Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Jim Goetsch: Another State Of The Union apologia — contradicted

March 28, 2015 — 

It’s my belief that editorials by members of The Union’s Editorial Board should have something to say besides recycling Democrat talking points. I have yet to read anything original by Nancy Eubanks, and her editorial of March 7 is no exception.

First she quotes “facts” without stating where they came from. I have two problems with this: first, I can’t find the poll she is quoting from; and second, what thinking person believes that poll results are “facts” rather than a temporary condition depending on who conducted and controlled the poll? So I ask Ms. Eubanks to have the courtesy and journalistic integrity in the future to list her sources and make sure that what she calls “facts” have some basis in “reality, actuality, and certainty” — all synonyms for “facts.”

Learn more »

Mary Hall Ross: Boldly creating a future for media and the arts

March 28, 2015 — 

By the fall of 2009, when I joined the KVMR board of directors, the Nevada City-based community radio station had spent three years planning for, looking for, and raising funds for a new home.

There was momentum to buy an existing building in the Nevada City Technology Center on the edge of town and customize it to meet KVMR’s needs. A feasibility study conducted by a professional fundraising firm indicated that our community had the capacity and inclination for charitable giving to enable KVMR to raise funds to pay for the project.

Learn more »

Janie Petrosine: County does not defend tax-paying citizens

March 28, 2015 — 

Regarding Virginia Moran’s recent column, “Hypocrisy,” rarely have I read a reader opinion letter that covers all the bases in discussing an issue.

The Dollar General Store debate is simply a catalyst for sharing individual horror stories in dealing with Nevada County government offices and departments. That is, the common citizen, not a deep pocket commercial builder. This county does not protect or defend its tax-paying citizens.

Learn more »

San French: Goodbye evil pot people, hello full legalization

March 28, 2015 — 

First off, congratulations to Brad Peceimer-Glasse for his right and just victory in court recently.

Secondly, a shout out to District Attorney Newell, DDA Pong, Sgt. Selleck and Sheriff Royal et al: soon your job of “going after” the evil pot people will be over and you can start doing real police and law enforcement work and stop wasting our hard-earned tax dollars on these frivolous and violent raids that make you feel so righteous.

Learn more »

Allan Krosner: Clarification on who is violating Constitution

March 28, 2015 — 

In reference to Heidi Hall’s March 24 column, a clarification is required. She cites the Constitution and a Supreme Court ruling about treaties and what she said is correct. There is one big problem though, she did not mention that it is Obama who is violating the Constitutional requirement for the need to have consent of the Senate.

Obama is not sending his Iran agreement to the Senate for the required consent. John Kerry specifically said that the agreement is not a treaty therefore does not require consent of the Senate. It is certainly proper for the Congress to inform the Iranian regime about our Constitutional requirements.

Learn more »

Nancy Eubanks: Facts do matter in sharing opinion

March 28, 2015 — 

Recently, several people, including Stan Meckler, have questioned my statistics published in a recent column. I spend a lot of time researching my facts on the Internet to make sure they are accurate and support my statements.

I start with Ask.com, a website that provides many sources pertaining to my particular questions. Other sources include Gallup polls, Rasmussen polls, The New York Times, The Washington Post, and the Huffington Post.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: How California won by losing Tesla battery plant

March 28, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Our View: Welcome home NEO

March 28, 2015 — 

On Thursday night, Grass Valley celebrated the grand opening of NEO’s new youth center on Joerschke Drive.

Beginning April 7, the NEO youth center will be open from 2:30-6 p.m. on Tuesdays and Thursdays; teens can drop in during those hours to receive homework help, participate in arts and crafts, play video and board games or just hang out. The center will also host weekday evening and weekend concerts, movie nights and dances.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a Village Idiot

March 28, 2015 — 

By R. L. Crabb

Special to The Union

Learn more »

Denise Cain: Consider adopting an older dog

March 27, 2015 — 

Many articles have been written about the wonder and beauty of the senior dog. So many find themselves in shelters, abandoned on the streets by people who did not live up to their end of the bargain.

Like marriage, “till death do us part” is the goal. We know this cannot be the result in 100 percent of adoptions, but it is the GOAL. Divorce, death, illness can interfere. Such is the case of Butch and Honeybear, who lost their loving parents of 11 years. No two dogs were more loved by their guardians, who died within two months of each other.

Learn more »

Kristin Liljequist: Issues with Israel

March 27, 2015 — 

After Netanyahu’s speech to Congress I overheard someone say, “In the spirit of reciprocity, President Obama should now speak to the Israeli Knesset about the need for Israel to stop building illegal settlements on Palestinian Land.”

Exactly. He might also mention that continuing to do so, in spite of the condemnation of virtually the entire world, will jeopardize the $8 million per day ($3 billion per year) the U.S. sends to the Israeli military.

Learn more »

Jake Bronson: Senators need a lesson in respect for country

March 27, 2015 — 

This is an open letter to Sen. Dianne Feinstein. I was embarrassed to be an American, when 47 of your colleagues wrote a letter to the Islamic Republic of Iran saying it does not matter what the president of the United States negotiates, that it won’t be valid in two years.

