Letters to the Editor

Bigelsen cured a five-year chronic infection

December 27, 2014 — 

Before seeing Harvey Bigelsen I had a chronic ear infection for five years. I tried many natural approaches and finally decided to see an ear, nose, and throat “specialist.” The specialist said he can give me antibiotics but it would only temporarily get rid of the infection because I had a hole in my ear drum. He said I would not be able to get water in my ear for the rest of my life or the infection would return due to the stagnant water lingering in the ear. A friend told me about Bigelsen so I made an appointment. Three appointments later the infection was gone. It has been fives years since then and the infection has not returned. I can swim and shower without the worry of getting water trapped in my ear and getting another infection.

Matthew Brown

Learn more »

Thank you for your service

December 27, 2014 — 

As I sat down in my easy chair to enjoy “The Union” and my morning coffee on this dreary overcast day, I opened the paper to see a picture of an American hero being welcomed and escorted through the Sacramento International Airport by an honor guard. I looked at the wonderful smile on his face as he walked along and it brought sunshine to my day. You truly did brighten my day as I hope it did others. I thank you for your service, Louis Conter and to all of the American service men.

Carol Marquis

Learn more »

The Sony affair

December 27, 2014 — 

The recent ‘Sony Affair’ has, in my opinion, been a terrible chapter in American history. First, you have the hacking of Sony’s emails and other internal correspondence which several media outlets chose to publicize under the guise of ‘Free Speech.” Hacking into anyone’s private records without their permission should be a crime and publishing that stolen data should also be a crime. ‘Free Speech’ is only a right to say whatever you think and to quote other information that you have legal access to or is in the public domain. Secondly, Sony’s decision to make a movie wherein the theme is to assassinate the living head of state of another country is not only detestable but also in terribly bad taste (which unfortunately has never stopped Hollywood before). Would we stand for anyone making this kind of movie about a United States president, or any other living person for that matter? I don’t think so. If this is Sony’s best shot at making a buck, they should get out of the business. It’s also sad to say that I feel the public’s reaction to this entire incident is a sad commentary on our moral fiber.

Ronald Avanzino

Learn more »

Holiday eviction flies in face of human kindness

December 27, 2014 — 

I read today that the residents of one Greg Zaller’s Co-Living homes will be forced to move out before Dec. 29, due to an ordinance by the city of Grass Valley. Greg Zaller, they say does not have the necessary permits to allow the house to be a residential building.

I cannot believe the callousness of such a request during the holidays. The residents are happy living there, as they say. It gives them the opportunity to turn their life around from addiction and homelessness. It certainly is better than living in the streets in the winter. Could they not give him more time, if the permit is required? I understand that these permits are also very expensive.

Learn more »

Community pitches in for Big Brothers Big Sisters’ holiday party

December 27, 2014 — 

On behalf of the 110 Bigs and Littles that attend this year’s Big Brothers Big Sisters’ holiday party, a BIG thank you to the following folks who made it such a success: Joey Bratton’s Fit Culture Studio, Briar Patch, SPD Markets, First Baptist Church; our volunteers: Tori, Lurelle, Babe, Justine, Shelly, Gordon, Frank, and the many members of Fit Culture Studio and customers of SPD Market/Nevada City that bought presents and gift cards to make our children’s Christmas a little brighter. A special thanks to Thom Stauser for the donation of food and toys for our families. It can be rough this time of year for many of our Nevada County families, however all of you stepped up to make the season joyous, if just for a small moment. Merry Christmas to all from the board of director and staff at Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County.

Lindy Beatie, executive director

Learn more »

Environmental impacts of building a new school

December 27, 2014 — 

In response to the Dec. 19 article in The Union, I offer the following clarification.

The Yuba River Charter School plans have yet to address the main concerns of the neighbors in the Adams Avenue, Squirrel Creek Road and Rough and Ready Highway areas, as follows:

Learn more »

Excellent care at Golden Empire

December 24, 2014 — 

My mother has recently passed away. She was a resident at Golden Empire for the last two and a half years.

I would like to publicly thank the staff at Golden Empire Nursing and Rehabilitation Center. I visited frequently and always seem to catch at least one member of the staff in an act of kindness. Mom was always treated with respect and care. It was as if Mom was a member of their family and not a resident there. Everyone from nursing, housekeeping, dietary, and the front office were great.

Learn more »

Grateful for Dr. Bigelsen’s therapies

December 24, 2014 — 

I am a two-time breast cancer survivor. After my initial diagnosis, I scheduled an appointment with Dr. Bigelsen who quickly confirmed my illness upon examination of my blood.

While I endured years of conventional treatments to fight the disease, Dr. B was always available to help support my body with his supplemental therapies. His advice was exceptional.

Learn more »

What has Hillary done to deserve my vote?

