Opinion

Larry Lansburgh: A conversation with Ambrose Bierce

September 27, 2016 — 

Ambrose Bierce and I settled into comfortable chairs on my deck to discuss the upcoming presidential election. I knew he could not tolerate opinions other than his own, but he was going to hear some from me.

Bierce had light blue eyes, and it almost seemed his gaze could punch holes in steel. He was about 6 feet tall, slender, with a clear complexion, and clean-shaven except for a bristling mustache. He was impeccably dressed in wool trousers and coat, his vest framing a dark tie precisely arranged in a starched collar. In spite of his civilian clothes, he had an unmistakable military bearing.

Learn more »

Robert Ingram: Glaring errors in recent Sierra Ecosystem comments

September 27, 2016 — 

Don Rivenes’ recent Other Voices reveals the same naiveté and lack of understanding of our Sierra fire evolved ecosystem that most environmentalists possess.

Our forests used to burn often, every seven to 15 years in the lower elevations and about four times a century in the higher elevations. Our forests retained around 60 to 90 tress per acre back then, as opposed to the 300 to 400 trees per acre today. Historically, the accumulation of ground fuel (the amount of burnable live and dead vegetation on the forest floor) and ladder fuels (the intermediate vegetation in between the ground fuel and the forest canopy) remained low.

Learn more »

Dick Panzica: On protests with our national anthem

September 27, 2016 — 

We recently have seen several pro athletes not standing for the playing of our national anthem. They have stated that they no longer believe our country is a just country, especially when it comes to minorities.

Yet look at all the minorities who have been elected to public positions, including our first black president. What are they missing? Maybe it starts with our public schools which no longer have students starting their day with our country’s pledge. Maybe they don’t have faith since prayer has be banned in our schools and other public places. Maybe they don’t know the true history of our great nation but dwell on the injustices of a hundred of years ago. Maybe there are too many Reverend Wrights poisoning naïve minds, like our present president.

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoons

September 27, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Margie Carr: Soroptimists' commitment to community service

September 27, 2016 — 

My Name is Margie Carr, some of you may know that I am a member of Soroptimist International of the Sierra Foothills (SISF). I have been a member for three years, and I am watching my own personal growth and friendships develop through the challenge of gifting my personal time back to the community where I grew up. During this time I have witnessed this nonprofit organization help women, and children as well as other nonprofit organizations in our community through the work of our members. Most rewarding is the love that I see from all of our members: A calling that we have on a personal level to help make the world a happier place for others. We, at SISF see a need for everyone in our community to live up to their full potential.

Nevada County is blessed with all the resources of generous donors and organizations willing to participate in helping someone in need. We are truly fortunate to live in such a loving environment. With this said, Soroptimist International of the Sierra Foothills would like to announce the availability of funds offered to our community’s nonprofit agencies or organizations which improve the lives of women and children in the community and throughout the world. In 2015 we funded $14,000 in mini-grants and have designated funds for 2016.

Learn more »

Mike Vasser: Comparing the two candidates

September 26, 2016 — 

In response to Terry McLaughlin’s editorial piece in the Sept. 16 edition of The Union, I am providing a quote from President Obama that provides a clear and succinct comparison of Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump:

“There’s been too much false equivalency and too clear of a double standard at play. So I want to take a minute to compare these two candidates, side by side.

Learn more »

Gary Bryant: Third parties do have an impact

September 26, 2016 — 

I just found out and am stunned of how the Nevada County League of Women Voters weren’t aware nor didn’t include candidate for State Assembly Donn Coenen in their debate. Also incumbent Brian Dahle didn’t go out of his way to help. Shame to both!

As former vice chair of Nevada County Libertarian Party, Donn is an independent person. Free thinking and has good common sense. I have known him for 10 years. We’ve worked together and had disagreements. He doesn’t totally agree with our political party and the State of Jefferson leaders. I find him very principled and a wonderful conservationist. He is a small business owner (tree farmer). He relates to common folks and small businesses which have been cutoff by our state government.

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: 'Make Russia great again'?

September 26, 2016 — 

The saying “A man is known by the friends he keeps” plays into the 2016 presidential election. Former Ku Klux Klan grand wizard David Duke is running for the U.S. Senate in Louisiana as a Republican, citing Donald Trump’s presidential campaign as his inspiration. “I’m overjoyed to see that Donald Trump and his supporters embrace issues that I have championed for years.”

