Opinion

Mindy Oberne: Sign up to volunteer for CareForce's free medical clinic

September 4, 2015 — 

I wanted to thank all those that came last month to the art fundraiser for the free health care clinic. It was a big success and has brought us much closer to our goal.

I’d like to take this opportunity to mention that volunteer registration is now open for the clinic. We need 200 general public volunteers each clinic day (Nov. 14-15), and 50 for each set-up and break-down day (Nov. 11-12, and Nov. 16).

Learn more »

Barbara Rivenes: LaMalfa should rely on science not myths

September 4, 2015 — 

At Congressman LaMalfa’s town hall meeting in Grass Valley, he repeated the following myths put out by climate change deniers:

1. LaMalfa said, “I support science as long as it’s real and not a political manipulation, which I think a lot of it is.”

Learn more »

Bob Hren: Some inconvenient truths about climate change

September 4, 2015 — 

“Truths?” Over 10 years ago, the window was slammed shut on open scientific inquiry of climate change.

Man-made climate change was declared by the United Nations and many of our politicians as “settled” science. Yet, contradictory scientific data abounds. This op-ed is dedicated to revealing some inconvenient truths.

Learn more »

Beverly Cooper: Not offended by Police Blotter

September 4, 2015 — 

I find it difficult to believe that anyone would be offended at the printing of the Police Blotter. They are entertaining and the first thing I read every day.

As a matter of fact, I take the best ones every year and create a binder and present it to my son-in-law for Christmas.

Learn more »

Carolynn Peterson: This is a caring community

September 4, 2015 — 

On Aug. 18, approximately 100 people attended Hospice of the Foothills’ celebration to hear past board member Barbara Belmer, previous Grass Valley city councilwoman and mayor Dee Mautino and former executive director Dennis Fournier speak of their roles in getting the Compassionate Care Home built.

It started with a vision that Dennis had and with the support of the board of directors and this community, Hospice of the Foothills raised more than $3 million. Mayor Dee Mautino was a critical player in helping Hospice of the Foothills find the land to build on. Five years later, we are celebrating and rededicating ourselves to fulfilling that vision of caring for patients at the end of their lives.

Learn more »

Our View: Doing the right thing can bring beauty from an ugly scene

September 4, 2015 — 

Sometimes, out of the darkness of a despicable scene, a single act of kindness can bring forth something beautiful to behold.

That was the case this week, when a Sacramento TV station reported on a racial incident at a campground in our community, which left one family feeling anything but welcome here.

Learn more »

Andy Navarrette: SmartMeters are aptly named

September 4, 2015 — 

Pacific Gas and Electric Company (PG&E) has upgraded approximately 9.8 million gas and electric meters across Northern and Central California with two-way communicating SmartMeters.

We strongly believe in the advantages of our SmartMeter program and that it is building a foundation for a modern energy grid.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Anti-vaxxers threaten freedoms of others

September 4, 2015 — 

Imagine a California where polio becomes a threat to children’s health as it was before the 1950s, when first the Salk vaccine and later the even more effective Sabin formula threw this dreaded and crippling disease and all its iron lungs into dormancy.

Or a California where dozens of kids die every year from pertussis, better known as whooping cough for the gasping whoop children often make after their deep coughing. And more, like measles, mumps and rubella, to name a few.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Community cleanup

September 3, 2015 — 

Last May I wrote about an unsolicited email I received from a reader.

“We live in such a beautiful area, but the amount of litter is becoming difficult to ignore. Whenever I walk I now carry a garbage bag just to collect litter. What is scary is that the majority are small vodka bottles, beer cans and plastic bottles, and millions of cigarette butts,” wrote Melissa Fowlkes, a third-grade teacher at Scotten Elementary School.

Learn more »

Cindy Wagoner: Please return Lucky

September 3, 2015 — 

On Aug. 16, I was working at the Nevada County Fair when three girls walked into my campsite and took my children’s kitten.

The kitten’s mother, Princess, had recently passed away, then my kids see this.

Learn more »

Guarionex Delgado: An open letter to Mr. Doug LaMalfa

September 3, 2015 — 

You have made public denials of human-caused climate change and sown doubt among the people about the consensus among climate scientists, while receiving money from industries and corporations who profit from the exploitation of fossil fuels which cause climate change.

