Letters to the Editor

Chris Nichols: Caring enough to go the extra mile

May 28, 2015 — 

Several weeks ago I was on my way to work quite early in the morning. Driving down La Barr Meadows road, I hit a beautiful pale orange cat. I stopped, and checked on the cat, thinking that I had killed it.

I began knocking on the doors of the nearby houses to try to find his family, and while I was doing so, the van for Accurate Air Conditioning and Heating stopped, and asked if I needed help, which I did.

Learn more »

Mary Miller: Many successes at Milhous

May 28, 2015 — 

I was sad to read the recent article about Milhous Children’s Services. An anonymous allegation was made public. It has since been investigated by superiors.

I and my late husband worked for Milhous for 20 years. I have seen the success of the children who have since grown into adults. The whole staff works as a machine (as hard as they can) to achieve a good outcome for all. A wonderful training is provided to employees. Over the years, between four and five thousand young people have had 24/7 care there. I give them a thumb’s up.

Learn more »

M.L. Jakeman: Dr. Ben Carson, the anti-politician

May 27, 2015 — 

I read with considerable interest Byron York’s article in the May 9 issue of The Union.

It suggests that if Dr. Ben Carson is serious about running for the presidency of this country he should immediately change his tactics and embrace the modus operandi of the traditional ambitious politicians.

Learn more »

Loren Young: Bullet Train a bust

May 27, 2015 — 

In reference to the May 11 article from the Associated Press about how much of a bargain the Bullet Train will be, the AP should do the math.

A cost of $86 per person just doesn’t cut it. My Camry, at 34 mpg would use 11 gallons of gas at $3.50-ish costs $38.50

Learn more »

Jim Jacobs: Feeling alone with no voice in government?

May 27, 2015 — 

About five years ago, President Obama was out here siding with the environmentalists, giving speeches, saying we need to remove about five of our dams.

My wife Clover and I have always washed full loads in cold water, and all of our outside watering is on drip and has been since we arrived here 15 years ago. Has common sense gone out the window?

Learn more »

Richard Bell: Jefferson State University?

May 27, 2015 — 

George Boardman’s column (“Marin County of Jefferson,” May 18) opens the door to the real costs of establishing a new state without real consideration of who would be directly affected by such a drastic change.

There are far too many chasms in Jefferson statehood to mention here, but let’s begin with an important one: higher education.

Learn more »

Jeannie Wood: CATS celebrates 12 sold-out shows

May 26, 2015 — 

Community Asian Theatre of the Sierra (CATS) thanks the community and region for the overwhelming response to its recent production of “Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” at the Nevada Theatre. Frankly, we were taken by surprise by the incredible word-of-mouth advertising that resulted in 12 sold-out shows!

The storyline touched the hearts and minds at so many levels: first love and loss, World War II and the Japanese Internment, the politics and friction between the Chinese and Japanese, racism and prejudice, generational conflicts, and more! There wasn’t anything that this show didn’t resonate something in someone. Reality hit home. CATS was proud to host the California premiere of this best-selling novel by Jamie Ford. Kudos to adaptor and director Annie Lareau who gave life to the book on stage. Thank you Book-It Repertory Theatre of Seattle, our cast, crew, directors, designers, sponsors, donors, volunteers, and the 3,000 patrons who saw the show. Thanks for making the trek from the Sacramento region, the Bay Area, Placer County, Yuba County, San Joaquin County, Washoe County, Sierra County, and even Seattle! We are humbled by your support.

Learn more »

Joan Girdler Good: Thank you, Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital

May 26, 2015 — 

I was feeling full of dread upon entering the mammography center at Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital, but soon felt a bit better when the receptionist was pleasant, efficient and was treating people as human beings. She immediately sent me into a private room for insurance information. The young woman at the desk could not have been more personable, efficient and caring. After sharing some of her own personal information she got up, came around the desk and after giving me a big hug said, “I’m going to walk you over.” Upon arrival, I was offered a choice of beverages, information was reviewed and I sat down to wait, but felt less anxious.

The mammographer was skilled, caring and quite pleasant as were the radiologist and sonogram technician. Thank you for the great skills you bring to your jobs, but just as important the kindness and sensitivity you possess. Fortunately the news was good.

Learn more »

Patricia Pickering: Bring back the TV Guide

May 26, 2015 — 

How could I be in the minority that reads the TV Guide in The Union? I don’t own a computer or satellite. The TV guide on cable is a hassle, it distracts the viewing channels while wanting information. My daughter lives in Eureka, and their local newspaper prints the TV guide daily at no extra charge. If there was another local newspaper that printed the TV Guide I would order it. The Nevada City Advocate and Territorial Dispatch are news worthy (without charge) and I am not happy with the discontinuance of the TV Guide. Will our voices be heard? I have lived in this area for 40 years. Kudos to Linda Johnson for starting the request to bring back the TV Guide to The Union.

Patricia Pickering

Learn more »

James Woods: 'Wildlife Services' a misnomer

May 25, 2015 — 

Some help here please. The misnamed program “Wildlife Services” is on a killing spree.

