Opinion

Carol Judd: Trump doesn't speak for me

August 28, 2015 — 

In a recent letter, Mr. Phillips believes Donald Trump is “saying what all Americans have been thinking.” Not true.

Trump has said nothing that I have been thinking. I find Trump’s manner, interactions and disrespect for others to be the antithesis of a strong leader.

Learn more »

Dean Olson: Do we really want another war?

August 28, 2015 — 

Years ago, when Russia invaded Afghanistan, we covertly got involved and created what then became Al Qaeda.

We supplied and supported those who eventually turned on us and brought down the Twin Towers. After this, the one country which had absolutely nothing to do with this terrorist attack, Iraq, is overthrown by the Bush Administration by lying and fabricating false information.

Learn more »

Lily Marie: Peace & Justice Center booth at fair a success

August 28, 2015 — 

The Peace & Justice Center of Nevada County directors want to thank everyone who helped make our fair booth, “Our Children Need Peace to Thrive,” a great success:

— The 37 volunteers from the Brady Campaign, Creating Communities Beyond Bias, Child Advocates of Nevada County, Gather the Women, Grandmothers for Peace, Palestine/Israel Working Group, Partners Family Resource Centers, The Peace Alliance, NEO and the Mankind Project

Learn more »

Edna Brown: Our side of Eskaton

August 28, 2015 — 

The Union newspaper has reported several times on what they call “Eskaton lawsuit.” May we set the record straight?

Eskaton Village Grass Valley Homeowners Association is being sued by two residents of the village.

Learn more »

Paul D. Hauck: Obama's popularity comparable to Reagan

August 28, 2015 — 

In her article in The Union on Aug. 24, Julie Pace describes President Obama’s popularity as “plummeting.”

I don’t know where this perception comes from. Perhaps because people hear such intensely critical statements about him, they assume those statements represent the majority of Americans’ views.

Learn more »

Leo Granucci: Town hall forum may not be best way to solve homeless issues

August 28, 2015 — 

I read with great interest Jim Hemig’s article along with The Union’s Editorial Board’s comments regarding the homeless and encouraging people to attend The Union’s town hall meeting on Sept. 10 at the Center for the Arts.

This town hall meeting is scheduled for two hours; a one-hour presentation by Dr. Marbut and one hour for discussion.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Mission accomplished

August 28, 2015 — 

Last Saturday I danced in front of more than 800 people at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Auditorium. It was only six days ago, but it feels like a lifetime.

The experience was surreal for sure. The lights, loud music and screaming crowd were unlike anything I have ever witnessed before.

Learn more »

Frank Way: Another gratifying Supreme Court decision

August 27, 2015 — 

Among the several decisions made by this session of the United States Supreme Court (2014-15) that validated the liberal point of view, perhaps none would be as decisive as the one on the Affordable Care Act, or King vs. Burwell.

By a margin of six to three the court upheld the law’s subsidies to all Americans regardless of whether the state they live in has, or has not, set up state exchanges. The decision really only effects states opposed to the Affordable Care Act and since California is not one of these states, why is the decision significant for us here? Besides reminding us all that Congress makes, and the Court interprets, the laws, Chief Justice Roberts emphasized the importance of a law’s intent, in this case the intent of the Affordable Care Act is to “improve the marketplace for health insurance, not destroy it.”

Learn more »

Carolyn Beardsley: Highway 174 safety project to take piece of history

August 27, 2015 — 

It will be my curve that is going to be removed and become a straightaway with the Caltrans Safety Project 2018.

I own the property with the Joe Ruess Landscape Architect sign out front which has been a fixture on the highway since 1950. Along this manicured frontage is the clearly visible Nevada County Narrow Gauge Railroad bed which will be defaced and owned by Caltrans. Caltrans should never be allowed to own the Narrow Gauge Railroad Bed, which is a piece of our Nevada County history!

Learn more »

Joe O'Leary: No water? No problem

August 27, 2015 — 

Our home is five miles from Grass Valley. Several weeks ago on a Friday afternoon, we had no water.

We called Peter’s Drilling and Pump Service and they said they would schedule us for Saturday afternoon. They called back in half an hour and said they would provide service by noon on Saturday. Shortly thereafter, we were told they could arrive at the house by 8 a.m. Saturday morning. By 10 a.m. we had water. Someone at Peter’s made sure a situation didn’t become a major issue. The problem was correctly diagnosed and the repairs done in a timely manner. Thank you Peters and staff.

Learn more »

Jim Primrose: Save the trees at Nevada Union High School stadium

August 27, 2015 — 

Nevada Union High School has a wonderful new track except there is a problem. The school seems to have consulted with an arborist who believes that any tree in the proximity of the track poses a threat to the track even though the same trees peacefully coexisted with the old track, which lasted 17 years.

