Letters to the Editor

James Woods: 'Wildlife Services' a misnomer

May 25, 2015 — 

Some help here please. The misnamed program “Wildlife Services” is on a killing spree.

In 2013 the Department of Agriculture’s Wildlife Services shot, trapped, gassed and poisoned more than 2.1 million wildlife for Big Agriculture, beef barons, mining, oil and logging companies. All this mayhem to help corporations make an extra dollar.

Learn more »

Nathan Menth: Nevada County Kids Fire Camp 2015

May 25, 2015 — 

As this school year is rounding to an end, Nevada County Kid’s Fire Camp is gearing up!

This year’s Fire Camp is for Nevada County’s youth, ages 11 to 14, who are interested in becoming a firefighter for the week. The week-long day camp, located at our training facility, teaches the future firefighters the ins and the outs of our unique profession. Camp is set to be from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Monday, June 29 through Friday, July 3.

Learn more »

Pat Lane: Jerry Davis a true hero

May 25, 2015 — 

I was sad to see that my friend Jerry Davis passed away but I was even more disappointed that the obituary did not give more attention to his World War II military record.

As a member of the 511th Airborne, Jerry was one of the brave paratroopers who dropped into the Japanese camp at Los Banos to liberate hundreds of internees (transferred from Manila due to overcrowding) in 1945. It was a daring surprise raid that caught the Japanese unarmed and doing their morning calisthenics. Four of the liberated prisoners were the Sams family, Gerry and Margaret (now deceased) and two young children, who have lived in the Chicago Park area for years. Margaret wrote a book titled “Forbidden Family” that described the exciting and successful operation. The Davises and the Sams remained good friends and attended POW reunion parties for 50 years.

Learn more »

Bonnie Johnson: I loved my TV guide

May 25, 2015 — 

I wanted to add my name to those who object to the elimination of the TV Guide. I agree with Joyce Haire’s letter to the editor, “Bring back my TV Guide.” Everything she wrote was in my thoughts. I am 83 years old and loved my guide. I have been a subscriber since 1977.

Bonnie Johnson

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: What were Americans thinking?

May 23, 2015 — 

Inquiring minds want to know if the Republicans and Tea Party stand for anything besides a nonstop assault on women’s freedom of choice (anti-abortion) and the obstruction of the economy, government, and progress of the country like they’ve been fixated on for the past six years.

Republicans have spent their time passing hundreds of restrictive anti-abortion laws around the country in the last few years and last weekend they were at it again as House Republicans passed legislation that would ban most abortions starting with the 20th week of pregnancy. You did hear Senate leader Mitch McConnell say the Republicans would “change,” right after they won the last election. Talk is cheap, especially if you’re a Republican.

Learn more »

Jeff Loberg: America is better off without liberal view of society

May 23, 2015 — 

I must take issue with Carole Chapman’s attack of Stan Meckler, co-founder of the Tea Party Movement. If she had done some fact checking, she would know the modern Tea Party had its beginnings with Dr. Ron Paul in 2007.

Chapman wants you to think that it was formed in response to Obama’s election, which is clearly not the case. To refer to Mr. Meckler as a radical is preposterous! It is liberals who are the radicals! Your support of alternative lifestyles, taxing the rich job creators to oblivion, legalized pot use, anti-gun ownership, confused bathrooms, and frivolous laws designed to erode the freedoms of good law-abiding citizens is what’s radical. Americans are better off without liberals’ view of how society should be.

Learn more »

Deborah Ireland: More nutrition info, please

May 22, 2015 — 

Could The Union please include some nutrition information at the end of their recipes? I understand that including some of the information, like a standard nutritional label does, would be close to impossible, but if serving size, calories per serving, carbohydrates per serving, and fat per serving were included, it would sure be of use to many of us.

Nowadays more people are making nutrition an important part of their diets.

Learn more »

Tom O'Toole: Let's show some civility

May 22, 2015 — 

At a recent meeting, I was surprised to hear of a developing county problem. There is a relatively new type of incivility that is being generated by an inconsiderate brand of rude motorists.

At the recent Combie and Hwy. 49 tragic accident, first responders were surprised to be the victims of taunts, horn honking and just plain rude behavior from some inconsiderate and impatient drivers.

Learn more »

Susan Forte: Thanks, Miriam

May 22, 2015 — 

What a joy to drive past the Nevada City post office on Coyote Street and see the beautiful red poppies planted there, I don’t think the post office has ever looked so good.

I want to thank Miriam Morris for all of her hard work volunteering her time, keeping the planted areas around Nevada City looking so good. If you see her out there, be sure to thank her, I know I will.

Learn more »

Gary Fosburg: Incomplete road work on Rattlesnake Road

May 22, 2015 — 

How sad that the city and county can’t realize how popular Rattlesnake Road is to many different groups. We even had the Amgen Bike Race racing down Rattlesnake for the second time.

Why can’t the county finish painting the fog lines (the white lines along the edge of road) from Wheeler Cross to Dog Bar? I was told that the width of road was too narrow. I measured at various places the fog lines that had been newly painted and then measured where they had not been painted. Plenty of width to finish the job. The most popular road in the county and we can’t finish what was started.

