Opinion

Mike and Jan O'Driscoll: Getting the job done

August 24, 2016 — 

We live on Michael Way in Alta Sierra. The street had deteriorated with pot holes and cracking.

We contacted Alta Sierra Property Owners Association (ASPOA), who contacted the Nevada County Public Works Department and shortly thereafter the road was repaired. This was a great example of organizations working together to respond to the needs of the county residents.

Learn more »

Cameron Brown: Trump and his 'pants on fire' lies

August 24, 2016 — 

Folks saying Mrs. Clinton has been the most honest candidate in this election cycle are quoting from Politifact.org, and that site based this on a comparison of what all candidates have said.

There are six categories; True, Mostly True, Half True, Mostly False, False and “Pants on Fire” for the egregious whoppers.

Learn more »

Dick Phillips: America needs to correct its course

August 24, 2016 — 

Two years ago Obama cavalierly laughed off the embryonic ISIS as “the JVs.”

Now the “JVs” not only have an army, but control countries like Libya (and its oil). And have aroused unhappy Muslims around the world to kill and spread terror — from Orlando to Paris to Istanbul and now the French Riviera. There is no end in sight.

Learn more »

Kristen Henderson: Slow down; you might seriously hurt someone

August 24, 2016 — 

I live on Red Dog Road, where drivers routinely go 45 mph and up. The stretch where I live is 25 mph.

Earlier this evening a jogger was struck by a pickup truck, across the street from my house. The man was conscious when taken away by ambulance, but it could have too easily been worse.

Learn more »

Byron York: From Trump, a stunning admission and new direction

August 24, 2016 — 

In general, in a campaign filled with controversial statements, it’s fair to say Donald Trump doesn’t do apologies and he doesn’t do regret.

Which is why it was extraordinary that in his speech in Charlotte last week — one of his first under a new campaign management — Trump did that rarest of things: he expressed regret for rhetorical excesses of the past and conceded that they may have caused pain for some people.

Learn more »

Climate change, 1,000-year flood in Baton Rouge: When will we learn?

August 24, 2016 — 

The floodwaters are receding in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, and the scale of the damage is revealing itself. It has been described as a 1,000-year flood, leaving at least 13 people dead and close to 60,000 homes ruined. According to Weather Underground meteorologists Jeff Masters and Bob Henson, August has been the wettest month in Baton Rouge in 174 years, when records were first kept. They added, “Since June 1, Baton Rouge has picked up an amazing 40.95 inches — more rain in three months than downtown Los Angeles has recorded over the last five years (38.79 inches)!”

President Barack Obama traveled there Tuesday. “I think anybody who can see just the streets, much less the inside of the homes here, people’s lives have been upended by this flood,” he said after walking through part of the devastated city. While Obama was criticized by his political opponents for not visiting Baton Rouge earlier, it’s what happened one day later, in nearby New Orleans, that should have everyone concerned.

Learn more »

Chris Verrill: I'm with her, now

August 23, 2016 — 

I’m a strong Bernie Sanders supporter. As a Redding, Calif. resident living overseas in China, I started “Beijing for Bernie” more than a year ago when, at just 2 percent in the polls, his candidacy was only idealistic wishful thinking. Because he’s a man of principle. Because he represents integrity and independence from a money driven corrupt two party system. I knocked on doors for him in New Hampshire because I believe he was the best hope for real change in the country.

But he lost. And I have to get over it.

Learn more »

Debbie Luckinbill: Oral health and nutrition a winning combo

August 23, 2016 — 

The Grass Valley Ladies Relief Society would like to thank the Food Bank of Nevada County for allowing us to hand out toothbrushes, toothpaste, timers and bookmarks to the children participating in the Food Bank’s Summer Lunch Program.

We were able to deliver 142 bags of oral health supplies and information to children up to the age of 18. In conjunction with our focus on dental needs in this county, we are pleased to see that the lunches provided by the Food Bank are healthy and nutritious. Along with the lunches, the children seemed very pleased with the toothbrush and toothbrushes, and especially the two-minute timers.

Learn more »

Jo Ann Muetterties: Important film not being shown locally

August 23, 2016 — 

I have been looking forward to seeing the movie, “Hillary’s America,” having read the book by Dinesh D’Souza when it first came out.

