Opinion

Dave Glubetich: Clinton cannot be trusted

September 23, 2016 — 

Are you excited about the prospects of the first woman president of the United States? Will you be voting for Hillary Clinton in November? Helping to make history.

But what if everything you hear, read or see just doesn’t add up? Could a vote for Hillary be a huge mistake?

Learn more »

Jim Firth: Hillary was wrong, but ...

September 23, 2016 — 

Hillary Clinton suggested that half of the Donald Trump supporters came from the “deplorable” baskets. As a candidate for president of the United States she should know that a comment like that will create immediate blowback, and it did.

Donald Trump managed to bring a new set of voters into the electoral process during the Republican Primary contests, and to many people’s surprise, actually won the Republican Presidential nomination. The new voters Mr. Trump appealed to certainly make an impact on the outcome, but who are they?

Learn more »

Don, Louise Warner: One Source Empowering Caregivers a huge blessing

September 23, 2016 — 

In August, it became apparent as seniors that we needed help. I was in desperate need for someone to drive me to an eye doctor appointment, as my husband no longer drives.

Donna Raibley and her new volunteer organization, One Source Empowering Caregivers, came through for us in a big way. I was not sure how I was going to make this appointment for my eye injection as we do not have family nearby to help.

Learn more »

R. L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 23, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: TPP likely dead as written; what about a rewrite?

September 23, 2016 — 

Plenty of negatives have emerged from the ongoing presidential campaign: open bigotry has become more acceptable than it’s been for decades, foul language is more fashionable and so are pantsuits, and much more.

But one big positive also stands out. As now written, the Trans Pacific Partnership trade agreement is probably dead. And the way it’s now written is the only version that that counts for now, because sometime in the next few months, Congress must vote it up or down – no amendments allowed.

Learn more »

Chris Enss: Transients act like schoolyard bullies

September 23, 2016 — 

During September transients set two major fires in Nevada County; one behind CVS Pharmacy and another on South Auburn.

I found a transient sleeping in the back of my pickup when I came out of Staples and was verbally abused when I asked the man to get out of my automobile. While patronizing another local business, I witnessed a homeless man trying to break into the vehicles belonging to the staff of that business and another sleeping on the bench outside the entrance at that same company. The police were called, but did not respond.

Learn more »

Joyce Hoffman: With Grass Valley's approach, how long will our 'home' last?

September 23, 2016 — 

The Grass Valley Planning Commission wimped out by succumbing to the pressure of the true leader of our little city, Michael G. Colantuono. He is the attorney hired by the Grass Valley City Council to, seemingly, help in their efforts to completely Rosevillize Grass Valley.

The Grass Valley City Council’s mantra is “annex, build and develop land into taxable assets.” Their master planner is Mr. Colantuono who almost single-handedly dictated the decisions made recently by the planning commission.

Learn more »

Our View: Doing nothing will only increase the risk

September 23, 2016 — 

Admit it. Even when you heard word of the fire burning toward Empire Mine State Park — one week ago this afternoon — or even actually spotted the flames flying high into the sky, you just knew our firefighters would quickly contain the blaze.

And, of course, once again they did.

Learn more »

William Larsen: 'Despicable irreverence?' Really?

September 22, 2016 — 

I want to thank the writer (Sept. 17, letters to the editor) who asked folks to pray for me because of my “despicable irreverence” in referring to Donald Trump as the anti-Christ.

According to the writer, my use of that term was “revolting and sinfully judgmental” (no judgment there, right?), which “brought election rhetoric to a new low.” Could be, it’s not for me to say. But I do thank the writer for his prayers. As a flawed individual, I appreciate all I can get.

Learn more »

Tom Durkin: Words have repercussions

September 22, 2016 — 

The local homeless man accused of arson is not a “transient.” He’s lived here for years. I know him. Transients are generally just passing through.

Homeless seasonal agricultural workers (trimmigants) are transients. The fact that the local authorities and media don’t know the difference between a transient and a local homeless person is part of the homeless problem. We need to be aware of the difference between our local homeless people (some whose families have lived here for generations) and those who are just passing through.