In 2013 the Department of Agriculture’s Wildlife Services shot, trapped, gassed and poisoned more than 2.1 million wildlife for Big Agriculture, beef barons, mining, oil and logging companies. All this mayhem to help corporations make an extra dollar.

Learn more »

Nathan Menth: Nevada County Kids Fire Camp 2015

May 25, 2015 — 

As this school year is rounding to an end, Nevada County Kid’s Fire Camp is gearing up!

This year’s Fire Camp is for Nevada County’s youth, ages 11 to 14, who are interested in becoming a firefighter for the week. The week-long day camp, located at our training facility, teaches the future firefighters the ins and the outs of our unique profession. Camp is set to be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, June 29 through Friday, July 3.

Learn more »

Pat Lane: Jerry Davis a true hero

May 25, 2015 — 

I was sad to see that my friend Jerry Davis passed away but I was even more disappointed that the obituary did not give more attention to his World War II military record.

As a member of the 511th Airborne, Jerry was one of the brave paratroopers who dropped into the Japanese camp at Los Banos to liberate hundreds of internees (transferred from Manila due to overcrowding) in 1945. It was a daring surprise raid that caught the Japanese unarmed and doing their morning calisthenics. Four of the liberated prisoners were the Sams family, Gerry and Margaret (now deceased) and two young children, who have lived in the Chicago Park area for years. Margaret wrote a book titled “Forbidden Family” that described the exciting and successful operation. The Davises and the Sams remained good friends and attended POW reunion parties for 50 years.

Learn more »

Bonnie Johnson: I loved my TV guide

May 25, 2015 — 

I wanted to add my name to those who object to the elimination of the TV Guide. I agree with Joyce Haire’s letter to the editor, “Bring back my TV Guide.” Everything she wrote was in my thoughts. I am 83 years old and loved my guide. I have been a subscriber since 1977.

Bonnie Johnson

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: What were Americans thinking?

May 23, 2015 — 

Inquiring minds want to know if the Republicans and Tea Party stand for anything besides a nonstop assault on women’s freedom of choice (anti-abortion) and the obstruction of the economy, government, and progress of the country like they’ve been fixated on for the past six years.

Republicans have spent their time passing hundreds of restrictive anti-abortion laws around the country in the last few years and last weekend they were at it again as House Republicans passed legislation that would ban most abortions starting with the 20th week of pregnancy. You did hear Senate leader Mitch McConnell say the Republicans would “change,” right after they won the last election. Talk is cheap, especially if you’re a Republican.

Learn more »

Jeff Loberg: America is better off without liberal view of society

May 23, 2015 — 

I must take issue with Carole Chapman’s attack of Stan Meckler, co-founder of the Tea Party Movement. If she had done some fact checking, she would know the modern Tea Party had its beginnings with Dr. Ron Paul in 2007.

Chapman wants you to think that it was formed in response to Obama’s election, which is clearly not the case. To refer to Mr. Meckler as a radical is preposterous! It is liberals who are the radicals! Your support of alternative lifestyles, taxing the rich job creators to oblivion, legalized pot use, anti-gun ownership, confused bathrooms, and frivolous laws designed to erode the freedoms of good law-abiding citizens is what’s radical. Americans are better off without liberals’ view of how society should be.

Learn more »

Deborah Ireland: More nutrition info, please

May 22, 2015 — 

Could The Union please include some nutrition information at the end of their recipes? I understand that including some of the information, like a standard nutritional label does, would be close to impossible, but if serving size, calories per serving, carbohydrates per serving, and fat per serving were included, it would sure be of use to many of us.

Nowadays more people are making nutrition an important part of their diets.

Learn more »

Tom O'Toole: Let's show some civility

May 22, 2015 — 

At a recent meeting, I was surprised to hear of a developing county problem. There is a relatively new type of incivility that is being generated by an inconsiderate brand of rude motorists.

At the recent Combie and Hwy. 49 tragic accident, first responders were surprised to be the victims of taunts, horn honking and just plain rude behavior from some inconsiderate and impatient drivers.

Learn more »

Susan Forte: Thanks, Miriam

May 22, 2015 — 

What a joy to drive past the Nevada City post office on Coyote Street and see the beautiful red poppies planted there, I don’t think the post office has ever looked so good.

I want to thank Miriam Morris for all of her hard work volunteering her time, keeping the planted areas around Nevada City looking so good. If you see her out there, be sure to thank her, I know I will.

Learn more »

Gary Fosburg: Incomplete road work on Rattlesnake Road

May 22, 2015 — 

How sad that the city and county can’t realize how popular Rattlesnake Road is to many different groups. We even had the Amgen Bike Race racing down Rattlesnake for the second time.

Why can’t the county finish painting the fog lines (the white lines along the edge of road) from Wheeler Cross to Dog Bar? I was told that the width of road was too narrow. I measured at various places the fog lines that had been newly painted and then measured where they had not been painted. Plenty of width to finish the job. The most popular road in the county and we can’t finish what was started.

Learn more »

Sandra Rockman: Kudos for Jim Hurley

May 21, 2015 — 

Whether it’s sending out notice of a lost cat, dog or, most recently, a 40 plus-year-old tortoise, alerting us about a nearby burglary or a bear frequenting an area birdfeeder or sending out an update on the latest Ferrell gas price, Jim Hurley is the man.