December 24, 2014 — 

So, the Taliban goes into a school and murders 141 people, 132 children.

Presumptive presidential nominee Hillary Clinton says these are the people we must “empathize with” and “respect.” Really? Seriously?

Learn more »

Hot water for Christmas

December 24, 2014 — 

I don’t want to use my last name because I don’t want my children to know that I’m struggling financially. I have been living without hot water for quite a while because it would cost too much to fix.

I would like to thank A to Z Supply for giving me a new, free water heater and to ABT Plumbing for installing it free of charge.

Learn more »

Local businesses go the extra mile for anniversary party

December 24, 2014 — 

Pete and Synthia Vasilakos of Big Oak Valley would like to thank Antonio of Antonio’s Catering for serving a great meal for all 90 guests and also D.J. Ed and Debby Lawson for playing all our favorite music that we danced to at our 50th anniversary party.

Pete Vasilakos

Learn more »

Choose a compassionate option, not fur

December 24, 2014 — 

Thank you for covering the story about the protest in Nevada City regarding the fur industry. Anal electrocution, steel jaw traps, clubbing — all are common methods used to kill animals for their pelts.

No matter how one rationalizes the desire to wear fur, the suffering inflicted on the animals is undeniable.

Learn more »

Dear Mr. Bigelsen

December 23, 2014 — 

Dear Mr. Bigelsen and family — thank you!

Not one single thing, can I think of to write.

Learn more »

Coon hounds carried my cat away

December 23, 2014 — 

Goodbye, Zane, we’ll miss you. You were recently killed by two unlicensed, unneutered brindle coon hounds who mauled you while you ate breakfast on our porch.

I saw them carry your lifeless body away clenched between their jaws.

Learn more »

Still a lot and they make you king

December 23, 2014 — 

In July, Eric Garner died in Staten Island. He was approached by the New York Police Department on suspicion of selling cigarettes that were purchased outside of New York, to avoid a substantial tax.

Recently, President Obama nominated Antonio Weiss for a position of Under Secretary of the Treasury.

Learn more »

Memories of World War II

December 23, 2014 — 

Just finished reading Mary Tucker’s letter about World War II. Brings back lots of memories.

I was 14 attending St. Mary’s Academy in Los Angeles at the time, and the “blackout air raids” were pretty scary. So dark and all the wardens walking the streets to make sure no one had lights on. My aunt and I used to take the train to Indiana to visit relatives in the summer. The first summer after war had been declared, the trains were full of troops and very hard to reserve a berth on them.

Learn more »

Ongoing troubles with squatters

December 23, 2014 — 

I believe a piece or article should be published about my ongoing troubles with squatters and the rights they have and disregard for mine.

They broke into my home while I was hospitalized and refused to leave. I had to hire an attorney at $3,000, and it allowed them over 90 days to be evicted and they robbed me of most anything of value.

Learn more »

Traffic mitigation needed with opening of new clinic

December 22, 2014 — 

An interesting and informative article in The Union on the new Western Sierra Medical Clinic on the corner of Brunswick and Old Tunnel roads. I might add, due to the already very busy intersection at those two roads — and without a new traffic light there — some new business for the clinic might be generated.

Sherm Hanley

Learn more »

Complaint driven ordinance?

December 22, 2014 — 

Before the last election when Measure S, the proposal to make some sensible changes to the county’s current medical marijuana ordinance was on the ballot, our local sheriff repeatedly stated that the current “nuisance” ordinance was “complaint driven.”

That means, as I understand it, that someone, such as a neighbor, must complain about some annoying or illegal aspect of a local medical grow before the Sheriff’s Department takes action. Yet, as The Union recently reported, during Brad Peceimer-Glasse’s preliminary hearing for a cultivation arrest in early September, a sheriff’s deputy “... testified that the properties were investigated after overflights revealed the marijuana cultivation.”

Learn more »

United Way’s ‘Project Warmth’ a success

December 20, 2014 — 

A big “Thank You!” goes out to all of the many businesses that participated in Project Warmth. Some businesses were drop-off locations for the public to donate much-needed items for those in need, and other businesses collected items themselves to donate.

Many sleeping bags, pairs of socks, coats and other items were delivered to those who needed them the most in Nevada County. They will stay a little warmer this winter due to the generous donations of those businesses and Nevada County citizens. Thank you!

Learn more »

Know the difference between aging and signs of Alzheimer’s

December 20, 2014 — 

The Alzheimer’s Association sees a rise in calls to its 24-hour helpline — 800-272-3900 — during and after the holiday season, when people return home and visit with friends and family whom they may not see as frequently during the year. Visiting relatives over the holidays may raise questions about the physical and cognitive health of family members.