That letter, those 47 signatures, was as un-American as it gets. All 47 of those senators and the Speaker of the House need a lesson in respect for their country.

Learn more »

Chellie Peterson: Thank you, Marie Johnson, for your spirit of kindness

March 27, 2015 — 

I’m a 43-year downtown Grass Valley furniture merchant who had a sad conversation recently about the decline of human kindness.

Today was St. Patrick’s Day and it dawned on me that we probably wouldn’t see Marie Johnson today. She had taken a fall and broken several bones and her 44-year tradition of green carnations for the downtown lady merchants had probably come to an end.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Strange bedfellows

March 27, 2015 — 

I’m a Ryan Golze fan. I’ll admit it.

But I had the difficult job of calling Ryan Tuesday and informing him that The Union had to cover the news over at Eskaton.

Learn more »

Diane Masini: What's up with untrained dogs off leash?

March 26, 2015 — 

While visiting with friends and their dogs, one of the women shared a distressing incident that happened to her a few days before with a man who not only doesn’t comply with our leash law, he can’t control his dogs, which attacked her leashed dog.

He did come to get them off the bleeding little dog, then runs with the dogs to his vehicle (a red Jeep) jumps in and drives off without saying a word to the woman who owns the dog! This incident happened at the fairgrounds near the lake in the late afternoon.

Learn more »

James Butler: More people noticing 'chemtrails' above us

March 26, 2015 — 

Well, what started out be a beautiful blue sky this morning, was soon criss-crossed with ugly chemtrails by 9 a.m. We wonder why a lot of us have asthma problems and the decimation of the bee population. Chemtrails are just that, toxic waste being sprayed into our atmosphere at high altitude, in effect poisoning us.

So, what do the environmentalists do? They ban burn barrels and fireplaces, or mandate to have our cars smogged every two years (a money making machine for the EPA and Sacramento bureaucrats). I wrote about chemtrails a few years ago and I had some folks calling to commend me in support. And I even gave numerous photos I took of the chemtrails over the Grass Valley Brunswick area to The Union newspaper back then, too. But I never saw them in print in The Union.

Learn more »

Byron York: As tech giant calls for more foreign workers, Senate hears of displaced Americans

March 26, 2015 — 

Eric Schmidt, CEO of Google, believes passionately that the United States needs more skilled foreign workers. He has long advocated increasing the number of so-called H-1B visas, which allow those workers to come to the U.S. for several years and, in many cases, work for lower wages than current employees. Schmidt is frustrated that Congress hasn’t done as he and other tech moguls want.

“In the long list of stupid policies of the U.S. government, I think our attitude toward immigration has got to be near the top,” Schmidt said during a recent appearance at the American Enterprise Institute in Washington. “Everyone actually agrees that there should be more H-1B visas in order to create more tech, more science, more analytical jobs. Everyone agrees, in both parties.”

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: The costs of war, the price of peace

March 26, 2015 — 

What price would you pay not to kill another human being? At what point would you commit the offenses allegedly perpetrated by Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl, who was charged Wednesday with desertion and “misbehavior before an enemy.” Bowe Bergdahl was a private when he left his post in Afghanistan, under circumstances that are still unknown to the public, and was captured by the Taliban. They imprisoned him for five years, until he was released in a controversial prisoner swap negotiated by the Obama administration. Five Taliban members who were held for years at Guantanamo Bay were released to house arrest in Qatar in exchange for Bergdahl. He now faces a court-martial and potentially life in prison. Meanwhile, the architects of the disastrous wars in Iraq and Afghanistan remain untried, while a new report asserts that up to 1.3 million people have been killed in Iraq, Afghanistan and Pakistan in the first 10 years of the so-called war on terror.

The report is called “Body Count” and is published in the U.S. by Physicians for Social Responsibility. “It has been politically important to downplay Allied forces’ responsibility for the massive carnage and destruction in the region,” writes San Francisco doctor Robert M. Gould in the report’s foreword. He told me: “We need to take full responsibility for the true cost of war as we are preparing to continue our involvement in Afghanistan and deepen our involvement in Syria and Iraq. There’s great anger throughout the region about our involvement and the underplaying here of what the true costs are in terms of death and destruction.”

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

March 25, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Courtney Hundemer: Casino Night a success

March 25, 2015 — 

Deer Creek Parent Teacher Club would like to thank the many local businesses, our school community, and the South County Rotary group who all donated to, and volunteered at our recent Casino Night fundraiser at The Foothills Event Center.

It was a huge success thanks to your generosity and help.

Learn more »

Judy Olson: My first choice was Paul Perry

March 25, 2015 — 

In April of 2014, I donated my mother’s piano to Hospitality House to be used and enjoyed by the guests and many others. When I decided to plan a special presentation, I knew that I wanted someone very special to be the one to christen the piano with its first tune. And, of course, my first choice was Paul Perry, not only because he was well known in the community but also because he was an extraordinary person and musician.

However, I was concerned that he may not be interested enough or have the time to take part in a “lesser” event. Well, I need not have worried. He was very willing to participate.

