Opinion

Nancy Mitchell: Winners and losers

July 29, 2016 — 

Well, the No on W organizers pulled every underhanded trick in the book to make sure that Measure W would not pass.

They brought in thousands of dollars from outside the county from their pot lobbyists, they put out ads that were completely misleading, ie: Law Enforcement Against Measure W, which came from one man in Southern California. They knew darn well that our county law enforcement was for Measure W. They also ran a huge ad that said our vets would not get the help they needed if the measure passed,

Learn more »

Joyce Taigen: Loved 'Little Shop of Horrors'

July 29, 2016 — 

Loved, loved, loved “Little Shop of Horrors” by Sierra Stages!

We took our granddaughter and she loved it too! It’s such a fun musical and was performed with great skill and talent!

Learn more »

Eric Robins: Political correctness is a bogeyman

July 29, 2016 — 

In a recent issue of The Union, columnist Bob O’Brien wrote about how he feels “political correctness” is a scourge that is destroying Americans’ ability to effectively communicate with one another.

I will leave aside his explanation that the source of political correctness, the Frankfort School, is a communist entity responsible for modern immorality, and instead give you a young person’s perspective on this PC culture that he says has a death grip on the nation’s discourse.

Learn more »

Rick Marshall: A positive dialogue

July 29, 2016 — 

I agree with Bob O’Brien’s conclusion, “We need to feel we can speak our truth. We also need to be willing to listen politely to others speaking theirs, knowing that we all come from different backgrounds and histories. That can begin a positive dialogue” (“Political correctness is killing us,” July 20). This is what political correctness should mean. It is unfortunate that Bob has gone to great lengths to show us a history that is no longer relevant to its current usage, in support of his position that the term, and all that it represents, is “killing us.”

I believe that speaking our own truth, and showing respect for other people’s truths, is consistent with the teachings of Christianity and other faith traditions. I would hope we could all commit to doing more of it! This does not need to result in not saying anything for fear of offending and does not need to come across as mealy-mouthed.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: 'Fire sales' a hint at life after pot legalization?

July 29, 2016 — 

You’ve seen fire sales. They happen when goods or real estate are discounted sharply after fire damages a store or a building. But the term has new meaning in rural Calaveras County, where the devastating Butte Fire swept through thousands of acres last year, the seventh-worst wildfire in recorded California history.

It’s just possible that what’s happening near towns like Mountain Ranch, Murphys and San Andreas could foretell at least one aspect of life in fertile parts of California if Proposition 64 passes this fall and legalizes recreational use of marijuana.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

July 29, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Paul Matson: Who were Osborn/Woods?

July 29, 2016 — 

David Osborn (1932-2002) and Charles Woods (1931-2011) were business, design and life partners for 49 years.

David’s hometown was Columbus, Ohio and Charles’ was Winona, Minnesota. They earned master’s degrees in art history from the University of California, Berkeley, both specializing in public art.

Learn more »

Our View: Like anything else, we're all in this together

July 29, 2016 — 

The scene inside the Board of Supervisors’ chambers was a familiar one Tuesday, with community members voicing their opinions over a proposed ordinance on the cultivation of cannabis.

In many ways, it seemed somewhat of a rerun of the episode that played out at the Jan. 12 meeting. Back and forth. Pro and con. Us versus Them.

Learn more »

Michelle Lewis: Nevada County Supervisors don't understand definition of 'democracy'

July 28, 2016 — 

So much for democracy in action in Nevada County.

The voters soundly rejected Measure W, by nearly 60 percent.

Learn more »

Scott Young: An open letter to Supervisor Beason

July 28, 2016 — 

I am a voter in your district, a public high school teacher, a rural land owner interested in rural land quality and preservation, a father of five kids between 14 and 23, and a 17-year resident of this county.

I voted no on Measure W, and do not support a ban on cannabis cultivation, outdoors or indoors.

Learn more »

Susan Nance: Remember the Golden Rule

July 28, 2016 — 

I am writing in regard to recent events involving city council member Reinette Senum. I can’t remember when I have felt so discouraged by the behavior of human beings.

I think I can safely say that the majority of people who read her original statement were upset by it in some way, and this was true even for many who support her. But when has it ever been OK to respond with such hate to someone you disagree with? Is that what we want to teach our children?

Learn more »

Terry Brown: Laughing ourselves silly

July 28, 2016 — 

We just had another great evening laughing ourselves silly at Sierra Stages great production of “Little Shop of Horrors!”

Great show, clever set, spot-on lighting, rocking band ... all deftly directed. It’s hard to pick out the stars, because it’s such a tight ensemble with everyone pulling their weight (OK, Somewhere That’s Green). The bizarre thing is that there were empty seats — are you kidding me? Sure, it’s a strange premise (man-eating plant), but it’s high comedy with a great musical score.

Learn more »

Don Rogers: A wall starts to give in Nevada County

July 28, 2016 — 

Someday, Lefty’s may open a special patio or parlor to smoke something akin to a Cabernet Sauvignon or another craft varietal.

Someday. Not today. Not tomorrow. But sooner than you might think.

Learn more »

Dan Prout: A timeless message

July 27, 2016 — 

Over the weekend, I happened upon an interesting letter in my files which is insightful and perhaps prophetic.

Below is the closing paragraph of the memo sent to the clerk of the court, Hall of Justice, San Francisco, California, written 42 years ago by a concerned citizen, my father:

Learn more »

Julie Cooper: Stellar World Fest

July 27, 2016 — 

Got on the bus ... didn’t bother knockin’ ... it was plain to me ... that it was Rockin’!

Thank you, Center for the Arts staff, and volunteers, for a stellar World Fest. Yay for all of us!