Learn more »

Jeffrey Dupra: The whole picture

September 22, 2016 — 

Last Saturday I watched and waited collectively with others in our community as the Auburn Fire spread rapidly into Empire Mine Sate Park. Collectively, we thought of those whose homes and lives lay potentially in harm’s way, and envisioned ourselves, our loved ones, our property, our possessions under threat of fire and smoke. Collectively, we weren’t surprised to learn that the fire had started in a homeless camp.

As this information became known, collectively we reacted.

Learn more »

Ron Bost: Better banner?

September 22, 2016 — 

To the person who took down the “Black lives matter” banner in Grass Valley, I thank you.

To the church, I ask you to replace it with “All lives matter.”

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Even in paradise

September 22, 2016 — 

This is a great community, no question. I’m fully smitten, so I can’t think of better. All this and it’s not so far to the coast, either. Oh, and Lake Tahoe. Truckee’s even in the same county.

Sure, we have our problems here, too, we being humans and all. You do know Adam let that snake in the garden, right? No doubt from boredom.

Learn more »

Carole Bryant: Why become an Elk? It's a Grass Valley legacy

September 21, 2016 — 

Grass Valley Elks Lodge #538, part of one of the oldest fraternal orders remaining in the United States, and is still operating their “original” lodge in Grass Valley.

The order is distinctly American and was chartered as part of the Benevolent and Protective Society of Elks. The Lodge was established in 1900 with a handful of prominent Grass Valley businessmen, politicians, mine owners and managers. Among them the colorful, accomplished and ever popular, engineer, John F. Kidder. He was president of the Nevada County Narrow Gauge Railroad as well as the first Exalted Ruler of Grass Valley Elks.

Learn more »

Karin Robinson: It took a village to bring Rossi here

September 21, 2016 — 

On behalf of the Roamin’ Angel’s Car Club, we would like to thank a few people who were instrumental in getting Alexander Rossi to our Cruisin’ the Pines Car Show.

First of all, the second vice district governor of the Nevada City Lions Club, Doug Wight, coordinated with Jason Fouyer, mayor of Grass Valley. The Andretti Autosport group was then contacted and it blossomed from there. Having a hometown celebrity at our car show was an added attraction and well attended.

Learn more »

Lynda Lasich: Trump's 4,056 lawsuits and more

September 21, 2016 — 

The elephant in the political arena is Trump’s business history that his supporters so graciously allow him without question.

Facts show that there are 4,056 lawsuits against the man, owing to the fact that he has hired undocumented workers, did not pay workers their earned wages causing some small businesses to close their doors, invests with shady characters worldwide, swindles investors of their life’s savings by not beginning or completing proposed projects (Baja condo), doesn’t pay real estate taxes causing city governments to place liens on his properties, polluted the Hudson River with his buildings in New York City, and has filed bankruptcy 11 times, four of which were completed.

Learn more »

Maryn Miller: Stressed students, parents should stop and take stock

September 21, 2016 — 

It’s that time of year again. We’ve gotten our schedules and our school supplies and are finally getting accustomed to our classes. Along with the fresh excitement of finding out who sits next to you in your Spanish class comes another thing: anxiety.

Around 40 million adults in the U.S. suffer from anxiety disorders every day. A study by the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) showed roughly 1.76 million adolescents have some kind of anxiety disorder.

Learn more »

Tracy, Gini Ceresola: Randy Young saved our lives

September 20, 2016 — 

This letter is to recognize Randy Young for saving our lives.

We want to make sure that his children, family, friends and community all know what a hero he is and how he saved us when we had a bad accident.

Learn more »

Kent Treiber: Yes, things have changed

September 20, 2016 — 

A recent column in The Union reminded me of my father. Beginning in his 60s, my father became fond of talking about the many changes in our country that distressed him. Now that I’m of advanced years, many of my contemporaries are doing the same thing.

I love this country and feel incredibly lucky to have lived here and in this time. That said, we are not, and have never been, perfect. I hope that we continue to strive towards a “more perfect Union.”

