Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Riley Cleary: Are restaurants preparing food that is truly gluten free?

March 5, 2015 — 

I am a student at NU Tech High School, writing to you about a rather prevalent issue that I think should be addressed or have awareness increased.

Everybody should be able to go out to a restaurant every once in a while. For some people though, they simply can’t. My girlfriend has Celiac disease which means a crumb, even the smallest particle of gluten can upset her stomach very much and take days to return to normal.

Learn more »

Who among us abhors the First Amendment?

March 5, 2015 — 

On Valentine’s Day after serving a record 150 of $5 breakfasts, we erected a signboard advertising a “Film Night” the following Thursday on the impact of immigration. The films are by a nationally famous documentarian, Dennis Michael Lynch.

Within five hours it had been vandalized. Am I to believe that someone in our community abhors the First Amendment?

Learn more »

Karen Wallace: Clear Creek Chocolate Celebration a success

March 5, 2015 — 

We want to thank everyone who helped make the fifth annual Clear Creek Chocolate Celebration on Feb. 6 another wonderful evening — even though it was storming like crazy! A total of $1,200 was raised for the Clear Creek Alumni Scholarship Fund. Numerous local chocolate makers generously donated chocolate tastes and silent auction items. We received gift cards from our local grocery stores, restaurants, retailers and donations for copies. We are also grateful for the financial donations received. We appreciate all the help we received from our community to make this event a success!

Karen Wallace, on behalf of the

Learn more »

Byron York: GOP scrambles to keep ACA subsidies flowing in case of court victory

March 5, 2015 — 

What happens if Republicans win the Supreme Court case against Obamacare? They might end up like the dog that caught the car.

This week the court will hear oral arguments in King v. Burwell, the case challenging the payment of Obamacare subsidies through the federal exchanges. If the justices bar the payment of subsidies through those exchanges, it would be both a victory for the health law’s critics and a problem for Republicans running Congress.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: From Crispus Attucks to Michael Brown: Race and revolution

March 5, 2015 — 

March 5 marks an important but oft-overlooked anniversary. On a winter’s day 245 years ago, in the year 1770, an angry crowd formed in Boston, then the capital of the Province of Massachusetts Bay. People were enraged by the extortionate taxes imposed by the British Parliament. In order to quell the public furor, the British sent troops, who violently quashed dissent. On that cold day, people had had enough. Word spread after a British private beat a young man with the butt of his musket. By late day, hundreds of Bostonians gathered, jeering the small crowd of redcoat soldiers arrayed with muskets loaded. The soldiers fired into the crowd, instantly killing Crispus Attucks and two others. Attucks was a man of African and Native American ancestry, and is considered the first casualty of the American Revolution. It took the indiscriminate murder of a man of color, by armed agents of the state, to launch the revolution. Which brings us to Ferguson, Missouri.

“Nearly seven months have passed since the shooting death of 18-year-old Michael Brown,” U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder said in opening his press briefing Wednesday. He was detailing the findings of two Justice Department investigations in the killing of the unarmed African-American youth by Ferguson Police Officer Darren Wilson. “The facts do not support the filing of criminal charges against Officer Darren Wilson in this case. Michael Brown’s death, though a tragedy, did not involve prosecutable conduct on the part of Officer Wilson.” With those words, the outgoing attorney general laid to rest any prospect of a criminal trial sought by so many seeking justice for Michael Brown. But Brown’s death continues to send shock waves, through his community, and beyond.

Learn more »

Brian Hamilton: Community newspapers build bridges beyond the county line

March 4, 2015 — 

OMG! Could this be for real? A huddled mass of junior high school students — without a digital device in sight — thrusting hands into the air and peppering me with questions about, would you believe it … of all things, the newspaper?

Finally, I’d found them, the younger generation of readers that the newspaper industry has been seeking for decades. Seriously!

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

March 4, 2015 — 

Learn more »

1,200 pounds of Dungeness crab

March 4, 2015 — 

The members of Higgins Diggins Lions Club would like to thank everyone who purchased tickets and attended our Fourth Annual Crab Feed on Feb.13-14 at Higgins Lions Community Center.

Over 380 guests consumed 1,200 pounds of Dungeness crab, 140 pounds of prawns, pasta, salad and cake, while enjoying the company of their family, friends and other community members.

Learn more »

Jim Moss: No apology necessary

March 4, 2015 — 

Rich Scofield’s Other Voices article in the Feb. 14 issue of The Union talked about teamwork in the workplace.

