Opinion Columns

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 25, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Hemig: The future looks great at The Union

October 25, 2014 — 

What a great year!

The staff at The Union has really enjoyed celebrating the newspaper’s 150 years of bringing news, information and entertainment to western Nevada County.

Learn more »

Hemig: The party ain’t over yet!

October 24, 2014 — 

A month ago, The Union hosted a 150th anniversary open house party. Almost 500 people helped celebrate this momentous occasion.

We had some wonderful food, music and tours. We celebrated the great historical stories and photos we’ve been running all year. And we had some great community camaraderie.

Learn more »

A tribute to True, my ‘other mother’

October 24, 2014 — 

Sunday, Oct. 26 is Mother-In-Law Day. Mothers-in-law are a favorite butt of jokes for stand-up comedians. Rumble seats in the old coupes and roadsters were called mother-in-law seats because those who rode in them were out of the passenger compartment, and presumably out of the driver’s hair. If you Google “mother-in-law jokes” you will have page after page of sites listed.

A few of the less offensive ones are listed below:

Learn more »

Opportunity Village in Nevada City

October 23, 2014 — 

According to Amnesty International, 2.3 million homeless people live in the United States.

The average homeless person lives to less than 50 years old. A rather unfortunate testimony to how we treat our fellow citizens, much less the large percentage of them who have previously gone off to fight our foreign wars.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Oct. 22. 2014

October 22, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Friday is World Polio Day; here’s why we’re this close to ending it — forever

October 22, 2014 — 

Polio was one of the most feared diseases of the 20th century. It’s a human enterovirus spread by nasal and oral secretions and by contact with contaminated feces.

The virus enters the body through the mouth and multiplies as it goes through the digestive system. In 99 percent of cases, polio is a mild illness with flu-like symptoms and no long-term effects.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 21, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Despite mail ballots, polling places essential

October 21, 2014 — 

Mr. George Horrigan, in his column, “Your vote counts, but only if you vote” on Oct. 9, urged a look at adopting exclusive vote-by-mail elections instead of our current mixed system of mail ballots and polling place ballots. Although eliminating polling places might have some cost-benefits, there would be other consequences that might not be as desirable.

Political campaigns like to “lock up” votes in advance of election day, which they can accomplish by encouraging early voting by mail before all the facts are known. Once the voter has received a mail ballot, the temptation is to vote it and mail it in, thereby completing one’s civic duty. But the earlier the voter casts a ballot, the less well-informed his or her votes are likely to be. And there is also the possibility of last-minute revelations that might otherwise sway voters but will have little effect if the ballots are already cast.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 18, 2014 — 

Learn more »

The Devil in the Disregard

October 18, 2014 — 

I don’t believe in “the Devil” that fervid pastors tell,

Nor pitchforks, horns, nor burnings pits of Hell.

Learn more »

It takes a village; a low-income housing solution

October 18, 2014 — 

Nevada County has a housing crisis. Many people, not just our chronically homeless, are finding themselves without shelter. There are not enough affordable rentals. Individuals and families are having to share anything that is available. A single paycheck is no longer adequate to pay rent and then cover remaining living expenses and food. As a result more Nevada County residents are becoming homeless.

On Nov. 10, Sierra Roots, a 501c3, based in Nevada City, is hosting a presentation on the micro-house village model, Opportunity Village, which has already gained success in Eugene, Ore. Andrew Heben, author of “Tent City Urbanism: From Self-Organized Camps to Tiny House Villages,” will be the speaker for the evening. He will discuss the kind of collaboration that has emerged simply by making a space available for local community resources.

Learn more »

Peter Pohorsky: a good, faithful servant

October 18, 2014 — 

A friend of mine passed away recently whose name will be recognized by regular readers of this page. Peter Pohorsky, 93, died peacefully at his assisted living community in Grass Valley.

I decided to write because I don’t believe many knew of his passing, or of his life.

Learn more »

Orson, more than a friend

October 17, 2014 — 

You asked for nothing, yet gave so much. Never would you discriminate against others or make insincere political statements, nor would you incite war and exhibit greed.

You would not sideline those who have different beliefs or who are physically challenged. You gave nothing, but love, gratitude and patience.

Learn more »

Voting: what you need to know

October 17, 2014 — 

The Nevada County Elections Office is very busy preparing for the upcoming Nov. 4, 2014 Consolidated General Election.

There will be dozens of voter decisions including federal, state, judicial, and local contests. Some of these contests include Justices, local candidates, six statewide propositions, one countywide measure, and two district measures. These state and local elections are the most important elections for communities to have their voices heard and implement change on a local level. With so many choices on the ballot, this means the official ballot will consist of two cards, front and back.

Learn more »

Hemig: Not in my backyard

October 17, 2014 — 

As I stood in the middle of a 1-acre lot and looked around at all the trees providing privacy between the neighbors, I thought to myself, I could sure grow a lot of pot here.

Or I could hold many great outdoor weddings or events. Or maybe even build and sell a bunch of furniture.

Learn more »

Hall needs moderate Republicans to beat LaMalfa

October 17, 2014 — 

The recent 1st Congressional District candidates’ forum in Redding, sponsored by the League of Women Voters, was well attended and useful in getting to know Democratic challenger, Heidi Hall, and Republican incumbent, Doug LaMalfa.

No question, at least from my perspective, Heidi Hall came away as the strongest candidate in the room.

