Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

November 22, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Help preserve a Nevada County treasure

November 22, 2014 — 

In 1974 the artists Charles Woods and David Osborn purchased the Miners Foundry and christened it the American Victorian Museum. From that then defunct industrial space, they created a 9,000 square foot venue for artistic, social and cultural events and activities. Fifteen years later, the Nevada City Winery acquired the property and donated the Miners Foundry to the Miners Foundry Cultural Preservation Trust.

At that moment this grand community asset was permanently secured to serve our residents, businesses and visitors.

Learn more »

Something great is going on in Grass Valley

November 22, 2014 — 

Something’s going on in Grass Valley, and it’s wonderful. I moved here three years ago, a single mom with her 6-year old twins. Luckily, someone told me about PARTNERS Family Resource Center.

At that time, I felt my children and I could use some counseling to help us through what was then a very tough time. Karen, (I call her the Resource Queen) had a form ready for me to fill out right then. My family and I got immediate and incredible services.

Learn more »

Hearing offers only one side of the story

November 22, 2014 — 

I am writing in response to the article in this week’s The Union about the charges against Artemesia Lee from San Juan Ridge.

I, too, sat through the preliminary hearing. Although I agree that what Liz Kellar reported was accurate, it strikes me as misleading because only the family accusing Ms. Lee took the stand and their testimony occasionally appears as fact. We didn’t hear Ms. Lee’s side. The only bit of information I caught from her perspective was when Judge Smith referred to the police report in which Ms. Lee states that she didn’t hit anybody with her vehicle. The judge dismissed that, saying the photos of the complainant looked like he was hurt.

Learn more »

Elias: Key pension question unanswered in Stockton ruling

November 22, 2014 — 

Politicians and public employees drawing pensions had high hopes they would get clarity on a key question from the federal bankruptcy judge presiding over the city of Stockton’s ongoing attempt to regain its financial health.

But it now appears that unique inland port city will emerge from more than two years of bankruptcy without any answers to the question of whether public employees deserve more long-term security than people working for private companies.

Learn more »

Ebola ‘threat’ comes home to Grass Valley

November 22, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is the sixth, and final, story in a series filed by Grass Valley gemologist Louis Pearl, who travels to various countries in Africa to evaluate and sometimes source rough diamonds, on his observations on the Ebola outbreak while on a recent trip. See parts one, two, three, four and five at TheUnion.com.

Learn more »

Kono, Sierra Leone: Cry me a river

November 21, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is the fifth in a series of stories filed by Grass Valley gemologist Louis Pearl, who travels to various countries in Africa to evaluate and sometimes source rough diamonds, on his observations on the Ebola outbreak while on a recent trip. See parts one, two, three and four at TheUnion.com.

Kono is the main diamond mining district in Sierra Leone. The origin of Blood Diamonds is right here. Even today, the buildings that were damaged and or destroyed during the rebel occupation and war still pockmark this small mining town.

Learn more »

Too close of a call

November 21, 2014 — 

This letter is for the driver who passed me on Dog Bar Road Tuesday night.

I was driving down Dog Bar toward Alta Sierra, I put my blinker on to turn left onto Wheeler Cross Road, when you blew by and passed me on the left just before I turned. What the heck were you thinking?

Learn more »

GOP elected to repeal ACA

November 21, 2014 — 

As I’m reading article after article in The Union, I’m not surprised most of the peeps “ leaning left “ drone on and on about how the Republicans need to reach across the aisle and work with the Democrats now that they control Congress.

Really? Just like the Democratic Congress did in 2009 when they shoved the ACA down Americans’ throats?

Learn more »

Tax dollars wasted if roundabout is ignored

November 21, 2014 — 

I’ve lived in Nevada County over 30 years (off and on) and I’ve wondered many times who is making the ultimate decisions on how to spend taxpayer dollars on construction, road improvements and county projects. I was amazed when a new Highway Patrol office was built (costing millions of dollars) when there were several empty buildings sitting vacant!

Yesterday, I exited the parking lot at Brunswick using the new roundabout painted on the street. I was behind three cars that pulled out totally ignoring the arrows. I used the arrows (even though there was no traffic), but the car behind me once again saw no reason to do so!

Learn more »

Hemig: Supporting Swarthout

November 21, 2014 — 

Lisa Swarthout took quite a public beating this week and last. Seven published letters to the editor, one editorial cartoon and countless social media comments referenced Lisa’s remarks regarding the investigation of Terry Lamphier’s alleged county computer misuse prior to the election.

