Letters

Angie Lux: Planned Parenthood plays vital role in providing birth control, education

August 29, 2015 — 

The campaign to defund Planned Parenthood is back again, and Kathryn Jean Lopez, published by The Union, in the last two weeks is again trying to lead the way.

She indicates it is because she is against abortion, but Planned Parenthood prevents abortions by providing birth control to thousands of impoverished women. Birth control has been reported by a Guttmacher Institute to reduce abortions by 13 percent.

Learn more »

Doe Firth: Police blotter humor not appropriate

August 29, 2015 — 

For many years, the popular feature “Police Blotter” has contained amusing stories of absurd police calls. In the Aug. 4 issue,

this item was highlighted in large type: “A man from Robinson Road reported a neighbor was mowing his lawn. He was advised that was not illegal and said he would call the governor.”

Learn more »

Sue Jeffrey: Really, the sanctity of all human life

August 29, 2015 — 

Those calling for the defunding of Planned Parenthood are not demanding its closure, only that it not be funded with their dollars because they believe in the rights of the unborn from both a legal and a religious perspective.

Asking them to be complicit in an act they consider murder is no different than using tax dollars to pay for guns and gun safety classes for every household.

Learn more »

Mike Mooers: Call out falsehoods or don't publish letters

August 29, 2015 — 

A newspaper needs to meet, at the very least, a level of professionalism that distinguishes fact not simply from opinion, but from fiction.

The Union fails to meet that standard with many letters they publish, and it was glaringly apparent in one from Aug. 19 written by Mr. Bob Webster regarding his feelings towards Planned Parenthood.

Learn more »

Itara O'Connell: Planned Parenthood getting a bum rap

August 29, 2015 — 

Dear Bob Webster, in your letter to the editor, “Planned Parenthood Worst of the Bunch,” dated Aug. 19, I feel your anger and applaud your concern for human life.

You failed to mention, however, in your search for blame, that it is the inappropriate sexual behavior of boys and men that cause the pregnancies in the first place.

Learn more »

Louise Carter: Thanks for the grammar correction

August 29, 2015 — 

Kudos to the person who corrected the lighted signs along Zion Street last week cautioning drivers to be aware that school had started.

At first the sign read: DRIVE SAFE. A couple of days later it read: DRIVE SAFELY.

Learn more »

Ray Bryars: Crack down on distracted drivers

August 29, 2015 — 

While driving south on Highway 49 toward Nevada City, I entered a left curve and was shocked to see an oncoming car aiming straight for my driver’s side door.

I did what I could to turn away, but a steep drop off and many trees limited my ability to turn. Luckily the driver “woke up” and turned in time to narrowly miss my car.

Learn more »

Don Rivenes: Global warming not political manipulation

August 29, 2015 — 

The recent article in The Union about Congressman LaMalfa’s town hall meeting in Grass Valley reported that he has publicly critiqued and voted against global warming legislation.

“You’ve actually motivated me to do a lot of organizing in the next polling to organize young people against you,” Nevada City resident John Lorence said. “Because I’m not worried about me, or my neighbor, (but) the younger generation.”

Learn more »

Carol Judd: Trump doesn't speak for me

August 28, 2015 — 

In a recent letter, Mr. Phillips believes Donald Trump is “saying what all Americans have been thinking.” Not true.

Trump has said nothing that I have been thinking. I find Trump’s manner, interactions and disrespect for others to be the antithesis of a strong leader.

Learn more »

Dean Olson: Do we really want another war?

August 28, 2015 — 

Years ago, when Russia invaded Afghanistan, we covertly got involved and created what then became Al Qaeda.

We supplied and supported those who eventually turned on us and brought down the Twin Towers. After this, the one country which had absolutely nothing to do with this terrorist attack, Iraq, is overthrown by the Bush Administration by lying and fabricating false information.

Learn more »

Lily Marie: Peace & Justice Center booth at fair a success

August 28, 2015 — 

The Peace & Justice Center of Nevada County directors want to thank everyone who helped make our fair booth, “Our Children Need Peace to Thrive,” a great success:

— The 37 volunteers from the Brady Campaign, Creating Communities Beyond Bias, Child Advocates of Nevada County, Gather the Women, Grandmothers for Peace, Palestine/Israel Working Group, Partners Family Resource Centers, The Peace Alliance, NEO and the Mankind Project

Learn more »

Edna Brown: Our side of Eskaton

August 28, 2015 — 

The Union newspaper has reported several times on what they call “Eskaton lawsuit.” May we set the record straight?

Eskaton Village Grass Valley Homeowners Association is being sued by two residents of the village.

Learn more »

Paul D. Hauck: Obama's popularity comparable to Reagan

August 28, 2015 — 

In her article in The Union on Aug. 24, Julie Pace describes President Obama’s popularity as “plummeting.”

