Letters to the Editor

Alyce Macondray: Sammie’s Friends is fantastic

January 30, 2015 — 

To Cheryl Wicks, the office help at Sammie’s Friends and all the volunteers: I can’t thank you enough for taking care of Tyler, who was a feral cat who came out of a bean field in Ohio.

The volunteers did such a marvelous job with this very feral animal, it’s unbelievable. They calmed him down, got him to accept being handled and petted, especially tummy rubs. He became a real pleasure to have around. Tyler has a disease that prevents him from being around other cats, and Sammie’s heard about a sanctuary in Oregon that would take him. He is now doing well. Statistically, black cats are more likely to be euthanized because fewer people want them.

Learn more »

Frederick Hall: ‘Loud and clear?’

January 30, 2015 — 

I’m puzzled. Sen. Joni Ernst said in the Republican response to the State of the Union address that the Congress we elected in November “heard loud and clear” what we, the voters, want.

Activity in Congress indicates, though, that what the party actually heard (and what she actually played back) was its own campaign rhetoric.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: Questions for American voters

January 29, 2015 — 

Economic prosperity is back, the unemployment rate has steadily gone down, millions of uninsured people now have medical insurance, the auto industry is healthy again, the stock market has hit an all time high — which in turn has improved 401(k) holdings of the middle class — gas prices keep going down, and Ebola is under control.

So why did voters give Republicans a lopsided victory in the midterm elections? Were voters unhappy that there are millions of more jobs, that the president has stimulated economic growth, worked at boosting wages, improving infrastructure, controlling health-care costs?

Learn more »

Who’s behind the huge undertaking in the sky?

January 29, 2015 — 

Jan. 14 was clear and beautiful at our home. As we packed for a drive to Folsom, we noticed one airplane laying down a streak of white across the perfect blue sky.

Driving toward Sacramento, we saw plane after plane laying white streaks overhead, streaks that slowly expanded and joined together. These were not contrails. They were too low and too long-lasting.

Learn more »

Lindy Schasiepen, Lindy Beatie: The Owl helps Nevada County children

January 29, 2015 — 

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County, along with The Owl Grill and Saloon, hosted a fundraiser on Jan. 22. What an amazing evening!

The iconic restaurant in downtown Grass Valley was full of friends enjoying a delicious meal, sharing stories and at the same time supporting the children in our community.

Learn more »

Gale Waggener: Lack of medical freedom is not new

January 28, 2015 — 

This letter is in support of the Bigelsens. After 40 years of severe rheumatoid arthritis, the last 25 in a wheelchair and treating with many alternative healers, I found Dr. Bigelsen and Josh.

Reluctantly, I had previously tried one of the RA drugs, which gave me some relief at first, then it seemed like it was attacking my body and making me worse. With Dr. Bigelsen, Josh and staff, I consistently improved, no longer needing drugs for pain, and lost 60 pounds of weight.

Learn more »

Donald M. Foster: In honor of both veterans and peace advocates

January 28, 2015 — 

Other Voices author William Larsen was insightful by mentioning Abdul Ghaffer Khan with our national holiday honoring Martin Luther King.

“Boko Haram” and other horrific Islamic fanatic crimes against humanity are the exception rather than the rule in the Islamic faith. Working collegially with Muslims over many years in Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, and the Maldives, never was I demeaned for having another faith. I was in Peshawar when the under house arrested Abdul Ghaffer Khan. “The Pathan Gandhi,” who died in 1988. I felt free to honor the memory of the man who walked hand in hand with Gandhi in 1947 in Calcutta on the street, separating thousands of the armed Hindus and Muslim faithful, thus saving untold numbers of wounded and dead.

Learn more »

Throw out Bigelsen’s case

January 27, 2015 — 

We say “free Dr. B” because Dr. Harvey Bigelsen is a boon to this community with his fresh and progressive approach to healing.

There are many healing modalities of all sorts in this area. Surely there is room for Dr. B’s brand. Unconventional? Yes! Criminal? No!

Learn more »

Cheryl Wicks: 41 horse round-up a show of community compassion

January 27, 2015 — 

Kudos, blessings and thanks to the awesome people who came together to rescue 41 starving horses. It was truly astounding that so many people worked so hard for these precious horses.

It was a coming together of great diversity; Animal Control, the Sheriff’s Department, Sammie’s Friends, Freedom Sanctuary, numerous volunteers and, of course, a giant kudo to Horse Plus Humane Society who took most of the horses.

Learn more »

Stop the criminalization of aid-in-dying

January 27, 2015 — 

There are few, if any, decisions made in this life that are more important than how we end it, if we have any choice in the matter.

Sens. Lois Wolk and Bill Monning deserve our gratitude for introducing SB128 to stop the criminalization of aid-in-dying. The story of Brittany Maynard’s passing is one that is deeply inspiring.

