Opinion

Judy Ellis Bankert: Many issues surround those who are homeless

June 29, 2016 — 

In response to Pauli Halstead’s column on June 22, I think we all know one or more person who is homeless.

I will state right now, what I am going to say refers to, most, not all.

Learn more »

Sue Clark: Thanks to Nevada County's kind community

June 29, 2016 — 

Deb Foxen, InConcert Sierra’s head of volunteers, working artist and friend to all, is home and recovering from back surgery, making steady progress.

Thanks to hundreds of Nevada County friends, musicians, the Center for the Arts, and other kind folks, she is able to take time off from work and heal.

Learn more »

Jeff Loberg: I'm voting Republican

June 29, 2016 — 

So Michelle Reynolds and Ron Lowe are upset their hero Hillary Clinton didn’t get front page coverage for being the first woman to “earn” her party’s nomination for President. Boo-hoo!

Maybe if she wasn’t such a polarizing, mean-spirited person she would have gotten more press. The facts of the matter are she is a proven liar, thief, and conspirator! Most people in this country wouldn’t trust her to house-sit for them for fear she’ll steal things (as she did from the White House).

Learn more »

Byron York: The overlooked substance in Trump's speech

June 29, 2016 — 

Most coverage of Donald Trump’s recent speech in New York focused on his attacks on Hillary Clinton. Or the fact that he read the speech from a teleprompter. Or the fact that it came amid a period of disorder and change in his campaign.

But Trump included actual substance in the speech — new policy proposals and promises — that escaped many observers. In a series of pledges to take action in his first 100 days as president, Trump said he would move on trade, business regulation, energy, and several other topics.

Learn more »

Gene Lyons: Blame booze, not judge, in Stanford sexual assault case

June 29, 2016 — 

Recently I received a mass email from a law professor in California soliciting money for an effort to have a local judge removed. Judge Aaron Persky had sentenced what the professor called “an elite athlete at Stanford University, to only six months in prison for three counts of sexual assault,” offending left-thinking enemies of college sports everywhere.

By the time professor Michele Dauber’s indignant message arrived, the offending elitist, 19-year-old freshman Brock Turner — who swam the 200- and 500-meter freestyle — had been banished from the Stanford campus, given a lifetime ban from U.S. swimming events, required to register as a felony sex offender and sent to jail. Not exactly a walk in the park.

Learn more »

Carrie Chastain: Keep up the good work, Sheriff

June 28, 2016 — 

Kudos to the Nevada County Sheriff’s Office and narcotics department for recent large marijuana busts.

I appreciate you. Keep up the good work.

Learn more »

Sandra Boy: What does Serbia have to do with it?

June 28, 2016 — 

Regarding the recent opinion piece written by Mr. Rick Robins “This is not Serbia:” I am totally confused, Mr. Robins, why you would imply that Nevada County is not “Serbia;” is the implication that Serbia is not composed of “a generous, caring and friendly people.

We do not reject and seek to expel (cleanse?) members of our community who are different from us.”

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoons

June 28, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Eric Christen: Keep your hands off the Constitution

June 28, 2016 — 

Following the Orlando massacre Muslim Fundamentalists have now carried out 48 terrorist attacks in America in the past four decades, with at least another 40 having been thwarted before they could be carried out.

In light of this most recent murderous rampage some in our community, like Marilyn Nyborg and Hilary Hodge, have used the killing to push their own personal left-wing agenda.

Learn more »

Dave Doench: Lake Wildwood is a safe place to live

June 28, 2016 — 

Being an avid reader of The Union, I read from the front page to the back on a daily basis. On June 2, an article written by Liz Kellar caught my attention. The headline was “Former NFL player arrested for domestic violence.”

In her first paragraph she stated “a former NFL player and an actor who appeared in many TV series in the 1980s, was arrested at his Lake Wildwood-area home.” Upon further reading, the residence was listed on Wildwood West Drive, which is not within the gates of Lake Wildwood!

Learn more »

Brian Hamilton: Mixed messages on the drought

June 28, 2016 — 

Heading back up the hill from the airport, the large digital billboard on Interstate 80 — usually warning us all to be ready to “chain up” due to unsettled weather — seemed like a mixed message from the state of California Sunday night.