Learn more »

Andy Burton: What good are rules without accountability?

July 27, 2016 — 

Over the past couple of weeks there has been a great deal of focus and discussion on Nevada City Councilwoman Reinette Senum and some controversial comments she made on Facebook.

Her comments, and the reaction from the Nevada City Police Officers Association, generated a very strong reaction from the public, and as seems to be the norm here in Nevada County we have quickly separated into two very distinct and polarized camps. There are those who condemn the choices Ms. Senum made in expressing her views and there are those who have unflinchingly come out in her defense.

Learn more »

Terry Lamphier: Big development is progress? Really?

July 27, 2016 — 

I found The Union columnist Hilary Hodge’s recent column conflating events and development with progress insensitive and offensive.

She states “those of us who care to maintain a social life and/or a job in Nevada County need to let our local officials and organizations know that we care about progress in Nevada County” and “we”’ need to fight “recent anti-development comments” and Nimbyism (not in my back yard). She disparages those who treasure our “sleepy, forgotten places where folks can watch grass grow.” Spoken like a true urban transplant.

Learn more »

Marcia Winborne-Graven: Responsibility should be taken for one's actions

July 27, 2016 — 

I am so tired of all the arguing back and forth about pro-life vs. pro-choice.

Whatever happened to abstinence? Whatever happened to ethics, self control and personal responsibility? No one ever mentions these and that’s what should be taught at home and in school, instead of just giving out condoms and teaching kids that someone else is responsible for their actions.

Learn more »

Edlin Patterson: Be informed, then vote

July 27, 2016 — 

Be sure to contact your representative and express your views, but only if you’ve voted. This is what The Union’s Editorial Board suggested in their July 9 column which ends with, “And finally, let’s be sure to exercise our right to vote. Because if we can’t bother to do that, can we really complain about the outcome?”

The answer to their question is a resounding yes! We can complain if we don’t vote. In fact the First Amendment guarantees that right. Contacting our elected officials and expressing our opinions (complaint or not) is very important.

Learn more »

Brian Hamilton: Loving those lists

July 26, 2016 — 

If there is one thing social media has made clear, we love lists.

From the “10 worst breakfast foods to start your day” to “Five ways to make exercise fun this summer” to “These 19 life hacks will finally get your mess of a life organized,” there is no shortage of short lists geared to help us all live healthier, happier lives.

Learn more »

Carol Glad: Support for PFLAG appreciated

July 26, 2016 — 

I would like to thank the New Moon Cafe and Sierra Stage’s production of “Little Shop of Horrors.”

Through their donations to PFLAG’s theatre event at Center for the Arts this spring, we had quite a fun evening.

Learn more »

Dave Wilzbach: Time for fun new games

July 26, 2016 — 

While working on a home repair, it seemed proper to ask the owner how people are ever going to get along in these United States.

He asked me what I would do and it seemed that a nice picnic would help with potato salad and some games.

Learn more »

Chris Christensen: Shop of Horrors worth seeing

July 26, 2016 — 

Last week I saw Sierra Stage’s mounting of The Little Shop of Horrors. I have seen several of their productions. This one is quite special.

Let me tell you that I am a theatrical designer. This is the fourth version of this play I have seen. The first three I worked on, including the critically acclaimed version Nevada Union High School did seven years ago.

Learn more »

Josh Emery: More work needed on Nevada County interim marijuana cultivation ordinance

July 26, 2016 — 

I am not a marijuana grower. It ultimately makes no difference to me whether or not cultivation of cannabis for any purpose is permitted or prohibited in Nevada County.

I did, however, vote against Measure W.

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

July 26, 2016 — 

Learn more »

R. L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

July 25, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Gary Emanuel: When is an 'apology' not?

July 25, 2016 — 

Reinette Senum’s recent “apology” reminds me of so many other public apologies.

She, as in so many other apologies made by public figures, apologized for the pain and anger caused by her inciteful remarks about the role of America’s police force. As near as I can tell she did not apologize for the content of her remarks.

Learn more »

Dave Yaksick: Capitalism, socialism make for strange marriage

July 25, 2016 — 

A recent editorial submission in The Union presented the case for socialism; reporting that socialism is firmly installed in the U.S. and performing quite admirably. Reported examples of socialist contributions to American culture include retirement plans, mail delivery, trains, highways, police, fire protection, the military and health care.

The above benefits do not flow from a socialist benefactor but are funded by taxes agreed to by the people and enacted by their elected representatives. Every dollar the government spends is first extracted from an earner and the economy or is borrowed (note: Social Security is funded by citizen and employer contributions, mail delivery loses millions every year as does Amtrak, our infrastructure is crumbling and Obamacare is a disaster).

Learn more »

David Adams: Give the public a fair chance

July 25, 2016 — 

This letter is in regard to The Union’s report (July 13) about Verizon/Epic Wireless postponing already postponed decisions on their application for eight cellular antennas in the historic district from the July 21 to the Aug. 18 Nevada City Planning Commission meeting. Apparently, the postponement is because they wanted to argue their case further in private with Brad Croul, the commission chair (and other members?), which is very irritating.

First, because the large photographic rendering of added cellular antennas makes the historic building look terrible.

Learn more »

Patricia Smith: A ban by any other name is still a ban

July 25, 2016 — 

I am writing in response to The Union Editorial Board’s “Our View” in Saturday’s paper as I was quoted several times in the article. I believe we are in agreement that both sides need to display patience and cooperation to reach a mutually agreeable solution.

However, I take issue with the inference that the county is the only party cooperating in the process to draft new legislation when that is a patently false assertion.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top