Learn more »

Travis Bashor: Great service at Les Schwab

January 26, 2015 — 

On Jan. 18 I had a wonderful service experience at Les Schwab in Grass Valley to get my tire, that had gone flat while driving, fixed.

When I walked in I was immediately greeted by Derick, wrote up a work order and said it would take about an hour. I walked over to Jamba Juice, then went back and had a seat in their waiting area.

Learn more »

C.J. Bryant: Back the blue

January 26, 2015 — 

Law enforcement officers nationwide are under attack. Let’s join with others across this great nation to show our support of those who serve and protect our communities. Our police, sheriff and California Highway Patrol have far too often been the target of criticism because of a “political agenda.” Let’s stand in honor of those who have fallen and those who carry on, day by day, to make our lives safer, while putting theirs at risk.

Let’s light up the blue! Let these brave men and women and everyone in Nevada County know we truly appreciate their service to our community, by wearing and showing their colors: The Ribbon of Blue. Wear it on your shirt, blouse or jacket. Blue ribbons will be available free at the next meeting of the Nevada County Tea Party at 6:30 p.m. Jan. 28 in Ponderosa Hall at the Nevada County Fairgrounds. For more information, email nctpinfo@gmail.com

Learn more »

Celia Painter: Where to go without insurance?

January 24, 2015 — 

On the first of January, I made a visit to Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital’s emergency room with shoulder pain and lack of arm usage — I needed an orthopedist — no local doctors were available in their office. The hospital had no orthopedist available at the time.

Next day my local orthopedist’s office first remark was, “I have to check with your insurance company.” Within a minute I was accepted, thanks to excellent insurance. I wondered: what would have been the fate of someone unfortunate, without insurance but in pain? Where would they go?

Learn more »

Rich Ulery: Vacancies on NCCFD’s oversight committee

January 24, 2015 — 

Are you interested in the financial health of your fire department? Do you want to ensure that the tax dollars you pay for fire protection, suppression, and emergency services are spent wisely?

The Citizens Oversight Committee of the Nevada County Consolidated Fire District (NCCFD) was established in 2013. Its purpose is to ensure that the tax revenue generated by the special tax measure approved by voters in 2012 is being spent by the District in accordance with the expectations of the voters.

Learn more »

Don Joy: B&Bs only banned in Nevada City residential areas

January 24, 2015 — 

Contrary to Bob Nienaber’s recent letter to the editor, I don’t believe that the residents of Nevada City are opposed to Bed and Breakfast Inns. The issue is, should new B&Bs be allowed in our residential neighborhoods?

In 1994, the voters of Nevada City passed Measure G prohibiting new B&Bs in residentially zoned areas of Nevada City; read it again — residential areas. This has been the law for 20 years. B&Bs are businesses. They belong in areas that are zoned for general business; just like retail outlets, restaurants, markets, etc.

Learn more »

Sally Palmer Dawley: Lazy smokers toss thousands of cigarette butts

January 24, 2015 — 

Thank you, Miriam Morris for your letter about cigarette butts in a Nevada City parking lot.

I live in downtown Auburn and walk around town. I got tired of seeing all the cigarette butts on sidewalks, in the streets and in the flower pots and beds. I started walking with a broom, dust pan and a counter. I count butts while sweeping up and then use the counter to keep track of them. My community project started on Oct. 1, 2014. In 66 days of my walks I have counted, swept up and thrown in trash cans ... ready ... 30,660 cigarette butts!

Learn more »

Bigelsen committed to helping clients regain health

January 23, 2015 — 

I was a client of Josh and Dr. Harvey Bigelsen at the Biological Health Institute in 2011. They consulted with me regarding my health issue and they have provided me with exceptional service and advice.

I had suffered from a chronic sinus infection for 12 years after becoming seriously ill with the flu while pregnant with my fourth child. The infection flare-ups became more serious and more often as the years progressed, making it difficult to function normally. I saw many physicians, acupuncturists, chiropractors, and homeopaths – you name it, I saw them. I took antibiotics over and over again, even specially formulated intranasal ones. I took herbs, remedies, had adjustments and received other treatments with no success.

Learn more »

Missing: common sense

January 23, 2015 — 

Last seen 40 years ago. Destination: U.S. Congress. Never arrived!

Joann Rossovich

Learn more »

This is an animal lover?

January 23, 2015 — 

I would like to respond to Marjie Costello’s letter of Jan. 17 to “wear fur and leather.”

China produces 85 percent of the fur on the planet and has no animal welfare laws to protect animals. Fur animals suffer terribly, regardless of where they are raised. They are killed by gassing, neck breaking, anal electrocution, clubbing, trapping and injection of poisons so as not to damage their pelts.

