directors. The bold headline presented on the front page, above the fold was titled “Residents castigate Penn Valley chief, board.”

The article, in the first paragraph, stated “All is not well in the Penn Valley Fire Protection District.” Included in the article were several quotes and accusations made by a resident of the district, Bill Gassaway, described as “a former volunteer with the district.” Renda attended the Board of Directors meeting on Oct. 1, 2013 and witnessed the comments made by Mr. Gassaway. Mr. Renda made contact with me after the meeting and asked for a response to the accusations. I did attempt to provide accurate information and gave Mr. Renda the names and contact information for several people who had direct knowledge of the topics of discussion. It would have been easy for the reporter to obtain the facts on each of the charges Mr. Gassaway made by simply asking the right people the right questions. Mr. Renda apparently chose not to hear facts but to go with Mr. Gassaway’s comments.

Learn more »

Liberal Nat Hentoff lays the “I” word on Obama

September 15, 2014 — 

It is just over one year since Nat Hentoff, long a mainstay of the super-liberal Village Voice, in addition to a PBS fixture and revered doyen of what might be called the coherent Left — and, more recently, a senior fellow at the libertarian Cato Institute — mooted the idea of impeaching the current president (“Bringing civics classes back to schools: Obama impeachment?” The Jewish World Review, May 29, 2013)

The problem, as Hentoff sees it, is Obama’s blatant disregard for the Constitution. In his JWR piece, Hentoff urges all of us, conservative and liberal alike, to please, for the love of Pete, sit up and pay attention. There is deeply troubling stuff being done on this president’s watch, possibly even on his orders, says this long-time icon of the Left. Stuff that matters.

Learn more »

We’re Americans. Aren’t we smarter than that?

September 14, 2014 — 

Growing up in the ’50s, our economy was in full gear and life was good, but my parents remembered the hard times of their youth and taught us the importance of not wasting resources.

Now we consume without thought, sucking natural resources from our environment until Mother Nature screams that there isn’t enough to sustain all. So what do we do? The only thing that an animal as arrogant and shortsighted as a human would do. Don’t fix the problem, just put a pink flowered band-aid on it. That looks better, go home and don’t worry your little head, because all is OK for now.

Learn more »

Are you a fed up Californian with lots of questions?

September 13, 2014 — 

Well, I, and many thousands of others, especially small business owners, are fed up and we’re asking many questions!

Why do we have such oppressive energy mandates? Why are so many individuals and businesses leaving California (5 percent in 2013 alone)? Why are many cattle ranchers’ hands tied to do what is necessary to keep predators (coyotes from the northern states that have protected status in California) from killing their livestock — their livelihood? Why have our legislators not fought for farmers in the Central Valley to get water to their crops so they and their family’s business could survive, rather than protect a fish? Why is it an either or situation in the first place? Is it really about the fish ... or just more partisan politics on the backs of “we the people?”

Learn more »

Special interest folks want it their way

September 13, 2014 — 

When we talk among ourselves it appears the “pursuit of happiness” lines have been blurred.

Some folks say that “we” as a country have peaked. I don’t believe for a moment that statement is true. Instead, those people who think those thoughts may have peaked, but our nation by far is the strongest nation in the world and will continue to be so.

Learn more »

In honor of Women’s Equality Day

September 13, 2014 — 

August 26 was the 94th anniversary of the Constitutional Amendment that granted women the right to vote. The League of Women Voters of Western Nevada County is marking this historic occasion through its ongoing work to engage and empower all potential voters to participate this year.

League members in our community are committed to ensuring that voters have the information they need to participate in elections. The League has scheduled four Candidate Forums for this general election coming on Nov. 4, 2014.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

September 13, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Proposing county authority over public land is ludicrous

September 12, 2014 — 

After reading Mr. Sauer’s Other Voices piece in the Sept. 6 edition of The Union, “A plan to save our forests,” I thought the correct title should be, “A right-wing plan to takeover local national forests,” or maybe, “Norm Sauer’s plan for a Nevada County coup d’état of the Tahoe National Forest.”

It’s really sad! And, as a friend pointed out, “to people who think like Norm does, ‘law’ is just an inconvenience to be used as either a distraction or skirted at the convenience of ideology. It is ironic for people who claim to be Constitutionalists.” Good point!

Learn more »

Do not forget

September 11, 2014 — 

Today, on Sept. 11, 2014, two years have elapsed since Islamic militants attacked the American consulate in Benghazi, Libya, murdering four Americans including U.S. Ambassador Christopher Stevens.

Stevens was the first U.S. ambassador killed while on duty since 1979.

Learn more »

Hemig: The debate to hold the Measure S debate

September 11, 2014 — 

Last Friday, in my column, I announced I would moderate a Measure S debate the evening of Sept. 23.

My column was simple enough. I mentioned the location, date, folks involved and a little about Measure S.

Learn more »

Falls Prevention community event to feature senior chorus

September 9, 2014 — 

The Falls Prevention Coalition will present its seventh annual community event from 9:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. on Wed., Sept. 17. While we always love putting the event together, we are particularly excited that this year we will highlight the “Forever Young Senior Chorus.”

The Coalition decided to begin a chorus for seniors because we learned of research that correlates singing with a reduction in falls … yes, singing! How could we not jump on that emerging data and bring seniors together to sing, since we are interested in any approach that could reduce the alarming rate of falls in Nevada County.

