Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Nancy Eubanks: Time to stop policing the world and get our own house in order

May 30, 2015 — 

I just returned from the California Democratic Party Convention in Anaheim, where many inspiring messages were discussed.

One was that it’s time for progressive Democrats to stand up, and speak up for approaches that support working families, the middle class and a more equitable economy. Elizabeth Warren pointed out that from 1945-1980, 70 percent of U.S. economic growth was shared by 90 percent of the people. Since the 1980s, zero percent of the economic growth has gone to that 90 percent.

Learn more »

Deborah Herrera: Well done, Old Barn Self Storage

May 30, 2015 — 

Kudos to Old Barn Self Storage; their Memorial Day display was thoughtful, respectful and wonderful. Thank you!

Deborah Herrera

Learn more »

Marilyn Nyborg: What's wrong with this picture?

May 30, 2015 — 

I recently took a friend to the emergency room in Truckee ... Tahoe Forest Hospital. We signed in and were asked these questions: Have you been here before? Has anything changed? After answering no, we were quickly ushered into the ER.

This morning I went to Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital. It took one hour to get through the process of checking in. And longer to check in for the procedure I came for. A brand new system I am told. She took my insurance cards, she went through a series of questions to verify my records. Then she looked for the Medicare codes, which she wrote by hand, then put it in the computer. I had four things to sign. And with her deepest apologies I went into the lab. The blood test took five minutes! The staff were clearly as upset by the long lines as the patients were, as they grumbled in the waiting room.

Learn more »

Dan Bibelheimer: Don't forget Florence Nightingale

May 30, 2015 — 

I enjoyed seeing the May 26 Healthy Tuesday article by Valerie Cassity featuring the annual DAISY Award given to Kaitlend Hill by Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital, as part of recognition for National Nurses Day earlier this month. I am sure she is worthy of that award. I was pleased to see the names of the other nominees, several of whom I recognize from my decades of working with the staff at SNMH.

As things have gotten more complex, the nursing profession has stepped up to handle many challenges as they seek to provide the compassionate care patients need while often not having the power they might wish for to advocate for them. And usually they do it with humankindness and a smile.

Learn more »

Patricia Harper: Bring back the TV guide

May 30, 2015 — 

I want to respond to the “Other Voices” article by Joyce Haire in the May 22 issue of The Union. I too miss the TV Weekly each week.

I have a computer, an iPad, and Direct TV, but that doesn’t give me the information I get from the TV Weekly. I get my news from The Union. I read the TV Weekly to see what is on and what they have to say about the weekly shows. I don’t know where else to get that information.

Learn more »

Charles Durrett: The success of our town

May 30, 2015 — 

Not Anywhere U.S.A. – that’s what’s at the dais of the Nevada City Council these days. And I am so proud of them for taking this on.

I travel a great deal, but you don’t have to go far to see the same international franchises on the northwest corner of the intersection than another same on the northeast, southwest and the southeast side of the intersection. You see it in Auburn, Yuba City, Marysville and Sonora, all quaint mining towns at one time.

Learn more »

Our View: It's time for more than vocal support for economic assets

May 30, 2015 — 

Earlier this week, The Union published a story reflecting on the economic impact of the Amgen Tour of California in its ride through the western Nevada County.

Though not as robust as the revenue generated by the race for larger host cities — Sacramento is estimated to reap nearly $3 million from the 2015 race — Grass Valley and Nevada City records do reflect a rise in sales tax and transient occupancy tax revenue in the previous two years our community had played the role of host.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Pension-change measure inevitable

May 30, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

It takes a village idiot

May 30, 2015 — 

R. L. Crabb

Cartoonist

Learn more »

Eddie Garcia: Observations on State of Jefferson presentation

May 29, 2015 — 

On May 12, the Board of Supervisors listened to a presentation about the State of Jefferson movement. By The Union’s account, over 250 people attended the presentation. The meeting was presided by the chair of the Board, Supervisor Ed Scofield, who, very even-handedly, allowed proponents and opponents of the State of Jefferson to express their opinions.

The opposition to a new state seems to share its concerns with the State of Jefferson proponents that the rural counties of Northern California do not have a voice in our state legislature.