Learn more »

Herb Lindberg: Deaths from alcohol and marijuana

September 20, 2016 — 

Sure, there are “now about 100,000 alcohol-related deaths per year, and tens of billions of dollars in medical costs” and we can expect something similar if Prop. 64 passes.

But this is only half of the story, and proceeding with half the facts has the same effect as proceeding with wrong facts. Norton Lehner disregards the hundreds of millions of hours of relief and happiness provided during social gatherings with alcohol or marijuana.

Learn more »

Brian Hamilton: Rossi's rookie run leads to ample options for 2017

September 20, 2016 — 

As Alexander Rossi’s regal rookie run through the Verizon IndyCar Series rolled to an end in Sonoma Sunday, it didn’t take long for the racing world to leave 2016 in the rearview mirror and shift gears in talking about the future of the Nevada City native.

Will he return to Andretti Autosport? His team owners likely want him back, after winning the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500, racing to Rookie of the Year honors with 11th place among 35 drivers in the season standings and wrapping things up with fifth place Sunday at Sonoma, where he claimed his first racing championship as an 11-year-old go-kart driver.

Learn more »

Carrtoons by John Carr

September 20, 2016 — 

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 19, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Pauli Halstead: Nevada City community supports Streicher House

September 19, 2016 — 

Streicher House, on Gold Flat Road in Nevada City, the new community day center, has taken another step and is now open weekdays from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. and on Sundays from 9 a.m. to noon.

Streicher House serves our local homeless population and also others in the community who are undernourished.

Learn more »

Dick Phillips: Teacher-tenure law controversy

September 19, 2016 — 

California State Supreme Court has decided that California’s teacher’s-tenure law is constitutional.

That means that if a California teacher iss not fired within 18 months after being hired he/she is guaranteed a job for life.

Learn more »

Mike Smith: Critical decisions for our climate

September 19, 2016 — 

If you do not believe in man-made climate change or think it will not affect you, please skip to the last paragraph; for everyone else:

We will have clear choices in November. Besides the important presidential selection, we have a chance here in the north state to significantly enhance the conversation on climate change. We can do this at both the national level and in California.

Learn more »

Hilary Hodge: Fire in Grass Valley too close for comfort

September 19, 2016 — 

On Saturday, my wife and I drove to Nevada City for lunch and saw smoke toward Grass Valley as we parked the car.

It was 1:56 p.m. I know the exact time because the restaurant we had planned to have lunch at was already closed, even though the sign said that the place was open until 2 p.m. I looked online for details about the fire and saw the words South Auburn Street and Empire Mine State Park.

Learn more »

Roy Church: Can our economy grow when robots neither consume nor pay taxes?

September 18, 2016 — 

In his recent column in The Union, Darrell Berkheimer outlined how the financialization of the banking and investment industry has contributed to, and is prolonging our anemic economic growth. Not addressed and what neither presidential candidate has addressed, is how technology is enabling capitalism to require fewer workers.

There have been periods in the past where technology eliminated large numbers of jobs, only to create new and different jobs to fill the void. But things are different now.

Learn more »

Joanne Crouch: Trump lesser of two evils

September 18, 2016 — 

I understand Ron Lowe’s letter regarding Donald Trump. He is right. Trump marches to his own drummer, and adheres to his own set of morals. But, that is one major reason people are turning to him instead of Obama. Oops, I meant Hillary! I truly see no difference!

I am not a Trump fan and I am very skeptical of his ideas. I question his solutions to fixing our failing economy and oh, so obvious corrupt government , but despite that, I refuse to support a woman who blatantly lies (and gets away with it), secretly deletes 33,000 questionable emails, will bring a proven womanizer (Bill) back into “our” White House and amazingly calls the mother of Shawn Smith (killed at the embassy) an outright liar.

Learn more »

Mark Thomas: Completely agree on unsafe cyclists

September 18, 2016 — 

I totally agree with Carol Alexander’s letter to the editor regarding cyclists.

Also, bicycles do not pay for the use of the roads, no use tax, no gas tax, no license fees and no operators license, which pays for the roads and maintenance.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top