I remember one year visiting my grandmother, who lived alone in Oklahoma. She looked the same as the year before, but after an hour of conversation I realized something was wrong. Grandma asked the same questions repeatedly and wasn’t able to find routine household items that she misplaced. My grandmother needed help.

Learn more »

Thanks for support, but let’s enjoy Victorian Christmas

December 20, 2014 — 

As owners of the Fur Traders for the past 40 years, we appreciate the support of those who protested against the animal rights groups who impose their extremist views on wearing leather, furs, wool, angora, cashmere, pet ownership, fishing, hunting, rodeos and animal husbandry.

We would also thank the members from 4-H, VegansAgainstPETA.com, Future Farmers of America, fishermen, PETAKillsAnimals.com, AnimalScam.com, hunters, ranchers and those who have fought for our freedom of free choice and their support.

Learn more »

Eisenhower had it right

December 19, 2014 — 

On June 17, 1954, President Eisenhower cut off this illegal traffic.

He did it quickly and decisively with only 1,075 United States Border Patrol agents. They made 1,000 arrests per day.

Learn more »

‘Enhanced’ interrogation damages us all

December 18, 2014 — 

The recent Feinstein Report on “enhanced” interrogation techniques (torture) not only demonstrates that it is ineffective, but that it has a corrosive effect on us as a society and that as a civilized people it is something that no human being should do to another human being.

Also, I would say it is inhuman to take another life unless a person’s life is immediately threatened. A corrosive effect on us as a society has been ongoing and will continue to denigrate us as humans as long as we condone taking another life, whether it is done by an individual or by an institution.

Learn more »

Open letter to Senator Feinstein

December 18, 2014 — 

Dear Sen. Feinstein: I cannot tell you how appalled I am with your decision to release the Democrat’s summary report on the CIA and its use of enhanced interrogation on terrorists who were responsible for killing over 3,000 American civilians.

You were the chairwoman of the Select Oversight Committee on Terrorism. What was your senatorial duty on that day? Do you not bear some of the responsibility since you failed to protect the Americans who died on that day?

Learn more »

Holiday Cheer Program a success

December 18, 2014 — 

Once again our community has given of themselves to make the Senior Outreach Program a wonderful success. With an abundance of donations and the help of many caring individuals and groups, we were able to package and deliver 137 Christmas gift bags to our communities homebound seniors.

A special thanks to the following groups: Craft Guild of Nevada County, RSVP, Not 2 Square Weavers, Sierra Center for Positive Living, Grass Valley Red Hat Crafters, Bitney Springs Prep College, Job’s Daughters, Interfaith Food Ministry, Patchwork Pals Quilting Group, Nevada City United Methodist Church Prayer Shawl Ministry, Nevada County Juvenile Hall, Nevada County Behavioral Health, Nevada County District Attorney, Ladies Relief Society, Help at Home Senior Care team and Girl Scout Troops 750,930,920,538,192 and 154.

Learn more »

Supes shouldn’t raise their own salaries

December 18, 2014 — 

Our county supervisors’ pay will rise from $39,447 to $43,335 in January. This is the first leg of the $10,000 raise they awarded themselves over the next three years. They say they want to attract younger people to run for office, but the real reason is probably ordinary greed — they can raise their own salary, so they do. Then they cancel the Dec. 16 board meeting, one of their duties.

The regular staff does the work that actually keeps the county running. They’ve had to forgo raises and cope with furlough days and staff cuts. Good management sees to it that those who do the work are appreciated and well compensated before they reward themselves.

Learn more »

Is our community biased toward allopathic conventional medicine and all in favor of a medical monopoly?

December 16, 2014 — 

I would love to buy Dr. Bigelsen’s office equipment as his family faces financial ruin.

But, who wants to set up an office to be raided for “being different” or something that Western medicine professionals do not understand because of their lack of training in medical college, especially in this community of many wanting the holistic approach to medicine and wellness rather than the allopathic approach of toxic chemical drugs, surgery, and radiation as medicine.

Learn more »

Confused on the bridge

December 15, 2014 — 

I just read the article regarding the Dog Bar Bridge and was confused on a few things.

The article said that the bridge could be flooded once the new Parker dam was going in but, as Supervisor Terry Lamphier says, it is a major thoroughfare. So why do anything at all to the current bridge, if it will be under water once the dam is built?

Learn more »

Bigelsen case unfair

December 15, 2014 — 

I am writing to express my disappointment in the court system and at the DA for pursuing this case against Harvey Bigelsen.

Dr. Biglesen had treated me for knee pain a couple of years ago because I had been experiencing pain after a day of skiing (I am a professional ski coach). After only two months of treatments, my pain has gone away and has not returned since. There are many aliments Western medicine has no way of treating. My degenerated cartilage is one of these conditions.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top