Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Natividad: Thank you, Nevada County, from my family to yours

August 29, 2014 — 

Many Nevada County natives refer to the Yuba River as a sacred place. The first time I took my family to the South Fork, I understood why.

It is such a peaceful, calming and fun place to be, which is why it was very troubling to hear from my in-laws about a hateful incident they recently experienced at the river, while visiting from San Francisco.

Learn more »

New editorial board brings more balance to The Union

August 30, 2014 — 

I just wanted to compliment The Union on the announcement of your new editorial board for The Union. Your efforts to reflect this community and the diverse population and opinions of the community are obvious in the new board.

You have invited members who really do span the full social and political spectrum, which should create some very interesting editorial board meetings, but also help to make sure that your opinion pages reflect all sides of many issues. Thank you for responding to requests and criticisms from your readers and contributors with an open mind!

Learn more »

Sierra Roots: Food integrity in Nevada County

August 30, 2014 — 

When many people think of a “soup kitchen” or a place that feeds the hungry, often they envision a scene similar to the one from the 1968 film “Oliver,” where a lumpy, gray porridge is being served to orphans.

When Sierra Roots started three years ago in Nevada County, the volunteers had an entirely different vision. They believed that healthy food fosters a healthy community. The organizers of Sierra Roots wanted to ensure that the population of those who are most in need in Nevada County could have access to, not just food, but to healthy and wholesome food.

Learn more »

Baskin-Robbins gives schools a boost

August 30, 2014 — 

The Deer Creek Elementary School PTC would like to thank Goska, owner of Baskin-Robbins in Grass Valley, for her continued support of our school.

Goska generously donated ice cream for our ice cream social held Aug. 19, much to the delight of our students! Baskin-Robbins also supports our PTC program by donating a portion of their sales made by our school families on the 25th of each month.

Learn more »

‘If not six Californias’ how about one, sovereign CA?

August 30, 2014 — 

Two years from now, Californians will not only be thinking about electing a U.S. senator, 53 members of Congress and a President, but most likely also about the possibility of carving up their state into six new ones.

The ballot initiative to do this is the brainchild of billionaire venture capitalist Tim Draper, who observes to reporters that “bad government is not to be tolerated” and that “California is ungovernable.”

Learn more »

Feedback

August 30, 2014 — 

The following comments were posted either at TheUnion.com or Facebook.com/TheUnionDotCom:

Learn more »

Our view: Governance, or politics, at root of Board of Education controversy?

August 30, 2014 — 

It remains to be seen whether Nevada County Superintendent of Schools Holly Hermansen will present her monthly expense report to the Board of Education at the upcoming Sept. 10 meeting. And that is largely due to either a lack of follow-through from board members or political posturing in advance of their campaign for re-election this November.

Board of Education members Jack Meeks and Marianne Slade-Troutman have both loudly advocated for more transparency in the Superintendent of Schools budget, since falling short in a 3-2 July vote by the board to require Hermansen to submit monthly reports to board members on her travel expenditures.

Learn more »

It Takes a Village Idiot

August 30, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Moses, are you out there?

August 30, 2014 — 

Springs of living water flow down from the snowy mountaintops of the Sierras forming waterfalls and rivers of life, touching the earth and following a crystal path of least resistance. Capturing this water and saving it for another day is the job of the Nevada Irrigation District (NID) located in Grass Valley and they’ve been doing this faithfully since 1921.

Back then, the oldest water rights in the state were secured and a blueprint was drawn up as the winter snows finally came, whereby eventually a system of 453 miles of flumes and canals, seven hydroelectric dams and various lakes began bringing precious surface water to 98,000 people as of 2014. What an achievement!

Learn more »

NIMBYism stands in way of progress

August 30, 2014 — 

I was really saddened when I read the front page article entitled “GV neighbors organize to block housing for mentally ill.”

We have a situation in our county where the Grand Jury has reported something must be done about the “homeless population,” though they did not investigate the programs like Hospitality House, which are part of the solution ... and when other assessments have indicated that “homeless population” includes folks down on their luck, out of work, and some with “mental health issues” we have another possible “part of the solution” of providing housing and mental health treatment ... and then neighborhood folks say “not in my backyard!”

Learn more »

Where is our president?

