Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 24, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Celia Painter: Where to go without insurance?

January 24, 2015 — 

On the first of January, I made a visit to Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital’s emergency room with shoulder pain and lack of arm usage — I needed an orthopedist — no local doctors were available in their office. The hospital had no orthopedist available at the time.

Next day my local orthopedist’s office first remark was, “I have to check with your insurance company.” Within a minute I was accepted, thanks to excellent insurance. I wondered: what would have been the fate of someone unfortunate, without insurance but in pain? Where would they go?

Learn more »

Rich Ulery: Vacancies on NCCFD’s oversight committee

January 24, 2015 — 

Are you interested in the financial health of your fire department? Do you want to ensure that the tax dollars you pay for fire protection, suppression, and emergency services are spent wisely?

The Citizens Oversight Committee of the Nevada County Consolidated Fire District (NCCFD) was established in 2013. Its purpose is to ensure that the tax revenue generated by the special tax measure approved by voters in 2012 is being spent by the District in accordance with the expectations of the voters.

Learn more »

Susan George: Jobs first for Penn Valley sustainability

January 24, 2015 — 

The State of California mandates high density zoning as a way to ensure that jurisdictions meet their required share of the Regional Housing Need Allocation (RHNA) for low-income housing. Like many rural counties, Nevada County must rezone a number of sites to satisfy this state mandate.

An important step in the process is that the selection of sites to be rezoned is determined locally, providing elected representatives with oversight and the ability to apply sound planning strategies that will encourage sustainable communities.

Learn more »

Don Joy: B&Bs only banned in Nevada City residential areas

January 24, 2015 — 

Contrary to Bob Nienaber’s recent letter to the editor, I don’t believe that the residents of Nevada City are opposed to Bed and Breakfast Inns. The issue is, should new B&Bs be allowed in our residential neighborhoods?

In 1994, the voters of Nevada City passed Measure G prohibiting new B&Bs in residentially zoned areas of Nevada City; read it again — residential areas. This has been the law for 20 years. B&Bs are businesses. They belong in areas that are zoned for general business; just like retail outlets, restaurants, markets, etc.

Learn more »

Toni Gomez: Frankie and Toni reunited after 63 years

January 24, 2015 — 

I was in nurse’s training at O’Connor Hospital in San Jose in 1951, when I met a guy with black curly hair, green eyes and the longest eyelashes I had ever seen.

He also had a smile that lit up the room.

Learn more »

Sally Palmer Dawley: Lazy smokers toss thousands of cigarette butts

January 24, 2015 — 

Thank you, Miriam Morris for your letter about cigarette butts in a Nevada City parking lot.

I live in downtown Auburn and walk around town. I got tired of seeing all the cigarette butts on sidewalks, in the streets and in the flower pots and beds. I started walking with a broom, dust pan and a counter. I count butts while sweeping up and then use the counter to keep track of them. My community project started on Oct. 1, 2014. In 66 days of my walks I have counted, swept up and thrown in trash cans ... ready ... 30,660 cigarette butts!

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Why Latinos are key as Dems plot 2016 strategies

January 24, 2015 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Our View: Was there no way to mediate, mitigate this mess?

January 24, 2015 — 

Sorry if you’ve read this before, but next week a Nevada County Superior Court judge will hear a case concerning the use of a Lake Wildwood property for a cell tower.

And if you’re a regular reader of The Union, chances are you have read about the case — or one of them — between a Lake Wildwood property and Nevada County over construction of a Verizon cellphone tower.

Learn more »

Hemig: Are we a welcoming community?

January 23, 2015 — 

On Jan. 12, The Union published an Other Voices column from Jim Firth.

In his opinion piece, his words made him seem disenfranchised by the local politics in our community.

Learn more »

Bigelsen committed to helping clients regain health

January 23, 2015 — 

I was a client of Josh and Dr. Harvey Bigelsen at the Biological Health Institute in 2011. They consulted with me regarding my health issue and they have provided me with exceptional service and advice.

I had suffered from a chronic sinus infection for 12 years after becoming seriously ill with the flu while pregnant with my fourth child. The infection flare-ups became more serious and more often as the years progressed, making it difficult to function normally. I saw many physicians, acupuncturists, chiropractors, and homeopaths – you name it, I saw them. I took antibiotics over and over again, even specially formulated intranasal ones. I took herbs, remedies, had adjustments and received other treatments with no success.

Learn more »

Missing: common sense

January 23, 2015 — 

Last seen 40 years ago. Destination: U.S. Congress. Never arrived!

Joann Rossovich

Learn more »

Nancy Garcia: Governmental gridlock, inaction has negative consequences

January 23, 2015 — 

Byron York’s recent column (“Can McConnell really make the Senate better?”) clearly illustrates why our congressional system has been so broken.

Without regard to which party dominates at a given time, the rules of conduct and procedure should not be determined by one single individual who can control and stymie the efforts of 534 elected representatives of the people.

Learn more »

This is an animal lover?

January 23, 2015 — 

I would like to respond to Marjie Costello’s letter of Jan. 17 to “wear fur and leather.”

China produces 85 percent of the fur on the planet and has no animal welfare laws to protect animals. Fur animals suffer terribly, regardless of where they are raised. They are killed by gassing, neck breaking, anal electrocution, clubbing, trapping and injection of poisons so as not to damage their pelts.

Learn more »

Hollie Grimaldi Flores: Excited to be part of ‘Camp Union’

January 22, 2015 — 

Thirty years ago this week, I changed my life forever when I boarded a plane in New York and moved to California — a new beginning.

I have spent the last 20 years living in Nevada County and the last 10 as a broadcaster. This week, I begin a new chapter as the business development manager at The Union.

