Opinion

Jack Clute: Another wonderful fair

September 1, 2015 — 

Our family went to the fair as we have for the past 44 years, and as always had a wonderful time.

Weather was great, crowds were small. The fairgrounds were beautiful again, as usual. When we got home I started thinking that just a couple of weeks ago there were hundreds of firefighters staged at the fairgrounds. I’m sure they did their best, but they must have left some kind of a mess that we never noticed thanks to some wonderful grounds keepers.

Learn more »

Custis Haynes: God will rescue the planet

September 1, 2015 — 

It hasn’t been hotter. Polar ice isn’t melting. Sea levels aren’t rising. Winds, floods, droughts aren’t any worse than they’ve always been.

Or maybe some of that has been happening, but it’s all part of a natural climate swing. God’s will. And there’s nothing we puny humans can — or even should — do to change it.

Learn more »

Lynda Cooper: Please show more discretion

September 1, 2015 — 

Having been a reader of The Union for the last 10 years, I believed the paper to be a somewhat family friendly publication. To see the movie review recently of “Diary of a Teenage Girl” on the front page of the Family Focus section was a bit disturbing.

The movie reviewer shares that this is clearly an “R” rated film about a teen girl “coming of age” experimenting with sex (in fact her first sexual experience being with her mother’s boyfriend) and that the movie “avoids the moralizing that would usually accompany a film about young people, sex and drugs.”

Learn more »

Hindi Greenberg: Now that's good service

September 1, 2015 — 

If you need a sewer company that is responsive, professional, prompt and reasonably priced, I highly recommend Urke Sewer!

As required by a Grass Valley City ordinance on sale of a house, I needed to have a sewer back flow device installed, which entailed getting a permit from the city for the work, finding where the underground pipe was located, digging down to it, cutting out a piece, installing the back flow device, getting a Grass Valley inspector to approve, and filling in the hole. From the time Urke came out to do an estimate to the time the job was completely finished was less than 24 hours.

Learn more »

Laura Lavelle: Retired teachers still boosting education

September 1, 2015 — 

The California Retired Teachers Association of Nevada County has graciously awarded classroom grants to working teachers in Nevada County on a random basis. I was this month’s recipient of a one hundred dollar check to supplement my classroom materials budget.

I wanted to extend my heartfelt gratitude to all of the members of CalRTA of Nevada County. The extra funds come at a great time since I am a relatively new teacher with two separate classrooms to outfit! I have already purchased supplemental supplies for students who may not have the resources at home to bring all of the required materials to class. I was also able to order a class set of the Scholastic magazine known as “Art” for my beginning art students.

Learn more »

Ulrike Lapkass: Time for leadership to catch up regarding homeless

September 1, 2015 — 

Regarding the opinion column, “Homeless issue requires bold leadership, supportive community” by Reinette Senum, I agree with Ms. Senum that affordable housing can be difficult to find in our local community and that not enough housing choices exist for the underemployed, elderly, disabled, etc.

I also agree that our county supervisors must entertain new solutions. Clearly, housing options spread throughout the entire community would have a much better outcome than segregated tiny house villages/low income housing apartments etc.

Learn more »

George Runner: An excise tax on marijuana could make sense

September 1, 2015 — 

California lawmakers are finally considering legislation to regulate medical marijuana, which has been legal under state law for nearly two decades. Among the proposals is a bill calling for an excise tax on marijuana that could raise nearly $60 million in revenue each year.

As a fiscal conservative and opponent of recreational marijuana, I’m an unlikely voice in the cannabis tax policy debate. Yet after speaking with parties on all sides of the issue, I’m convinced an excise tax on medical marijuana could make sense, and if done correctly, would help ensure California taxpayers are treated fairly.

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

September 1, 2015 — 

Carrtoon

Learn more »

Gary Litke: Trump does not speak for me

September 1, 2015 — 

In his letter to the editor “It’s easy to see why Trump is popular,” Richard Phillips believes it is because “he’s saying what ALL (my emphasis) Americans have been thinking.”

The conservative right frequently relies on faulty logic to make a point or justify a position rather than make a simple statement of fact.

Learn more »

Northridge helps English language learners

September 1, 2015 — 

Kudos to David Freeman and Mony Monir, the co-owners of Northridge Restaurant in Nevada City, for recently hosting a fundraising dinner for Partners in English Language Learning (PiELL).

Everyone who attended enjoyed great food for a good cause. A percentage of the evenings proceeds was donated to PiELL. It was a great success!

Learn more »

Paula Orloff: 'A well regulated militia ...'

September 1, 2015 — 

What is often left out of the discussion about gun ownership is that the Second Amendment begins, “A well regulated militia …”

Amanda Wilcox of the Brady Campaign recently referred to the 2008 Supreme Court decision.

Learn more »

Donna Burley: Dr. Ben Carson wins GOP 'bean poll'

September 1, 2015 — 

We, at the Nevada County Republican Party, want to send our thanks to all the great folks having fun at the fair.

We had a “bean poll” contest and all those who were visitors at our booth had the opportunity to cast “Three Bean Ballots” for their favorite Republican candidate(s).

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Federal regulators look as bad as state PUC

September 1, 2015 — 

For many years before formal investigations by both state and federal authorities began, it was clear the California Public Utilities Commission consistently favored big utility companies over consumers at every opportunity.

But until a court order produced tens of thousands of emails between utility commissioners and executives of the companies they regulate, no one could prove either the cronyism that has long existed or the mechanism by which it operated.

Learn more »

R.L.Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 1, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Ed Sanchez: A sense of community

August 31, 2015 — 

As the new president of Roots and Wings Education Foundation in Penn Valley, I’d like to thank all of the individuals and businesses for your support of our 22nd annual Lake Wildwood Wine Cruise.