Donald Trump has never made a secret of his creepy admiration for Russian President Vladimir Putin whom he calls a strong leader. Putin in turn, has used his state-controlled propaganda network, RT, to cheer Trump’s candidacy and attack Hillary Clinton. If Putin could design a candidate to undermine American interests — he’d look a lot like Donald Trump. Trump is a fellow authoritarian who would divide the U.S. along racial lines, alienate allies in Europe and the Middle East, and weaken our moral standing in the world. Trump’s campaign slogan might as well be “Make Russia Great Again.”

Learn more »

R.L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 26, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Carol Bentley: Do good instead protest

September 26, 2016 — 

I am finally fed up with the athletic divas sitting on the bench (Kaepernick) and his followers for having no respect for the flag.

The people who fought for this country and capitalism are the ones that allow them to earn their millions of dollars, if even sitting on the bench. All of you who are disrespecting the flag and earning millions about the oppression of blacks, you are a hypocrisy.

Learn more »

Hilary Hodge: Our next president: Does it matter?

September 26, 2016 — 

“Does it really matter who our next president is?” My mom asked me this question casually as we were sitting in her living room going through boxes of cookbooks.

She had CNN on mute in the background. My expression must have looked mildly horrified or somewhat confused because she added, “I mean, how much power does the President of the United States of America really have?”

Learn more »

Norm Sauer: Clinton unfit to lead

September 26, 2016 — 

On Friday before the long Labor day weekend the FBI dumped its documents about Hillary’s illegal server. The timing of the dump was probably with the hope that people were away from their homes and by their return the story would have passed from the news cycle.

The FBI’s data dump demonstrates Hillary is either dumb, dishonest or seriously mentally impaired.

Learn more »

Kevin Tarsa: Intent behind 'Black Lives Matter' banner

September 25, 2016 — 

After seeing the Black Lives Matter banner on the wall of the Unitarian Universalist Community of the Mountains, a banner since vandalized or stolen for the third time, Bob Williams asked in his Sept. 11 letter to The Union, “Does ‘Race Matter’ in Nevada County? Don’t we live in a color blind society? Isn’t this a racist sign?”

He is not the first to feel upset by the banner’s presence. Others have called the church to express discomfort or anger and to suggest instead the message “all lives matter.”

Learn more »

Bob Larimer: Thanks to Sierra Nevada Memorial, from Room 232

September 25, 2016 — 

This is a thank you to the fine people at Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital.

Last week after a bad break in my left leg, which required surgery on Friday to repair, and two days as a patient (Room 232). I want to thank all of the staff for their kindness and constant care in a very professional and friendly way. Thank you.

Learn more »

George Boardman: Support this state proposition because elected representatives hate it

September 25, 2016 — 

I know you’re not going to wade through all 224 pages of the state voters handbook — after all, you do have a life to live — so let me direct your attention to a proposition that should get your support because our state legislators hate it.

That would be Proposition 54, designed to make the state Legislature more thoughtful and transparent — and less secretive and slimy. The proposition advances these noble goals by requiring three things of the Legislature:

Learn more »

Dave Glubetich: Clinton cannot be trusted

September 23, 2016 — 

Are you excited about the prospects of the first woman president of the United States? Will you be voting for Hillary Clinton in November? Helping to make history.

But what if everything you hear, read or see just doesn’t add up? Could a vote for Hillary be a huge mistake?

Learn more »

Jim Firth: Hillary was wrong, but ...

September 23, 2016 — 

Hillary Clinton suggested that half of the Donald Trump supporters came from the “deplorable” baskets. As a candidate for president of the United States she should know that a comment like that will create immediate blowback, and it did.

Donald Trump managed to bring a new set of voters into the electoral process during the Republican Primary contests, and to many people’s surprise, actually won the Republican Presidential nomination. The new voters Mr. Trump appealed to certainly make an impact on the outcome, but who are they?

Learn more »

Don, Louise Warner: One Source Empowering Caregivers a huge blessing

September 23, 2016 — 

In August, it became apparent as seniors that we needed help. I was in desperate need for someone to drive me to an eye doctor appointment, as my husband no longer drives.

Donna Raibley and her new volunteer organization, One Source Empowering Caregivers, came through for us in a big way. I was not sure how I was going to make this appointment for my eye injection as we do not have family nearby to help.

Learn more »

R. L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

September 23, 2016 — 

Learn more »

Thomas Elias: TPP likely dead as written; what about a rewrite?

September 23, 2016 — 

Plenty of negatives have emerged from the ongoing presidential campaign: open bigotry has become more acceptable than it’s been for decades, foul language is more fashionable and so are pantsuits, and much more.