Learn more »

Unfriendly Nevada City

January 22, 2015 — 

Pat yourselves on the back “Friends of Nevada City,” you just managed to make Nevada City look like the most unfriendly city in Northern California on all of our community TV news reports because of your push to block Bed-and-breakfasts.

I’m curious who the members are in this “friendly” group and why they feel they are qualified to decide what’s best for our city? Is this an open club or closed group?

Learn more »

High praise for Dr. B

January 22, 2015 — 

Regarding Dr. Bigelsen, I was diagnosed with hyperthyroid in the summer of 2013. The endocrinologist put me on an antithyroid drug and he told me that if the medication didn’t work, the next step would be to remove my thyroid.

I immediately went to see Dr. B. My first appointment with him lasted three hours. He was determined to help me. I was distressed that the medication was not working. None of my symptoms were relieved.

Learn more »

Caregivers painted in an unfair light

January 22, 2015 — 

I am very offended by the way The Union worded the article about the jewelry theft in Nevada City. Being that there were 24-hour caregivers there does not make them guilty, and that is how I interpreted what you wrote.

I, too, am a caregiver, I have been live scanned and take much pride in helping the elderly here in Nevada County for the past 36 years.

Learn more »

Fix the dam before salmon return

January 22, 2015 — 

The Nevada Irrigation District (NID) provides a dependable, quality water supply to about 25,000 homes, farms, and businesses in Nevada County and Placer County.

It strives to be a good steward of the watersheds and conserve the available resources, but for decades there has been one glaring failure in its otherwise good record of stewardship — the Hemphill Dam on Auburn Ravine, three miles east of Lincoln.

Learn more »

Another point of view

January 21, 2015 — 

While I certainly understand Ms. Masini’s (and the mayor’s) point regarding giving the runner-up Mr. Lamphier’s seat, I believe there is an argument for the council’s action to consider other options, i.e., if Mr. Lamphier had not run for the position others with similar viewpoints may have, and that person may have received sufficient votes to be elected to the council.

In answer to Ms. Masini’s point that “in November the people voted who they wanted to represent them,” let me point out that the majority of voters did not vote Ms. Glover into office, they voted for Mr. Lamphier (and presumably for his stated positions). To award Ms. Glover the office would be ignoring those who voted for Mr. Lamphier.

Learn more »

Regional tribes

January 21, 2015 — 

My wife and I are new to the area, and had a most wonderful yet confusing experience this weekend.

We were delighted to enjoy three inspiring days of the Wild and Scenic Film Festival. What a treat! While there we viewed a poignant film about the history of the plight of the local Nisenan ... and my wife even participated in an educational walk with tribal members. Then we attended the visiting Tibetan Monks fantastic event in Grass Valley. There was a continual referral to the local Maidu tribe. Our question is, what really is the local tribe of this region? I would like to hear from the greater community.

Learn more »

What’s to be so proud about?

January 20, 2015 — 

In Ron Lowe’s letter of Dec. 29, he is truly proud of Obama because he was president during the slowest, costliest, and most ineffective recovery in U.S. history.

It has left real unemployment at around 10-12 percent with underemployed at another 10-15 percent. Working middle-class Americans wages are still relatively the same as before Obama’s miraculous rescuing.

Learn more »

Hey, wait a minute

January 20, 2015 — 

The immediate response to the Charlie Hebdo massacre was a shared revulsion of censorship by violence and a renewed respect for freedom of speech.

After the smoke cleared, the liberals said, “Hey wait a minute,” Charlie Hebdo brought this on themselves with derisive depictions of the Prophet.

Learn more »

Bigelsen a good man

January 20, 2015 — 

Like a jack-in-the-box wanting to burst out — that’s how it feels watching the ordeal Dr. Harvey Bigelsen and his family have been enduring.

We feel so helpless because we can’t turn the crank and unleash his intense desire to heal.

Learn more »

Diane Masini: Glover deserves seat on city council

January 19, 2015 — 

I hope others in our community are as disgruntled with the Grass Valley City Council as I am. What audacity of them voting to solicit applications in order to fill the open city council seat. Councilman Howard Levine explained, “It is necessary to go through the application process in order to find the very best person to appoint to the open position.”

This is only two months after the November election for a position that would start Jan. 1. In November, the people voted who they wanted to represent them. For the council to choose appointing someone of their liking, is not listening to the people who voted them into office!

Learn more »

Michele Spencer: An unfair characterization

January 19, 2015 — 

Regarding Valentina Parkman’s reply to Jim Firth’s recent “Politics is a brutal business,” I must say she missed the point of his opinion piece.

He was talking about the difficulty of liberal candidates attaining offices in this county, not because they don’t represent a large constituency who agree with their ideas but because of the underhanded manner in which a certain group of people continually dominate politics in this county.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top