Learn more »

Unfriendly Nevada City

January 22, 2015 — 

Pat yourselves on the back “Friends of Nevada City,” you just managed to make Nevada City look like the most unfriendly city in Northern California on all of our community TV news reports because of your push to block Bed-and-breakfasts.

I’m curious who the members are in this “friendly” group and why they feel they are qualified to decide what’s best for our city? Is this an open club or closed group?

Learn more »

High praise for Dr. B

January 22, 2015 — 

Regarding Dr. Bigelsen, I was diagnosed with hyperthyroid in the summer of 2013. The endocrinologist put me on an antithyroid drug and he told me that if the medication didn’t work, the next step would be to remove my thyroid.

I immediately went to see Dr. B. My first appointment with him lasted three hours. He was determined to help me. I was distressed that the medication was not working. None of my symptoms were relieved.

Learn more »

Caregivers painted in an unfair light

January 22, 2015 — 

I am very offended by the way The Union worded the article about the jewelry theft in Nevada City. Being that there were 24-hour caregivers there does not make them guilty, and that is how I interpreted what you wrote.

I, too, am a caregiver, I have been live scanned and take much pride in helping the elderly here in Nevada County for the past 36 years.

Learn more »

Fix the dam before salmon return

January 22, 2015 — 

The Nevada Irrigation District (NID) provides a dependable, quality water supply to about 25,000 homes, farms, and businesses in Nevada County and Placer County.

It strives to be a good steward of the watersheds and conserve the available resources, but for decades there has been one glaring failure in its otherwise good record of stewardship — the Hemphill Dam on Auburn Ravine, three miles east of Lincoln.

Learn more »

Deborah Wilder: Time to put the rhetoric aside

January 22, 2015 — 

I may not have voted for President Obama, but as my president, I wish him well. I want him to be successful in domestic and foreign policy matters which are in the best interest of Americans.

As I listened to his State of the Union on Tuesday, I was disappointed. He told us that his “only agenda” is what he thought was best for America.

Learn more »

BRIAN HAMILTON: ‘Friendship’ means a lot

January 21, 2015 — 

As a dad of two daughters, and a guy who grew up with two brothers, I’ve got to admit that I was pretty clueless about what life would be like raising girls.

Silly me, I thought I’d have an easier time with girls.

Learn more »

Fran Cole: Volunteerism, generosity form the backbone of our community

January 21, 2015 — 

Just after dawn, we heard the rumble of the trucks with horse trailers coming down the road, and they just kept arriving in a steady stream, trailer after trailer.

The 41-horse rescue near Garden Bar Road had begun, and it was clear from the nonstop parade of trailers that Sammie’s Friends urgent call for help to Gold Country Trails Council and other local groups and volunteers had been decisively answered. The cavalry had arrived, and it consisted of all types of folks: cowboys, ranchers, rescue groups, animal lovers and others. The Union, YubaNet, and TV channels 10 and 13 were also on site to cover the events.

Learn more »

Another point of view

January 21, 2015 — 

While I certainly understand Ms. Masini’s (and the mayor’s) point regarding giving the runner-up Mr. Lamphier’s seat, I believe there is an argument for the council’s action to consider other options, i.e., if Mr. Lamphier had not run for the position others with similar viewpoints may have, and that person may have received sufficient votes to be elected to the council.

In answer to Ms. Masini’s point that “in November the people voted who they wanted to represent them,” let me point out that the majority of voters did not vote Ms. Glover into office, they voted for Mr. Lamphier (and presumably for his stated positions). To award Ms. Glover the office would be ignoring those who voted for Mr. Lamphier.

Learn more »

Regional tribes

January 21, 2015 — 

My wife and I are new to the area, and had a most wonderful yet confusing experience this weekend.

We were delighted to enjoy three inspiring days of the Wild and Scenic Film Festival. What a treat! While there we viewed a poignant film about the history of the plight of the local Nisenan ... and my wife even participated in an educational walk with tribal members. Then we attended the visiting Tibetan Monks fantastic event in Grass Valley. There was a continual referral to the local Maidu tribe. Our question is, what really is the local tribe of this region? I would like to hear from the greater community.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Jan. 21, 2015

January 21, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 20, 2015 — 

Learn more »

What’s to be so proud about?

January 20, 2015 — 

In Ron Lowe’s letter of Dec. 29, he is truly proud of Obama because he was president during the slowest, costliest, and most ineffective recovery in U.S. history.

It has left real unemployment at around 10-12 percent with underemployed at another 10-15 percent. Working middle-class Americans wages are still relatively the same as before Obama’s miraculous rescuing.

Learn more »

William Larsen: It’s time to learn how to get along

January 20, 2015 — 

Christmas season of 2014 found our world more divided than ever: Jew vs. Arab; Russia vs. the West; tribal warfare throughout Africa; our country’s narcissistic polarization of Conservatives vs. Liberals (currently fueled by the rageful pique of the far Right and a looming battle over Obama’s veto pen).

Oh yes, what jolly festivities the new year portends.

Learn more »

Hey, wait a minute

January 20, 2015 — 

The immediate response to the Charlie Hebdo massacre was a shared revulsion of censorship by violence and a renewed respect for freedom of speech.

After the smoke cleared, the liberals said, “Hey wait a minute,” Charlie Hebdo brought this on themselves with derisive depictions of the Prophet.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Criminal investigation for utility regulators?

January 20, 2015 — 

Memo to United States Attorneys in Los Angeles, San Francisco and San Diego: It’s high time you investigate the former president and some current members and officials of the California Public Utilities Commission for things like conspiracy to commit mail fraud and wire fraud.

Evidence against current commissioners and former commission President Michael Peevey has mounted steadily over the last six months, but there has been no action against anyone.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top