Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 21, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Lower gas prices everywhere but here

October 21, 2014 — 

In my time living in Nevada City I have frequently noticed and excepted the difference in gas prices between here and Auburn. Most of the time the difference seems to be approximately 5 to 10 cents per gallon higher in Grass Valley than in Auburn.

I’ve always attributed this possibly to the extra distance the gas has to be hauled from the refinery?

Learn more »

Despite mail ballots, polling places essential

October 21, 2014 — 

Mr. George Horrigan, in his column, “Your vote counts, but only if you vote” on Oct. 9, urged a look at adopting exclusive vote-by-mail elections instead of our current mixed system of mail ballots and polling place ballots. Although eliminating polling places might have some cost-benefits, there would be other consequences that might not be as desirable.

Political campaigns like to “lock up” votes in advance of election day, which they can accomplish by encouraging early voting by mail before all the facts are known. Once the voter has received a mail ballot, the temptation is to vote it and mail it in, thereby completing one’s civic duty. But the earlier the voter casts a ballot, the less well-informed his or her votes are likely to be. And there is also the possibility of last-minute revelations that might otherwise sway voters but will have little effect if the ballots are already cast.

Learn more »

Questioning patriotism is unpatriotic

October 21, 2014 — 

In response to Norm Sauer’s rebuttal of my recent column “To insure domestic tranquility’ vs. the Second Amendment,” a study of American history is based on facts, not selective historical revision.

In the column, I chronicled our ever-widening path toward liberty and equality for all through the writing of the Constitution, the Civil War, and the Civil Rights Era. As we look back in history, most broad-minded Americans are able to reconcile that the lofty ideals of equality and liberty were drafted in a time in history when slavery was not only culturally accepted, but necessary to economic development.

Learn more »

You can trust LaMalfa

October 21, 2014 — 

It’s common for people to hate everyone else’s congressmen but love their own. I am guilty as charged.

Doug La Malfa befriended me many years ago, long before he was a congressman. He was very interested in my small business and has always called me regularly asking how things are going. We always have good chats. He is a good man.

Learn more »

Strict sentences for animal cruelty charges

October 21, 2014 — 

I read Liz Kellar’s article about the man who confessed to animal cruelty, and I hope the man goes to prison. Finding animals without food or water is something the courts should not tolerate when administering sentencing.

As an ex-cop, if I was called to a situation involving animal cruelty, the owner of that animal was arrested and presented before the district attorney for prosecution. Seldom did the judges ever look favorably on the defendant.

Learn more »

LaMalfa and cohorts destroying our government

October 21, 2014 — 

During the recent debate for U.S. Congress in our district, I realized that freshman Congressman Doug LaMalfa has, in his small part, disgusted the entire country to the point where Congress is less popular than the tape worm.

He and his cohorts have gone to Washington to destroy our government, and as a two-fer, have blocked everything our president has proposed to improve our lives. LaMalfa makes a hefty salary ($174,000) to do nothing but concoct seditious schemes with his radical friends in the GOP Tea Party. They will harm their constituents in order to thwart the black man in the White House. I hope people rally to throw him out on Nov. 4.

Learn more »

Eubanks: Let’s get real about fiscal responsibility

October 21, 2014 — 

There seems to be a belief that Republicans are the fiscally responsible party. I would like to present some facts that dispute this belief.

Let’s start with the “Republican revolution” that began with the election of Reagan. He cut taxes (especially for the wealthy), cut corporate taxes, and increased defense spending — the theory being trickle down economics — give tax cuts to the “job creators” and the magic invisible hand of the free market will grow the economy and everyone will prosper.

Learn more »

Boardman: California needs a law that makes the final exit a personal choice

October 20, 2014 — 

Mark and I decided to help our little sister die, if that’s what she wanted.

We watched Mary Ann die for three years, inch by painful inch, from amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, better known as ALS or Lou Gehrig’s disease. ALS is a virus, source unknown, that destroys the brain’s ability to communicate with muscles and organs through the central nervous system.

Learn more »

No trick — just a treat

October 20, 2014 — 

Autumn approaches and candy is filling our store shelves. Is it a result of something with deeper meaning than a “dental conspiracy” drenched in sugar? October can be a month of conflicted thoughts for many — what I speak of is Halloween.

Should it be celebrated? Avoided? For some it’s easy to choose one way or the other because of widespread acceptance in our culture. It seems harmless enough, right? I don’t want to make a decision for you. I just want to share some of what I’ve learned regarding it’s origins for you to ponder:

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin the right choice

October 20, 2014 — 

Something remarkable has happened in the Nevada County judicial election, with two candidates running for Superior Court Judge.

