Letters to the Editor

Kudos to lookout tower volunteers

November 24, 2014 — 

A big thank you to Paul Moore, Jon Hall, Roy Frater, and Richard McWilliams for staffing the Banner Mountain Fire Lookout this fire season.

A special thanks to Jon Hall for re-painting the entire cubicle. These volunteers give freely of their time so we are kept safe. We sit in solitude at 4,000 feet, in a 7-foot by 7-foot cubicle and scan the horizon. We look high and low, near and far, hoping we do not see smoke. This is a very unusual job — looking for something we hope we do not find.

Learn more »

Maybe there’s still time with climate change

November 24, 2014 — 

Because of natural temperature cycles — or because of people — or both — climate has changed: Glaciers melting. Sea levels rising. Weather acting strange and dangerous, and more coming. People in Africa with land dried out. In Asia, going underwater. To survive they’ll have to move somewhere else and compete with the natives for food and water. There’s not enough.

“Climate Refugees” a strong movie by Michael Nash, warns that the situation is beyond scenery and polar bears. Displaced people strain resources, strain social order, breed violence. Eventually national security is at risk.

Learn more »

Careful what you ask for

November 24, 2014 — 

A recent letter writer told Obama to “go for it” when it came to stopping illegal deportations by executive order.

OK. When a Republican president uses an executive order to stop enforcing provisions of Obamacare or stopping the EPA from enforcing rules that harm average Americans or stopping the IRS from collecting corporate taxes or stopping the enforcement of the Endangered Species Act or ... you get the idea.

Learn more »

Something great is going on in Grass Valley

November 22, 2014 — 

Something’s going on in Grass Valley, and it’s wonderful. I moved here three years ago, a single mom with her 6-year old twins. Luckily, someone told me about PARTNERS Family Resource Center.

At that time, I felt my children and I could use some counseling to help us through what was then a very tough time. Karen, (I call her the Resource Queen) had a form ready for me to fill out right then. My family and I got immediate and incredible services.

Learn more »

Hearing offers only one side of the story

November 22, 2014 — 

I am writing in response to the article in this week’s The Union about the charges against Artemesia Lee from San Juan Ridge.

I, too, sat through the preliminary hearing. Although I agree that what Liz Kellar reported was accurate, it strikes me as misleading because only the family accusing Ms. Lee took the stand and their testimony occasionally appears as fact. We didn’t hear Ms. Lee’s side. The only bit of information I caught from her perspective was when Judge Smith referred to the police report in which Ms. Lee states that she didn’t hit anybody with her vehicle. The judge dismissed that, saying the photos of the complainant looked like he was hurt.

Learn more »

Too close of a call

November 21, 2014 — 

This letter is for the driver who passed me on Dog Bar Road Tuesday night.

I was driving down Dog Bar toward Alta Sierra, I put my blinker on to turn left onto Wheeler Cross Road, when you blew by and passed me on the left just before I turned. What the heck were you thinking?

Learn more »

GOP elected to repeal ACA

November 21, 2014 — 

As I’m reading article after article in The Union, I’m not surprised most of the peeps “ leaning left “ drone on and on about how the Republicans need to reach across the aisle and work with the Democrats now that they control Congress.

Really? Just like the Democratic Congress did in 2009 when they shoved the ACA down Americans’ throats?

Learn more »

Tax dollars wasted if roundabout is ignored

November 21, 2014 — 

I’ve lived in Nevada County over 30 years (off and on) and I’ve wondered many times who is making the ultimate decisions on how to spend taxpayer dollars on construction, road improvements and county projects. I was amazed when a new Highway Patrol office was built (costing millions of dollars) when there were several empty buildings sitting vacant!

Yesterday, I exited the parking lot at Brunswick using the new roundabout painted on the street. I was behind three cars that pulled out totally ignoring the arrows. I used the arrows (even though there was no traffic), but the car behind me once again saw no reason to do so!

Learn more »

Gun control facts versus politics

November 20, 2014 — 

The nation’s total violent crime rate hit an all-time high in 1991. Thereafter, it declined 18 of the next 20 years, 49 percent overall, to a 41 year low in 2011. That included a 52 percent decrease in the nation’s murder rate to a 48-year low. This according to FBI statistics.

Concurrently, the number of privately owned firearms in the United States rose by over 120 million, including about 55 million handguns, about 80 percent of which were semi-automatic. The 120 million new firearms included over 3.5 million AR-15 semi-automatic rifles and tens of millions of other firearms that gun control supporters call “assault weapons” (National Rifle Association).

Learn more »

Go for it, Mr. President

November 20, 2014 — 

Go for it Mr. President! Use executive action to get immigration reform moving. It will not make any difference if you do or don’t use executive action in regards to immigration reform, because the Republicans and Tea Party will fight you tooth and nail whichever way you go.