A recent foot injury prevented my seeing the movie yet. Two friends did see it, one in Yuba City and another in Sacramento and reported a very positive reaction of approval. When I called the local theaters, I was told they had no plans to book it. There are only a limited number of copies and not enough interest. There are irrefutable facts in the book and movie and that doesn’t sit well with the Democrat Party. After his book and movie on “Obama’s America,” D’Souza was arrested and charged with the “crime” of donating slightly more than the law allows for a campaign contribution. His defense was he did “not intend to break any law” but was sentenced to eight months in prison with hardened criminals, rapists and murderers. After breaking too many laws to count, the lack of “intent” is what got Hillary off, free of any charges. Two standards? You bet.

Learn more »

Paul Hauck: GOP still mostly white and male

August 23, 2016 — 

I would like to add another observation to those of Ms. Eubanks’ excellent piece (The Union, Aug. 12). When the cameras panned the Republican convention they revealed nothing short of a sea of white faces comprising the delegates.

This was in stark contrast to the Democratic gathering and does not bode well for the future of the GOP.

Learn more »

Pat Lane: Hate to think all Trump supporters are like this

August 23, 2016 — 

Recently I was driving south on Highway 49 near Empire Street. I was overtaking and passing a small white car driven by a young kid.

Just as my front wheels were drawing even with his rear ones, he suddenly started to pull over into my lane. I honked to alert him to my presence, but he continued until he was right in front of me and then he jammed on his brakes! I almost rear-ended him but managed to brake in time.

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

August 23, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Paul Berger: What happened to the American Dream?

August 23, 2016 — 

When I was growing up in Syracuse, New York my friends and I used to play-act.

We pretended to be our favorite TV stars, baseball players and cowboys. We acted out our fantasies with sticks, rocks and anything we could get our hands on. We walked two miles a day to school and back and had snowball fights with the kids who walked home on the other side of the street. We made go-karts out of wood scraps and old baby carriages; we climbed trees and got dirty — every day. On Saturday we’d to go to the public library because we wanted to, because we loved learning about the planets and dinosaurs. After the library, we would go swimming at the park or the YMCA.

Learn more »

Lt. George Steffenson: Thank you for the support, Nevada County

August 22, 2016 — 

Since the tragic loss of Dallas Police Officers on July 7, law enforcement in Nevada County has experienced a tremendous outpouring of support from our local community businesses, various entities throughout the county, and from others.

Almost daily I hear stories of people coming up to law enforcement personnel at businesses, public venues, and community events to simply thank them for their service to our community. Additionally, the Grass Valley Area California Highway Patrol has received numerous letters and cards in the last few weeks thanking law enforcement. It has been humbling listening to these stories and personally experiencing the support this county has for all its first responders from every agency.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 22, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Hilary Hodge: The next season

August 22, 2016 — 

I get the feeling that summer is over. The kids have started school and, while the weather is still hot and awful, we are moments away from the changing of seasons. Maybe you feel it too.

Any second now, we will be entering the Christmas season. That’s right. I said the Christmas season.

Learn more »

Bob O'Brien: Speak your truth, but ride a fast horse

August 22, 2016 — 

I would like to respond to Frederic Christie’s “Your entitlement is showing.” While this is an entertaining response to my July 20 article - Politically Correctness is Killing Us, Frederic, you have totally missed the point!

What I was trying to say is it is appropriate to speak your truth: if you feel someone has made a racist argument or statement, speak out about it and call it racist. But then be prepared to explain yourself and have a rational conversation with the perceived perpetrator. You may be right or you may have misunderstood said speaker. I was saying it is always appropriate to speak the truth as you see it.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: State Dems shouldn't bank on anti-Trump feelings

August 22, 2016 — 

Endorsements and coattails have never meant much in California politics. From Ronald Reagan, whose strong efforts could not keep major state offices in Republican hands after his first term as governor, to Jerry Brown, who usually endorses only after fellow Democrats have already been assured their party’s backing, big names have not had much influence over voters.

The most classic example of lagging coattails came in 1980, when Reagan carried California in the presidential election by a record margin, but Democratic U.S. Sen. Alan Cranston won reelection with a larger edge. Even Arnold Schwarzenegger, who easily won election twice, pushed through less than half the ballot propositions he endorsed and never ushered a single fellow Republican into statewide office.

Learn more »

Louise McFadden: Round Table a true community partner

August 21, 2016 — 

Three cheers for Round Table Pizza on Sutton Way in Grass Valley.

The Nevada Union High School staff wanted to help the Bishop family while Jodanna is bravely working hard to recover from her recent stroke. Round Table has agreed to be the site of a fundraiser from 4 to 9 p.m. on Aug. 25. Money raised will continue to help the Bishops as they walk the road to recovery with Jodanna. Heartfelt thanks to this business for helping out.

Learn more »

Wayne Hild: Climate change is here

August 21, 2016 — 

Here we go again. Another 500 year flood is killing people and devastating communities in a red southern state.

