Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Where is our president?

August 29, 2014 — 

Christians are being slaughtered all over the world. Our military is being decimated. America is no longer the beacon of light for the world. Our economy is in the tank. Our nation is more divided than ever before.

And where is our president?

Learn more »

Gaza: our failure to recognize a shared humanity

August 29, 2014 — 

With the events in Gaza we confront our essential nature as human beings. News photos of Israeli soldiers in armored vehicles heading toward Gaza show the bravado of a conquering army heading toward battle with a guerilla force.

No one would argue that Hamas’ continuing firing of rockets into Israeli territory is an act of terrorism. But the numbers are telling; the Palestinians in disputed cities number close to two million. Given a generous estimate, Hamas fighters number perhaps 10,000. They are a small percentage of the population of civilians in Gaza. And what is it that the Palestinians want? Freedom, peace, and the rule of law. These are rights inscribed in both the American and the French Revolution’s key articles. A civil society forms the basis of what binds us all.

Learn more »

The Wooden Spoon: a good reason to shop locally

August 29, 2014 — 

Enjoyed Jim Hemig’s column in regards to shopping local. I, too, shop local, and can’t remember the last time I bought anything outside of Nevada County.

My favorite “go-to” kitchen store is The Wooden Spoon, and has been long before this particular experience. I had received a catalog from Williams-Sonoma that included an All Clad French skillet with a domed lid that I was interested in. I took the catalog to The Wooden Spoon and asked Linda (store owner) if she had this particular item. Or if not, could she order it? What I was thinking? Of course, she had it stocked!

Learn more »

Councilman Howard Levine: What I did on my summer vacation

August 29, 2014 — 

Well, school is back in session and I finished up my vacation with one last hurrah. Saturday night was Dancing With Our Stars, a fundraising effort by the Center for the Arts at the Veterans Building in Grass Valley.

I was a dancer, along with 21 others of our community who have put a whole summer into the program.

Learn more »

It takes two sides for peace

August 28, 2014 — 

On Aug. 22, there was a letter to the editor, “Gaza conflict could be stopped,” by Dean Olson to which I’d like to respond.

The Gaza Strip is not a country and never has been. The land was given to the people that lived their by Israel with the hopes that gesture would bring about peace. Once Hamas defeated Fatah a bloody battle for control of Gaza, Hamas immediately began firing on Israel. Don’t take my word for it, look it up.

Learn more »

Columnist needs more facts, less posturing

August 28, 2014 — 

The Union columnist George Boardman recently stated: “If you are like me, you are clearly not part of the anti-GMO, all-natural, farm-to-fork food fetish the United States is currently experiencing.”

He goes on to suggest we should feed the hungry with GMO foods. I do not believe he intended to wish ill health and malnutrition on the poor and hungry; he just apparently does not know any better.

Learn more »

West: Eric Holder: Leading the rush to judgment

August 28, 2014 — 

One thing an old Ivy League revolutionary can’t stand is people noticing that he represents the Establishment. That he embodies the System to a point where he can make it stop and make it go. He will go to great lengths to convince himself, if not others, this is not so.

Take Eric H. Holder Jr., Columbia College Class of 1973, Columbia Law School Class of 1976, now into his sixth year as U.S. attorney general of the Obama Imperium. The man really wants us to think he is not also “the man.”

Learn more »

Goodman: ‘The Guns of August’

August 28, 2014 — 

In her epic, Pulitzer Prize-winning book “The Guns of August,” historian Barbara Tuchman detailed how World War I began in 1914, and how the belligerence, vanity and poor policies of powerful leaders led millions to gory deaths in that four-year conflagration. Before people realized world wars had to be numbered, World War I was called “The Great War” or “The War to End All Wars,” which it wasn’t. It was the first modern war with massive, mechanized slaughter on land, sea and in the air. We can look at that war in retrospect, now 100 years after it started, as if through a distant mirror. The reflection, where we are today, is grim from within the greatest war-making nation in human history, the United States.

In the early years of the 20th century, the leaders of the nations of Europe had contrived a web of alliances, each treaty binding one country to join in the defense of another in the event of war.