The Republicans are caught between a rock and a hard place: If they work with President Obama toward sensible immigration reform their anti-immigration base will freak out, and if the Republicans maintain their delay and deceive tactics in regards to immigration reform the American public will see exactly who is blocking and thwarting immigration reform.

Learn more »

On the Pledge of Allegiance

November 19, 2014 — 

Now 83 years old, I grew up with the Pledge as it was before the mid 1950s. I have never been able to say the words “under God” for two reasons.

First of all, it was added to the Pledge because of Sen. Joe McCarthy, who was a dreadful misguided senator who pushed for “loyalty oaths” in our universities. Secondly, in my opinion it violates our “separation of church and state” which is so basic to the foundation of our government.

Learn more »

Saturday is Survivors of Suicide Loss Day

November 19, 2014 — 

This Saturday, Nov. 22, is International Survivors of Suicide Loss Day. As someone who has experienced not one, but two, suicides in my immediate family, I am definitely one of the survivors.

Last June, I traveled to San Francisco and participated in a documentary filmed and produced for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) about my and others’ experiences in coping with this unique type of grief. This documentary is the center-piece of 250-plus in-person Survivor Day events being held in the U.S. and around the world. Additionally, AFSP will be hosting a live online program (a Google hangout) on the same day, during which the film will be screened. Anyone with an Internet connection will be able to watch it.

Learn more »

Fitting for Phillips’ letters to be at university

November 19, 2014 — 

Utah Phillips: a champion for the environment and peace and the homeless. It’s fitting that his historical letters be donated to Reuter University, where they can be enjoyed by many generations. That’s a wonderful picture of him in your November 10 issue, however, the caption “Utah Phillips relaxes in the study of his Nevada City home Sunday afternoon,” is inappropriate since Utah died several years ago.

Charlotte Orren

Learn more »

Thank you for your vote

November 18, 2014 — 

A big thank you to everyone who voted for me on Nov. 4 as a candidate for the Nevada County Consolidated Fire District board of directors open seat. I am proud to participate in our local election process.

Linda Chaplin

Learn more »

Swarthout comments out of line

November 18, 2014 — 

I am pleased that many letters have been sent regarding Ms. Swarthout’s comments toward Terry Lamphier. Are you kidding us, Lisa? Do you really want to disenfranchise the voters who voted for him? Remember that Terry was a top vote-getter. No charges have been filed, nor will there ever be. Only cowards drop off anonymous letters with statements for which there is not a scintilla of proof.

Sorry, Ms Swarthout. In this writer’s opinion you have, as my dear departed father would have said, “More guts than seven government mules”!

Learn more »

Thank you for ‘Golden Stories of Our Past’

November 18, 2014 — 

What a wonderful job those three ladies — Julia Stidham, Mary Anne Davis and Zoe Toffaleti — did to put together The Union’s movie “Golden Stories of Our Past”.

I was honored to be asked to remember my Eden/Baker families.

Learn more »

Don’t let concert incident deter future shows

November 18, 2014 — 

The incident that happened at the Center for the Arts during the Deltron 3030 show was extremely unfortunate, and I am saddened that this occurred. My heart goes out to everyone that was involved.

I would typically have to go to the Bay Area to see a show like this and I was, and still am, very excited that Deltron 3030 was in my own backyard. In fact, it was one of the best shows that I have ever seen. The mix of hip-hop with the orchestra was incredible. This was the only concert that I have been able to encourage friends from out of town to come up and see. They were blown away by the venue, the show and our town.

Learn more »

Observations from the left?

November 17, 2014 — 

Mr. Boardman needs to rename his articles to observations from the left aisle.

His dislike of Presidents 41 and 43 and his love of Obama is very evident. Maybe he and Michelle could form a lack of pride in America society and Obama could designate it a national holiday.

Learn more »

Thanks for The Union’s ‘Golden Stories of Our Past’

November 17, 2014 — 

Thanks for the spectacular film of the areas past and the folks who made the town what they are today. This film should be shown in every high school history class along with the knowledge that they, the students, are making history for the next 100 years.

Peg Vielbig

Learn more »

Successful Tootsie Roll Drive

November 17, 2014 — 

Council 1875 of the Knights of Columbus wish to thank all those individuals and firms who contributed to its successful Tootsie Roll Drive.

The beneficiaries are Special Olympics of Northern California and Camp ReCreation, and each will receive a donation of $1,500. Also thanks to the businesses that allowed us to hand out Tootsie Rolls in front of their stores — Kmart, Safeway Brunswick, SaveMart and SPD Grass Valley — and the three dozen knights who handed out Tootsie Rolls and collected donations.