I admit I feel frustrated, sad and a bit hopeless with your continued denials because I value the well-being of Earth, her creatures and humanity.

Learn more »

Angela Brown: Police Blotter is needed

September 3, 2015 — 

I’d like to respond to a letter from Doe Firth in your issue dated Aug. 29.

By contrast to your thinking, The Union is helping us residents of Grass Valley and Nevada City be aware of what is happening in our surroundings regarding law-abiding issues, whether these reports are regarding psychologically impaired or drug-related incidents.

Learn more »

Joanne Crouch: Why the marijuana cause?

September 3, 2015 — 

Whenever I read an article promoting and praising the legalization of marijuana, I wonder why.

Why is this person so totally involved in this cause? There are so many more important causes to fight for. Why put your time and effort into legalizing a substance that (despite Patricia Smith’s claims) will make you high; will cause drastic personality changes over time; and will affect users as much as drinking alcohol! What does she gain from her devotion to legalizing marijuana?

Learn more »

Herb Lindberg: Technology needs your support

September 3, 2015 — 

You can’t pick up a newspaper or watch a news show nowadays without being bombarded by campaigns against all the technology that is going to destroy us.

They say unless we cut fossil fuel use by 32 percent our planet is doomed from global warming; fracking is threatening our water supply; pesticides are going to kill us, and GMO food (genetically modified organisms) is the work of the devil, so must be labeled (first step to being banned).

Learn more »

Kay Bonnigson: Rotarians to feed more than 200 volunteers at free health clinic

September 2, 2015 — 

Grand thank-yous to the five Area 4 Rotary Clubs for their amazing commitment to prepare and serve barbecue lunches to over 200 California CareForce volunteers on each day of the free health clinic set for Nov. 15 and 16 at the Grass Valley Veterans Memorial Building.

California CareForce expects to provide free treatment to over 1,000 patients during clinic.

Learn more »

Elaine Ashton: The value of thermal imaging

September 2, 2015 — 

Risking condemnation for daring to speak against a breast cancer crusade, I would like to suggest some publicity be given to thermal imaging as the first non-invasive, non-toxic inquiry into breast health.

Many medical doctors will state various reasons for ignoring the worth of thermal imagin

Learn more »

Lawrence Gold: Perfection?

September 2, 2015 — 

Thank you, Richard Stormsgaard, for one of the most insightful political commentaries I’ve read in a while.

Now, the same dogs of war are sharpening their teeth and spewing their vitriol against Hillary Clinton, not a perfect person/politician, for sure, but a proven, effective, and dedicated public servant.

Learn more »

Byron York: In GOP scramble, voters want leadership before policy

September 2, 2015 — 

Conservatives who oppose comprehensive immigration reform are delighted Donald Trump has brought the issue to the fore in the GOP presidential race. They want to believe it’s Trump’s stand on immigration that is driving his popularity.

But talks with people who came to a recent Republican event in South Carolina are a reminder that voters, when evaluating candidates, are usually looking for a set of personal qualities more than a position on any single issue. If those qualities are there, they believe, the issues will work themselves out later.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman and Denis Moynihan: California prisoners strike a win against solitary confinement

September 2, 2015 — 

Thousands of prisoners will be moved out of solitary confinement in California, thanks to a landmark legal settlement announced this week. Grass-roots organizing can be tough, but when done by prisoners locked up in solitary confinement, some of them for decades, it is astounding.

The settlement grew out of a federal class-action lawsuit alleging violations of the constitutional prohibition against cruel and unusual punishment.

Learn more »

Jack Clute: Another wonderful fair

September 1, 2015 — 

Our family went to the fair as we have for the past 44 years, and as always had a wonderful time.

Weather was great, crowds were small. The fairgrounds were beautiful again, as usual. When we got home I started thinking that just a couple of weeks ago there were hundreds of firefighters staged at the fairgrounds. I’m sure they did their best, but they must have left some kind of a mess that we never noticed thanks to some wonderful grounds keepers.

Learn more »

Custis Haynes: God will rescue the planet

September 1, 2015 — 

It hasn’t been hotter. Polar ice isn’t melting. Sea levels aren’t rising. Winds, floods, droughts aren’t any worse than they’ve always been.

