Opinion Columns

Carrtoon: Dec. 17, 2014

December 17, 2014 — 

Learn more »

How about discussing real problems, instead of ‘same old’ rhetoric?

December 17, 2014 — 

After reading Editorial Board member Norm Sauer’s recent worries about the supposed dangers of “extra-legal, supra-legal, and absolute” federal government power in our country — and seeing at the end that he is a retired attorney — I marvel again about the variation in the human psyche.

I, too, am a retired attorney, and I have often wondered in my career just how it is that well-educated, undoubtedly well-meaning, and bright minds can reach such oddball positions.

Learn more »

Planned micro housing a bad idea

December 17, 2014 — 

I was a recent visitor to your town, where I saw friends, toured widely, ate well and enjoyed the sustained restorations of Nevada City. Your citizens’ work and planning have made it a fine community. I have visited Nevada City several times since the 1950s. It has turned itself from a mining town into a beautiful residential and tourist mecca.

Congratulations.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 16, 2014 — 

Learn more »

A medical crisis in western Sierra County

December 16, 2014 — 

Western Sierra Medical Clinic (WSMC) opened its new center in Grass Valley on Dec. 15. While the Grass Valley Clinic (formerly Miners Clinic) celebrates its expansion, another part of WSMC is not celebrating.

On Jan. 1, 2015, the residents of and visitors to western Sierra County will lose the services provided to them during the past 40 years in Downieville.

Learn more »

What a difference a year makes

December 15, 2014 — 

Some locals may remember that last year, The Union ran a story on a Nevada City house that had been a constant source of problems for the neighborhood in which it’s located. For almost a decade, the person owning the house had rented to clients with horrible addiction and untreated mental-health issues and neighbors were forced to live with the resulting drama/chaos always associated with those sorts of places.

As the years went by, calls to the police became so common that eventually the accumulated police file regarding the place looked to be the size of a small phone book. Eventually, the neighbors decided to draw a line in the sand and ask Nevada City’s city manager to close the place down permanently. The city manager began the process.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 13, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Despite protest of its ‘friends’, Nevada City needs more rooms at its inns

December 13, 2014 — 

I want to thank The Union for printing the response letter by Justin Gross to the editorial written about the threat to Nevada City neighborhoods by the reopening of a bed and breakfast inn.

First, Don Joy had a few facts wrong in his argument. He said 170 rooms exist now and with the new campground, that will bring accommodation up to 240. This is blatantly wrong.

Learn more »

Clarification regarding NSJ Fire Protection District

December 13, 2014 — 

The Dec. 2 article, “Threats to Nevada County Food Bank staff trigger possible changes” has resulted in a great deal of confusion and even some ill feelings on the Ridge, largely because the reporter accepted assertions made by an individual associated with the Food Bank having to do with the NSJ Fire Protection District that had little or no basis in fact.

In particular, contrary to assertions in the article, there have been no discussions about moving food distribution to the Fire District’s Community Hall, there is no particular reason why such a move would offer more security than the current location, and the fire department has no more authority to remove people from their facilities than does anyone else.

Learn more »

Memories brought back on World War II

December 13, 2014 — 

Memories brought back on World War II

Learn more »

Bed-and-breakfast inns an important asset for Nevada City

December 12, 2014 — 

On Nov. 29, I read an opinion written by Don Joy regarding his perceived threat of B&Bs and vacation rentals to the residential neighborhoods of Nevada City.

I was taken aback by the lack of accuracy and balance in his piece and I would like to clear up these inaccuracies and add some relevant information.

Learn more »

Goodman:

December 11, 2014 — 

Lima, the capital of Peru, has become a city of gustatory renown, attracting foodies from the world over to sample dishes from its famous ceviche to favorites from the Andean highlands.

So it is an appropriate place, perhaps, for what has become a genuine movable feast, the world-roving series of summits organized by the United Nations to tackle the crisis of climate change.

Learn more »

York: Obama’s dangerous legacy for Democrats

December 11, 2014 — 

Now that the 2014 elections are over and national politics is all about 2016, Democrats have good reason to worry that, for all his success at the polls, President Obama will leave his party with a toxic legacy.

The Obama damage is two-fold. First, his success relied on a coalition that likely will not survive, or at least survive at full strength, without Obama himself on the ticket.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Dec. 10, 2014

December 10, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Ted Gaines: How can we make California CA-boom! again?

December 10, 2014 — 

Ebola, landslide elections, immigration and Ferguson have dominated the holiday season news, and those massive stories have obscured a host of other events that augur poorly for the future of California unless we act to change the way we govern this state. It’s the problems related in these stories that inspired me to write “CA-Boom! California’s Amazing Past, Troubled Present and Unlimited Future.”

These stories lost among the mega-events are not new — they are continuations of troubling California trends — and I tackle them all in my book and address how they can make or break our state moving forward. Here’s a sampling:

Learn more »

Helm: Encouraging a girl’s interest in engineering

December 10, 2014 — 

Back in September, this paper reported a new computer engineering lab had been established at Nevada Union High School. I was thrilled to read about the new lab. I spent much of my professional life as a software engineer. I loved it and I love to see programs that encourage our up and coming generation to go into engineering.