Well, if there’s a person who exemplifies that more than Rich, I never met him.

Learn more »

Judges offer salute to Steve Mason, Cyna Kern

March 4, 2015 — 

The citizens of Nevada County owe a debt of gratitude to retired Supervising Probation Officer Cyna Kern, and Retired Nevada County Sheriff Sergeant Steve Mason.

For the past 17 years, these two extraordinary people have worked tirelessly to protect the people of Nevada County from the ravages of drug-fueled criminality.

Learn more »

Consumers getting the shaft

March 3, 2015 — 

A recent Associated Press article described the current rate of U.S. Inflation as “ultra low,” i.e. “… inflation isn’t managing to reach even the Federal Reserve’s 2 percent rate.” I suppose this is good, but I do have a few questions when it comes to calculating Inflation vis-a-vis food costs.

Remember the half-gallon carton of ice cream? It shrank to 1.75 quarts, and then to 1.5 quarts.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

March 3, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Lindy Beatie: ‘Big Night Out’ big help to Big Brothers Big Sisters

March 3, 2015 — 

Last year Diego’s Restaurant, at 217 Colfax Avenue in Grass Valley, hosted several “Big Night Out” events and they were such fun and so successful that June, Diane and Tony signed up for more events this year.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County and North Lake Tahoe was once again the fortunate organization to receive a portion of the proceeds from the evening on Feb. 3.

Learn more »

Marika Smolensky: Back after a decade, Amy Grant doesn’t disappoint

March 3, 2015 — 

Amy Grant delivered a soulful, captivating acoustic performance, with her three-piece band, singing to a full house for her Feb. 26 Grass Valley Center for the Arts appearance.

She lived up to her promise to create an intimate “living room” concert. The audience delighted in shouting out their favorites and chiming in to familiar choruses like “My Father’s Eyes,” “Thy Word” and “El Shaddai.:

Learn more »

Andy Burton: Let’s take the challenge to be safer drivers

March 3, 2015 — 

On a glorious Sunday, Feb. 15 — a day that felt more like spring than winter — I joined a group of about 100-plus local cyclists for the annual Jim Rogers Memorial Bicycle Ride.

The riders convened at the Tour of Nevada City Bike Shop mid-morning and then wound their way around the LeMond Loop, a training ride of approximately 15 miles made popular by American cycling great Greg LeMond.

Learn more »

Do the research, then decide

March 2, 2015 — 

Do the research, then decide

I would like to thank Jim Goetsch for his article, “Economic recovery slowed by administration’s policies” in response to Heidi Hall’s editorial on President Obama’s State of the Union Address. It had some very good and true talking points.

Learn more »

Mark Rentz: Cap-and-trade, water bond make now the time to think big

March 2, 2015 — 

Seldom have need and opportunity combined with such force. With the driest January on record behind us and a fourth year of drought likely ahead, the world’s eighth largest economy faces questions about its water supply reliability, response to increasingly severe wildfires, and commitment to the goals set in its historic Global Warming Act of 2006.

With this year’s rainy season disappointing and fire season imminent, California must either choose to sit idly by and brace for inevitable smoke plumes and mudslides, or act to restore the state’s uncharacteristically dense forested watersheds.

Learn more »

George Boardman: Making county economic development more difficult, and other issues

March 2, 2015 — 

The county Board of Supervisors apparently has nothing better to do in early May, so it plans to set aside an hour to hear a pitch about why we should sign up for the State of Jefferson.

Some residents will view this event as a waste of taxpayer money on something that has no chance of succeeding, but they fail to appreciate the therapeutic effect a short excursion into fantasy land will have for the segment of the community that doesn’t like what’s going on in Sacramento and Washington.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

February 28, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Louis Pearl: If it hurts you or others, it’s not good

February 28, 2015 — 

Since before the beginning of the Crusades, men of good intention have argued the merits and demerits of Christianity, Islam and Judaism. All three religions have had a positive effect on mankind and at the same time, each has had a history of repression, barbarism and intolerance.

I have heard all the arguments for and against these religions and every argument I have heard has a basis of truth to it.

Learn more »

Ruby Totten: Come on, George

February 28, 2015 — 

Ah rats ... I’ve always enjoyed George Boardman’s columns. But he blew it in his column, “It’s time to stop tolerating weird science of anti-vaxxers.” His biased reference to those who oppose PG&E’s Smart Meters as “people ... who think smart meters are spying on them,” showed lack of research. The outstanding majority of those wanting to veto Smart Meters list health issues as the chief drawback.

