Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Alyce Macondray: Sammie’s Friends is fantastic

January 30, 2015 — 

To Cheryl Wicks, the office help at Sammie’s Friends and all the volunteers: I can’t thank you enough for taking care of Tyler, who was a feral cat who came out of a bean field in Ohio.

The volunteers did such a marvelous job with this very feral animal, it’s unbelievable. They calmed him down, got him to accept being handled and petted, especially tummy rubs. He became a real pleasure to have around. Tyler has a disease that prevents him from being around other cats, and Sammie’s heard about a sanctuary in Oregon that would take him. He is now doing well. Statistically, black cats are more likely to be euthanized because fewer people want them.

Learn more »

Janis McGregor: A need to express all opinions without being singled out

January 30, 2015 — 

I found Jim Hemig’s editorial of Jan. 23 to be very disturbing.

In my opinion, he assassinated Jim Firth’s character in writing and then named community members in the article that supported his opinion of Mr. Firth. Not only is that extremely tacky but very inappropriate for the publisher of a local newspaper.

Learn more »

Frederick Hall: ‘Loud and clear?’

January 30, 2015 — 

I’m puzzled. Sen. Joni Ernst said in the Republican response to the State of the Union address that the Congress we elected in November “heard loud and clear” what we, the voters, want.

Activity in Congress indicates, though, that what the party actually heard (and what she actually played back) was its own campaign rhetoric.

Learn more »

Hemig: Where was Lake Olympia?

January 30, 2015 — 

“We didn’t have enough money to go in the correct way to pay a quarter to go swimming so we’d sneak in the back way to swim in the lake from the backside. That was a lot of fun!” Jim Moule confessed on the big screen during last year’s premiere presentation of The Union’s “Golden Stories of Our Past” film at the Del Oro Theatre.

Jim was referring to historic Lake Olympia, where he and his brothers, and many from the community, used to go to play in the water, relax and have family fun.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: Questions for American voters

January 29, 2015 — 

Economic prosperity is back, the unemployment rate has steadily gone down, millions of uninsured people now have medical insurance, the auto industry is healthy again, the stock market has hit an all time high — which in turn has improved 401(k) holdings of the middle class — gas prices keep going down, and Ebola is under control.

So why did voters give Republicans a lopsided victory in the midterm elections? Were voters unhappy that there are millions of more jobs, that the president has stimulated economic growth, worked at boosting wages, improving infrastructure, controlling health-care costs?

Learn more »

Who’s behind the huge undertaking in the sky?

January 29, 2015 — 

Jan. 14 was clear and beautiful at our home. As we packed for a drive to Folsom, we noticed one airplane laying down a streak of white across the perfect blue sky.

Driving toward Sacramento, we saw plane after plane laying white streaks overhead, streaks that slowly expanded and joined together. These were not contrails. They were too low and too long-lasting.

Learn more »

Lindy Schasiepen, Lindy Beatie: The Owl helps Nevada County children

January 29, 2015 — 

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County, along with The Owl Grill and Saloon, hosted a fundraiser on Jan. 22. What an amazing evening!

The iconic restaurant in downtown Grass Valley was full of friends enjoying a delicious meal, sharing stories and at the same time supporting the children in our community.

Learn more »

Byron York: Obama trolls, talks trash with a purpose

January 29, 2015 — 

Politically, President Obama has never been weaker, after losing both House and Senate. At the same time, he has never talked tougher. There is a connection between the two.

Obama recently told Democratic lawmakers that he’s going to “play offense” in coming months.

Learn more »

Amy Goodman: Civil rights — from Sundance, to Selma, to South Carolina

January 29, 2015 — 

PARK CITY, Utah — On March 21, 1915, a motion picture was screened for the first time inside the White House. President Woodrow Wilson sat down to watch D.W. Griffith’s “The Birth of a Nation.”

The film, considered one of the most nakedly racist of all time, falsifies the history of Reconstruction, depicting African-Americans, freed from slavery, as dominant, violent and oppressive toward Southern whites.

Learn more »

Gale Waggener: Lack of medical freedom is not new

January 28, 2015 — 

This letter is in support of the Bigelsens. After 40 years of severe rheumatoid arthritis, the last 25 in a wheelchair and treating with many alternative healers, I found Dr. Bigelsen and Josh.