I don’t know where this perception comes from. Perhaps because people hear such intensely critical statements about him, they assume those statements represent the majority of Americans’ views.

Learn more »

Frank Way: Another gratifying Supreme Court decision

August 27, 2015 — 

Among the several decisions made by this session of the United States Supreme Court (2014-15) that validated the liberal point of view, perhaps none would be as decisive as the one on the Affordable Care Act, or King vs. Burwell.

By a margin of six to three the court upheld the law’s subsidies to all Americans regardless of whether the state they live in has, or has not, set up state exchanges. The decision really only effects states opposed to the Affordable Care Act and since California is not one of these states, why is the decision significant for us here? Besides reminding us all that Congress makes, and the Court interprets, the laws, Chief Justice Roberts emphasized the importance of a law’s intent, in this case the intent of the Affordable Care Act is to “improve the marketplace for health insurance, not destroy it.”

Learn more »

Carolyn Beardsley: Highway 174 safety project to take piece of history

August 27, 2015 — 

It will be my curve that is going to be removed and become a straightaway with the Caltrans Safety Project 2018.

I own the property with the Joe Ruess Landscape Architect sign out front which has been a fixture on the highway since 1950. Along this manicured frontage is the clearly visible Nevada County Narrow Gauge Railroad bed which will be defaced and owned by Caltrans. Caltrans should never be allowed to own the Narrow Gauge Railroad Bed, which is a piece of our Nevada County history!

Learn more »

Joe O'Leary: No water? No problem

August 27, 2015 — 

Our home is five miles from Grass Valley. Several weeks ago on a Friday afternoon, we had no water.

We called Peter’s Drilling and Pump Service and they said they would schedule us for Saturday afternoon. They called back in half an hour and said they would provide service by noon on Saturday. Shortly thereafter, we were told they could arrive at the house by 8 a.m. Saturday morning. By 10 a.m. we had water. Someone at Peter’s made sure a situation didn’t become a major issue. The problem was correctly diagnosed and the repairs done in a timely manner. Thank you Peters and staff.

Learn more »

Jim Primrose: Save the trees at Nevada Union High School stadium

August 27, 2015 — 

Nevada Union High School has a wonderful new track except there is a problem. The school seems to have consulted with an arborist who believes that any tree in the proximity of the track poses a threat to the track even though the same trees peacefully coexisted with the old track, which lasted 17 years.

The dozen or more trees in question provide character, beauty, and shade to the track and football field which sets Nevada Union apart from the stark moonscapes of most other schools. The community needs to raise its voice to see if these trees can be saved. We may not have much time so I ask you to help save the trees in any way which you can. Thank you for your help.

Learn more »

Allan Krosner: It's in the Constitution

August 26, 2015 — 

I read with interest Mr. Wayne Hild’s Aug. 4 letter to the editor, “Look at the real issues, Mr. LaMalfa.”

Every item that Mr. Hild suggested that the government should do are illegal per the Constitution. Article I, Section 8 lists the powers that the federal government has. The 10th Amendment further clarifies this by stating that “The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”

Learn more »

Bill Drake: Unlearning prejudice

August 25, 2015 — 

In the Aug. 8 “Feedback” column, Greg Zeller makes the point that “we … need to look deeper and find the humanity in every person instead of judging people by appearance.”

I completely agree. Our “sameness” is far more significant than our differences.

Learn more »

Richard Hill: The EPA and the USA

August 24, 2015 — 

Recently I began to wonder if we would have, or could have, won, or even fought, World War II had the Environmental Protection Agency been in existence in 1940.

In March 1942, Gen. George S. Patton was ordered to establish an armored training center in the Mojave Desert. Many of our armored forces that fought in North Africa in 1942 and 43 trained there. With an EPA however, there would have been a two- or three-year period (assuming it was fast tracked) in preparing an environmental impact report. Once published, the report would have been challenged with another two or three years of litigation. American forces would have made it to North Africa sometime in 1947 or 1948. Of course, by then the Germans would have controlled all of North Africa, the Suez Canal and would have been well established in Saudi Arabia.

Learn more »

Karen Nelson: Children's Festival a community effort

August 22, 2015 — 

A giant “thank you” to the wonderful local volunteers and businesses that brought the Children’s Festival to life again this year!

This Renaissance Faire for children was enjoyed by more than 2,400 attendees and included 24 crafts, refreshments, and entertainment including Claude the Dragon, the Troll, Pirates, the lovely Queen and her court, and fencers, musicians, dancers, fairies and even mermaids! It could not happen without the generous donations of time and materials of our community.

