Letters to the Editor

Blessed with caring local business owners

October 22, 2014 — 

It was in August when I saw firsthand the value of a local business that caters to locals. I stopped in to get a bite to eat only to see the proprietor refusing money from a woman who was alarmingly thin. The proprietor insisted that the customer pay when she was better.

When the customer left, I was told by the owner of the business that the thin woman had come in about once a week for the last two months and looked thinner every time. The poor thin woman insisted that she repay the owner for services previously rendered, but was clearly unable to care for herself.

Learn more »

Is Measure S about snake oil?

October 22, 2014 — 

Airing locally is a pro Measure S ad about Charlotte Figi, a Colorado child who suffered devastating epilepsy and about her parents’ use of Realm Oil (a drug derived from hemp containing little to none of THC which produces the Marijuana “high”) to reduce the frequency of the child’s seizures.

Of course, the problem with unregulated drugs is that their strength and purity are unknown. In 1906, laws were enacted which outlaw concoctions then being peddled by snake oil salesmen. Cocaine being the mainstay ingredient of those bygone potions.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin has right ‘temperament’ for judge

October 22, 2014 — 

The Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines “temperament” as the usual attitude, mood, or behavior of a person. Having the proper temperament is a crucial attribute to any person hoping to be judge.

A judge must treat everyone who enters the courtroom with courtesy and respect. A judge must present impartiality in demeanor, words and actions. Every person who goes before a judge deserves a person who is thoughtful, respectful and fair, regardless of the merits of the case.

Learn more »

Kudos to the 911 team

October 22, 2014 — 

Recently, at my acupuncture office, a gentleman broke out in a profuse sweat and seemed disoriented on my treatment table. Although I suspected low blood sugar was the cause, I was concerned that he might be having a coronary event, so before I checked his blood sugar, not wanting to lose any time at all, I called 911.

After the call, I checked his blood sugar, and indeed, he was hypoglycemic. I gave him some juice and he was soon restored.

Learn more »

No trick — just a treat

October 20, 2014 — 

Autumn approaches and candy is filling our store shelves. Is it a result of something with deeper meaning than a “dental conspiracy” drenched in sugar? October can be a month of conflicted thoughts for many — what I speak of is Halloween.

Should it be celebrated? Avoided? For some it’s easy to choose one way or the other because of widespread acceptance in our culture. It seems harmless enough, right? I don’t want to make a decision for you. I just want to share some of what I’ve learned regarding it’s origins for you to ponder:

Learn more »

Deconstructing America

October 20, 2014 — 

Cheryl Cook’s recent essay describing the authors of our Constitution as “privileged, white, male property owners who protected slave owners ... buying and selling family members ... ,” and continuing to condemn “...old people ... able to recall every statesman from 238 years ago,” ... but unable to appreciate the continued suffering of Blacks in the 1960s, and that the real threat to domestic tranquility is the Second Amendment’s right of individuals to keep and bear arms, disparages America and its founding documents.

This rant is known as “deconstructionism” wherein nothing respected about our history remains untainted. A deconstructionist’s ploy is the de-emphasis, or even effacement, by posing a continuous critique, to lay low what was once high.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin the right choice

October 20, 2014 — 

Something remarkable has happened in the Nevada County judicial election, with two candidates running for Superior Court Judge.

One of them, Robert Tice-Raskin, has received the endorsement of all Nevada County judges, active and retired, an unprecedented number of judges from surrounding counties and a number of justices from the Court of Appeal.

Learn more »

Lower gas prices everywhere but here

October 21, 2014 — 

In my time living in Nevada City I have frequently noticed and excepted the difference in gas prices between here and Auburn. Most of the time the difference seems to be approximately 5 to 10 cents per gallon higher in Grass Valley than in Auburn.

I’ve always attributed this possibly to the extra distance the gas has to be hauled from the refinery?