Ruby Totten

Learn more »

Sue Clark: Robertapalooza raises funds for musical theater scholarship

February 28, 2015 — 

“I just need to console myself with gratitude that I have wonderful memories of doing shows together, sharing confiding and therefore growing.” (Choir member)

“She was an earthly angel.”

Learn more »

Edward Thomas: Tree management plan confusing

February 28, 2015 — 

If it weren’t so sad, it would be amusing. The county stirs up a million dollar lawsuit by insisting on a tree management plan in the so-called visually important ridgeline/cell tower case, while a few miles away, down in the flats, trees are cut down without their permission.

Property owner in the first case demonstrates that their project can’t be seen from anywhere, yet county insists on a tree management plan. Can’t see the forest through the trees or can’t see the trees through the forest? You choose. I’m confused.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Rice’s poll standing — Star power still a political factor

February 28, 2015 — 

Condoleezza Rice, the former secretary of state in the George W. Bush administration and now a Stanford University professor, has stated very clearly she would rather attend college basketball games and help choose the college football playoff teams than be a U.S. senator.

At 61, she says she prefers a secure job in academe, playing the piano in her spare time, mentoring students and then considering an executive-level job if the Republicans take back the White House. She probably would also rather not face the inevitable questions a campaign would bring about her role in government deceptions that led to this country’s long and costly war in Iraq.

Learn more »

Jenny Warden: A flourishing economy grows on the Ridge

February 28, 2015 — 

Surprising to some, the San Juan Ridge is a hotbed of small business. There are about 150 enterprises with over 400 employees on the Ridge, according to a survey conducted by the Ridge Association of Manufacturers and Business Owners (RAMBO).

There are a number of industrial enterprises on the Ridge including construction, automotive repair, solar products, well drillers, gravel and excavation companies, and specialized manufacturers.

Learn more »

Our View: Grass Valley City Council appointment fulfills civic duty, but leaves voters disenfranchised

February 28, 2015 — 

The appointment of Ben Aguilar to the Grass Valley City Council has drawn a great deal of criticism in wake of the council’s 3-1 vote Tuesday night.

But that criticism has centered on the process employed for the appointment, rather than the person actually appointed.

Learn more »

Marilyn Rosenbrock: A little civility goes a long way

February 27, 2015 — 

Regarding letters to the editors and the articles recently printed in The Union: It is so easy to assume if I have not had a particular experience (i.e., friendly community) that you have described, you must not have had that experience either.

Another approach might be ... “that is not my experience in Nevada County and I am sorry you have encountered objections to your personal point of view. I will be more aware and speak out if I see that kind of disrespect.”

Learn more »

Ralph Hitchcock: ‘The Sierras’ is the traditional usage – not “The Sierra”

February 27, 2015 — 

A Feb. 17 letter from Mr. O’Dwyer made a correct statement that the Sierra Nevada was one range. However, he then went on to state somewhat pedantically that therefore the plural term “the Sierras” is incorrect. Regardless of “correctness” local usage normally rules.

“The Sierras” has been used by almost everyone with a Northern California family heritage prior to the 1960s, when the influx of people from Southern California and the nation got underway. The term “the Sierra” seems to be used by those without that local heritage. The difference between the two terms is minor, but as a 6th generation Northern Californian I don’t want to be told by a person who admitted that he had just learned about antlers and horns, that the term my Northern California peers and I have been using all our lives is wrong.

Learn more »

Bill McQuerry: ‘Grossly unbalanced cartoon’

February 27, 2015 — 

Herewith a few remarks in response to the grossly unbalanced cartoon of Feb. 11, featuring “Darwin.”

An unbiased individual, presented with the scientific facts from both sides of this long-standing controversy, in each area referred to in the cartoon (paleontology, DNA, botany, etc.) would see that the scientific evidence in each of these areas is at least as strong in support of creation as it is for evolution. In fact, since neither creation nor evolution can be either proven nor disproven, one’s support of either belief system comes down to just that: one’s belief system.

Learn more »

Harry J. Wander: Vaccines are safer than diseases

February 27, 2015 — 

In over 56 years of practicing medicine, the last 50 specializing in pediatrics, I have seen many children die from vaccine preventable diseases. These have included such diseases as meningitis, pneumonia, whooping cough, measles, and chickenpox.

I have never seen a child die from a vaccine. I have never even talked with a physician who has seen a death from a vaccine.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top