Learn more »

Big Brothers Big Sisters annual Mountain Bike Endurance Ride a success

May 29, 2015 — 

Saturday, May 23, started out gloomy with showers of cool rain and dark clouds. Then everything changed! The sun shone and mountain bike riders started arriving at Pioneer Park, and by 7:45 a.m. smiling cheery people were on their way for the 17th Annual Mountain Bike Endurance Ride.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County once again organized this amazing ride of 50 miles along the single track trails of our South Yuba River watershed. This year we added a shorter route of 25 miles that was received with rave reviews! Twenty four riders safely completed the ride with the help of many wonderful volunteers, radio ham operators, the NSJ Fire Department and the parents and team members of the Nevada Union Mountain Bike Team D! Thank you to everyone who made this fundraiser such a success — national sponsors like Road I.D., Clif Bar, Luna and Chamois But’r and our local sponsors — GV Signs, Tour of NC, Real Wheels, Extreme Outfitters, Sean Rockwell and Justin Pfaffinger! Justin also was the first rider to complete the 50-mile course and Beth Frizzell the 25-mile route.

Learn more »

Terry Bowen: We miss the TV guide

May 29, 2015 — 

We were out of town when you announced the demise of the TV guide and input on that decision. We agree with Ms. Haire and want the guide back!

I don’t know how much longer the hard print copy of newspapers will last, but until then put out the best paper you can. Raise the price to cover the cost of the guide or ask for suggestions on how to cover the cost, etc. We moved to this area on Jan. 15 and enjoy The Union. Please consider leaving it the way we found it — with the TV guide.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: The trickle-out theory

May 29, 2015 — 

Our community seems focused on preventing business growth.

Well, some would argue they’re not preventing all business growth but, instead, are attempting to limit certain business development.

Learn more »

Chris Nichols: Caring enough to go the extra mile

May 28, 2015 — 

Several weeks ago I was on my way to work quite early in the morning. Driving down La Barr Meadows road, I hit a beautiful pale orange cat. I stopped, and checked on the cat, thinking that I had killed it.

I began knocking on the doors of the nearby houses to try to find his family, and while I was doing so, the van for Accurate Air Conditioning and Heating stopped, and asked if I needed help, which I did.

Learn more »

Mary Miller: Many successes at Milhous

May 28, 2015 — 

I was sad to read the recent article about Milhous Children’s Services. An anonymous allegation was made public. It has since been investigated by superiors.

I and my late husband worked for Milhous for 20 years. I have seen the success of the children who have since grown into adults. The whole staff works as a machine (as hard as they can) to achieve a good outcome for all. A wonderful training is provided to employees. Over the years, between four and five thousand young people have had 24/7 care there. I give them a thumb’s up.

Learn more »

Byron York: Bernie Sanders is Hillary's leftward advance man

May 28, 2015 — 

Is Bernie Sanders pulling Hillary Clinton to the Left? No, for the same reason a canoe doesn’t pull an aircraft carrier.

The Vermont socialist running in the Democratic presidential race is currently at 7.4 percent in the RealClearPolitics average of national polls, versus Clinton’s 64.2 percent. Clinton is in fact moving leftward on issues like immigration, gay marriage, inequality and more, but it’s not because she’s feeling the heat from a little-known competitor.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: The pre-charge punishment of Julian Assange

May 28, 2015 — 

Tucked away on a side street in one of London’s toniest neighborhoods, just across the street from the sprawling department store Harrods, sits a brick, Victorian-era apartment building that houses the Ecuadorean Embassy. Julian Assange, the founder and editor of the whistle-blower website WikiLeaks, walked into this embassy on June 19, 2012, and hasn’t stepped foot outside since.

Ecuador granted him political asylum, but the United Kingdom refuses to grant him safe passage to leave the country. Instead, the U.K. wants to extradite him to Sweden to answer questions about allegations of sexual misconduct, although charges have never been filed. For close to three years, he has remained a prisoner in the embassy, denied even the hour of sunlight daily that most prisoners are guaranteed. For two years before that, he was either jailed or under strict house arrest in England, all without charge. When I went to London to interview him in the embassy this week, Assange asserted his belief that this pretrial phase is serving as both punishment and deterrent, and that Sweden is acting as a surrogate for the United States, which wants him jailed to stop the work of WikiLeaks.

Learn more »

M.L. Jakeman: Dr. Ben Carson, the anti-politician

May 27, 2015 — 

I read with considerable interest Byron York’s article in the May 9 issue of The Union.

It suggests that if Dr. Ben Carson is serious about running for the presidency of this country he should immediately change his tactics and embrace the modus operandi of the traditional ambitious politicians.