Learn more »

Questioning patriotism is unpatriotic

October 21, 2014 — 

In response to Norm Sauer’s rebuttal of my recent column “To insure domestic tranquility’ vs. the Second Amendment,” a study of American history is based on facts, not selective historical revision.

In the column, I chronicled our ever-widening path toward liberty and equality for all through the writing of the Constitution, the Civil War, and the Civil Rights Era. As we look back in history, most broad-minded Americans are able to reconcile that the lofty ideals of equality and liberty were drafted in a time in history when slavery was not only culturally accepted, but necessary to economic development.

Learn more »

You can trust LaMalfa

October 21, 2014 — 

It’s common for people to hate everyone else’s congressmen but love their own. I am guilty as charged.

Doug La Malfa befriended me many years ago, long before he was a congressman. He was very interested in my small business and has always called me regularly asking how things are going. We always have good chats. He is a good man.

Learn more »

Strict sentences for animal cruelty charges

October 21, 2014 — 

I read Liz Kellar’s article about the man who confessed to animal cruelty, and I hope the man goes to prison. Finding animals without food or water is something the courts should not tolerate when administering sentencing.

As an ex-cop, if I was called to a situation involving animal cruelty, the owner of that animal was arrested and presented before the district attorney for prosecution. Seldom did the judges ever look favorably on the defendant.

Learn more »

LaMalfa and cohorts destroying our government

October 21, 2014 — 

During the recent debate for U.S. Congress in our district, I realized that freshman Congressman Doug LaMalfa has, in his small part, disgusted the entire country to the point where Congress is less popular than the tape worm.

He and his cohorts have gone to Washington to destroy our government, and as a two-fer, have blocked everything our president has proposed to improve our lives. LaMalfa makes a hefty salary ($174,000) to do nothing but concoct seditious schemes with his radical friends in the GOP Tea Party. They will harm their constituents in order to thwart the black man in the White House. I hope people rally to throw him out on Nov. 4.

Learn more »

The war comes home

October 18, 2014 — 

The war comes home. As overproduced U.S. military hardware over-floods the world market, its “homeland” becomes weaponized. We now see armored military vehicles in law enforcement agencies and universities across the country. The proliferation of personal firearms unleashes a deranged “open carry” movement.

The USA is engaged against enemies it has directly and indirectly created, trained, and who are equipped with commandeered weaponry made in the USA. Mercenary “contractor” firms flourish, creating “Jobs!” War profiteers turn the wheels of industry; “Jobs! Economic Growth!”

Learn more »

BYLT — a season of jazz

October 18, 2014 — 

Bear Yuba Land Trust wishes to thank the community for a fun summer season of jazz music. Poncho Sanchez fans turned out in force at the North Star House Sunday, Sept. 28 for the hottest Latin jazz. It was a memorable house party with good food and friends.

Local Chef Antonio Ayestaran won the community salsa contest with his “Corno de Torro” (translation: Bulls Horn) fire roasted salsa – a winning combination of seven varieties of peppers from Sweet Roots Farm. Thanks to Diego’s Restaurant, Christopher’s Catering Company and BriarPatch Co-op.

Learn more »

KrisAnne Hall event — thank you!

October 18, 2014 — 

Common Core Concerns owes a debt of gratitude to our generous underwriters, donors, and volunteers who helped us bring KrisAnne Hall to Nevada City on Oct. 3 to educate the community about “The Constitution and State Sovereignty.”

Thank you to our underwriters: The Halby Group — Insurance & Financial Services; Avanguardia Wines; Edward Jones Investments/Jeff Wells; Eddie and Nancy Garcia; Hills Flat Lumber Co.; Meyers Investment Group of Robert W. Baird & Co.; Moule Paint and Glass; Nevada County Farm Supply; Nevada County Republican Women Federated; Nevada County Tea Party; Robinson Enterprises; and Team Three Tactical and Survival.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin has the right temperament, experience

October 18, 2014 — 

I ask my fellow citizens of Nevada County to consider my personal recommendation of Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge. Robert is an intelligent, thoughtful, and had-working individual. He is patient and a good listener. His temperament and experience will help him be an excellent judge.