“Severe drought ... Limit outdoor watering,” the sign displayed.

Learn more »

Gregg Littell: Assault weapons modifications too easy

June 27, 2016 — 

The horror of the shooting in Orlando has again sparked the “assault weapons” debate and further interest in “gun control.”

As a longtime precision target shooter, reloader, and supporter of the Second Amendment, I’d like to make this point: Gun rights activists say it’s not the gun, it’s the evil person pulling the trigger. That’s absolutely true, but when that trigger is pulled, what sort of firepower is being unleashed?

Learn more »

Joanne Barsby: Dead trees in Condon Park need to go

June 27, 2016 — 

I walk in Condon Park four to six days a week. Over the last 12 months the park has seen a huge increase of pine trees with pine beetles. They are dead or almost dead.

I talk to the park employees once a week or so; they keep saying they’re going to cut them down ... when?

Learn more »

Charles Benner: A survey on Measure W and why it failed

June 27, 2016 — 

During the three days before the election I conducted an informal survey, asking voters how they were going to vote on Measure W. I “polled” for a few hours Friday, in front of the Safeway on Brunswick, and for a few hours Saturday in front of Kmart.

On Sunday morning I surveyed people in the parking lot of the Twin Cities Church; on Sunday afternoon I posed the question at the Soap Box Derby in Pioneer Park. I interviewed a total 87 people, varying in age and ethnicity, to find out how they planned to vote and why. The results: No won with 61 percent, Yes had 29 percent, Undecided was 8 percent. Felons not allowed to vote, 2 percent.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

June 27, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Hilary Hodge: Don't put off tending to your own garden

June 27, 2016 — 

Last Thursday I stood outside in my garden and looked at the expanding weeds. After considering the swirling mess in front of me I decided that I had had enough.

I had watched my garden on a daily basis and I watched it go from well-kept to out-of-control. I had watched the weeds for weeks. At first there were a few unplanned sprouts here and there. I knew I should address them but I also knew that if I gave it a few days the weeds would still be mostly manageable. I held off.

Learn more »

Allan Krosner: Second Amendment misinterpreted

June 26, 2016 — 

In reference to Mr. Kaufman’s June 16 letter concerning the Second Amendment, he has totally misinterpreted the language in the Second Amendment.

The word “regulated” has many meanings. If I say my house temperature is well regulated that does not mean that the government is regulating the temperature of my house. At the time of the writing of our Constitution “A well regulated Militia” means that the men were well armed and trained. There were no gun control laws when the Constitution was created. The style of writing when our Constitution was written was to use preambles. “A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free state” is a preamble. It is not a compete sentence. It has no meaning by itself. The second part “the right of the people to keep and bear arms, shall not be infringed” is a complete sentence. The first part is known as the “dependent” part and the second part is an “independent part.”

Learn more »

Jan Roth: Jordan nailed it

June 26, 2016 — 

Kudos to you, Joey Jordan, for your perfectly-penned piece in “Other Voices” on June 18 on interpreting election day results.

You nailed it!

Learn more »

Rich Ulery: On paper, county budget tells a different story

June 26, 2016 — 

I attended the June 7 meeting of the Board of Supervisors during which county executives Rick Haffey and Martin Polt presented the preliminary county budget for the 2016-17 fiscal year.

While the supervisors participated on the budget subcommittee and were certainly in discussions with county staff prior to the meeting, there were very few questions posed to county staff during the meeting. Most of the comments were congratulatory in nature about the excellent job in completing the budget and keeping the county in “healthy financial condition,” as quoted by Mr. Polt, deputy county executive officer.

Learn more »

Dick Sciaroni: A Trump Supreme Court? Not good

June 26, 2016 — 

Many Democrats are dismayed that their candidate — Bernie Sanders — did not survive the presidential primaries and will not be the party’s nominee in November.