August 29, 2014 — 

Christians are being slaughtered all over the world. Our military is being decimated. America is no longer the beacon of light for the world. Our economy is in the tank. Our nation is more divided than ever before.

And where is our president?

Learn more »

Gaza: our failure to recognize a shared humanity

August 29, 2014 — 

With the events in Gaza we confront our essential nature as human beings. News photos of Israeli soldiers in armored vehicles heading toward Gaza show the bravado of a conquering army heading toward battle with a guerilla force.

No one would argue that Hamas’ continuing firing of rockets into Israeli territory is an act of terrorism. But the numbers are telling; the Palestinians in disputed cities number close to two million. Given a generous estimate, Hamas fighters number perhaps 10,000. They are a small percentage of the population of civilians in Gaza. And what is it that the Palestinians want? Freedom, peace, and the rule of law. These are rights inscribed in both the American and the French Revolution’s key articles. A civil society forms the basis of what binds us all.

Learn more »

The Wooden Spoon: a good reason to shop locally

August 29, 2014 — 

Enjoyed Jim Hemig’s column in regards to shopping local. I, too, shop local, and can’t remember the last time I bought anything outside of Nevada County.

My favorite “go-to” kitchen store is The Wooden Spoon, and has been long before this particular experience. I had received a catalog from Williams-Sonoma that included an All Clad French skillet with a domed lid that I was interested in. I took the catalog to The Wooden Spoon and asked Linda (store owner) if she had this particular item. Or if not, could she order it? What I was thinking? Of course, she had it stocked!

Learn more »

Councilman Howard Levine: What I did on my summer vacation

August 29, 2014 — 

Well, school is back in session and I finished up my vacation with one last hurrah. Saturday night was Dancing With Our Stars, a fundraising effort by the Center for the Arts at the Veterans Building in Grass Valley.

I was a dancer, along with 21 others of our community who have put a whole summer into the program.

Learn more »

It takes two sides for peace

August 28, 2014 — 

On Aug. 22, there was a letter to the editor, “Gaza conflict could be stopped,” by Dean Olson to which I’d like to respond.

The Gaza Strip is not a country and never has been. The land was given to the people that lived their by Israel with the hopes that gesture would bring about peace. Once Hamas defeated Fatah a bloody battle for control of Gaza, Hamas immediately began firing on Israel. Don’t take my word for it, look it up.

Learn more »

Columnist needs more facts, less posturing

August 28, 2014 — 

The Union columnist George Boardman recently stated: “If you are like me, you are clearly not part of the anti-GMO, all-natural, farm-to-fork food fetish the United States is currently experiencing.”

He goes on to suggest we should feed the hungry with GMO foods. I do not believe he intended to wish ill health and malnutrition on the poor and hungry; he just apparently does not know any better.

Learn more »

West: Eric Holder: Leading the rush to judgment

August 28, 2014 — 

One thing an old Ivy League revolutionary can’t stand is people noticing that he represents the Establishment. That he embodies the System to a point where he can make it stop and make it go. He will go to great lengths to convince himself, if not others, this is not so.

Take Eric H. Holder Jr., Columbia College Class of 1973, Columbia Law School Class of 1976, now into his sixth year as U.S. attorney general of the Obama Imperium. The man really wants us to think he is not also “the man.”

Learn more »

Goodman: ‘The Guns of August’

August 28, 2014 — 

In her epic, Pulitzer Prize-winning book “The Guns of August,” historian Barbara Tuchman detailed how World War I began in 1914, and how the belligerence, vanity and poor policies of powerful leaders led millions to gory deaths in that four-year conflagration. Before people realized world wars had to be numbered, World War I was called “The Great War” or “The War to End All Wars,” which it wasn’t. It was the first modern war with massive, mechanized slaughter on land, sea and in the air. We can look at that war in retrospect, now 100 years after it started, as if through a distant mirror. The reflection, where we are today, is grim from within the greatest war-making nation in human history, the United States.

In the early years of the 20th century, the leaders of the nations of Europe had contrived a web of alliances, each treaty binding one country to join in the defense of another in the event of war.

Learn more »

Meet The Union Editorial Board

August 27, 2014 — 

Andy Burton

He is the owner of Full Spectrum Marketing Services, where he works with clients, both local and out of the area, to “manage their messaging” and ultimately grow their businesses. Andy Burton has been a business owner and entrepreneur for the past 15 years. He has a corporate background in energy management software and systems having worked with clients in Australia, France and many other European countries.