Learn more »

It takes a village idiot

September 9, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Moses, are you out there?

September 9, 2014 — 

Springs of living water flow down from the snowy mountain tops of the Sierras forming waterfalls and rivers of life, touching the earth and following a crystal path of least resistance. Capturing this water and saving it for another day is the job of the Nevada Irrigation District (NID) located in Grass Valley and they’ve been doing this faithfully since 1921.

Back then, the oldest water rights in the state were secured and a blueprint was drawn up as the winter snows finally came, whereby eventually a system of 453 miles of flumes and canals, seven hydroelectric dams and various lakes began bringing precious surface water to 98,000 people as of 2014. What an achievement!

Learn more »

Coaching boys into men

September 7, 2014 — 

The NFL recognizes its “role and responsibility to have a positive impact beyond professional football” – NFL Commissioner, Roger Goodell

Learn more »

Forget platforms, let’s focus on what we love

September 6, 2014 — 

It is political platform season. To me, this is worse than the cold and flu season.

As soon as people hear that you are running for city council, the first question they ask is ... “What is your platform?”

Learn more »

A plan to save our forests

September 6, 2014 — 

Last week our Nevada County Supervisors properly passed a resolution declaring a local state of emergency resulting from our overgrown forests coupled with drought, and the likelihood of catastrophic fire especially in national forests.

They resolved to ask Gov. Brown to get involved and work with the federal government to alleviate this emergency.

Learn more »

4-H is far more than a ‘rural’ program

September 6, 2014 — 

For than more than 100 years, 4-H has been a cornerstone organization for American youth. While, as a community, we’re committed to our farms, ranches, our livestock, and our way of life, we’re even more committed to raising responsible, caring members of society.

4-H is a community of young people across America who are learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills as they work in partnership with caring adults. What does that mean? In 4-H, we are committed to helping young people develop skills that will help them succeed. We want to empower all youth to reach their full potential.

Learn more »

Measure S would weaken county’s marijuana cultivation ordinance

September 6, 2014 — 

For a moment, set aside these facts: that marijuana is listed by the Federal Controlled Substances Act as a Schedule 1 Drug which has a high potential for abuse; that, according to Dr. Mitchell S. Rosenthal founder of Phoenix House, substance abuse treatment and prevention center, “… pot damages the heart and lungs, increases the incidence of anxiety, depression and schizophrenia …”; that marijuana does lasting damage to the brains of adolescents and it impairs learning, memory and judgment according to Dr. Nora Volkow’s research at Northwestern University; that Colorado and Washington states have legalized recreational use of marijuana; that California voters in 1996 approved Prop 215 allowing marijuana cultivation for medical purposes only; and that cities and counties may adopt and enforce ordinances consistent with the state’s health and safety code.

What we do need to focus on right here in Nevada County is Measure “S” on the November ballot. According to Nevada County Supervisor Richard Anderson, proponents of Measure S want voters to replace a liberal ordinance with a more liberal ordinance. The current medical marijuana cultivation ordinance, adopted in May 2012 specifies where, how, and how much medical marijuana may be cultivated in unincorporated residential and agricultural areas of the county. The current ordinance has enforcement, appeal and abatement provisions, and provides the community a means to alleviate nuisance marijuana “grows” and encourages those who legitimately grow it for their personal medical use to be good neighbors.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

September 6, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Now is the time for principled, pragmatic leadership

September 5, 2014 — 

A wise friend of mine, Machen MacDonald, once said to me, “Don’t worry about showing off, just keep showing up.”

I took that advice to heart and continue to apply it to my business, volunteer opportunities and my campaign for Grass Valley City Council.

Learn more »

Hemig: Join us for a Measure S debate

September 5, 2014 — 

Nevada County voters will decide between two radically opposing viewpoints of Measure S on Nov. 4.

Measure S is a proposed revision to the county’s existing medical marijuana cultivation ordinance.

Learn more »

Misguided Israeli policies

September 3, 2014 — 

This letter is in response to the pro-Palestinian political group who often submits articles to this newspaper.

Every time I have read one of their submissions, Israel is portrayed as the tormentor and the party responsible for all of the problems of the Palestinian people.

Learn more »

Continuing contention over property rights

September 3, 2014 — 

A continuing source of community contentiousness is the issue of property rights — what is allowed and what should or shouldn’t be allowed for one’s use of one’s property.

Ideas on use of property range from “sovereign” (“I can do what I want”) to “commons” (land or resources belonging to the community). What is appropriate?

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Sept. 4, 2014

September 3, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Yes, voting really does matter

September 1, 2014 — 

One of my favorite local activities is attending the Nevada County Fair each August. This year the weather was great and last year’s controversy surrounding elephant rides was gone. Locals mingled with visitors, families and extended families alike experienced great music, exhibits, farm animals, Treat Street food, and carnival rides for all ages, while the fair staff was, as always, courteous and helpful.

I also spent some time at a fair booth registering voters. Nevada County has a large percentage of eligible voters registered already, which is great, but there are always people reaching voting age, moving to our county, moving within the county, or changing party affiliation. It was no different this year, with one disappointing exception: more young adults than ever appear uninterested in voting.

Learn more »

Elias: Signs indicate California recovery will last

September 1, 2014 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

It Takes a Village Idiot

September 1, 2014 — 
View 20 More Stories in Opinion Columns »
Back to Top