Letters to the Editor

The problem is Measure S itself

October 1, 2014 — 

The yard signs cropping up in town boast “Measure S - A Sensible Solution.” And what is the problem that requires a solution?

As a landlord, I believe the problem is Measure S itself. Current county regulations require that a marijuana cultivator must have written and notarized permission from their landlord to grow marijuana and that any modifications to the electrical or plumbing systems would require the owner/landlord to obtain county permits and inspections.

Learn more »

The right to bear Napalm

October 1, 2014 — 

The Constitution does not contain the word “guns;” the Second Amendment says “arms.”

If it appropriate for American society to control individual possession of Napalm and poison gas without destroying the Constitution, then it is appropriate that it can, and should, control machine guns as well, without destroying the Constitution.

Learn more »

LaMalfa and climate change

October 1, 2014 — 

The Third National Climate Assessment (NCA) was released in May. I asked Congressman LaMalfa for assistance in obtaining a copy. Much later I received a letter from the Congressman stating that a member of his staff had contacted me and he hoped the answer provided was satisfactory.

He also stated: “It is a pleasure serving you.”

Learn more »

Who’s fooling whom?

September 30, 2014 — 

In his column, Mr. Boardman cherry-picked Dr. Barrett’s article implying that because live blood is not yet taught in medical schools in the USA, then it must be an invalid practice. Dr. Bigelsen himself refers his clients to the Quackwatch article, inviting them to read it in total. The legal actions overturned in those earlier cases underscore the innocence of Dr. Bigelsen.

Boardman writes, “In an era when people feel free to decide what facts they are going to accept, it is our right and responsibility to discern the truth!” He continues, “... (they) distrust anything that smacks of the ‘establishment’ and good cause.”

Learn more »

To friends of Culture Shock Yogurt

September 30, 2014 — 

Chase Bank is currently sponsoring 20 small business grants in the amount of $150,000. We are submitting an application for this grant to be used for expansion of our business.

Specifically, for those who do not know, in addition to our four (including Woodland soon to open) “Make Your Own” Frozen Yogurt treats shops, we have a fully certified clean room, and dairy products packing plant in Grass Valley. From this packing plant we pack and deliver over 4,500 cups of frozen yogurt each week during the school year to over 40 schools in Northern California. We are applying for this grant to expand our geographic reach to schools beyond the 75 mile radius we currently serve.

Learn more »

Food Bank helps out those in recovery

September 29, 2014 — 

Thanks to Jennifer Morrill, Toni Thompson, and the team at the Food Bank of Nevada County for all the food they donate to the Community Recovery Resources’ (CoRR) Transitional Housing residents. The wonderful and healthy food they provide children, adults and families can have a big impact in their long term recovery and general wellness.

They recently went above and beyond by taking the time to find specific items requested by the residents for a Bake Sale held during CoRR’s celebration of its 40th Anniversary and National Recovery Month on Sept. 26 at the Grass Valley Campus (180 Sierra College Drive).

Learn more »

Shocked to learn of so many homeless students

September 29, 2014 — 

In response to “Being homeless: It’s not what you think it is.” I was shocked to read in 2013 Nevada County schools identified 160 of their students as being homeless. My first thought was, are homeless students receiving the support they need? When a family becomes homeless, everything happens so quickly. Kids are forced to pack up the only lives they’ve ever known and everything becomes strange.

I’ll never forget a mother and son separated from homelessness, and how much pain radiated from their loving embrace after a surprise visit.

Learn more »

Both feet on Constitutional ground

September 27, 2014 — 

Two recent Letters to the Editor accused me of calling for the abolishment of the Second Amendment, ( Linda Erdmann, Sept. 17) or for “taking legal guns from responsible owners” (Tim McCall, Sept. 25.) Noooooooo ... That is a gross misrepresentation of the actual article.

Given the changes in weapon technology and the growth of a cultural gun violence in this country since the Second Amendment was ratified in 1791, I attempted to make a reasonable case for legislation that would address gun safety and responsibility in the year 2014.