Or maybe some of that has been happening, but it’s all part of a natural climate swing. God’s will. And there’s nothing we puny humans can — or even should — do to change it.

Learn more »

Lynda Cooper: Please show more discretion

September 1, 2015 — 

Having been a reader of The Union for the last 10 years, I believed the paper to be a somewhat family friendly publication. To see the movie review recently of “Diary of a Teenage Girl” on the front page of the Family Focus section was a bit disturbing.

The movie reviewer shares that this is clearly an “R” rated film about a teen girl “coming of age” experimenting with sex (in fact her first sexual experience being with her mother’s boyfriend) and that the movie “avoids the moralizing that would usually accompany a film about young people, sex and drugs.”

Learn more »

Hindi Greenberg: Now that's good service

September 1, 2015 — 

If you need a sewer company that is responsive, professional, prompt and reasonably priced, I highly recommend Urke Sewer!

As required by a Grass Valley City ordinance on sale of a house, I needed to have a sewer back flow device installed, which entailed getting a permit from the city for the work, finding where the underground pipe was located, digging down to it, cutting out a piece, installing the back flow device, getting a Grass Valley inspector to approve, and filling in the hole. From the time Urke came out to do an estimate to the time the job was completely finished was less than 24 hours.

Learn more »

Laura Lavelle: Retired teachers still boosting education

September 1, 2015 — 

The California Retired Teachers Association of Nevada County has graciously awarded classroom grants to working teachers in Nevada County on a random basis. I was this month’s recipient of a one hundred dollar check to supplement my classroom materials budget.

I wanted to extend my heartfelt gratitude to all of the members of CalRTA of Nevada County. The extra funds come at a great time since I am a relatively new teacher with two separate classrooms to outfit! I have already purchased supplemental supplies for students who may not have the resources at home to bring all of the required materials to class. I was also able to order a class set of the Scholastic magazine known as “Art” for my beginning art students.

Learn more »

Ulrike Lapkass: Time for leadership to catch up regarding homeless

September 1, 2015 — 

Regarding the opinion column, “Homeless issue requires bold leadership, supportive community” by Reinette Senum, I agree with Ms. Senum that affordable housing can be difficult to find in our local community and that not enough housing choices exist for the underemployed, elderly, disabled, etc.

I also agree that our county supervisors must entertain new solutions. Clearly, housing options spread throughout the entire community would have a much better outcome than segregated tiny house villages/low income housing apartments etc.

Learn more »

George Runner: An excise tax on marijuana could make sense

September 1, 2015 — 

California lawmakers are finally considering legislation to regulate medical marijuana, which has been legal under state law for nearly two decades. Among the proposals is a bill calling for an excise tax on marijuana that could raise nearly $60 million in revenue each year.

As a fiscal conservative and opponent of recreational marijuana, I’m an unlikely voice in the cannabis tax policy debate. Yet after speaking with parties on all sides of the issue, I’m convinced an excise tax on medical marijuana could make sense, and if done correctly, would help ensure California taxpayers are treated fairly.

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

September 1, 2015 — 

Carrtoon

Learn more »

Gary Litke: Trump does not speak for me

September 1, 2015 — 

In his letter to the editor “It’s easy to see why Trump is popular,” Richard Phillips believes it is because “he’s saying what ALL (my emphasis) Americans have been thinking.”

The conservative right frequently relies on faulty logic to make a point or justify a position rather than make a simple statement of fact.

Learn more »

Northridge helps English language learners

September 1, 2015 — 

Kudos to David Freeman and Mony Monir, the co-owners of Northridge Restaurant in Nevada City, for recently hosting a fundraising dinner for Partners in English Language Learning (PiELL).

Everyone who attended enjoyed great food for a good cause. A percentage of the evenings proceeds was donated to PiELL. It was a great success!

Learn more »

Paula Orloff: 'A well regulated militia ...'

September 1, 2015 — 

What is often left out of the discussion about gun ownership is that the Second Amendment begins, “A well regulated militia …”

Amanda Wilcox of the Brady Campaign recently referred to the 2008 Supreme Court decision.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top