This is the eighth such 500 year occurrence in the last 15 months! The unbelievable 31 inches of rain Louisiana has received in the last week is a once in a 1,000 year occurrence!

Learn more »

George Boardman: The job of educators should be to teach our children, not raise them

August 21, 2016 — 

Classroom teachers are much like mid-level employees in the private sector: Considerable responsibility but little authority, and subject to criticism and second-guessing from above and below them in the pecking order.

The frustration many teachers feel stems from the fact they have to spend too much time on issues that have nothing to do with the subject matter they’ve been trained to teach, what people like to refer to as “life skills.”

Learn more »

Caleb Dardick: Loving the Yuba to death

August 21, 2016 — 

The Union won’t find any disagreement that “few summer pursuits are as enjoyable for Nevada County residents and visitors as a day out on the Yuba River” (Five Yuba River Swimming Holes to Beat the Summer Heat, July 21).

But when the Yuba Fire broke out upstream of Edwards Crossing 12 days later, the larger public connected the dots long familiar to the South Yuba River Citizens League (SYRCL): the Yuba is in danger of being loved to death.

Learn more »

Sarah Wilson-Daley: There's a reason why Black Lives Matter exists

August 19, 2016 — 

I would like to respond to Dave Glubetich’s recent guest column, “Who’s behind America’s racial tensions.

I am sure that Mr. Glubetich and I agree that no one should ever be shot and killed. I would also like to share that I do not have the right temperament to be a police officer. I am not calm under pressure, and no matter how well trained I might be, I do not think I should ever have a gun. Even with my good intentions, I could easily see myself in a situation in which I could panic and kill someone.

Learn more »

Ehud, Brittany Gat: Good things to say about the hospital

August 19, 2016 — 

You often hear the horror stories about hospitals around this country, about bad experiences and poor results. I want to share the opposite kind of story about Sierra Nevada Memorial here in Grass Valley.

Our first daughter was delivered by C-section last Wednesday. We have been in the Women and Infant Care Unit since. Throughout the whole experience, the staff at the hospital has been true to the slogan “hello humankindness.” From the pre-op nurses, through the fantastic OR crew, the operation wasn’t just smooth and relatively easy, it also took place in an atmosphere of calmness, sensitivity and support that helped us through the fears involved in such complex procedures.

Learn more »

Gary Brown: What part of 'Shall not be infringed' do they not understand?

August 19, 2016 — 

This opinion is to address several “Other Voices” and “Letters to the Editor” columns that have been in the paper with regards to firearms.

What I read are letters and articles written by people stating an opinion from ignorance on the subject of firearms. First, let’s discuss the so called Assault Rifle. There is no such group of military weapon called “Assault Rifle.”

Learn more »

Lynn Wenzel: Not halcyon days for all

August 19, 2016 — 

I began to read with interest Mr. Sauer’s editorial on Aug. 13, “Insights from traveling Europe” as it sounded intriguing. Unfortunately, what I found was a screed that insulted my beliefs and that contained not a scintilla of insight about Europe, except that Mr. Sauer talked to a few people and concluded that he speaks for the entire continent.

I am a patriotic progressive. To say that the “left waged war against patriotism” is an insult to me and my family members who fought and died in every war since before the Revolution. What were we fighting for if not patriotic love of country?

Learn more »

Darrell Berkheimer: Is America still the greatest country?

August 19, 2016 — 

Does the U.S. still deserve to be called the greatest country in the world?

I’m beginning to wonder if that remains true.

Learn more »

R. L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 19, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: More ethics questions plague Brown

August 19, 2016 — 

On a cloudy Sacramento day in 2001, a low-level aide to then-Gov. Gray Davis secretly met a representative of the Oracle Corp. software company, accepting a $25,000 check for Davis’s reelection fund.

Just a few days earlier, Oracle had received a $95 million software contract to update state computers. The sequence later became emblematic of the “pay-to-play” phenomenon allegedly common under Davis, a pattern used against him by Arnold Schwarzenegger when Davis was recalled and thrown from office in 2003, less than one year after his election to a second term.

Learn more »

Terry McLaughlin: Clinton, Kaine are clear: submit or pay a heavy price

August 18, 2016 — 

What would you say if a friend told you that she had an abortion? Would you respond with excitement and enthusiasm saying “That’s great! I wish I’d had one too!”? Not very likely.

Regardless of where you find yourself on this topic, the compassionate response which most of us would offer would be something to the effect of “I’m sorry you had to go through that. It must have been a difficult decision.”

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top