The dozen or more trees in question provide character, beauty, and shade to the track and football field which sets Nevada Union apart from the stark moonscapes of most other schools. The community needs to raise its voice to see if these trees can be saved. We may not have much time so I ask you to help save the trees in any way which you can. Thank you for your help.

Learn more »

Byron York: With all eyes on Trump, Ted Cruz rises in GOP race

August 27, 2015 — 

Ted Cruz got a big boost in Iowa recently when the influential social conservative activist and radio host Steve Deace endorsed him.

To call it a sought-after endorsement would be an understatement. Deace says prospective 2016 GOP campaigns began contacting him well before the 2012 election. (All just assumed that Mitt Romney was going to lose.) The recruitment efforts picked up in 2013 and 2014.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman and Denis Moynihan: The Iran Nuclear Deal: Give diplomacy a chance

August 27, 2015 — 

A war with Iran would be a catastrophe, yet by opposing diplomacy, hundreds of members of Congress may be blundering into just such a conflict. The Iran nuclear deal, as the complex diplomatic arrangement is popularly called, was agreed upon on July 14 by a consortium of key powerful countries, the European Union and Iran. The goal of the agreement is to limit Iran’s nuclear activities to peaceful purposes, and to block Iran’s ability to construct a nuclear bomb. Despite what its critics say, this agreement is not based on trust. It grants the International Atomic Energy Agency the power to conduct widespread, intrusive inspections to ensure that Iran keeps its many pledges. In return, many, but not all, of the sanctions on Iran, which have been crippling its economy, will be lifted.

The alternative to diplomacy is to pour gasoline on a region of the world already on fire with intense, complex military conflicts. Iran’s military has more than half a million soldiers, no doubt with many more who could be mobilized if threatened with invasion. Iran shares a vast border to its west with Iraq, and to its east with Afghanistan, two nations with ongoing military and humanitarian disasters that have consumed the U.S. military since 2001, costing trillions of dollars and untold lives.

Learn more »

Allan Krosner: It's in the Constitution

August 26, 2015 — 

I read with interest Mr. Wayne Hild’s Aug. 4 letter to the editor, “Look at the real issues, Mr. LaMalfa.”

Every item that Mr. Hild suggested that the government should do are illegal per the Constitution. Article I, Section 8 lists the powers that the federal government has. The 10th Amendment further clarifies this by stating that “The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”

Learn more »

Richardt Stormsgaard: Oozing with hatred?

August 26, 2015 — 

Jim Hemig wrote in his column on July 17 that Ms. Campbell’s outburst “oozed with hatred” for the Tea Party.

Since Obama was elected, each and every week there have been several letters to the editor accusing him of a variety of offenses from conservative locals.

Learn more »

Reinette Senum: Homeless issue requires bold leadership, supportive community

August 26, 2015 — 

Addiction and homeless expert Dr. Gabor Mate, who wrote a seminal book called “In the Realm of Hungry Ghosts,” gave an example of what he is seeing transpire in North America regarding the last few generations.

He used the true-life example of a female beluga whale that had been born in captivity in a Vancouver aquarium. A dozen years later, this beluga whale gave birth to her own baby beluga whale. The birth went fine, but immediately the baby beluga’s health began to decline. The mother beluga whale didn’t know what to do. The handlers didn’t know what to do. Neither did the experts.

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

August 26, 2015 — 

John Carr

Learn more »

Bill Drake: Unlearning prejudice

August 25, 2015 — 

In the Aug. 8 “Feedback” column, Greg Zeller makes the point that “we … need to look deeper and find the humanity in every person instead of judging people by appearance.”

I completely agree. Our “sameness” is far more significant than our differences.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Anti-Semitism issue again confronts UC regents

August 25, 2015 — 

Back in June, the president of the University of California promised on national radio that the UC Board of Regents would vote in its next meeting — in July — on whether to adopt the U.S. State Department’s definition of anti-Semitism.

It didn’t happen. There was no vote, no discussion, not even an agenda item.

Learn more »

Heidi Hall: Building community by challenging ourselves

August 25, 2015 — 

By now you have heard all about the results of the very successful Center for the Arts fundraising event, the third annual Dancing With Our Stars, held over the weekend.

As an enthusiastic participant, I can attest that it was thrilling and frightening.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 25, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Richard Hill: The EPA and the USA

August 24, 2015 — 

Recently I began to wonder if we would have, or could have, won, or even fought, World War II had the Environmental Protection Agency been in existence in 1940.