I was fortunate to have been a judge here in Nevada County for over 20 years. I am still grateful to the people of this county for allowing me to do a job that I loved. I am certain Robert Tice-Raskin will be a judge for our county in whom we can all have trust and confidence. I urge you to vote for Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge.

Learn more »

Global opinion: U.S. a threat to peace

October 18, 2014 — 

Even if you wanted to believe Louis Pearl’s opinion in his letter that United States citizens “ ... are brave, generous and kind,” how can you make the stunning leap that the United States is “...the only country in the world capable to lead the world out of the current morass?”

Worldwide Independent Network of Market Research GALLUP International, the leading global association in market research and polling, in a poll published Dec. 30, 2013, reported that people from 65 countries concluded that the “U.S. is considered to be the greatest threat to peace in the world, followed by Pakistan and China.”

Learn more »

Hoping Dorsey Interchange will ease roundabout congestion

October 18, 2014 — 

The newer, tighter, better Grass Valley roundabout at East Main and Idaho-Maryland is now about six years old. From the beginning and continuing to this day it backs up traffic at rush hour.

About 3:30 p.m., after Nevada Union High School lets out, traffic will often back up all the way to the “Big A” Drive-in. To drive from the “A” to the roundabout takes about three and a half minutes, but that’s better than the six minutes it took before the roundabout was built.

Learn more »

Where’s the rest of the story from Hall?

October 18, 2014 — 

Heidi Hall chants the “Koch Brothers” mantra knowing full well their contributions are a drop in the bucket compared to either George Soros or Tom Steyers or Michael Bloomberg at $100 million each. She wants to repeal the “Citizens United” decision that only creates a level playing field.

Were her years working in the EPA spent in the division that seizes private property, confiscates water rights, guts energy sources, closes factories and fences off resources in the West? Is there any private sector experience in her résumé?

Learn more »

An angel named Eric

October 18, 2014 — 

I would like to thank a kind gentleman named Eric, who on Sunday, Oct. 12, rescued me. I want to turn off the water in my yard, and in bending down on my knees couldn’t get up again. Eric was driving by and noticed by problem. He turned around and helped an elderly lady get back in to the house. Thank you, Eric, from the bottom of my heart. You are my angel. Bless you.

Doris Hermann

Learn more »

Judges unanimously endorse Tice-Raskin

October 17, 2014 — 

The Judges of the Nevada County Superior Court unanimously endorse Rob Tice-Raskin for Judge of the Nevada County Superior Court.

In our view, Rob Tice-Raskin is best-qualified to serve as a judge for our county. He is a man who has devoted his professional career to public service and serving our system of justice. He has a broad-based knowledge of the law, a strong intellect and decades of experience managing difficult cases.

Learn more »

Firth, Lamphier good choices for Grass Valley

October 17, 2014 — 

There are important decisions on the horizon that will shape the future of Grass Valley — quality of life, economic and day to day traffic flow will all be influenced by the choices made by Grass Valley’s city council members. This means the two open seats for city council will effect Nevada County residents for many years.

My votes would go to Jim Firth and Terry Lamphier. These two candidates have consistently taken a responsible approach to development. They both understand the consequences of big box and franchise store approval and construction.

Learn more »

Trash talk

October 17, 2014 — 

I fully support the new task force that is proposing “zero tolerance” on roadside trash. However, I would like to point out that Waste Management is one of the worst offenders.

A Feb. 15 letter to The Union from Tom Behimer asked “Waste Management above (littering) law?” He pointed to the trash coming from trucks on Brunswick Road. He states: “How do I know that most of the litter is from Waste Management trucks? I have been behind them and see material fly out from the top. I travel this route twice a day. The trucks congregate at the Loma Rica station so this is a feeder road for them. Other areas of the county do not have so much trash along side the road.”

