Opinion Columns

Chris Verrill: I'm with her, now

August 23, 2016 — 

I’m a strong Bernie Sanders supporter. As a Redding, Calif. resident living overseas in China, I started “Beijing for Bernie” more than a year ago when, at just 2 percent in the polls, his candidacy was only idealistic wishful thinking. Because he’s a man of principle. Because he represents integrity and independence from a money driven corrupt two party system. I knocked on doors for him in New Hampshire because I believe he was the best hope for real change in the country.

But he lost. And I have to get over it.

Learn more »

Caleb Dardick: Loving the Yuba to death

August 21, 2016 — 

The Union won’t find any disagreement that “few summer pursuits are as enjoyable for Nevada County residents and visitors as a day out on the Yuba River” (Five Yuba River Swimming Holes to Beat the Summer Heat, July 21).

But when the Yuba Fire broke out upstream of Edwards Crossing 12 days later, the larger public connected the dots long familiar to the South Yuba River Citizens League (SYRCL): the Yuba is in danger of being loved to death.

Learn more »

Sarah Wilson-Daley: There's a reason why Black Lives Matter exists

August 19, 2016 — 

I would like to respond to Dave Glubetich’s recent guest column, “Who’s behind America’s racial tensions.

I am sure that Mr. Glubetich and I agree that no one should ever be shot and killed. I would also like to share that I do not have the right temperament to be a police officer. I am not calm under pressure, and no matter how well trained I might be, I do not think I should ever have a gun. Even with my good intentions, I could easily see myself in a situation in which I could panic and kill someone.

Learn more »

Gary Brown: What part of 'Shall not be infringed' do they not understand?

August 19, 2016 — 

This opinion is to address several “Other Voices” and “Letters to the Editor” columns that have been in the paper with regards to firearms.

What I read are letters and articles written by people stating an opinion from ignorance on the subject of firearms. First, let’s discuss the so called Assault Rifle. There is no such group of military weapon called “Assault Rifle.”

Learn more »

Dick Sciaroni: Misguided notions of government

August 17, 2016 — 

During the current election season, one often hears complaints that America suffers from too much government. Whether in response to workplace rules, gun restrictions, or other myriad governmental regulations, Americans of several persuasions lament what they see as an unwarranted intrusion of government into their lives.

This attack on government, however well-intended, is as misplaced as it is illogical.

Learn more »

Richard Cristdahl: Let's stop the proliferation of harmful cellular towers

August 17, 2016 — 

Verizon is in the process of getting eight cellphone antennas installed on top of Friar Tuck’s building, owned and governed by a board composed of Nevada County and the families of Gary Tintle and Ken Baker. Now this board is going to jeopardize our health, property values, and opens up our historical district to franchises for thousands of dollars in rent.

Most of the installation of new cell towers that is going on now is for competitive reasons, with other cell phone companies and to offer more services because cell phones are being used for more purposes other than phone communications. This seems like a ploy to make phone use seem necessary, to go along with their addictive nature, which makes us willing to risk health and even life to continue using them, like the cigarette companies all over again.

Learn more »

Janis McGregor: Meckler out of touch

August 16, 2016 — 

I just re-read Meckler’s Other Voices column and am astounded that he is on The Union’s Editorial Board, which to me implies that he at least reads or looks at news!

His statement that Trump and his family are scandal free is amazing given that practically every news cycle is devoted to another Trump scandal! If Trump isn’t insulting someone or lying with every statement, he is being sued.

Learn more »

Brian Evans: Nevada County gathers, dances and laughs together at Dancing With Our Stars

August 16, 2016 — 

For the uninitiated, Dancing With Our Stars is a hugely popular annual competition in which local “celebrities” are paired with professional dancers to battle against other couples for a treasured mirror ball trophy, and a lifetime of bragging rights.

The fourth annual show will take place Saturday, Aug. 20, at the Veteran’s Hall, and an entirely new crop of brave celebrities are polishing up their dancing shoes at this very moment, preparing to slide, shimmy, groove and spin their way to victory.

Learn more »

Paul Molino: Who actually is acting 'entitled' here?

August 15, 2016 — 

I had breakfast with an old friend who expressed disappointment in how youth nowadays seem to feel entitled to resources that we may not have had in our youth. But it is often people like us at retirement age who feel the most entitled.

The youth I know are working or studying hard and investing their own time and money.

Learn more »

Jonathan Collier: Building trust

August 15, 2016 — 

Historically, there’s been little trust between the cannabis growers and county leadership. What we’ve been trying to do is to build trust in our community. There is no better opportunity than right now.

When the Board of Supervisors put the question to the voters asking Nevada County, “Shall an ordinance be adopted which (a) bans outdoor cultivation, commercial cultivation and other commercial cannabis activities ...?” They trusted the voters to make an intelligent and informed decision.