Learn more »

Meet The Union Editorial Board

August 27, 2014 — 

Andy Burton

He is the owner of Full Spectrum Marketing Services, where he works with clients, both local and out of the area, to “manage their messaging” and ultimately grow their businesses. Andy Burton has been a business owner and entrepreneur for the past 15 years. He has a corporate background in energy management software and systems having worked with clients in Australia, France and many other European countries.

Burton and his wife, Shelly, live in Rough and Ready with their two teenage daughters, Jane and Molly, and enjoy taking advantage of all of the recreation opportunities Nevada County has to offer.

Learn more »

Congressman could benefit from larger turnout

August 27, 2014 — 

Our scarce Republican Congressman, Rep. Doug LaMalfa, who normally sends his aides to hear the concerns of constituents, and who doesn’t even show up for candidate forums, held court in Grass Valley City Hall on Friday morning, Aug. 15. In person!

The city council chambers were only about a quarter full. Polled as to how they heard about the meeting, most had received an email sent only to Republicans, two or three read it in the paper, several heard by word of mouth.

Learn more »

Community support for InConcert Sierra, Sierra Master Chorale

August 27, 2014 — 

As artistic director of InConcert Sierra and Sierra Master Chorale, I’m enjoying recollections and feeling proud of the 2013-14 season of exceptional classical music we brought to our community.

I wish to thank our valued contributors, advertisers, volunteers, media sponsors, musicians, board members and audiences for their enthusiastic support. Thanks also to the Grass Valley Seventh-day Adventist Church congregation, Pastors Jeff Richards and Tim McMillen, and secretary Anna McMillen for welcoming the performance of great music in the wonderful acoustic of the SDA sanctuary.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Aug. 27, 2014

August 27, 2014 — 

Learn more »

No laughing matter

August 26, 2014 — 

I was as stunned as anyone when I heard about the death of Robin Williams.

My first thought? Too young — far too young. Only 63. Especially now that 60 is the new 40.

Learn more »

What’s with the lenient plea bargains?

August 26, 2014 — 

The Tuesday, Aug. 12, edition featured Liz Kellar’s thorough recounting of Samuel Adams’ alleged extensive criminal history over the last two years.

His list of felonies, misdemeanors and failures to appear are shocking.

Learn more »

Nevada County fair supports 4-H

August 26, 2014 — 

I’m so thankful for the wonderful opportunity that Nevada County youth have to raise, exhibit and auction animals at the fair and to show their still exhibits. It was recently brought to my attention that many communities no longer have fairs because they were not able to be fiscally viable. I appreciate that we have an excellent fair CEO and board of directors. I am also aware that we have a tremendously supportive community that believes in and generously supports the youth. As a parent, teacher and 4-H leader, I see the difference they make in children’s lives.

Julie Bousfield

Learn more »

Tesla has state walking a tightrope

August 26, 2014 — 

And so California government now walks a tightrope, put in that position by one of the latest in the large corps of successful high-tech startups this state has spawned over the last few decades.

Make a misstep in one direction and the state stands to lose a huge battery plant and 6,500 jobs.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

August 26, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Whose freedom is being tread on?

August 24, 2014 — 

If we are treading on Nancy Eubanks’ freedom (“Don’t Let Your Freedom Tread On Me,” Aug. 4)., we would be happy to stop if she would do the same for others. How have we stepped on her reproductive freedom and freedom from religion?

Birth control products and abortions are certainly available. The issue is who will be forced to pay for these choices. The answer is she should pay for her own free choices. After all, she makes a strong point for women having advanced in the job market so why is it a “war on women” to ask them to pay for their own birth control and abortions, both of which are legal in our country.

Learn more »

Over-reaching Outdoor Events Ordinance needs to be stopped

August 24, 2014 — 

On Aug. 12, I attended a mind-numbing Board of Supervisors meeting, with a morning session to review the Outdoor Events Ordinance and an afternoon session to review the same ordinance.

I obtained my “clean copy of the Outdoor Events Ordinance” that same day from our County Counsel Alison Barratt-Green, who was very helpful and explained to me the background and the intention of the ordinance. No small task.