My apologies to Sikes Realty for not getting you listed in our thank you publication. We truly appreciate your support. This event was a tremendous success! Proceeds support supplemental funding for local education programs. Thanks to our fantastic event leadership team who made this event terrific!

Learn more »

Theodore Hill-Weld: Microaggressions, prejudice and educational environments

August 31, 2015 — 

In his article, “The only thing micro at UC is the thinking of its administrators,” George Boardman steadfastly asserts his opinion that everyone should get over being offended, because complaining just prevents freedom of expression.

I’m no expert on being oppressed, but it’s important to recognize Mr. Boardman as an affluent white male living in a county where everyone is just like him. He’s absolutely correct; students going off to college are in something new. But he thinks this is a bad thing, when in fact exposure to concepts other than the ones circulating in Nevada County since its inception might be a good thing for everyone.

Learn more »

Edith Lufkin: Climate deniers are the political manipulators

August 31, 2015 — 

To say global warming is “political manipulation,” as Mr. LaMalfa did recently, is to dismiss it as a non-issue, merely self-absorbed pols protecting turf and perk.

To say “I am not a scientist,” is dereliction of duty. Few Congress people are doctors, yet they confidently, avidly, pronounce on women’s health. To say environmental “over regulation” is destroying the economy is blind indifference to the incalculable economic wreckage already occurring worldwide — drought, storms, fire.

Learn more »

Angie Lux: Planned Parenthood plays vital role in providing birth control, education

August 29, 2015 — 

The campaign to defund Planned Parenthood is back again, and Kathryn Jean Lopez, published by The Union, in the last two weeks is again trying to lead the way.

She indicates it is because she is against abortion, but Planned Parenthood prevents abortions by providing birth control to thousands of impoverished women. Birth control has been reported by a Guttmacher Institute to reduce abortions by 13 percent.

Learn more »

Patricia Smith: Jumping to conclusions

August 29, 2015 — 

Sixty-two children die from marijuana! Did you miss that headline? Me, too.

However, one would come away with that conclusion after reading Thomas Elias’ “California Focus” in The Union (Aug. 12) “Marijuana harm ignored in push for legalization.”

Learn more »

Doe Firth: Police blotter humor not appropriate

August 29, 2015 — 

For many years, the popular feature “Police Blotter” has contained amusing stories of absurd police calls. In the Aug. 4 issue,

this item was highlighted in large type: “A man from Robinson Road reported a neighbor was mowing his lawn. He was advised that was not illegal and said he would call the governor.”

Learn more »

Sue Jeffrey: Really, the sanctity of all human life

August 29, 2015 — 

Those calling for the defunding of Planned Parenthood are not demanding its closure, only that it not be funded with their dollars because they believe in the rights of the unborn from both a legal and a religious perspective.

Asking them to be complicit in an act they consider murder is no different than using tax dollars to pay for guns and gun safety classes for every household.

Learn more »

Mike Mooers: Call out falsehoods or don't publish letters

August 29, 2015 — 

A newspaper needs to meet, at the very least, a level of professionalism that distinguishes fact not simply from opinion, but from fiction.

The Union fails to meet that standard with many letters they publish, and it was glaringly apparent in one from Aug. 19 written by Mr. Bob Webster regarding his feelings towards Planned Parenthood.

Learn more »

Itara O'Connell: Planned Parenthood getting a bum rap

August 29, 2015 — 

Dear Bob Webster, in your letter to the editor, “Planned Parenthood Worst of the Bunch,” dated Aug. 19, I feel your anger and applaud your concern for human life.

You failed to mention, however, in your search for blame, that it is the inappropriate sexual behavior of boys and men that cause the pregnancies in the first place.

Learn more »

Louise Carter: Thanks for the grammar correction

August 29, 2015 — 

Kudos to the person who corrected the lighted signs along Zion Street last week cautioning drivers to be aware that school had started.

At first the sign read: DRIVE SAFE. A couple of days later it read: DRIVE SAFELY.

Learn more »

Ray Bryars: Crack down on distracted drivers

August 29, 2015 — 

While driving south on Highway 49 toward Nevada City, I entered a left curve and was shocked to see an oncoming car aiming straight for my driver’s side door.

I did what I could to turn away, but a steep drop off and many trees limited my ability to turn. Luckily the driver “woke up” and turned in time to narrowly miss my car.

Learn more »

Don Rivenes: Global warming not political manipulation

August 29, 2015 — 

The recent article in The Union about Congressman LaMalfa’s town hall meeting in Grass Valley reported that he has publicly critiqued and voted against global warming legislation.

“You’ve actually motivated me to do a lot of organizing in the next polling to organize young people against you,” Nevada City resident John Lorence said. “Because I’m not worried about me, or my neighbor, (but) the younger generation.”

Learn more »

Mark Machado: The wow factor

August 29, 2015 — 

A couple of days ago, I was visiting with my cousin, a real estate broker outside of Phoenix, Arizona.

Since I have built and sold homes in my past, the topic of how best to market such, in today’s world, quickly became a topic of discussion.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Prop. 47 looking like a well-intentioned blunder

August 29, 2015 — 

The more time goes by since last fall’s passage of the high-minded Proposition 47, the more it begins to look like a well-intentioned mistake.

This was the ballot measure that turned some “minor” felonies into misdemeanor crimes, thus easing the crowding in state prisons and many county jails.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 29, 2015 — 

Learn more »

William and Christine Newsom: An open letter to Congressman LaMalfa

August 29, 2015 — 

We would like to thank you for presenting the town hall meeting which we attended on Aug. 11 at the Grass Valley city council chambers.

We found it very informative and worthwhile, and the discussions were quite stimulating. There were several statements that you made, however, that caused us significant concern.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top