Here in our Lake Vera/Round Mountain vicinity, Jim regularly sends out informative (and often very witty) email blasts, as well as photos on the state of the neighborhood. He’s our human neighborhood watch.

Learn more »

Unitarians show up for those in need of free health care

May 21, 2015 — 

I’d like to give a big thanks to the Unitarian Universalist Community of the Mountains for their generous donation to help fund the Free Health Care Clinic happening Nov. 14-15 at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Hall.

The clinic includes medical, dental and vision care. We’ll be serving 500 patients each day, and it is open to everyone for free, funded by donations. This is being brought to us by California Care Force, an all volunteer staffed nonprofit in Roseville (CaliforniaCareForce.org).

Learn more »

Barbi Buckles: Great artist, poor venue

May 20, 2015 — 

I think that the Center for the Arts Theatre is such a treat to see music in and I have always enjoyed the smallness and the personal touches that are present everywhere.

I was at the Veterans Hall to see Joan Armatrading. I have not seen her in over 30 years. I thought she was playing at the Center, but was mistaken since I didn’t realize that you guys were putting the show on at the Veterans Hall because you needed a bigger venue.

Learn more »

Maryalyce Hansen: TV guide — gone but not forgotten

May 20, 2015 — 

So good to read Linda Johnson’s letter to the editor regarding the TV guide. Right on.

Glad I take two other papers and get their listings. Also, the article that was published to explain why it had been removed made no sense at all! And I so appreciate the letter recently printed from Jack Moorhead. He hit the nail on the head. Having lived here since the 1930s, I have never before considered not subscribing to The Union, but it’s becoming a decision more and more.

Learn more »

Loletta Hadel:Memorial Wall of Remembrance a powerful experience

May 18, 2015 — 

In celebration of National Crime Victims’ Rights Week April 19 through 25, 2015, the Nevada County Victim Witness Assistance Center erected a Memorial Wall of Remembrance at the Eric Rood Administrative Center in Nevada City during the entire month of April. The Memorial Wall is a collection of photos of deceased crime victims from Nevada County, many of whom died in the county they called home. The photos bore the images of those ranging in age from toddlers to senior citizens. Viewing the Memorial Wall is extremely powerful and sobering but even greater is the trauma experienced by the family members and friends of the victims in the wake of the crime.

Our staff would like to thank the following who made this Memorial Wall display possible: Larry at Hospice Gift and Thrift (Freeman Lane) for assistance on the purchase of a small table; Tom and Doug from Nevada County Facilities; Jan and colleagues in the Nevada County Assessor’s office for maintaining the battery-powered candle every work day; Laura who graciously donated the candle and The Union for selecting the Memorial Wall story and photo as their headline news on April 11 — what an honor for crime victims.

Learn more »

Bonnie Bennett: The time of year to thank a teacher

May 18, 2015 — 

May is the time of the year when we honor our teachers. Many students and their parents have been planning luncheons or have sent their teachers something special to say thank you.

It’s something we all have in common — having been inspired by or helped by teachers throughout the years.

Learn more »

Jani Linfield: Thanks to Ernie's

May 18, 2015 — 

I would like to thank and commend Ernie’s Van & Storage for completing a complicated delivery to Sammie’s Friends Animal Shelter this past week.

We are creating a new cat facility out of an old triple wide trailer, and had a delivery of 30 cat kennels weighing over 200 pounds each, delivered to the site and placed in the correct rooms. The delivery guys went above and beyond by helping solve the “puzzle” of what goes in each room. They did this with a lot of hard work, a great attitude, and an incredible sense of humor.

Learn more »

Jenny Warden: Most reasonable candidate

May 18, 2015 — 

Regarding David Briceno’s editorial to “Bring Back the Parties,” there’s another important role for Independents.

When either party runs a nitwit, many Independents register in that party to nominate the most reasonable candidate.

Learn more »

Sue Long: Convention of States not the solution

May 18, 2015 — 

If your boat has a leak in it, it doesn’t help to drill a hole in the bottom. And, trusting the current crop of politicians to rewrite our Constitution, which would be the result of a constitutional convention (aka Convention of States), is not the solution to government overreach.

The Constitution is not the problem, changing it is not the solution.

Learn more »

Clare McDowel: Discontinuation of the TV Guide

May 18, 2015 — 

I totally agree with Linda Johnson of Nevada City, whose letter appeared on May 7 in The Union. I looked forward to the TV Guide and am disappointed you discontinued it.

Clare McDowell, 26-year subscriber

Learn more »

Don Mortara: Pasta Sauce Cook Off a success

May 16, 2015 — 

The Italian Cultural Foundation held its Annual Pasta Sauce Cook Off on May 9.

It was a huge success thanks to the effort of some great people, such as Kate Malmgren and the staff at Holiday Inn Express, Theresa and staff at Bear River Pasta, deejay Andy and our cooks — Uncle Luco’s Kitchen, Dante Paverello, Don Branson, Steve DeSena and Don Mortara.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top