Reluctantly, I had previously tried one of the RA drugs, which gave me some relief at first, then it seemed like it was attacking my body and making me worse. With Dr. Bigelsen, Josh and staff, I consistently improved, no longer needing drugs for pain, and lost 60 pounds of weight.

Learn more »

Donald M. Foster: In honor of both veterans and peace advocates

January 28, 2015 — 

Other Voices author William Larsen was insightful by mentioning Abdul Ghaffer Khan with our national holiday honoring Martin Luther King.

“Boko Haram” and other horrific Islamic fanatic crimes against humanity are the exception rather than the rule in the Islamic faith. Working collegially with Muslims over many years in Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, and the Maldives, never was I demeaned for having another faith. I was in Peshawar when the under house arrested Abdul Ghaffer Khan. “The Pathan Gandhi,” who died in 1988. I felt free to honor the memory of the man who walked hand in hand with Gandhi in 1947 in Calcutta on the street, separating thousands of the armed Hindus and Muslim faithful, thus saving untold numbers of wounded and dead.

Learn more »

Pat Rose: First of its kind GSA Summit a resounding success

January 28, 2015 — 

On Saturday, the Unitarian Universalist Community of the Mountains in Grass Valley was filled with the happy sounds of teenagers attending a summit to learn how to have effective and supportive Gay/Straight Alliances (GSAs) in their high schools.

They and some of their advisors came from 13 schools, including four local high schools and three community colleges. PFLAG and the GSA Network had been working together to plan this GSA Summit and anticipation was high for a wonderful event.

Learn more »

Joyce Hoffman: Tired of the way Grass Valley City Council has been running this town

January 28, 2015 — 

Publisher Jim Hemig’s column recently implied that a member of our community, Jim Firth, should stay out of politics.

Hemig has taken several potshots at Firth, but he cannot tell one of us that we should keep out of politics or stop trying to make a difference.

Learn more »

January 28, 2015 — 

Carrtoon

Learn more »

Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 27, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Throw out Bigelsen’s case

January 27, 2015 — 

We say “free Dr. B” because Dr. Harvey Bigelsen is a boon to this community with his fresh and progressive approach to healing.

There are many healing modalities of all sorts in this area. Surely there is room for Dr. B’s brand. Unconventional? Yes! Criminal? No!

Learn more »

Cheryl Wicks: 41 horse round-up a show of community compassion

January 27, 2015 — 

Kudos, blessings and thanks to the awesome people who came together to rescue 41 starving horses. It was truly astounding that so many people worked so hard for these precious horses.

It was a coming together of great diversity; Animal Control, the Sheriff’s Department, Sammie’s Friends, Freedom Sanctuary, numerous volunteers and, of course, a giant kudo to Horse Plus Humane Society who took most of the horses.

Learn more »

Stop the criminalization of aid-in-dying

January 27, 2015 — 

There are few, if any, decisions made in this life that are more important than how we end it, if we have any choice in the matter.

Sens. Lois Wolk and Bill Monning deserve our gratitude for introducing SB128 to stop the criminalization of aid-in-dying. The story of Brittany Maynard’s passing is one that is deeply inspiring.

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: Governor could, but won’t, dominate senate race

January 27, 2015 — 

If the current large corps of potential candidates for retiring U.S. Sen. Barbara Boxer’s job look to some like a gaggle of political pygmies, it might have something to do with the proverbial 800-pound gorilla lurking in their living room.

That would be Gov. Jerry Brown, who could most likely have the job for the asking.

Learn more »

Heidi Hall: State of the Union Address — bold or busted?

January 27, 2015 — 

Last week we heard President Obama’s next to last state of the union speech (or SOTU in political geek speak).

It was an optimistic speech. Why? Solid numbers show the economy recovering, he no longer feels responsible for keeping the Democrats unified in the solidly red Congress and, as he noted in his response to GOP schadenfreude over his ending term, he doesn’t have to run again.

Learn more »

Jack Sanchez: Nevada Irrigation District holding salmon hostage at Hemphill Dam to avoid correcting water rights violations

January 26, 2015 — 

Salmon are being held hostage by NID to pressure Foothill Water District (FWN), of which Save Auburn Ravine Salmon and Steelhead is a member, to withdraw its formal protest against NID to correct these water rights violations.

“Some have asked what our plan is for this site (Hemphill Dam) and that is a great question,” NID General Manager Remleh Scherzinger wrote. “We are currently negotiating with the Foothill Water Network regarding a filing with the State Water Resource Control Board (SWRCB) and Hemphill is caught in that process. I would imagine that as soon as those talks are complete we would begin working on a long-term solution to our problem.”