Learn more »

Other Voices: MaryJane Huenegardt and Tracy Pepper

August 14, 2016 — 

Over the last year and a half, I (MaryJane) have been honored to serve as the League of Women Voters of Western Nevada County’s publicity director. This time period has been an exciting one for the League.

We’ve hosted relevant programs and forums, engaged with community organizations to empower voters with information, and partnered with dozens of local businesses to hold a wildly successful “Get Out the Vote” campaign driving voters to the elections. Thanks to the efforts of our membership director, we’ve well more than doubled in size, to 142 members.

Learn more »

Tony Hardwick: Make America better

August 12, 2016 — 

In reference to the column written by Stan Meckler in The Union on Aug. 4, I must comment on his rhetoric.

Obviously this is a most unusual election year. I do not know where the Tea Party went. Donald Trump has completely overshadowed them. They appear to be a nonentity, faded to oblivion. But we do know where its founder, Stan Meckler stands. It is with Donald Trump. The title of his piece echoes the rhetoric of Donald Trump, “Ready to make America great again.”

Learn more »

Melinda Douros: Thanks to Campus Life, for a job well done

August 11, 2016 — 

An extraordinary thing happened in Nevada County last week. Well over 100 high school students abandoned their electronic devices and their teenage angst and put on their very best selves for a trip that demands of all courage and personal growth.

For seven days, students in Nevada County Campus Life, along with college-age and adult mentors, backpacked into and out of Royal Gorge, a forbiddingly steep canyon, aptly named, far up the American River. They hiked in heat and rough terrain, each carrying their week’s worth of food and supplies. They met up with rattlesnakes and angry hornets, dealt with injuries and sickness, fatigue, discouragement, and dehydration.

Learn more »

Robert Morgan: Athletic endeavors taking priority over academics?

August 10, 2016 — 

Mr. Jeff Dellis is a great man. He is a tremendous teach, role model for the students, basketball coach, track coach, debate coach, and now athletic director for Nevada Union High School.

Mr. Dellis is attempting to make Nevada Union more competitive by changing from the challenging Sierra Foothill League by reducing the number of NU students in making the Ghidotti Early College High School students ineligible to participate by the fall of 2018.

Learn more »

Charlene Andrews: A tribute to a humble and faithful servant

August 9, 2016 — 

LivingWell Medical Clinic’s staff and volunteers want to honor the amazing life of Beverly Louise Forner.

She peacefully died on March 28, 2016.

Learn more »

Frederic Christie: Your entitlement is showing

August 9, 2016 — 

When the Air Force fails nuclear security tests routinely and when global warming threatens human viability, it’s always grotesque to open up a newspaper and see someone spouting off that “political correctness is killing us” rather than real threats.

Bob O’Brien seems to believe that it’s never acceptable to call someone’s argument racist. I assume Mr. O’Brien is willing to call arguments unfounded or immoral. Why is it censorship to call an idea bigoted but not to call it perverse, as conservatives often do? O’Brien preemptively prevents an entire line of criticism from being used because he doesn’t like it, which is the exact kind of intellectual censorship he criticizes.

Learn more »

Ken Eslick: Together we can make a difference

August 9, 2016 — 

We, as members of Lions International numbering over 1.4 million members worldwide, would like you to know that we, along with the vast majority of you, abhor violence that sometimes plagues our communities.

All of us wish that there was something that we might do to help bring all of our people together and change hateful opinions on those who would do harm to others. Hate, bigotry, and prejudice have no place in our society and all of us would like to eliminate those ideas from our community and country. It’s difficult to know what can be done to impact the ideology of those that seek to bring harm to others either by word or deed.

Learn more »

Tantra Maat: Mob mentality at Nevada City special meeting

August 8, 2016 — 

I found what happened at the town meeting concerning Reinette Senum very disturbing. What I find disturbing is that the police in Nevada City took advantage of a moment to incite mob mentality, and were not there to bring about peaceful resolution.

This frightens me not only for Reinette Senum, but for all citizens who have the right to express their concerns correct or incorrect. Mob mentality is beginning to rule our country in many areas. It is a concern for me to see it near me in an area considered spiritually and socially progressive. I think we as citizens need to look at what we wish to have rule us. There is one danger always to a community. It is when one section of the community gathers together to harm a member of the community through accusation and through their action bring destruction upon the whole.

Learn more »

Phil Zink: On inaction of Nevada City Council

August 8, 2016 — 

The recent events involving council member Senum are both disturbing and telling.

No one can dispute the fact that Ms. Senum’s vile comments concerning law enforcement agencies in which she alleges that these public agencies operate under some sort of “license-to-kill” standard are both inaccurate and ignorant. These comments are not “insightful,” but they do “incite” the very type of violence she purports to abhor.

Learn more »

Julie Reaney: Senum needs to be the bigger one

August 8, 2016 — 

Public statements made by those who have responsibilities to and authority over any group of residents, are often either taken at face value or carefully examined.