One of them, Robert Tice-Raskin, has received the endorsement of all Nevada County judges, active and retired, an unprecedented number of judges from surrounding counties and a number of justices from the Court of Appeal.

Learn more »

Deconstructing America

October 20, 2014 — 

Cheryl Cook’s recent essay describing the authors of our Constitution as “privileged, white, male property owners who protected slave owners ... buying and selling family members ... ,” and continuing to condemn “...old people ... able to recall every statesman from 238 years ago,” ... but unable to appreciate the continued suffering of Blacks in the 1960s, and that the real threat to domestic tranquility is the Second Amendment’s right of individuals to keep and bear arms, disparages America and its founding documents.

This rant is known as “deconstructionism” wherein nothing respected about our history remains untainted. A deconstructionist’s ploy is the de-emphasis, or even effacement, by posing a continuous critique, to lay low what was once high.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

October 18, 2014 — 

Learn more »

The war comes home

October 18, 2014 — 

The war comes home. As overproduced U.S. military hardware over-floods the world market, its “homeland” becomes weaponized. We now see armored military vehicles in law enforcement agencies and universities across the country. The proliferation of personal firearms unleashes a deranged “open carry” movement.

The USA is engaged against enemies it has directly and indirectly created, trained, and who are equipped with commandeered weaponry made in the USA. Mercenary “contractor” firms flourish, creating “Jobs!” War profiteers turn the wheels of industry; “Jobs! Economic Growth!”

Learn more »

BYLT — a season of jazz

October 18, 2014 — 

Bear Yuba Land Trust wishes to thank the community for a fun summer season of jazz music. Poncho Sanchez fans turned out in force at the North Star House Sunday, Sept. 28 for the hottest Latin jazz. It was a memorable house party with good food and friends.

Local Chef Antonio Ayestaran won the community salsa contest with his “Corno de Torro” (translation: Bulls Horn) fire roasted salsa – a winning combination of seven varieties of peppers from Sweet Roots Farm. Thanks to Diego’s Restaurant, Christopher’s Catering Company and BriarPatch Co-op.

Learn more »

The Devil in the Disregard

October 18, 2014 — 

I don’t believe in “the Devil” that fervid pastors tell,

Nor pitchforks, horns, nor burnings pits of Hell.

Learn more »

KrisAnne Hall event — thank you!

October 18, 2014 — 

Common Core Concerns owes a debt of gratitude to our generous underwriters, donors, and volunteers who helped us bring KrisAnne Hall to Nevada City on Oct. 3 to educate the community about “The Constitution and State Sovereignty.”

Thank you to our underwriters: The Halby Group — Insurance & Financial Services; Avanguardia Wines; Edward Jones Investments/Jeff Wells; Eddie and Nancy Garcia; Hills Flat Lumber Co.; Meyers Investment Group of Robert W. Baird & Co.; Moule Paint and Glass; Nevada County Farm Supply; Nevada County Republican Women Federated; Nevada County Tea Party; Robinson Enterprises; and Team Three Tactical and Survival.

Learn more »

It takes a village; a low-income housing solution

October 18, 2014 — 

Nevada County has a housing crisis. Many people, not just our chronically homeless, are finding themselves without shelter. There are not enough affordable rentals. Individuals and families are having to share anything that is available. A single paycheck is no longer adequate to pay rent and then cover remaining living expenses and food. As a result more Nevada County residents are becoming homeless.

On Nov. 10, Sierra Roots, a 501c3, based in Nevada City, is hosting a presentation on the micro-house village model, Opportunity Village, which has already gained success in Eugene, Ore. Andrew Heben, author of “Tent City Urbanism: From Self-Organized Camps to Tiny House Villages,” will be the speaker for the evening. He will discuss the kind of collaboration that has emerged simply by making a space available for local community resources.

Learn more »

Tice-Raskin has the right temperament, experience

October 18, 2014 — 

I ask my fellow citizens of Nevada County to consider my personal recommendation of Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge. Robert is an intelligent, thoughtful, and had-working individual. He is patient and a good listener. His temperament and experience will help him be an excellent judge.

I was fortunate to have been a judge here in Nevada County for over 20 years. I am still grateful to the people of this county for allowing me to do a job that I loved. I am certain Robert Tice-Raskin will be a judge for our county in whom we can all have trust and confidence. I urge you to vote for Robert Tice-Raskin for Superior Court Judge.

Learn more »

Global opinion: U.S. a threat to peace

October 18, 2014 — 

Even if you wanted to believe Louis Pearl’s opinion in his letter that United States citizens “ ... are brave, generous and kind,” how can you make the stunning leap that the United States is “...the only country in the world capable to lead the world out of the current morass?”