Burton and his wife, Shelly, live in Rough and Ready with their two teenage daughters, Jane and Molly, and enjoy taking advantage of all of the recreation opportunities Nevada County has to offer.

Learn more »

Congressman could benefit from larger turnout

August 27, 2014 — 

Our scarce Republican Congressman, Rep. Doug LaMalfa, who normally sends his aides to hear the concerns of constituents, and who doesn’t even show up for candidate forums, held court in Grass Valley City Hall on Friday morning, Aug. 15. In person!

The city council chambers were only about a quarter full. Polled as to how they heard about the meeting, most had received an email sent only to Republicans, two or three read it in the paper, several heard by word of mouth.

Learn more »

Community support for InConcert Sierra, Sierra Master Chorale

August 27, 2014 — 

As artistic director of InConcert Sierra and Sierra Master Chorale, I’m enjoying recollections and feeling proud of the 2013-14 season of exceptional classical music we brought to our community.

I wish to thank our valued contributors, advertisers, volunteers, media sponsors, musicians, board members and audiences for their enthusiastic support. Thanks also to the Grass Valley Seventh-day Adventist Church congregation, Pastors Jeff Richards and Tim McMillen, and secretary Anna McMillen for welcoming the performance of great music in the wonderful acoustic of the SDA sanctuary.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Aug. 27, 2014

August 27, 2014 — 

Learn more »

No laughing matter

August 26, 2014 — 

I was as stunned as anyone when I heard about the death of Robin Williams.

My first thought? Too young — far too young. Only 63. Especially now that 60 is the new 40.

Learn more »

What’s with the lenient plea bargains?

August 26, 2014 — 

The Tuesday, Aug. 12, edition featured Liz Kellar’s thorough recounting of Samuel Adams’ alleged extensive criminal history over the last two years.

His list of felonies, misdemeanors and failures to appear are shocking.

Learn more »

Nevada County fair supports 4-H

August 26, 2014 — 

I’m so thankful for the wonderful opportunity that Nevada County youth have to raise, exhibit and auction animals at the fair and to show their still exhibits. It was recently brought to my attention that many communities no longer have fairs because they were not able to be fiscally viable. I appreciate that we have an excellent fair CEO and board of directors. I am also aware that we have a tremendously supportive community that believes in and generously supports the youth. As a parent, teacher and 4-H leader, I see the difference they make in children’s lives.

Julie Bousfield

Learn more »

Tesla has state walking a tightrope

August 26, 2014 — 

And so California government now walks a tightrope, put in that position by one of the latest in the large corps of successful high-tech startups this state has spawned over the last few decades.

Make a misstep in one direction and the state stands to lose a huge battery plant and 6,500 jobs.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

August 26, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Whose freedom is being tread on?

August 24, 2014 — 

If we are treading on Nancy Eubanks’ freedom (“Don’t Let Your Freedom Tread On Me,” Aug. 4)., we would be happy to stop if she would do the same for others. How have we stepped on her reproductive freedom and freedom from religion?

Birth control products and abortions are certainly available. The issue is who will be forced to pay for these choices. The answer is she should pay for her own free choices. After all, she makes a strong point for women having advanced in the job market so why is it a “war on women” to ask them to pay for their own birth control and abortions, both of which are legal in our country.

Learn more »

Over-reaching Outdoor Events Ordinance needs to be stopped

August 24, 2014 — 

On Aug. 12, I attended a mind-numbing Board of Supervisors meeting, with a morning session to review the Outdoor Events Ordinance and an afternoon session to review the same ordinance.

I obtained my “clean copy of the Outdoor Events Ordinance” that same day from our County Counsel Alison Barratt-Green, who was very helpful and explained to me the background and the intention of the ordinance. No small task.

Learn more »

Boardman: The hungry don’t care if food is genetically engineered or grass-fed

August 24, 2014 — 

I don’t know about you, but I don’t care how far the bees that make my honey stray from their hives.

If you are like me, you are clearly not part of the anti-GMO, all natural, farm-to-fork food fetish the United States in currently experiencing. You see, those bees might be feeding on nectar or pollen from GMO crops, making the honey verboten for the growing legions of righteous eaters in our midst.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top