Learn more »

Measure S is all about the medicine

October 16, 2014 — 

The Union published a front-page article giving Greg Zaller a soapbox on which to expound his views on Measure S. With all due respect to Mr. Zaller, who has done a great deal of good for people who suffer from addiction, his position on Measure S and medical marijuana is far from enlightened and compassionate.

Zaller claims most marijuana grown in compliance with the law ends up on the black market, and asserts that Measure S “just clears the way for growing more marijuana legally.” I’m not sure where he got that information or what qualifies him to make such statements. Unlike Zaller, I speak from my own experience. I am interested in medical marijuana and the Measure S debate because it affects me personally.

Learn more »

Measure S isn’t about the medicine

October 16, 2014 — 

Let’s revisit the discussion that started the process to obtain some structure to medical marijuana growing.

At the very start, we acknowledged that Prop. 215 was the law of the land. We have lately been hearing that the sheriff and I made up the abusive growers who set up shop on Annie Drive near the Alta Sierra Elementary School.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Oct. 15. 2014

October 15, 2014 — 

Learn more »

A view from the other side

October 15, 2014 — 

The Juvenile Justice Initiative, known as Prop. 21, has reeled our teenagers who are too young to understand, first-time offenders and abused children lashing out at the world. No more second chances, kids!

Prop. 21 was passed to try a juvenile as an adult for certain violent crimes and to lengthen incarceration time for gang members and gang-related crimes. Now, prosecutors make the determination of trying a young person as an adult or juvenile. First-time non-violent felons have a potential for rehabilitation, but are being sent to state prison after being tried as an adult, adding additional time to the sentence.

Learn more »

Another view of the Israeli-Hamas conflict

October 14, 2014 — 

I can’t help but take issue with much of what Terry Riley said in his Other Voices (The Union, Aug. 28). First is the headline. The conflict is not between the Israelis and the Palestinians. Israel is at war with Hamas, a terrorist organization, whose charter calls for the total destruction of Israel.

Yes, the Palestinian people have suffered greatly, but they elected Hamas as their governing body and are now paying a heavy price for their choice.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 14, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Water for gold, revisited

October 14, 2014 — 

In reference to Kerri Brenner’s well-written article on Oct. 4, I am prompted to write the following. I have been involved in the issue about the concerns for water on San Juan Ridge for quite a while through hearing, reading and speaking about this fight over water.

Several weeks ago, at a meeting with several residents from San Juan Ridge in attendance, I suggested that they get organized to form a public water utility. I suggest this also for the people of Red Dog and You Bet combined to organize a second water utility. This will end their concern about water in their future, as well as for their children’s children and for many generations to come.

Learn more »

Playground equipment provides happy ending

October 13, 2014 — 

On Saturday, Aug. 16, an article appeared on the front page of The Union written by Maya Anderson telling of Grass Valley’s plans to build a new playground at Condon Park. It stated that the current one was out of compliance with several current codes and regulations and needed to be removed.

That week our daughter, son-in-law and family arrived for a visit. Our son-in-law, David Dahl is on staff with Kids Around the World, a nonprofit organization. Their mission is to bring joy to children around the world (especially in third world and emerging nations) in many ways; and one of those is to build playgrounds in their communities to give them a safe place to play. David and my husband saw an opportunity to help the city and provide a playground to the impoverished town in Mexico where our church, Calvary Bible Church, supports a clinic and church.

Learn more »

In a perfect world, American power would not be needed

October 13, 2014 — 

This letter is in response to the opinion piece by Ms. Lorraine Reich in the Oct. 2 edition of The Union. In her piece she brings up some valid points concerning some of America’s past and current actions in the world.

Considering that we have a very left-wing administration that has reached out to the Muslim world, one would have to believe by her denigration of our country that even the left, pro-Muslim administration is following the actions and policies of past right-wing administrations.

Learn more »

Why does Christmas start in October?

October 11, 2014 — 

In 1990, Dave Cooke, a British layman in Wales started collecting and distributing shoeboxes filled with gifts for needy children. Mr. Cooke was helping suffering children in Romania’s orphanages and he called it Operation Christmas Child.

This project had to completed in October and November for the delivery to take place on Christmas. As a result it has become the world’s largest Christmas party of its kind.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 11, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Measure S is not a ‘sensible solution’ to complaints that led to original ordinance

October 11, 2014 — 

Measure S: the sensible solution? Solution to what? Certainly not the problems faced by those whose complaints led to the existing county ordinance in the first place, the ordinance which Measure S proposes to replace.

Setting aside for the moment the widely-held perspective that the local “medical” marijuana front is mostly a smoke-screen for huge profiteering in the recreational black market, proposed Measure S has removed any real protection afforded to neighbors related to odor, increased traffic, and crimes involving roaming “patch pirates” and deals gone wrong.

Learn more »

Measure S brings common sense back to cannabis cultivation

October 11, 2014 — 

Fifteen years ago, the thought of any local government authorizing cannabis cultivation was a pipe dream (pun intended) and I am very grateful to Nevada County for the fact that their current ordinance legitimizes the cultivation of medical cannabis in the first place.

Indeed, both Sheriff Keith Royal and County Counsel Allison Barrett-Green emphatically denied any plans to ban all cannabis cultivation if Measure S did not pass, as even the county government appears to understand cannabis cultivation isn’t going anywhere. Quite honestly, there are worse things than the current ordinance, such as a Fresno County-style outright ban.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion Columns »
Back to Top