Learn more »

Community steps up for “The Long Walk”

September 27, 2014 — 

Hospitality House offers deep thanks to all those who helped make our benefit walk-a-thon, “The Long Walk,” such a big success.

Hats off to all those who came out to show support for our homeless community members. Kudos to our generous sponsors; musicians Cheryl Z, Michael Roberts, and their great drummer friend; videographer Mark Triolo; T-shirt makers Garet and Caleb Marsh from Red Dog Designs; The Union, YubaNet, KVMR, and KNCO; photographer Matt Proietti; Alhambra Water; Nevada County Food Bank; banner bearers Mary Beth Paul and Nory Fussell; and our many volunteers, including the wonderful Craig and Laura Rohrsen.

Learn more »

Pot squad at it again

September 27, 2014 — 

Well, well, well … we citizens see that Sheriff Royal’s ”MJ” Thug Squad is at it again; and the season’s just warming up! How much you wanna bet they roll out the MRAP at least once before things are all said and done (and I vote for painting it pink).

Boy oh boy, do we ever feel safer now that Mr. Peceimer is off the streets and his evil MJ gardens are ripped out of the ground. Civil engineers can be real beasty, so good work, as well, wrestling him down and cuffing him in front of his family. Crack police work and excellent use of our hard-earned tax dollars. Keep up the fine work, fellas.

Learn more »

Heroes in action

September 27, 2014 — 

On my way into town last Saturday I saw a huge cloud of dirty smoke with homes and trees burning!

I drove to the attack base to watch the borate bombers, awed by what I saw. The flyers were so superb, so brave and skilled; the ground crews were so well trained. Their maneuvers were directed by hand signals because of the noise. One bomber would load and take off, and another would move into its place. So I watched most of the day, witnessing the very best America has to offer. When it was time to leave, that big cloud of smoke was gone.

Learn more »

Not happy about treatment of elephants

September 27, 2014 — 

I am nine years old and I am writing to tell you that I went to protest Ringling Brothers Circus because I wanted the public to know how they treat their elephants (bad). I went to the protest with a group of caring people from Grass Valley.

We met other protestors in Sacramento at the Sleep Train Arena on Sunday, Sept. 14. I handed out some flyers to families coming to buy tickets and many people didn’t want the information, or didn’t believe me. It was hard work.

Learn more »

‘Messenger’ misses message

September 27, 2014 — 

I am responding to an “Other Voices” article submitted by Matthew Renda, a former reporter with The Union, wherein he responds to an article submitted by Gene Vander Plaats, retired Penn Valley Fire Chief. Vander Plaats’ statement revisited a number of accusations regarding the operations of the Penn Valley Fire Department contained in an Oct. 3, 2013 story by Mr. Renda. These accusations were forwarded to the Grand Jury for an investigation, and no report with recommendations was issued; i.e. the accusations proved to be groundless. The message that the “messenger” – Mr. Renda – did not get is that had he done a more professional job of reporting he would have uncovered facts refuting the accusations, which he could have included in his article in order to provide a well-researched, professional-grade article that referenced “both sides” of the dispute.

Mr. Renda claims that “I was in full possession of the facts.” Apparently not. So in essence, the reputations of the fire chief, and the board of directors were inappropriately criticized — by members of the Penn Valley community — in a one-sided news article that somehow survived the assumed review by a more seasoned editor.

Learn more »

Happy anniversary to The Union

September 27, 2014 — 

Happy anniversary to you. One hundred and fifty years is a long time, Old Girl, and you have shined.

Anchoring a community in purpose and entertaining endless forums of debate … no small task indeed. You should know that those who love you, and those who love to hate you, all appreciate you no matter what they say.

Learn more »

Cook speaks for many

September 26, 2014 — 

I just read Cheryl Cook’s latest column in the paper and I want to express my admiration for her writing efforts, past and present. She is always well-researched, literate and spot-on.

Her current piece completely reflects what should be every American’s position on our out-of-control gun culture. But unfortunately, there are too many who feel the need to own weapons is more important than a child’s life.