Learn more »

Sandra Rockman: Kudos for Jim Hurley

May 21, 2015 — 

Whether it’s sending out notice of a lost cat, dog or, most recently, a 40 plus-year-old tortoise, alerting us about a nearby burglary or a bear frequenting an area birdfeeder or sending out an update on the latest Ferrell gas price, Jim Hurley is the man.

Here in our Lake Vera/Round Mountain vicinity, Jim regularly sends out informative (and often very witty) email blasts, as well as photos on the state of the neighborhood. He’s our human neighborhood watch.

Learn more »

Unitarians show up for those in need of free health care

May 21, 2015 — 

I’d like to give a big thanks to the Unitarian Universalist Community of the Mountains for their generous donation to help fund the Free Health Care Clinic happening Nov. 14-15 at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Hall.

The clinic includes medical, dental and vision care. We’ll be serving 500 patients each day, and it is open to everyone for free, funded by donations. This is being brought to us by California Care Force, an all volunteer staffed nonprofit in Roseville (CaliforniaCareForce.org).

Learn more »

Barbi Buckles: Great artist, poor venue

May 20, 2015 — 

I think that the Center for the Arts Theatre is such a treat to see music in and I have always enjoyed the smallness and the personal touches that are present everywhere.

I was at the Veterans Hall to see Joan Armatrading. I have not seen her in over 30 years. I thought she was playing at the Center, but was mistaken since I didn’t realize that you guys were putting the show on at the Veterans Hall because you needed a bigger venue.

Learn more »

Maryalyce Hansen: TV guide — gone but not forgotten

May 20, 2015 — 

So good to read Linda Johnson’s letter to the editor regarding the TV guide. Right on.

Glad I take two other papers and get their listings. Also, the article that was published to explain why it had been removed made no sense at all! And I so appreciate the letter recently printed from Jack Moorhead. He hit the nail on the head. Having lived here since the 1930s, I have never before considered not subscribing to The Union, but it’s becoming a decision more and more.

Learn more »

Loletta Hadel:Memorial Wall of Remembrance a powerful experience

May 18, 2015 — 

In celebration of National Crime Victims’ Rights Week April 19 through 25, 2015, the Nevada County Victim Witness Assistance Center erected a Memorial Wall of Remembrance at the Eric Rood Administrative Center in Nevada City during the entire month of April. The Memorial Wall is a collection of photos of deceased crime victims from Nevada County, many of whom died in the county they called home. The photos bore the images of those ranging in age from toddlers to senior citizens. Viewing the Memorial Wall is extremely powerful and sobering but even greater is the trauma experienced by the family members and friends of the victims in the wake of the crime.

Our staff would like to thank the following who made this Memorial Wall display possible: Larry at Hospice Gift and Thrift (Freeman Lane) for assistance on the purchase of a small table; Tom and Doug from Nevada County Facilities; Jan and colleagues in the Nevada County Assessor’s office for maintaining the battery-powered candle every work day; Laura who graciously donated the candle and The Union for selecting the Memorial Wall story and photo as their headline news on April 11 — what an honor for crime victims.

Learn more »

Bonnie Bennett: The time of year to thank a teacher

May 18, 2015 — 

May is the time of the year when we honor our teachers. Many students and their parents have been planning luncheons or have sent their teachers something special to say thank you.

It’s something we all have in common — having been inspired by or helped by teachers throughout the years.

Learn more »

Jani Linfield: Thanks to Ernie's

May 18, 2015 — 

I would like to thank and commend Ernie’s Van & Storage for completing a complicated delivery to Sammie’s Friends Animal Shelter this past week.

We are creating a new cat facility out of an old triple wide trailer, and had a delivery of 30 cat kennels weighing over 200 pounds each, delivered to the site and placed in the correct rooms. The delivery guys went above and beyond by helping solve the “puzzle” of what goes in each room. They did this with a lot of hard work, a great attitude, and an incredible sense of humor.

Learn more »

Jenny Warden: Most reasonable candidate

May 18, 2015 — 

Regarding David Briceno’s editorial to “Bring Back the Parties,” there’s another important role for Independents.

When either party runs a nitwit, many Independents register in that party to nominate the most reasonable candidate.

Learn more »

Sue Long: Convention of States not the solution

May 18, 2015 — 

If your boat has a leak in it, it doesn’t help to drill a hole in the bottom. And, trusting the current crop of politicians to rewrite our Constitution, which would be the result of a constitutional convention (aka Convention of States), is not the solution to government overreach.

The Constitution is not the problem, changing it is not the solution.

Learn more »

Clare McDowel: Discontinuation of the TV Guide

May 18, 2015 — 

I totally agree with Linda Johnson of Nevada City, whose letter appeared on May 7 in The Union. I looked forward to the TV Guide and am disappointed you discontinued it.

Clare McDowell, 26-year subscriber

Learn more »

Don Mortara: Pasta Sauce Cook Off a success

May 16, 2015 — 

The Italian Cultural Foundation held its Annual Pasta Sauce Cook Off on May 9.