Worldwide Independent Network of Market Research GALLUP International, the leading global association in market research and polling, in a poll published Dec. 30, 2013, reported that people from 65 countries concluded that the “U.S. is considered to be the greatest threat to peace in the world, followed by Pakistan and China.”

Learn more »

Hoping Dorsey Interchange will ease roundabout congestion

October 18, 2014 — 

The newer, tighter, better Grass Valley roundabout at East Main and Idaho-Maryland is now about six years old. From the beginning and continuing to this day it backs up traffic at rush hour.

About 3:30 p.m., after Nevada Union High School lets out, traffic will often back up all the way to the “Big A” Drive-in. To drive from the “A” to the roundabout takes about three and a half minutes, but that’s better than the six minutes it took before the roundabout was built.

Learn more »

Where’s the rest of the story from Hall?

October 18, 2014 — 

Heidi Hall chants the “Koch Brothers” mantra knowing full well their contributions are a drop in the bucket compared to either George Soros or Tom Steyers or Michael Bloomberg at $100 million each. She wants to repeal the “Citizens United” decision that only creates a level playing field.

Were her years working in the EPA spent in the division that seizes private property, confiscates water rights, guts energy sources, closes factories and fences off resources in the West? Is there any private sector experience in her résumé?

Learn more »

Peter Pohorsky: a good, faithful servant

October 18, 2014 — 

A friend of mine passed away recently whose name will be recognized by regular readers of this page. Peter Pohorsky, 93, died peacefully at his assisted living community in Grass Valley.

I decided to write because I don’t believe many knew of his passing, or of his life.

Learn more »

An angel named Eric

October 18, 2014 — 

I would like to thank a kind gentleman named Eric, who on Sunday, Oct. 12, rescued me. I want to turn off the water in my yard, and in bending down on my knees couldn’t get up again. Eric was driving by and noticed by problem. He turned around and helped an elderly lady get back in to the house. Thank you, Eric, from the bottom of my heart. You are my angel. Bless you.

Doris Hermann

Learn more »

Meckler, Senum: Walking together for community

October 18, 2014 — 

Last month a column was penned titled “The End of Divide and Conquer” that captured our initial and unlikely breakfast meeting several weeks ago. We were two supposed enemies of the left/right political spectrum finally coming together, simply because we believe that we have more in common than that which divides us.

It was at this initial meeting when we decided that the most productive action for us to undertake would be to get out of our own way and step up for the youth of our community because, ultimately, they are our future.

Learn more »

Our View: Let’s show we take our kids, and their future, seriously

October 18, 2014 — 

As you likely read on the front page of today’s edition of The Union, a pair of local women who are passionate about providing positive programs for the young people of our community are taking their commitment to a whole new level.

And it’s time for our community to step up and help shoulder the load in what could potentially be a pivotal project for not only our young people, but all who live here in western Nevada County.

Learn more »

Judges unanimously endorse Tice-Raskin

October 17, 2014 — 

The Judges of the Nevada County Superior Court unanimously endorse Rob Tice-Raskin for Judge of the Nevada County Superior Court.

In our view, Rob Tice-Raskin is best-qualified to serve as a judge for our county. He is a man who has devoted his professional career to public service and serving our system of justice. He has a broad-based knowledge of the law, a strong intellect and decades of experience managing difficult cases.

Learn more »

Orson, more than a friend

October 17, 2014 — 

You asked for nothing, yet gave so much. Never would you discriminate against others or make insincere political statements, nor would you incite war and exhibit greed.

You would not sideline those who have different beliefs or who are physically challenged. You gave nothing, but love, gratitude and patience.

Learn more »

Firth, Lamphier good choices for Grass Valley

October 17, 2014 — 

There are important decisions on the horizon that will shape the future of Grass Valley — quality of life, economic and day to day traffic flow will all be influenced by the choices made by Grass Valley’s city council members. This means the two open seats for city council will effect Nevada County residents for many years.

My votes would go to Jim Firth and Terry Lamphier. These two candidates have consistently taken a responsible approach to development. They both understand the consequences of big box and franchise store approval and construction.

Learn more »

Trash talk

October 17, 2014 — 

I fully support the new task force that is proposing “zero tolerance” on roadside trash. However, I would like to point out that Waste Management is one of the worst offenders.

A Feb. 15 letter to The Union from Tom Behimer asked “Waste Management above (littering) law?” He pointed to the trash coming from trucks on Brunswick Road. He states: “How do I know that most of the litter is from Waste Management trucks? I have been behind them and see material fly out from the top. I travel this route twice a day. The trucks congregate at the Loma Rica station so this is a feeder road for them. Other areas of the county do not have so much trash along side the road.”

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top