Learn more »

Global warming has opened Pandora’s Box

November 15, 2014 — 

The state and federal tax on a gallon of gas is 71.29 cents. The “evil” oil companies make a profit of about 7 cents a gallon.

On Jan. 1, 2015, the state tax will go up another 40 cents, because of the implementation of carbon emission fees charged to oil companies. These fees are part of the states “cap and trade” program. There will be additional tax increases in future years.

Learn more »

Two letters off the mark

November 15, 2014 — 

Two letters to the editor struck me on Nov. 8. One had to do with legalizing marijuana, and the other with a maximum wage law.

Starting with the latter, it is my view that Nory Fussell must sympathize with communists. A maximum wage neutralizes the wish to improve yourself and your economic condition. This has been a result of the current administration’s policies that punish trying to succeed by taxing the rich.

Learn more »

Shocked by councilwoman’s comments

November 15, 2014 — 

I was shocked and dismayed to read of Grass Valley Councilwoman Lisa Swarthout’s comment on Nov. 8 that Terry Lamphier should bow out of the Council election race.

Hasn’t she ever heard of the U.S. Constitution’s Bill of Rights that “in American Law, people are innocent until proven guilty?” Lamphier has not (yet) even been charged with a crime, much less been found guilty. I’m sure Ms. Swarthout can find the Constitution on the Internet, where she could read the Bill of Rights, particularly Articles V and VI.

Learn more »

Whatever happened to ‘Congratulations’?

November 15, 2014 — 

Regarding Jim Firth’s letter “Arrogance, disrespect” in Monday’s edition, kudos.

I only wish that Dan Millers action’s were questioned as well, considering that he ran a negative campaign against Lamphier after the election was over. Whatever happened to “Congratulations.” This public negativity only adds to the said ‘scandal’.

Learn more »

Oh what a night!

November 15, 2014 — 

If you were not at Alta Sierra Country Club Friday night, Nov. 7, you missed the best band to find Grass Valley in many years.

The nine musicians of Aftershock performed a wide range of funk, rock, blues, and jazz for the members and guests of the Alta Sierra Men’s Golf Club. The band’s renditions of such well-known songs as Van Morrison’s “Moon Dance,” Steely Dan’s “Josie,” and Joe Cocker’s “Leave Your Hat On” brought down the house. Everyone who attended this terrific event came to one conclusion: Grass Valley needs these talented musicians to come back soon. If you missed Aftershock this time, you do not want to make the same mistake next time, and there will be a next time because this all-star band will be back!

Learn more »

Leave on the lights in Nevada City

November 15, 2014 — 

I’ve been reading many articles regarding the lighting issue in Nevada City and decided to share my opinion on the subject.

I love the quaint, charming and rustic feel of Nevada City! We have lived here now (on and off) for nearly 25 years. Whenever we’ve had out of town company, we’ve always taken them for a drive up Broad Street and around town. Often, we park the car to get out and enjoy the atmosphere of the town. Everyone who comes here falls in love with our area!

Learn more »

Let’s not forget all who are responsible for national debt

November 15, 2014 — 

Bill Boyl’s recent opinion piece “Conservative Dilemma” expressed concern for the growing national debt without fully coming to terms with those who’ve readily assisted in its growth.

Strange to hear Paul Ryan “gets it” when Ryan himself voted for both tax cuts and increased spending during the Bush years. He was a supporter of continued agricultural subsidies and a yes vote on the highway earmarks bill that produced the infamous Alaskan “Bridge to Nowhere”. He voted for an unfunded Medicare Prescription plan, TARP and the auto bailout (understandable since GM operates a factory in his hometown.)

Learn more »

Not all in attendance supported ‘Opportunity Village’

November 15, 2014 — 

The Nov. 10 Opportunity Village meeting reminded me of a staged time-share presentation.

Rules of engagement were outlined before Mr. Heben’s video and slideshow began. Off-limits question topics were listed. Positive results of a microhousing development in Eugene, Ore., were highlighted, but the possible negative impact on Nevada City’s Hirschman’s Pond, trail and neighborhood were ignored.

Learn more »

Helping hands appreciated by Sierra Harvest

November 15, 2014 — 

Kudos to Work Force One! Sierra Gardens — a program of Sierra Harvest — and Work Force One teamed up this summer to build four vegetable gardens in our community. Thank you Tony Hohl and your crew at Work Force One — it was great to have your partnership in Sierra Gardens’ inaugural season. The board and staff of Sierra Harvest appreciate your efforts!

Erika Kosina

Learn more »

Here we go with ‘the party of blame’

November 14, 2014 — 

Here we go. “The Party of Blame” also known as “Big Losers Always Make Excuses” is at it again.

Not many Democrats will admit any degree of loss on Nov. 4.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Letters to the Editor »
Back to Top