In March 1942, Gen. George S. Patton was ordered to establish an armored training center in the Mojave Desert. Many of our armored forces that fought in North Africa in 1942 and 43 trained there. With an EPA however, there would have been a two- or three-year period (assuming it was fast tracked) in preparing an environmental impact report. Once published, the report would have been challenged with another two or three years of litigation. American forces would have made it to North Africa sometime in 1947 or 1948. Of course, by then the Germans would have controlled all of North Africa, the Suez Canal and would have been well established in Saudi Arabia.

Learn more »

Harvey Bigelsen: Medical lies and spying

August 24, 2015 — 

Several weeks ago a doctor wrote a letter to the editor that was very derogatory to the concept of naturopathy. I am a medical doctor and I would like to respond to that letter.

Modern “scientific” medicine has not found the cure of one chronic disease in 100 years. They have done very well at crisis medicine and infectious disease, however chronic disease they have failed. Years ago I became very frustrated because I realized that I did not cure any disease and I only suppressed them by using drugs.

Learn more »

George Boardman: There are consequences when you give city council members a free pass

August 24, 2015 — 

President Barack Obama famously told the Republican leadership after his inauguration in 2009 (and probably to his subsequent regret): “Elections have consequences. I won.”

Residents of Nevada City are learning (possibly to their regret) that letting people run unopposed for city council seats also has consequences.

Learn more »

Terry McLaughlin: Unsavory tactics all around

August 22, 2015 — 

In an Aug. 10 letter to the editor, Marilyn Nyborg said, “I really find it difficult to give credibility to a pro-life organization that uses totally deceptive tactics to gain the information they want. A heavily edited video, a complete set-up, using false IDs is hardly credible. Not to mention that there is no indication that Planned Parenthood did anything illegal.”

I’d like to make her aware of NARAL Pro-Choice America (previously called the National Abortion Rights Action League), which has an ongoing orchestrated campaign to discredit and quash Crisis Pregnancy Centers (CPC) around the country. They also have “undercover” members visit CPC’s around the nation, faking pregnancies, giving false names and backgrounds stories, and carrying no ID’s at all. Does she believe that these are also totally deceptive tactics which should be given no credibility?

Learn more »

Michele Spencer: What value does the pro-birth movement actually have?

August 22, 2015 — 

Our forefathers fled intolerance and government overreach and fashioned our Constitution to protect American citizens from both. Hence we have freedom of religion and speech, due process, equal protection etc. and presently the right to an abortion during the first two trimesters of a pregnancy.

I was raised Catholic, would never have an abortion, yet remain pro-choice as are many. That is because I realize that there are at least two equally ethical, religious beliefs regarding when human personhood (i.e. viability) can be determined, which beliefs must be tolerated under our laws. Whether one believes that the soul or human life begins at conception or at its first breath independent of the mother, it is a protected belief and requires our respect and tolerance even if we disagree.

Learn more »

Karen Nelson: Children's Festival a community effort

August 22, 2015 — 

A giant “thank you” to the wonderful local volunteers and businesses that brought the Children’s Festival to life again this year!

This Renaissance Faire for children was enjoyed by more than 2,400 attendees and included 24 crafts, refreshments, and entertainment including Claude the Dragon, the Troll, Pirates, the lovely Queen and her court, and fencers, musicians, dancers, fairies and even mermaids! It could not happen without the generous donations of time and materials of our community.

Learn more »

Laurent Clark: Mr. Crabb's use of Confederate flag

August 22, 2015 — 

Mr. Crabb’s article of Aug. 12 attempts to justify his use of the Confederate flag with the Nevada County Gold Miner logo. He outlines examples of brutalities committed upon Native Americans during the “conquering” of their land by the 49ers. All too true, as taught in our schools and history sites. Thus, we as a society are aware of the transgressions of our forefathers, from Salem to Seattle.

His causes, such as supporting the possible return of the Rancheria to the Nisenan, “from whom it was stripped” may be admirable, but his inferences that many such, “grave injustices have yet to be rectified,” suggest a personal axe to grind. That is OK!

Learn more »

Carol Kuczora: What is socialism?

August 22, 2015 — 

Sen. Bernie Sanders has boldly declared himself a democratic socialist. Many Americans are ignorant of what that means. I didn’t learn it in school.

Socialism is an economic system — not a political system. It is intended to reduce economic injustice and poverty. Political and economic systems can be mixed and matched. Europe has many successful democratic socialist countries with which the citizens are happy. Their economies and democracies both work better than ours.

Learn more »

Remleh Scherzinger: Thanks to firefighters, NID staff for support during fire

August 22, 2015 — 

With this week’s good news that the Lowell Fire is 100 percent contained, and on behalf of myself and the Nevada Irrigation District Board of Directors, I would like to publicly thank the hundreds of firefighters who protected lives, homes as well as NID water and hydroelectric systems along the Bear River.

At the same time, I would like to share with the community the tremendous response and team effort displayed by NID employees during the massive fire.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top