Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Carrtoon: Dec. 17, 2014

December 17, 2014 — 

Learn more »

How about discussing real problems, instead of ‘same old’ rhetoric?

December 17, 2014 — 

After reading Editorial Board member Norm Sauer’s recent worries about the supposed dangers of “extra-legal, supra-legal, and absolute” federal government power in our country — and seeing at the end that he is a retired attorney — I marvel again about the variation in the human psyche.

I, too, am a retired attorney, and I have often wondered in my career just how it is that well-educated, undoubtedly well-meaning, and bright minds can reach such oddball positions.

Learn more »

Planned micro housing a bad idea

December 17, 2014 — 

I was a recent visitor to your town, where I saw friends, toured widely, ate well and enjoyed the sustained restorations of Nevada City. Your citizens’ work and planning have made it a fine community. I have visited Nevada City several times since the 1950s. It has turned itself from a mining town into a beautiful residential and tourist mecca.

Congratulations.

Learn more »

Hamilton: ‘Mama’ on front lines of sex trafficking asks, ‘What would you do?’

December 16, 2014 — 

As I opened my laptop to write this column, my Web browser popped up with the cute, cuddly and colorful world of Webkinz.com.

For moment, I’d wondered if I somehow had pulled up a long-forgotten Web page visit from my browser history, but soon realized maybe our daughter hadn’t quite outgrown her former fascination with the stuffed animals despite them being swept from sight in her bedroom.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 16, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Is our community biased toward allopathic conventional medicine and all in favor of a medical monopoly?

December 16, 2014 — 

I would love to buy Dr. Bigelsen’s office equipment as his family faces financial ruin.

But, who wants to set up an office to be raided for “being different” or something that Western medicine professionals do not understand because of their lack of training in medical college, especially in this community of many wanting the holistic approach to medicine and wellness rather than the allopathic approach of toxic chemical drugs, surgery, and radiation as medicine.

Learn more »

Burton: LCFF, LCAP and why they matter to you

December 16, 2014 — 

Spend any time reading about our education system here in California and you might be left with the impression that without acronyms they would have no language at all. Recently, as in the past few years, a couple of new acronyms have popped up … LCFF and LCAP.

Now, I am willing to admit that I have attended many site council meetings at Lyman Gilmore Middle School, and have had conversations with our local school administrators, and have heard either or both of these new terms used with some frequency and have never really understood what they mean.

Learn more »

A medical crisis in western Sierra County

December 16, 2014 — 

Western Sierra Medical Clinic (WSMC) opened its new center in Grass Valley on Dec. 15. While the Grass Valley Clinic (formerly Miners Clinic) celebrates its expansion, another part of WSMC is not celebrating.

On Jan. 1, 2015, the residents of and visitors to western Sierra County will lose the services provided to them during the past 40 years in Downieville.

Learn more »

Confused on the bridge

December 15, 2014 — 

I just read the article regarding the Dog Bar Bridge and was confused on a few things.

The article said that the bridge could be flooded once the new Parker dam was going in but, as Supervisor Terry Lamphier says, it is a major thoroughfare. So why do anything at all to the current bridge, if it will be under water once the dam is built?

Learn more »

Bigelsen case unfair

December 15, 2014 — 

I am writing to express my disappointment in the court system and at the DA for pursuing this case against Harvey Bigelsen.

Dr. Biglesen had treated me for knee pain a couple of years ago because I had been experiencing pain after a day of skiing (I am a professional ski coach). After only two months of treatments, my pain has gone away and has not returned since. There are many aliments Western medicine has no way of treating. My degenerated cartilage is one of these conditions.

Learn more »

Thanks, Steve

December 15, 2014 — 

Kudos to Steve Sauer of Signature Health Insurance Services in Grass Valley! He’s helped me with my health insurance questions, woes and frustrations and made everything work the way it should. He’s a real professional and a great guy. I really recommend him and can’t thank him enough!