Learn more »

Laurent Clark: Mr. Crabb's use of Confederate flag

August 22, 2015 — 

Mr. Crabb’s article of Aug. 12 attempts to justify his use of the Confederate flag with the Nevada County Gold Miner logo. He outlines examples of brutalities committed upon Native Americans during the “conquering” of their land by the 49ers. All too true, as taught in our schools and history sites. Thus, we as a society are aware of the transgressions of our forefathers, from Salem to Seattle.

His causes, such as supporting the possible return of the Rancheria to the Nisenan, “from whom it was stripped” may be admirable, but his inferences that many such, “grave injustices have yet to be rectified,” suggest a personal axe to grind. That is OK!

Learn more »

Carol Kuczora: What is socialism?

August 22, 2015 — 

Sen. Bernie Sanders has boldly declared himself a democratic socialist. Many Americans are ignorant of what that means. I didn’t learn it in school.

Socialism is an economic system — not a political system. It is intended to reduce economic injustice and poverty. Political and economic systems can be mixed and matched. Europe has many successful democratic socialist countries with which the citizens are happy. Their economies and democracies both work better than ours.

Learn more »

Remleh Scherzinger: Thanks to firefighters, NID staff for support during fire

August 22, 2015 — 

With this week’s good news that the Lowell Fire is 100 percent contained, and on behalf of myself and the Nevada Irrigation District Board of Directors, I would like to publicly thank the hundreds of firefighters who protected lives, homes as well as NID water and hydroelectric systems along the Bear River.

At the same time, I would like to share with the community the tremendous response and team effort displayed by NID employees during the massive fire.

Learn more »

Richard Reeb: Support rights of unborn children

August 21, 2015 — 

Regarding the letter to the editor on abortion to The Union on Aug. 1, Ron Lowe’s letter condemning Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker for his pro-life position on abortion, which he believes disqualifies Walker from serving as President of the United States, typically falls back on the epithet of “extremist.” Doubtless he finds it necessary to resort to such name-calling following the recent revelation that Planned Parenthood has no objection to selling the organs of children in utero to the highest bidder.

Expressing amazement that Walker was elected governor in the liberal state of Wisconsin, Lowe cites as evidence of the governor’s extremism his signing of a bill that “outlaws non-emergency abortions at or beyond 20 weeks of pregnancy,” not to mention his “record” of “defunding Planned Parenthood, requiring doctors to have abortion privileges at nearby hospitals and requiring women to have and see ultrasounds.” But only an “extremist” supporter of abortion would object to these measures which are designed to discourage the “extreme” step of killing a developing child with potential well beyond premature extinction.

Learn more »

Greg Gibson: Linda Campbell at LaMalfa's town hall

August 21, 2015 — 

I was at Congressman LaMalfa’s town hall. Congressman LaMalfa was politely and conscientiously explaining his position on the whole global warming issue, when a woman jumped up rudely shouting, calling LaMalfa a liar, etc., while storming out of the chambers.

Several people around joked about the “tolerant left” just left the building.

Learn more »

Patricia Anderson: LaMalfa's out of touch

August 21, 2015 — 

“We’re a peaceful society.” That seems a bit disingenuous considering our past decade and a half (actually we could go back even further!). No, war doesn’t wait for us. Thanks to GWB and Cheney, it was instigated.

LaMalfa supports science as long as it’s real, not political! Are 98 percent of scientists political? Are their findings political? His stance on global warming is simply hanging on to the failed Republican stance! What is his connection to big oil and coal? What possible excuse does LaMalfa have for voting against reform?

Learn more »

Ben Baretta: Lowell Fire could have been worse

August 20, 2015 — 

When the Lowell Fire first blew up, I stood on my deck watching the huge cloud with great concern. Within minutes, it seemed, Cal Fire aircraft were flying and laying down retardant.

I am sure that their quick response was the main reason that the fire was not as catastrophic as it might have become.

Learn more »

Seth Kellermann: Film review glosses over criminal act against minor

August 20, 2015 — 

On Aug. 6, I read the article, “Review: ‘Diary of a Teenage Girl’ is strikingly intimate.” I wonder, did you happen to read this article before you printed it in your paper?

The film is apparently about a 15-year-old girl in San Francisco in the 1970s. Jake Coyle, the writer of this piece, asserts that the film “documents the transition she’s been craving … (of her) plunge into sex and adulthood.” The portrayal of this “plunge” is lauded as “gloriously honest.”

Learn more »

Aimee Retzler: Peaceful Valley a true supporter of Sierra Harvest

August 20, 2015 — 

Peaceful Valley Farm & Garden Supply is dedicated to preserving the environment by providing customers with state-of-the-art, organic growing supplies and the tools needed to apply them.

They’re also dedicated to promoting a healthy community and have been an outstanding supporter of Sierra Harvest’s programs through a business sponsorship that has created exceptional marketing videos of our programs and robust promotional materials improving awareness of our impact within the community.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters »
Back to Top