Learn more »

Cherished wedding ring returned by stranger

September 26, 2014 — 

On Sept. 13, my husband and I went grocery shopping at Safeway right off of Brunswick in Grass Valley. When we got home, I discovered I had lost my wedding ring.

I immediately called Safeway but no one had turned in any rings. I just knew that no one would be honest enough or caring enough to turn it in and I would never see my ring again.

Learn more »

Red Light Ball held in new location

September 26, 2014 — 

As we look forward to the 16th Annual Red Light Ball, we are reminded how important our patrons, supporters and friends are to the Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council.

The year 2015 signals a major change to the Red Light Ball and the NCLFC. After being held for 15 years at the Nevada County Fairgrounds, the 16th Annual Red Light Ball will be at the Alta Sierra Country Club on Feb. 21 in order to maximize the council’s fundraising effectiveness.

Learn more »

Bear-kitty’s going to be OK

September 25, 2014 — 

My family wants to express our extreme appreciation for Cheryl Wicks and everyone at Sammie’s Friends and Four Paws Animal Clinic in Nevada City, particularly Dr. Sue Lester.

We took our precious “Bear-kitty” in after his wrist was crushed. We had no means to do the treatments that were required, which would have left him severely handicapped the rest of his life had we not done them.

Learn more »

Focus on cause of injustice, rather than disarm citizens

September 25, 2014 — 

Cheryl Cook, your Sept. 9 opinion piece certainly took the long way around in your attempt to pit the Second Amendment against “domestic tranquility.”

The concept of “insuring domestic tranquility” appears in the preamble and serves as a stated goal of our Constitution. The Second Amendment furthers that goal by acknowledging that an armed citizenry is necessary to insure our security as a state. At the time this amendment was adopted, invasion by a foreign power was plausible and an armed citizenry would help deter or resist an invasion. This holds true today; thereby confirming relevancy of the amendment.

Learn more »

The forest is not a dump

September 25, 2014 — 

While it’s true that summer is coming to an end, I’m still feeling compelled to remind folks that the forests, rivers, lakes and trails of Nevada County are not your personal dump.

This includes the company that’s been cutting down trees in the 5 Mile House area. I’ve spent the summer removing broken glass, cardboard, empty beer bottles, six-pack containers for those beer bottles, cigarette butts (yuck!), clay pigeons, fast-food containers, “Happy Birthday” balloons, doggie poop bags (double yuck!) and the list goes on.

Learn more »

Sparky’s back home

September 24, 2014 — 

Kudos to Lois at Sheriff-Animal Control for helping us to reunite a lost dog with its owner.

We sheltered Sparky overnight on Sunday and he was back with his owner on Monday. Thanks Lois for your courtesy and prompt assistance in locating Sparky’s owner so quickly!

Learn more »

September is Prostate Cancer Awareness Month

September 24, 2014 — 

Fact: Prostate cancer is preventable.

Fact: One out of six men will develop prostate cancer.

Learn more »

NFL outrage should be directed at justice system

September 24, 2014 — 

Calls for NFL Commissioner Roger Goodel to resign are misdirected. The outrage and inquiry over Ray Rice should be directed at the justice system in the county where the crime occurred. If inquiry shows that the judge and prosecutor acted “within the law,” then modifying those laws may be the next step.

The NFL is an entertainment organization that has the right to create and terminate contracts for any reasons permissible by civil law. I don’t think we should look to the NFL to dispense justice or “solve” the problem. It’s not the post-judicial nature that worries me, it’s the abandonment of tens of thousands of family violence victims who are assaulted by someone not famous.

Learn more »

Sentence too lenient

September 24, 2014 — 

Five years too harsh? Ask Tyler Leal if he would take five years in jail or being blind for the rest of his life.

I’m betting that he would choose jail. I am appalled that anyone would think that blinding a person in the commission of a robbery does not warrant at least five years in jail.

Learn more »

I stand proud

September 24, 2014 — 

Regarding the Other Voices guest column by Gene Vander Plaats, I would like to inform Mr. Vander Plaats that I am not the one trying to exonerate myself nor am I patting myself on the back for hard work I delegated to my underlings.