Sally Maki

Learn more »

What a difference a year makes

December 15, 2014 — 

Some locals may remember that last year, The Union ran a story on a Nevada City house that had been a constant source of problems for the neighborhood in which it’s located. For almost a decade, the person owning the house had rented to clients with horrible addiction and untreated mental-health issues and neighbors were forced to live with the resulting drama/chaos always associated with those sorts of places.

As the years went by, calls to the police became so common that eventually the accumulated police file regarding the place looked to be the size of a small phone book. Eventually, the neighbors decided to draw a line in the sand and ask Nevada City’s city manager to close the place down permanently. The city manager began the process.

Learn more »

Boardman: Making a list, checking it twice and deciding who’s naughty or nice

December 15, 2014 — 

If you’re a typical American, you’re spending more money than you should and making promises you won’t keep as we move through the Christmas season and into the new year.

The gift-giving tradition for Christians started at the birth of the religion, when the Magi gave gifts of gold, frankincense and myrrh to the baby Jesus. Suffice it to say that this gesture of simple gifts is long gone, replaced by the rampant consumerism we’ve come to expect in an economy where consumer spending accounts for 70 percent of our gross domestic product.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 13, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Despite protest of its ‘friends’, Nevada City needs more rooms at its inns

December 13, 2014 — 

I want to thank The Union for printing the response letter by Justin Gross to the editorial written about the threat to Nevada City neighborhoods by the reopening of a bed and breakfast inn.

First, Don Joy had a few facts wrong in his argument. He said 170 rooms exist now and with the new campground, that will bring accommodation up to 240. This is blatantly wrong.

Learn more »

Clarification regarding NSJ Fire Protection District

December 13, 2014 — 

The Dec. 2 article, “Threats to Nevada County Food Bank staff trigger possible changes” has resulted in a great deal of confusion and even some ill feelings on the Ridge, largely because the reporter accepted assertions made by an individual associated with the Food Bank having to do with the NSJ Fire Protection District that had little or no basis in fact.

In particular, contrary to assertions in the article, there have been no discussions about moving food distribution to the Fire District’s Community Hall, there is no particular reason why such a move would offer more security than the current location, and the fire department has no more authority to remove people from their facilities than does anyone else.

Learn more »

Cheney’s torturing: extreme sadism

December 13, 2014 — 

Torture happened. It brings to mind my favorite book title, Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds, (Charles Mackay, 1841).

The torture that our country has done was nothing less than Dick Cheney’s extreme authoritarian sadism and it was contagious. It infected millions of U.S. citizens when they were feeling vulnerable. Most hope we could put it behind us, but it has awakened mean-spiritedness within some.

Learn more »

Why the delay with the Lamphier case?

December 13, 2014 — 

I just wanted to know if The Union is keeping up to date about the charges alleged against Terry Lamphier. Has The Union, as a community based newspaper, even sent a reporter to Sacramento to find out for themselves what is taking so much time with the investigation?

Once the election was over, it seems both to myself and many others as if our sheriff has not pushed the state far enough or fast enough for the results of Mr. Lamphier’s computer analysis. I realize the state has a backlog of computer related crimes to investigate, but the extremely serious accusations against a setting county supervisor and councilman elect should have some priority. I have both read about and watched on television higher profile individuals (entertainers, sport figures, political leaders etc) having extremely serious matters such as this looked into in a much more timely manner.

Learn more »

Do as the officer asks

December 13, 2014 — 

If a man with a uniform, a badge, and a gun tells you to do something, it is wise to do what he says.

If you don’t, trouble follows, and you will be the loser.

Learn more »

Memories brought back on World War II

December 13, 2014 — 

Memories brought back on World War II

Learn more »

Thanks to Bear River faithful for support at section title game

December 13, 2014 — 

The Bear River varsity football staff would like to send out a “Thank You” to all the fans that attended the Section Final football game in Lodi.

With so much at stake, it was so comforting and emotionally reassuring to have so many people rooting us on. Having been at every playoff game in the history of the school, I personally had never witnessed such a large and supportive crowd.