I was dismayed however, to read that of the initial 28 students to join the new program, only two of the students were girls.

Learn more »

Hemig: Welcome to The Union Version 4.0

December 9, 2014 — 

What a great year! The Union celebrated its 150th anniversary in style. The Union staff shared stories and photos from the last 150 years of western Nevada County’s history, wrapped around special monthly editions. We hosted a huge community open house birthday party. We produced a gloss-covered magazine featuring historical articles. We participated in the Grass Valley Downtown “Gold Rush Days.” We even made a documentary movie featuring community long-timers and their special stories.

The feedback we received was amazing. It was apparent that our readers and the community had a blast walking down memory lane with us.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 9, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Heart-warming to see so many willing to give

December 8, 2014 — 

Often good news is overshadowed by the negative events in our community, nation and world.

Recently, here in Grass Valley, I witnessed the opposite: people serving people. Several of our local dentists, their staffs and other volunteers gave of their time, talents and energy to provide free dental services to those in need within our own community. A total of 106 people here in Nevada County were given first rate dental care to the tune of almost $22,000 in services.

Learn more »

An open letter to a Beale Air Force Base commander

December 8, 2014 — 

(The following are excerpts from a letter I wrote to Beale Air Force Base Commander Lee on the occasion of my arrest for federal trespass onto base property on Nov. 25):

My husband Michael Pike died in September of Agent Orange related cancer. My husband was Special Forces in Vietnam and came to regret his role in the war and what the U.S. government did. I am here today in loving memory of that fine man to ask you to stop your role in the kill chain which uses the Northrup Grumman Global Hawk drone to identify human targets for extrajudicial execution. This is neither lawful (international and higher law) nor moral and you must know that. Horrible acts, like drone strikes, lead to the atrocities we see now. Inhumanity engenders inhumanity.

Learn more »

Stepping down the right thing

December 8, 2014 — 

I wish I could write to Elizabeth Lauten, communications direction for Rep. Fincher of Tennessee, but not having her email address, I’ll do it here.

I feel touched by your heartfelt apology. I thought it was brave of you to do the internal searching and seeking spiritual guidance into your own behavior. Even though I was saddened at your vicious attack of the Obamas, including their girls, I realize that to come to terms with your own judgmental behavior gave me hope. I wish more people would follow your example.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 6, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Dan Miller: Much to be proud of through hard work by people who care about our community

December 6, 2014 — 

As I complete my term as Grass Valley mayor and my time on the city council, I want to take the opportunity to share the accomplishments of the city council and city staff.

It also gives me a chance to thank the citizens of Grass Valley for giving me the opportunity to represent you on the council for 16 years. This has been a rewarding and challenging time, but very successful in a number of areas.

Learn more »

Hemig: A good example for us all

December 5, 2014 — 

A priest, an accountant, a physical therapist, an attorney, an operations manager, an engineer, a horticulturist, a homeless guy and a publisher walk into a coffee shop.

No, this isn’t the opening line of a joke. This is my normal Tuesday morning routine. A casual invitation many months ago has turned into an opportunity to catch up with a very diverse group of people on a weekly basis.

Learn more »

‘Tired of giving in’

December 5, 2014 — 

Rosa Parks put it beautifully ... “I was not tired physically ... No, the only tired I was, was tired of giving in!”

Our government at all levels, has become a demagogue, a leader who makes use of popular prejudices and false claims and promises in order to gain and maintain power.

Learn more »

Goodman: Hands up, don’t choke

December 4, 2014 — 

Another police killing of an unarmed man of color. Another grand jury deciding not to indict: Not for murder. Not for manslaughter. Not for assault. Not even for reckless endangerment. We live in a land of impunity. At least, for those in power.

This past summer, after covering the protests in Ferguson, Mo., I flew back to New York City and went straight to Staten Island to cover the march protesting the police killing of Eric Garner, a 43-year-old African-American father of six.

Learn more »

Obama edict raises questions about illegal immigrants’ benefits

December 4, 2014 — 

When the Affordable Care Act was being written and debated, President Obama took care to emphasize that no illegal immigrants would be eligible for its benefits.

Obama and the Democrats who passed the bill were sensitive to public concerns that those who entered the United States illegally should not receive assistance intended for those here legally.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Dec. 3, 2014

December 3, 2014 — 

Learn more »

No hope gives you nothing to lose

December 3, 2014 — 

I was driving down Rough and Ready Highway when I saw a police officer pull over behind a homeless person. The guy was pulling his wallet out before he turned around to face the officer. He was familiar with the interaction.

Ninety percent of the populace have no idea of the causes of depression and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Being brought up by Navy lifers, I was scrutinized on everything, punished for minor mistakes, never praised for successes. Picked on in school and blamed for being a victim. Always picked last. No friends or friends that moved away always helped.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 2, 2014 — 

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion Columns »
Back to Top