I, for one, am not ashamed for asking tough, legitimate questions (not accusations, refer to the tape), and yes, I stand proud for trying to get answers to those questions from the board and you.

Learn more »

Kids and guns not a good combo

September 23, 2014 — 

Thank you for publishing the photo of children holding guns on the front page of your Saturday edition. It is never too early to teach kids the legitimacy of weapons in our troubled world. Although the anti-gun crowd points out that 10,000 Americans are killed each year by guns, isn’t it a small price to pay for the fine sense of empowerment wielding a firearm?

Ken Sebastian

Learn more »

We need your help

September 23, 2014 — 

I have only just joined NEO, but over the past four months I have made new friends, learned to be less shy and I’ve been given the opportunity to be myself in a non-judgmental place.

NEO stands for New Events and Opportunities and is a nonprofit organization devoted to helping youth lead healthy and fulfilling lives by giving them, yep you guessed it, new events and opportunities. We are currently working towards opening a youth center in Grass Valley and we want the entire community to be a part of our mission. We want the center to be a place for youth to go in order to have healthy and safe fun while at the same time learning and getting to know other youth. This center will not only benefit youth but it will also cater to the general public and have events for all ages.

Learn more »

Heidi Hall, congresswoman

September 23, 2014 — 

I am so thankful I moved to Nevada City for my retirement. I can’t fully express how great it feels to live in a place studded with natural beauty; where fruits and vegetables grow in abundance; where I exchange greetings with strangers on the street; where travel takes place not just by car, but by walking, jogging, bicycling and pushing baby carriages; where young people are an integral part of the community; and where there is a rich variety of cultural and culinary delights always close by.

Wouldn’t it be a dream come true if, on November 4, we elected Heidi Hall, who lives here in our own backyard, who will work to grow the local economy, educate our kids, repair our crumbling infrastructure, preserve our environment, and listen to her constituents rather than being controlled by nihilistic ideologues back in Washington D.C., as our congresswoman? Yes, I may be a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.

Paul Berger

Nevada City

Selective ‘guilty by accusation’ policy

September 23, 2014 — 

Now let me get this right. If you are accused, not convicted, of domestic violence, child abuse or a similar crime you are to lose your job immediately and maybe for life.

Isn’t that what the pundits in politics and the press want to happen to the NFL players? No “innocent until proven guilty.” No legal process. You are just finished. Should this apply to all of us? It would only seem fair.

Now I am not defending or condoning the actions of some of the NFL players recently in the news but why are they being treated differently? It seems to me if “death” by accusations is appropriate for them then it should apply to all of us.

Just as a sidelight statistics show that NFL players are well below (in percentage terms) the population as to the crimes they are accused of. Also, wouldn’t it be interesting to see how many in the press and our government have been accused of the same crimes. Shouldn’t this new guilty by accusation policy apply to them also? Bet it would thin the herd or at least shut some of them up.

Bob Larive

Nevada City

(Not so) random acts of kindness

September 21, 2014 — 

Today my 86-year-old disabled father’s car broke down in the Raley’s parking lot. Fortunately we were not far away, but when I arrived, I discovered I was too late to do much.

Raley’s employee “Eric,” had already taken care of dad by helping him find his AAA card, bringing him some ice water and staying with him until I got there. Our neighbor, Carrie, happened by and helped him get into his wheelchair and out of the sun, and, later, while I was struggling to lift his wheelchair into our car, Heidi, who as it turns out is a physical therapist at Golden Empire Hospital, rushed over to assist me.

The driver from Fischer’s towing was kind and efficient and quickly had the car on its way to the repair shop. As we were driving home, my father, who moved here from Los Angeles, wryly remarked; “You have a pretty great little town. In L.A. I’d still be sitting in the parking lot, most likely would have been robbed and, if the car was still running, would have been car jacked.”

My heartfelt gratitude for each of you going out of your way for a disabled World War II veteran!

Susan Claydon

Grass Valley

View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top