It was a huge success thanks to the effort of some great people, such as Kate Malmgren and the staff at Holiday Inn Express, Theresa and staff at Bear River Pasta, deejay Andy and our cooks — Uncle Luco’s Kitchen, Dante Paverello, Don Branson, Steve DeSena and Don Mortara.

Learn more »

Shirley Benedick: Quality care at SNMH

May 16, 2015 — 

I was admitted to Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital with heart attack symptoms, and I thank Dr. Hemsley for ordering the abdominal ultrasound, and Dr. Statton for removing my gall bladder ASAP under complicating factors.

Discharged after eight days, I was cared for by many, but my thanks go to nurses Marc, Judith, Nina, Jenna, and support staff, Vanessa, for their care. I feel, however, especially fortunate to have had consistent care by nurses Alissa, Karen, and Nicole, my “angels,” competent, critical thinkers — getting answers to my questions and putting in the extra effort to handle my concerns, while in the midst of the hospital’s tech transition.

Learn more »

Thanks to Smiley Guys

May 16, 2015 — 

Kudos to Jesse Cohen, the owner of Smiley Guys Smokehouse in Grass Valley, for recently hosting a fundraising dinner for Partners in English Language Learning (PiELL).

Everyone who attended enjoyed great ribs and other slow-cooked food for a good cause. A percentage of the evenings proceeds was donated to PiELL. Partners in English Language Learning offers free one-on-one ESL tutoring to adults in Nevada County.

Learn more »

Nuri Hasanov: 70th anniversary of the Crimean Tatar genocide

May 15, 2015 — 

On May 18, the Crimean Tatars throughout the world, including the Crimean Tatar-Americans, will commemorate the 70th anniversary of the Crimean Tatar Genocide — the “Surgun,” our “Day of Mourning.”

The history has recorded May 18, 1944, as one of its darkest days, when the entire Crimean Tatar population, mostly women, children and the elderly — since able-bodied Crimean Tatars were fighting as members of Soviet Armed Forces to defend their Soviet motherland — was uprooted from their homes without any warning, loaded on trucks in town centers and taken to the nearest train stations to be deported to Central Asia, Urals, Siberia and other remote areas of the then Soviet Union.

Learn more »

Linda Johnson: Not happy with discontinuation of TV guide

May 14, 2015 — 

The minority should have a voice. After talking to a sweet lady ahead of us in a checkout line who was looking for a TV Guide magazine, I asked if she too missed the TV Guide in The Union.

Yes, she said. We concurred that we, too, were not happy with the decision. We even paid extra for it in the past and were OK with that. We will definitely miss it and wonder about others who can’t get cable or satellite or can’t afford it. Printing off the computer is a hassle and a magazine is an extra cost. We now wonder how many others out there are not happy with the decision.

Learn more »

Susan Wallace: Scooter's Pals fundraiser a success

May 14, 2015 — 

Our 10-year-anniversary at Scooter’s Pals is coming up this weekend, and we have a lot to be thankful for. Thanks to everyone who came to our event at Smiley Guys this week to support our efforts to save dogs’ and cats’ lives by buying raffle tickets, bidding on silent auction items and eating with us on the anniversary of the loss of Scooter and Molly.

And thanks to the folks at Smiley Guys, who were so gracious to help us have a good time by providing lots of food choices, including vegetarian options. Many of us loved the mac n’ cheese casserole (yum!), the salad options and there are no better french fries on earth than those at Smiley Guys — better than homemade (well, at least my homemade).

Learn more »

David Kemph: No downside to being wrong these days

May 14, 2015 — 

In reply to George Boardman’s column concerning the “demise of California,” he is correct in his appraisal of the easy hyperbole and overstatement prevalent today.

In the thriving “Talk Industry” there seems to be no downside to being wrong. If I were continually wrong in my job I’m sure there would be a price to pay. The same pundits and experts continue to be asked back for their opinions and predictions even though their track record parallels that of palm readers.

Learn more »

Nolan Fillman: A need for ethical reporting in Baltimore

May 13, 2015 — 

The coverage of Baltimore has been shoddy — at best. The information that I have gathered from the media has either been incomplete or altogether inaccurate, when compared to eyewitness reports from the scene of the peaceful protesters.

On April 23, more than 10,000 people gathered peacefully to protest. A minority of people took advantage of the confusion and began rioting and looting. Striving for peace and for their voices to be heard, members of both the Bloods and Crips joined together to protect buildings and store owners from rioters.

Learn more »

Bill Neville: Goodman off the mark

May 13, 2015 — 

I was saddened by the Amy Goodman column, “The American Dream: Living to 18.” Does Ms. Goodman, “a nationally syndicated columnist” really believe that an American teenager’s greatest threat of an early death is an action by a police officer?

It seems to me that the idea that a 13-year-old black (presumably) girl should be concerned about being killed by cops, is like swimming with crocodiles and being afraid of mosquito bites.

Learn more »

Joan Wilson: Creepy 'Windows' scammers

May 13, 2015 — 

Yesterday I received another call warning me about a problem with “Windows” — probably my 500th call (one came at midnight about a month ago).

Since my old HP crashed in early March, I asked him if he was referring to the one that crashed and I said it had been recycled. I then hung up on him.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top