People wrote comments like “Hasn’t she ever heard of the U.S. Constitution’s Bill of Rights?” and “He is innocent until proven guilty.”

Learn more »

Gun control facts versus politics

November 20, 2014 — 

The nation’s total violent crime rate hit an all-time high in 1991. Thereafter, it declined 18 of the next 20 years, 49 percent overall, to a 41 year low in 2011. That included a 52 percent decrease in the nation’s murder rate to a 48-year low. This according to FBI statistics.

Concurrently, the number of privately owned firearms in the United States rose by over 120 million, including about 55 million handguns, about 80 percent of which were semi-automatic. The 120 million new firearms included over 3.5 million AR-15 semi-automatic rifles and tens of millions of other firearms that gun control supporters call “assault weapons” (National Rifle Association).

Learn more »

Go for it, Mr. President

November 20, 2014 — 

Go for it Mr. President! Use executive action to get immigration reform moving. It will not make any difference if you do or don’t use executive action in regards to immigration reform, because the Republicans and Tea Party will fight you tooth and nail whichever way you go.

The Republicans are caught between a rock and a hard place: If they work with President Obama toward sensible immigration reform their anti-immigration base will freak out, and if the Republicans maintain their delay and deceive tactics in regards to immigration reform the American public will see exactly who is blocking and thwarting immigration reform.

Learn more »

York: Dem’s path after Obamacare: Down, down, down

November 20, 2014 — 

There were 60 Democrats in the Senate on Christmas Eve 2009, when they voted in lockstep to pass the Affordable Care Act. Soon there will be 46 Democrats in the Senate, or perhaps 47, if Sen. Mary Landrieu manages to eke out a win in Louisiana. In plain numbers, the post-Obamacare trajectory has not been good for Senate Democrats.

The 46 or 47 Democrats in the next Senate are a bit different from the group that passed Obamacare. Sixteen of them took office after the Affordable Care Act was signed into law. They never had to vote for it and have never had to defend voting for it.

Learn more »

Goodman: Keystone, Climate Change And The Cold

November 20, 2014 — 

It was a dramatic scene in the Senate this week. As Sen. Elizabeth Warren, presiding, announced the defeat of the Keystone XL pipeline, a Crow Creek Sioux man from South Dakota sang out in the Senate gallery. A massive people’s climate movement against extracting some of the dirtiest oil on the planet had prevailed ... at least for now.

It was a Democrat, Louisiana Sen. Mary Landrieu, representing oil interests, who tried to push the pipeline through. She hoped its passage would help her in the Dec. 6 runoff election against her challenger, Congressman Bill Cassidy, who sponsored a similar bill in the House.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Nov. 19, 2014

November 19, 2014 — 

Learn more »

On the Pledge of Allegiance

November 19, 2014 — 

Now 83 years old, I grew up with the Pledge as it was before the mid 1950s. I have never been able to say the words “under God” for two reasons.

First of all, it was added to the Pledge because of Sen. Joe McCarthy, who was a dreadful misguided senator who pushed for “loyalty oaths” in our universities. Secondly, in my opinion it violates our “separation of church and state” which is so basic to the foundation of our government.

Learn more »

Saturday is Survivors of Suicide Loss Day

November 19, 2014 — 

This Saturday, Nov. 22, is International Survivors of Suicide Loss Day. As someone who has experienced not one, but two, suicides in my immediate family, I am definitely one of the survivors.

Last June, I traveled to San Francisco and participated in a documentary filmed and produced for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention (AFSP) about my and others’ experiences in coping with this unique type of grief. This documentary is the center-piece of 250-plus in-person Survivor Day events being held in the U.S. and around the world. Additionally, AFSP will be hosting a live online program (a Google hangout) on the same day, during which the film will be screened. Anyone with an Internet connection will be able to watch it.

Learn more »

What next for America?

November 19, 2014 — 

We are the most innovative nation on earth. America is blessed with a booming stock market, a growing GDP, and an enviable low unemployment rate. The economic outlook for America is good. Yet many Americans view the future of their children’s financial lives to be much worse than their own.

Ironically, this discrepancy is at the crux of the recent election shift in Republicans taking control of both houses. While our opposing political parties bicker and play at brinksmanship over policies of little consequence to our future, neither party is really paying attention to our collective best interests.