I am one of those Democrats. But it is time to move on. Now the task of all Democrats is to decide which of two candidates we can expect will support the reasons for which we voted for Bernie Sanders. I can think of no better reason to support Hilary Clinton than the fact that one of the first tasks for the next President will be to nominate a Supreme Court justice to fill the seat of the late Antonin Scalia.

Learn more »

George Boardman: People who don't get the science just invent their own facts

June 26, 2016 — 

One of the problems with scientific fact is that it’s never final. The process of building knowledge and explaining the universe never ends, or as astronomer Edwin Hubble once explained it: “The scientist explains the world by successive approximations.”

That makes it easier for people who disagree with the current scientific consensus on a subject to create their own facts, a thought that occurred to me recently as I read The Union’s account of a Nevada City Planning Commission meeting to consider a proposal to install eight cell antennas on the roof of the Pine Street building that houses Friar Tuck’s Restaurant and Bar.

Learn more »

Michael Freedman: Quality of life requires our investment

June 24, 2016 — 

We moved our family here in 2005 when our kids were little. We chose Nevada County since it has a perfect blend of qualities for growing a family:

• A beautiful environment and easy access to a broad range of outdoor recreation.

Learn more »

Edlin Patterson: Climate change, individual responsibility

June 24, 2016 — 

Every day the news media publishes articles about the causes and effects of climate change.

Included have been: the melting of ice on Greenland is accelerating, flooding of some east coast cities has increased by more that a factor of 10, Antarctic sea ice (home of krill) is forming six weeks later, thirty percent of coral reefs are dead or dying, and of course the world is getting hotter.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: There should be no waiting around by Sanchez

June 24, 2016 — 

Once California’s primary election season ends in early June, most candidates go into a sort of statis for almost three months, until just before the traditional Labor Day start of the fall political season.

But if Loretta Sanchez is smart – and no one ever suggested she’s not – she will not wait months before resuming an aggressive campaign for the U.S. Senate. Sanchez on Election Night in early June eased into a November runoff against state Attorney General Kamala Harris, beating out five Republicans who split the GOP vote while Democrats – already more numerous – were only divided two ways.

Learn more »

Debbie Gibbs: Want More Local Food? Support the Food Hub

June 24, 2016 — 

Have you noticed that only a handful of our local restaurants serve food coming from local farms and ranches?

Do you wonder why this isn’t more common? After all, we have a vibrant agricultural community, beautiful grower’s markets, and the wonderful Nevada Irrigation District system providing water (to the envy of many other counties) to many of our pastures and crops.

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: A tale of two tails

June 24, 2016 — 

It was not an unusual question; but we had major concerns about how her dog and my cat might upset our new household.

It was a year ago — the end of June — because that’s when I came to Grass Valley to be with Mary Orr.

Learn more »

Steve Hurley: Stand down the failed drug war

June 24, 2016 — 

Economics 101: Any time you diminish supply while demand remains steady, prices go up. When prices go up, more suppliers have incentive to enter the market. Markets always seek equilibrium between supply and demand. Thus, drug wars are doomed to always fail. The solution is to elect officials who understand the basic law of supply and demand.

Why on this issue do free market “conservatives” ignore basic economics? The money spent to roust counter-culture types by “protecting the neighborhoods” ultimately creates scarcity encouraging new market participants.

Learn more »

Paul Pease: Memory Lane

June 24, 2016 — 

Gary Mitchell’s mom Nelda Honey supplied the ice cream and cokes. Gary and I had rainbow trout with our hot dogs and potato salad. Afterward, all of us feasted on pie a la mode. Nelda made all of us feel like a million dollars the fall of 1963 and spring of 1964, when my brother and I were going to Hennessey Elementary School. Gary took me and my brother around and introduced us to everyone. Thanks for the memories and bless the Nevada Union High School class of 1970.

Paul Andrew Pease

Learn more »

Bob Crabb: It takes a village idiot

June 24, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Leslye Vodden: Learn the facts on Centennial project

June 23, 2016 — 

At three meetings where NID’s Rem Scherzinger described the Centennial Project, I heard many discrepancies and contradictions.

Last August, he expressed that it was a done deal, and homeowners were willingly turning over property, including “million-dollar homes” to NID.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top