Learn more »

Travis Bashor: Great service at Les Schwab

January 26, 2015 — 

On Jan. 18 I had a wonderful service experience at Les Schwab in Grass Valley to get my tire, that had gone flat while driving, fixed.

When I walked in I was immediately greeted by Derick, wrote up a work order and said it would take about an hour. I walked over to Jamba Juice, then went back and had a seat in their waiting area.

Learn more »

C.J. Bryant: Back the blue

January 26, 2015 — 

Law enforcement officers nationwide are under attack. Let’s join with others across this great nation to show our support of those who serve and protect our communities. Our police, sheriff and California Highway Patrol have far too often been the target of criticism because of a “political agenda.” Let’s stand in honor of those who have fallen and those who carry on, day by day, to make our lives safer, while putting theirs at risk.

Let’s light up the blue! Let these brave men and women and everyone in Nevada County know we truly appreciate their service to our community, by wearing and showing their colors: The Ribbon of Blue. Wear it on your shirt, blouse or jacket. Blue ribbons will be available free at the next meeting of the Nevada County Tea Party at 6:30 p.m. Jan. 28 in Ponderosa Hall at the Nevada County Fairgrounds. For more information, email nctpinfo@gmail.com

Learn more »

George Boardman: Strong commitment needed to win the economic development game

January 26, 2015 — 

The Bethlehem Steel Corp. plant in South San Francisco was one of the biggest employers in San Mateo County when I was growing up in the ’50s, the provider of more than 1,000 blue-collar jobs for guys with little education but a willingness to work hard.

That plant, along with most of the American steel industry, is long gone. It has been replaced by, among other things, the headquarters of Genentech, the world’s largest biotech company. Those blue-collar workers have been replaced by several thousand well-educated (and highly paid) scientists, technicians and other professionals.

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

January 24, 2015 — 

Learn more »

Celia Painter: Where to go without insurance?

January 24, 2015 — 

On the first of January, I made a visit to Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital’s emergency room with shoulder pain and lack of arm usage — I needed an orthopedist — no local doctors were available in their office. The hospital had no orthopedist available at the time.

Next day my local orthopedist’s office first remark was, “I have to check with your insurance company.” Within a minute I was accepted, thanks to excellent insurance. I wondered: what would have been the fate of someone unfortunate, without insurance but in pain? Where would they go?

Learn more »

Rich Ulery: Vacancies on NCCFD’s oversight committee

January 24, 2015 — 

Are you interested in the financial health of your fire department? Do you want to ensure that the tax dollars you pay for fire protection, suppression, and emergency services are spent wisely?

The Citizens Oversight Committee of the Nevada County Consolidated Fire District (NCCFD) was established in 2013. Its purpose is to ensure that the tax revenue generated by the special tax measure approved by voters in 2012 is being spent by the District in accordance with the expectations of the voters.

Learn more »

Susan George: Jobs first for Penn Valley sustainability

January 24, 2015 — 

The State of California mandates high density zoning as a way to ensure that jurisdictions meet their required share of the Regional Housing Need Allocation (RHNA) for low-income housing. Like many rural counties, Nevada County must rezone a number of sites to satisfy this state mandate.

An important step in the process is that the selection of sites to be rezoned is determined locally, providing elected representatives with oversight and the ability to apply sound planning strategies that will encourage sustainable communities.

Learn more »

Don Joy: B&Bs only banned in Nevada City residential areas

January 24, 2015 — 

Contrary to Bob Nienaber’s recent letter to the editor, I don’t believe that the residents of Nevada City are opposed to Bed and Breakfast Inns. The issue is, should new B&Bs be allowed in our residential neighborhoods?

In 1994, the voters of Nevada City passed Measure G prohibiting new B&Bs in residentially zoned areas of Nevada City; read it again — residential areas. This has been the law for 20 years. B&Bs are businesses. They belong in areas that are zoned for general business; just like retail outlets, restaurants, markets, etc.

Learn more »

Toni Gomez: Frankie and Toni reunited after 63 years

January 24, 2015 — 

I was in nurse’s training at O’Connor Hospital in San Jose in 1951, when I met a guy with black curly hair, green eyes and the longest eyelashes I had ever seen.

He also had a smile that lit up the room.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top