Learn more »

Boardman: The hungry don’t care if food is genetically engineered or grass-fed

August 24, 2014 — 

I don’t know about you, but I don’t care how far the bees that make my honey stray from their hives.

If you are like me, you are clearly not part of the anti-GMO, all natural, farm-to-fork food fetish the United States in currently experiencing. You see, those bees might be feeding on nectar or pollen from GMO crops, making the honey verboten for the growing legions of righteous eaters in our midst.

Learn more »

Special thanks

August 23, 2014 — 

The Peace & Justice Center of Nevada County Directors would like to thank all who helped make our fair booth, “Our Children Need Peace to Thrive,” a great success.

This includes our 31 volunteers from the Brady Campaign, Grandmothers for Peace, Palestine/Israel Working Group, The Peace Alliance, Woolman Semester, Kentucky Flat Preschool, Communities Beyond Bias, Nevada County Drone Watch, Occupy BAFB and the Nevada County Fair Board, staff and the pubic.

Learn more »

BOS chair’s rebuttal lacks any supporting data

August 23, 2014 — 

On several occasions in the recent past and finally at the Aug. 12 Nevada County Board of Supervisors meeting, Chair Nate Beason has made public comments in an attempt to discredit the economic impact estimate prepared through the dedicated work of a dozen or more Nevada City Chamber of Commerce members affected by the recently passed Outdoor Events Ordinance.

This estimate was prepared using a combination of sources: a survey of the affected businesses, county recorder data enumerating the total number of weddings performed in Nevada County in 2013, economic information from a national wedding industry association, and some background research by a Dean of Business at a College in Bangor, Maine (a community with similarities to our own) on the “tourist dollar multiplier effect”. We are confident this is the best information available.

Learn more »

Retaliation on the ridgeline?

August 23, 2014 — 

In my opinion, the Board of Supervisors made a foolhardy decision by denying the appeal of the Lockyer/Ericksons regarding the deed restrictions the county wants to place on their property. The lone “no vote” was by Supervisor Anderson, who by his comments and examples showed the best understanding of the issues being debated.

By denying the appeal we taxpayers will likely pay an extreme price to cover the damages and legal expenses incurred by the Lockyer/Ericksons if their position (as more or less confirmed by the Superior Court’s recent ruling) is affirmed and upheld in the lawsuits that have been filed and will now proceed.

Learn more »

Water bond will prepare state for the next drought

August 23, 2014 — 

There’s an old saying that the best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago, but the second-best time is now.

The same holds for building reservoirs.

Learn more »

I’ll miss you, Nevada City

August 23, 2014 — 

I would like to comment on the “smoking” ordinance in Nevada City.

It’s my opinion the city council are a narrow-minded, short-term thinking kinda folk. A lot of people with good money to spend have enjoyed that beautiful little town in the past. My wife and I can be counted among those people. We will unfortunately have to find another town to adopt, as we also smoke. I hate the decision the council is rendering, but my civil liberties are in jeopardy and will not have a “nanny” telling me what and where I may do things.

Learn more »

Our view: Enthusiasm for our community can overcome apathy

August 23, 2014 — 

“The death of democracy is not likely to be an assassination from ambush. It will be a slow extinction from apathy, indifference, and undernourishment.”

— Robert M. Hutchins American educator and writer

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

August 23, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Hemig: The Union’s new community editorial board

August 22, 2014 — 

“How could you put Stan Meckler on the editorial board?” was one comment I received.

“Reinette Senum is an interesting choice for The Union’s board,” was another emailed to me last weekend, after The Union announced it would add eight new board members to create a 15-person community-based editorial board.

Learn more »

Gaza conflict could be stopped

August 21, 2014 — 

Israel could easily bring all of this violence and carnage to a screeching halt. They could stop using heavy military equipment, creating massive death and carnage.

Equipment we in the United States provide to them with no strings attached. They are militarily occupying another country and have been for over 50 years.

Learn more »

Open letter to parents, teachers and taxpayers

August 21, 2014 — 

I would like to reiterate my position on an agenda item for the Aug. 13 meeting, regarding the Nevada County Board of Education reviewing monthly expense reports from the superintendent.

This agenda item rests on a flawed premise by asking whether or not the County Board of Education will follow California Education Code

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top