Learn more »

Measure S used to gin up outrage

October 17, 2014 — 

Why all this clamor over Measure S? I, as others, have been following the heated debate over this measure.

No doubt The Union is happy with the uproar, judging by the gallons of ink it has spilled covering the topic. To me, the issue is simple: Measure S makes a few common sense modifications to a county ordinance that was rushed through the Board of Supervisors on the promise that its acknowledged flaws would be fixed, but never were. For example, deputy sheriffs would no longer have to get out their tape measures to ascertain whether a grow exceeds permissible limits; all they have to do is count the plants.

Learn more »

It’s about “we the people”

October 17, 2014 — 

I read with interest the article in the Oct. 6 story in The Union about the speech of KrisAnne Hall on the U. S. Constitution. As I understand her thinking, federal agencies such as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Park Service, National Forest Service, and Food and Drug Administration (FDA), etc., plus programs and services like Medicare, interstate highways, air traffic control etc., are all unconstitutional.

She seems to want to set aside 225-plus years of Constitutional interpretation and application by all three branches of our federal government and rely only on the several years of hard work that went into creating it. Do we really for a moment want to live in a country, state, and county in which none of the federal services and programs I have mentioned and others like them exist? With dirt roads, dirty water and air, and no national public health programs? I hope not. We live in the United States in the 21st Century, not the 18th. Lets’ benefit from our 225-plus years of applying our Constitution, rather than trying to freeze it in the rural east coast world of 1787.

Learn more »

More critical thinking with endorsements, please

October 17, 2014 — 

Politics, at its best, is a slimy endeavor.

I’ve read all the endorsements for Mr. Tice-Raskin with some amusement except for Ms. Melody Lane’s endorsement. She stated that he is particularly qualified because he is a “family man.” As a woman, she ought to know that there are many reasons why a female might not have a family.

Learn more »

Larry Meek for County Board of Education

October 17, 2014 — 

We have been professional and personal friends of Larry and Pamela Meek since 1982 when we were school administrators in Petaluma.

Our careers came together again in 1986 as principals of Bear River and Nevada Union high dchools. Pamela and my wife Beverly worked together at Roseville Sutter Hospital Hospice.

Learn more »

Rural clinic vital to health of residents

October 16, 2014 — 

With all the focus on Western Sierra Medical Clinic’s new facility in Grass Valley, it seems appropriate to keep in mind how it first started. Downieville’s “frontier” status is the reason WSMC obtained the HRSA 330 Grant which has helped to fund the building of the new Grass Valley site. Downieville is the original home of WSMC and despite reductions of service in Downieville by the current administration, we are fighting to keep our facility operating here.

It is the only medical facility that services the surrounding 500 square miles in Sierra County and is vital to the health and safety of community residents and visitors to our area.

Learn more »

Compassion at a difficult time

October 16, 2014 — 

The family of John Edgerton would like to thank the doctors and nurses in the ER and ICU of Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital for their excellent care and consideration during his recent illness.

We would also like to thank the Comfort Room staff for their wonderful care and kindness extended to him and us at this most difficult time.

Learn more »

With deep appreciation for our MIM home tour volunteers

October 16, 2014 — 

On Friday before the event, another batch of cookies arrives in the office, barely out of the oven and tempting all of the office staff. They pile up, one after another, awaiting their final destination on the Music in the Mountains Home Tour. Chocolate chip oatmeal at Home #2, snickerdoodles at Home #4.

While we refrain from gobbling them all up (OK, just one), last minute preparations are being made for what is one of the most complex of all of our benefit events. Each year, six to seven owners open up their homes to over 1,000 visitors. Over 100 volunteers step up to do everything from bake cookies to be a “house captain.” Visitors are greeted with warmth and appreciation. Docents not only know about why a certain choice of flooring was made, but can tell you a funny anecdote about the history of the home, or how a far-flung travel made an impression that influenced design. As one travels through the homes, these volunteers create a sense of intimacy — as if you were an honored guest at each stop.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top