Words are powerful. They can burst forth without premeditation or be carefully chosen. But when those words produce highly negative reactions and potential consequences, the speaker may claim he/she has been misunderstood, so the words may be rephrased in numerous ways,modified, retracted or clung to and falsely apologized for.

Learn more »

Marge Kaiser

August 8, 2016 — 

Dear Mayor Phelps, council members, Chief Foley and police officers:

Nevada City has gotten much attention outside our own region. In light of the dispute between Reinette Senum, the council and the police department, it would seem best to let things settle down.

Learn more »

Dave Glubetich: Who's behind America's racial tensions?

August 5, 2016 — 

Race relations are a contentious subject today in America. Tensions are the highest they’ve been in years, despite having an African-American in the presidency.

There are many theories, opinions and suggested solutions. However most miss the boat.

Learn more »

Sharon Delgado: We who believe in freedom shall not rest

August 5, 2016 — 

I have been horrified by recent shootings of police officers, and my prayers go out to their families and colleagues.

At first I was concerned that the strict nonviolence practiced by the Black Lives Matter movement had been compromised, so I was relieved to hear that the gunmen were not part of the movement. Because, you see, I support Black Lives Matter.

Learn more »

Terry McLaughlin: Women of Worth aptly named

August 4, 2016 — 

Domestic violence is a problem everywhere in the country. While men are sometimes the victims of domestic violence, surveys suggest that approximately 80 percent of domestic violence victims are female.

Some evidence suggests that there are more domestic violence victims per capita in California than the national average. That evidence does not necessarily mean that women in California are at greater risk of becoming victims, but it does point to the need for California to make a greater commitment to helping these victims.

Learn more »

Brian Berry: Trump presidency a dangerous one

August 3, 2016 — 

I find it amazing that people I consider highly intelligent fail to see the threat posed by a Trump win.

They must have read how Hitler, who like Trump, thought himself infallible, also used division, fear and hate to divide a nation. He then rose to lead Germany and as a result gave us World War II. Trump talks about Muslims and Hispanics in the same way Hitler talked about Jews. Hitler rounded up all those he saw as threat to Germany in the same way Trump promises to do here in the USA.

Learn more »

Douglas Moon: Working diligently to save Bridgeport bridge

August 2, 2016 — 

In response to George Boardman’s July 25 column, “Grand slam for parks, but swing and miss for Bridgeport bridge,” he might not have been aware of the substantial progress that has been made in the effort to save the historic covered bridge.

Mr. Boardman states that it took 18 months after the bridge was closed before our local representatives “started making noise” about the bridge closing. He does not recognize that at that same time the South Yuba River State Park itself was threatened with closure. For the next full year, all of our local political bodies, plus local schools and hundreds of community members fought to save the park from closing. Only after that effort was successful, were we able to turn our energies towards “Saving Our Bridge.”

Learn more »

Greg Bulanti: Understand the impact of Propositions 90, 60 on your property taxes

July 31, 2016 — 

As part of our role as the voice of real estate locally, the Nevada County Association of Realtors provides informative information about issues that affect local property sales prices and the overall health of our county’s housing economy.

Voters in the State of California approved Proposition 90 in November 1988. The primary goal of Prop. 90 is to allow senior citizens to sell their homes in high-demand areas while retaining their low property tax base for the next purchase. The financial benefit of Proposition 90 is only for 55 year and older homeowners as this measure allows qualifying members of the Baby Boomer generation to move from one county to another, staying in California, without an increase in the homeowner’s property tax base.

Learn more »

Paula Orloff: Nevada City and other police departments

July 31, 2016 — 

It is understandable that our police association rejected the comment of Nevada City Councilmember Reinette Senum in an informal Facebook post.

She implicated all police for the attacks on blacks across the U.S. and for the deplorable murders of Dallas policemen as a backlash.

Learn more »

Nancy Mitchell: Winners and losers

July 29, 2016 — 

Well, the No on W organizers pulled every underhanded trick in the book to make sure that Measure W would not pass.

They brought in thousands of dollars from outside the county from their pot lobbyists, they put out ads that were completely misleading, ie: Law Enforcement Against Measure W, which came from one man in Southern California. They knew darn well that our county law enforcement was for Measure W. They also ran a huge ad that said our vets would not get the help they needed if the measure passed,

Learn more »

Eric Robins: Political correctness is a bogeyman

July 29, 2016 — 

In a recent issue of The Union, columnist Bob O’Brien wrote about how he feels “political correctness” is a scourge that is destroying Americans’ ability to effectively communicate with one another.

I will leave aside his explanation that the source of political correctness, the Frankfort School, is a communist entity responsible for modern immorality, and instead give you a young person’s perspective on this PC culture that he says has a death grip on the nation’s discourse.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion Columns »
Back to Top