Learn more »

Willis McNeill: All about water

May 27, 2015 — 

In response to “Excessive water use by agriculture” and “Leadership means long-term solutions to deal with drought,” which recently appeared in The Union:

First an explanation is needed about the stated use of water by agriculture — is it 80 percent or 40 percent? The Union cites the Wall Street Journal “… 80 percent of developed water supply, yet this excludes the half swiped off the top for environmental purposes …”

Learn more »

Loren Young: Bullet Train a bust

May 27, 2015 — 

In reference to the May 11 article from the Associated Press about how much of a bargain the Bullet Train will be, the AP should do the math.

A cost of $86 per person just doesn’t cut it. My Camry, at 34 mpg would use 11 gallons of gas at $3.50-ish costs $38.50

Learn more »

Nancy Garcia: Time to learn more about the State of Jefferson

May 27, 2015 — 

On May 12, the Board of Supervisors granted the State of Jefferson proponents a hearing, which was appreciated.

After presenting each supervisor with individual information in preparation for the meeting and numerous citizens speaking for and against the idea, we were very surprised that not a single question was posed about any of the information presented.

Learn more »

Jim Jacobs: Feeling alone with no voice in government?

May 27, 2015 — 

About five years ago, President Obama was out here siding with the environmentalists, giving speeches, saying we need to remove about five of our dams.

My wife Clover and I have always washed full loads in cold water, and all of our outside watering is on drip and has been since we arrived here 15 years ago. Has common sense gone out the window?

Learn more »

Carrtoon: May 27, 2015

May 27, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Richard Bell: Jefferson State University?

May 27, 2015 — 

George Boardman’s column (“Marin County of Jefferson,” May 18) opens the door to the real costs of establishing a new state without real consideration of who would be directly affected by such a drastic change.

There are far too many chasms in Jefferson statehood to mention here, but let’s begin with an important one: higher education.

Learn more »

Jeannie Wood: CATS celebrates 12 sold-out shows

May 26, 2015 — 

Community Asian Theatre of the Sierra (CATS) thanks the community and region for the overwhelming response to its recent production of “Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet” at the Nevada Theatre. Frankly, we were taken by surprise by the incredible word-of-mouth advertising that resulted in 12 sold-out shows!

The storyline touched the hearts and minds at so many levels: first love and loss, World War II and the Japanese Internment, the politics and friction between the Chinese and Japanese, racism and prejudice, generational conflicts, and more! There wasn’t anything that this show didn’t resonate something in someone. Reality hit home. CATS was proud to host the California premiere of this best-selling novel by Jamie Ford. Kudos to adaptor and director Annie Lareau who gave life to the book on stage. Thank you Book-It Repertory Theatre of Seattle, our cast, crew, directors, designers, sponsors, donors, volunteers, and the 3,000 patrons who saw the show. Thanks for making the trek from the Sacramento region, the Bay Area, Placer County, Yuba County, San Joaquin County, Washoe County, Sierra County, and even Seattle! We are humbled by your support.

Learn more »

Bill Trzeciak: Bernie Sanders' multi-point plan

May 26, 2015 — 

Bernie’s plan is a progressive plan

For he’s a social democratic man.

Learn more »

Joan Girdler Good: Thank you, Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital

May 26, 2015 — 

I was feeling full of dread upon entering the mammography center at Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital, but soon felt a bit better when the receptionist was pleasant, efficient and was treating people as human beings. She immediately sent me into a private room for insurance information. The young woman at the desk could not have been more personable, efficient and caring. After sharing some of her own personal information she got up, came around the desk and after giving me a big hug said, “I’m going to walk you over.” Upon arrival, I was offered a choice of beverages, information was reviewed and I sat down to wait, but felt less anxious.

The mammographer was skilled, caring and quite pleasant as were the radiologist and sonogram technician. Thank you for the great skills you bring to your jobs, but just as important the kindness and sensitivity you possess. Fortunately the news was good.

Learn more »

Patricia Pickering: Bring back the TV Guide

May 26, 2015 — 

How could I be in the minority that reads the TV Guide in The Union? I don’t own a computer or satellite. The TV guide on cable is a hassle, it distracts the viewing channels while wanting information. My daughter lives in Eureka, and their local newspaper prints the TV guide daily at no extra charge. If there was another local newspaper that printed the TV Guide I would order it. The Nevada City Advocate and Territorial Dispatch are news worthy (without charge) and I am not happy with the discontinuance of the TV Guide. Will our voices be heard? I have lived in this area for 40 years. Kudos to Linda Johnson for starting the request to bring back the TV Guide to The Union.

Patricia Pickering

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Vaccinations and the Gov: What will he do?

May 26, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

R. L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

May 26, 2015 — 

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top