Learn more »

Sierra Leone: Stanley avoids Dr. Livingston

November 19, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is the fourth in a series of stories filed by Grass Valley gemologist Louis Pearl, who travels to various countries in Africa to evaluate and sometimes source rough diamonds, on his observations on the Ebola outbreak while on a recent trip. See parts one, two and three at TheUnion.com.

Learn more »

Fitting for Phillips’ letters to be at university

November 19, 2014 — 

Utah Phillips: a champion for the environment and peace and the homeless. It’s fitting that his historical letters be donated to Reuter University, where they can be enjoyed by many generations. That’s a wonderful picture of him in your November 10 issue, however, the caption “Utah Phillips relaxes in the study of his Nevada City home Sunday afternoon,” is inappropriate since Utah died several years ago.

Charlotte Orren

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

November 18, 2014 — 

Learn more »

‘In place of a parent,’ our educators deserve our support

November 18, 2014 — 

Most of us are familiar with the burden of responsibility that comes with employment. Along with the careers that we have chosen, or the jobs that we have taken, comes the responsibility to complete our work, act in the best interests of our employers and in many cases make sure that the customers we serve are satisfied.

For some, this burden of responsibility is even greater. Doctors, nurses, police and fire personnel are all examples of those in our community who carry a little more responsibility than others in the pursuit of their vocation. In some cases, those individuals swear an oath …“do no harm” or “to serve and protect” are both examples of a sworn commitment to perform to a standard of service or to set an example.

Learn more »

When will the doctors help them?

November 18, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is the third in a series of stories filed by Grass Valley gemologist Louis Pearl, who travels to various countries in Africa to evaluate and sometimes source rough diamonds, on his observations on the Ebola outbreak while on a recent trip. See parts one and two at TheUnion.com.

Learn more »

Thank you for your vote

November 18, 2014 — 

A big thank you to everyone who voted for me on Nov. 4 as a candidate for the Nevada County Consolidated Fire District board of directors open seat. I am proud to participate in our local election process.

Linda Chaplin

Learn more »

Swarthout comments out of line

November 18, 2014 — 

I am pleased that many letters have been sent regarding Ms. Swarthout’s comments toward Terry Lamphier. Are you kidding us, Lisa? Do you really want to disenfranchise the voters who voted for him? Remember that Terry was a top vote-getter. No charges have been filed, nor will there ever be. Only cowards drop off anonymous letters with statements for which there is not a scintilla of proof.

Sorry, Ms Swarthout. In this writer’s opinion you have, as my dear departed father would have said, “More guts than seven government mules”!

Learn more »

Thank you for ‘Golden Stories of Our Past’

November 18, 2014 — 

What a wonderful job those three ladies — Julia Stidham, Mary Anne Davis and Zoe Toffaleti — did to put together The Union’s movie “Golden Stories of Our Past”.

I was honored to be asked to remember my Eden/Baker families.

Learn more »

Don’t let concert incident deter future shows

November 18, 2014 — 

The incident that happened at the Center for the Arts during the Deltron 3030 show was extremely unfortunate, and I am saddened that this occurred. My heart goes out to everyone that was involved.

I would typically have to go to the Bay Area to see a show like this and I was, and still am, very excited that Deltron 3030 was in my own backyard. In fact, it was one of the best shows that I have ever seen. The mix of hip-hop with the orchestra was incredible. This was the only concert that I have been able to encourage friends from out of town to come up and see. They were blown away by the venue, the show and our town.

Learn more »

Have you ever seen a robin weep?

November 17, 2014 — 

Editor’s note: This is the second in a series of stories filed by Grass Valley gemologist Louis Pearl, who travels to various countries in Africa to evaluate and sometimes source rough diamonds, on his observations on the Ebola outbreak while on a recent trip.

Learn more »

Boardman: The validity, not the source, of an allegation is what’s important

November 17, 2014 — 

There’s nothing like an old-fashioned October surprise — in this case, the investigation of Grass Valley City Council candidate Terry Lamphier for alleged inappropriate use of county computers — to bring out the conspiracy theorists among us.

The October surprise is a tried-and-true political tactic for sinking a political campaign, and when the story broke less than two weeks before election day that Lamphier was under investigation for downloading child pornography, the local blogosphere erupted in wild — and sometimes no-so-wild — speculation.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top