Learn more »

Our View: Nevada County community has some quality characters

December 13, 2014 — 

The Food Bank of Nevada County has been serving North San Juan families and residents in need for nearly two decades, but apparently a few bad apples recently put the program in jeopardy, as staff and volunteers cited personal safety concerns as reason to suspend operations.

But by showing strength in numbers, and a commitment to community, volunteers, nonprofit organizations, public safety officials and governmental leaders rallied this week in order to ensure the food bank would meet its mission by distributing food to 118 families — representing 258 people — at the North San Juan Community Center, during Thursday’s torrential downpour of a storm that swept through Nevada County, no less.

Learn more »

Bed-and-breakfast inns an important asset for Nevada City

December 12, 2014 — 

On Nov. 29, I read an opinion written by Don Joy regarding his perceived threat of B&Bs and vacation rentals to the residential neighborhoods of Nevada City.

I was taken aback by the lack of accuracy and balance in his piece and I would like to clear up these inaccuracies and add some relevant information.

Learn more »

‘Thanks to Give’ event a success

December 12, 2014 — 

A heartfelt thank you to everyone who donated time and money to “Thanks to Give” this year. A total of 156 meals and flower bouquets were delivered to seniors and disabled adults throughout the county on Thanksgiving Day.

Special thanks to Nevada City SPD Market, Foothill Flowers and Country Copy for their generous discounts, to the staff at the Community Center and to all agencies who helped get the word out, to the American Legion for use of their kitchen facilities and a huge shout out to all the volunteers. We appreciate your ongoing support of this worthwhile project.

Learn more »

Winter Boutique proceeds go to Big Brothers Big Sisters

December 12, 2014 — 

Sunday afternoon in downtown Nevada City, many friends came to visit the beautiful Powell House on Spring Street.

The Winter Boutique fundraiser supporting Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County was full of smiling faces and very happy shoppers! Thank you, Eddie the Elf, for entertaining Bigs and Littles from your cottage replica, a charming home away from home. Thank you to our sponsors Telestream, Ensemble Design, B&C True Value, Tess’ Kitchen Store, Nana’s Artisan Bakery, and, of course, everyone in our community who cares about mentoring for children. Happy holidays!

Learn more »

Thanks for coverage on impact of Prop. 47

December 12, 2014 — 

My compliments to Liz Kellar for a balanced article on the debate over the impact of Proposition 47 (“Unintended Consequences”).

Nevada County voters made the right choice in joining California voters (by approximately the same substantial margin) in approving Prop 47. One fact not mentioned in the article is that every indigent convicted felon has a constitutional right to file an appeal, represented by court-appointed counsel and paid for by the State.

Learn more »

Just a thought

December 12, 2014 — 

Instead of blaming the police for using excessive force to stop someone, maybe people need to comply with the authority and do what they were told. Then straighten the problem out.

Patrick Carr

Learn more »

Nationwide rules are reasonable, necessary

December 11, 2014 — 

This is in response to the Dec. 3 op-ed of Norm Sauer in which he argues, essentially, that all laws and regulations of the federal government are overreaching and impinge his personal liberties.

The truth is that every federal, state or local rule is going to be seen by some as limiting their personal liberties.

Learn more »

Bigelsen treated unfairly

December 11, 2014 — 

I have no knowledge of Dr. Bigelsen except for what I’ve read in The Union.

The articles and letters I’ve seen seem to show that Dr. Bigelsen’s methods and treatment are based on sound medical/biological science, and several letters from his clients have attested to the effectiveness of his treatments, and no letters have stated otherwise or criticized them.

Learn more »

Goodman:

December 11, 2014 — 

Lima, the capital of Peru, has become a city of gustatory renown, attracting foodies from the world over to sample dishes from its famous ceviche to favorites from the Andean highlands.

So it is an appropriate place, perhaps, for what has become a genuine movable feast, the world-roving series of summits organized by the United Nations to tackle the crisis of climate change.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top