Learn more »

Lee E. Tope: Affordable Care Act not so affordable

March 25, 2015 — 

Well! The Affordable Care Act, has just fallen on us seniors who have paid our taxes, kept our doctors, kept our Medicare, and secondary insurance, et. al.

We just received our 2014 Federal tax forms from our accountant. We were informed that we had not signed up

Learn more »

Dick Sciaroni: Let's start with the facts

March 25, 2015 — 

Every citizen is entitled to air his or her opinion, whether on so-called chem-trails or President Obama’s handling of the ISIS situation. But in doing so, one should stick to the facts. Otherwise, one fails to convince those of us who value fact above polemic.

A recent example of such polemicist thinking was a letter in The Union decrying President Obama’s views toward ISIS. While conceding that Christians had engaged in murder in the name of religion, the writer claimed the Crusades occurred “thousands of years ago ...” In point of fact, the Crusades occurred “hundreds” of years ago. More recently, Christians gleefully burned, beheaded, eviscerated and hanged people during the Reformation, while missionaries encouraged genocide against native peoples. Even more recently, Christians engaged in a Holocaust against Jews in the 1940s, while a mere score of years ago Christian priests encouraged the slaughter of innocents in Rwanda, and Serb Christians killed Muslims in the Balkans.

Learn more »

Ward Thompson: Impeach Obama? Think again

March 25, 2015 — 

Suggesting impeachment of President Obama is intriguing for the same reason that it is impracticable: the 22nd amendment.

If Obama is voted out of office, not only would Joe Biden succeed him, but with less than two years left of the term, the 22nd Amendment would make Biden eligible to become the first person since FDR to serve as president for more than eight years! Rather than vie for an open office next year, both the Republicans and Hillary would have to face an incumbent president who, if re-elected each time, would not constitutionally become a lame duck until 2021.

Learn more »

Bob Altieri: LCAP is cornerstone of parent involvement in the education of their children

March 25, 2015 — 

We are in epic times of change in education with the new Local Control Funding Formula (LCFF) and Local Control Accountability Plan (LCAP). Under the new LCAP, parents, more than ever, need to be informed and get involved.

The LCAP, which is a critical part of the new local funding formula, requires stakeholder input, so schools must get information from parents regarding the programs, services and supports they want to see at their schools. This is a good thing.

Learn more »

Jim Firth: Chamber director missed my point

March 25, 2015 — 

The Other Voices piece written by Grass Valley Chamber of Commerce Director Keith Davies misses the point of my recent op-ed printed in The Union. I do understand how and why Mr. Davies rushes to support the GV Chamber, and I agree with him that the Chamber does provide a benefit to the City of Grass Valley.

The one sentence of my 750-word op-ed that mentioned the Chamber was done to offer an example of how I believe the City of Grass Valley should prioritize its budget, and where funds could be allocated to better serve GV residents. My position is that the GV Recreation and Parks Department represents a greater financial need than the GV Chamber. There are many other line items in the GV city budget that could also have been used to represent a savings of $18,000, the estimated cost of a special election to replace Terry Lamphier, the councilperson who resigned. I chose – did not “blame” — the Chamber because it is easily identifiable.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: House GOP — more of same

March 24, 2015 — 

Daily, there are stories of terrorists around the world holding people hostage. What about America’s own political terrorists, the Republicans holding the nation hostage again with the threat of defunding the Department of Homeland Security? No headlines of America’s political terrorists.

Republicans held the nation hostage as they almost pushed the country over a fiscal cliff. Remember? Then Republicans, playing to their extremist base, shut down the U.S. government. Speaker John Boehner and House Republicans promised to change their ways after the election — not even — they’re still carrying on the same as they ever did.

Learn more »

Deborah Herrera: Thanks to all the dads

March 24, 2015 — 

Fathers seem to get neglected when it comes to recognition. Even the “HAPPY” signs graciously displayed by Old Barn Self Storage off the Golden Center Freeway seem to reflect this. Mother’s Day gets a lovely sign, but Fathers’ Day acknowledgment seems to be lacking.

Don’t dads deserve the same glory as moms do? Being an involved dad can be an unappreciated job. Wouldn’t it be nice to acknowledge them with respect and appreciation?

Learn more »

Betsy Hunter: Can't afford to get sick

March 24, 2015 — 

My 33-year-old daughter, a single mother of an 11 year old, doesn’t have health insurance because it’s too expensive (approximately $700 every other week at her workplace, and not much different with national health care).

She has fragile health, being born with seven major birth defects including half of one arm missing, therefore she must be diligent with any bug that comes her way.

Learn more »

Put the country first

March 24, 2015 — 

Regarding her rebuttal letter printed March 7, I don’t know what delusional world Nancy Eubanks lives in. I have read enough of her ridiculous diatribes and am compelled to say something about it.

She claims more than 70 percent of the people support raising taxes on the rich, free child care and free community college among other things. Last time I checked Obama has a well under 50 percent approval rating and the Democrats got evicted from Congress. People are fed up with this giant mess that has threatened to ruin the Republic.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top