But one big positive also stands out. As now written, the Trans Pacific Partnership trade agreement is probably dead. And the way it’s now written is the only version that that counts for now, because sometime in the next few months, Congress must vote it up or down – no amendments allowed.

Learn more »

Chris Enss: Transients act like schoolyard bullies

September 23, 2016 — 

During September transients set two major fires in Nevada County; one behind CVS Pharmacy and another on South Auburn.

I found a transient sleeping in the back of my pickup when I came out of Staples and was verbally abused when I asked the man to get out of my automobile. While patronizing another local business, I witnessed a homeless man trying to break into the vehicles belonging to the staff of that business and another sleeping on the bench outside the entrance at that same company. The police were called, but did not respond.

Learn more »

Joyce Hoffman: With Grass Valley's approach, how long will our 'home' last?

September 23, 2016 — 

The Grass Valley Planning Commission wimped out by succumbing to the pressure of the true leader of our little city, Michael G. Colantuono. He is the attorney hired by the Grass Valley City Council to, seemingly, help in their efforts to completely Rosevillize Grass Valley.

The Grass Valley City Council’s mantra is “annex, build and develop land into taxable assets.” Their master planner is Mr. Colantuono who almost single-handedly dictated the decisions made recently by the planning commission.

Learn more »

Our View: Doing nothing will only increase the risk

September 23, 2016 — 

Admit it. Even when you heard word of the fire burning toward Empire Mine State Park — one week ago this afternoon — or even actually spotted the flames flying high into the sky, you just knew our firefighters would quickly contain the blaze.

And, of course, once again they did.

Learn more »

William Larsen: 'Despicable irreverence?' Really?

September 22, 2016 — 

I want to thank the writer (Sept. 17, letters to the editor) who asked folks to pray for me because of my “despicable irreverence” in referring to Donald Trump as the anti-Christ.

According to the writer, my use of that term was “revolting and sinfully judgmental” (no judgment there, right?), which “brought election rhetoric to a new low.” Could be, it’s not for me to say. But I do thank the writer for his prayers. As a flawed individual, I appreciate all I can get.

Learn more »

Tom Durkin: Words have repercussions

September 22, 2016 — 

The local homeless man accused of arson is not a “transient.” He’s lived here for years. I know him. Transients are generally just passing through.

Homeless seasonal agricultural workers (trimmigants) are transients. The fact that the local authorities and media don’t know the difference between a transient and a local homeless person is part of the homeless problem. We need to be aware of the difference between our local homeless people (some whose families have lived here for generations) and those who are just passing through.

Learn more »

Jeffrey Dupra: The whole picture

September 22, 2016 — 

Last Saturday I watched and waited collectively with others in our community as the Auburn Fire spread rapidly into Empire Mine Sate Park. Collectively, we thought of those whose homes and lives lay potentially in harm’s way, and envisioned ourselves, our loved ones, our property, our possessions under threat of fire and smoke. Collectively, we weren’t surprised to learn that the fire had started in a homeless camp.

As this information became known, collectively we reacted.

Learn more »

Ron Bost: Better banner?

September 22, 2016 — 

To the person who took down the “Black lives matter” banner in Grass Valley, I thank you.

To the church, I ask you to replace it with “All lives matter.”

Learn more »

Don Rogers: Even in paradise

September 22, 2016 — 

This is a great community, no question. I’m fully smitten, so I can’t think of better. All this and it’s not so far to the coast, either. Oh, and Lake Tahoe. Truckee’s even in the same county.

Sure, we have our problems here, too, we being humans and all. You do know Adam let that snake in the garden, right? No doubt from boredom.

Learn more »

Carole Bryant: Why become an Elk? It's a Grass Valley legacy

September 21, 2016 — 

Grass Valley Elks Lodge #538, part of one of the oldest fraternal orders remaining in the United States, and is still operating their “original” lodge in Grass Valley.

The order is distinctly American and was chartered as part of the Benevolent and Protective Society of Elks. The Lodge was established in 1900 with a handful of prominent Grass Valley businessmen, politicians, mine owners and managers. Among them the colorful, accomplished and ever popular, engineer, John F. Kidder. He was president of the Nevada County Narrow Gauge Railroad as well as the first Exalted Ruler of Grass Valley Elks.

Learn more »

Karin Robinson: It took a village to bring Rossi here

September 21, 2016 — 

On behalf of the Roamin’ Angel’s Car Club, we would like to thank a few people who were instrumental in getting Alexander Rossi to our Cruisin’ the Pines Car Show.

First of all, the second vice district governor of the Nevada City Lions Club, Doug Wight, coordinated with Jason Fouyer, mayor of Grass Valley. The Andretti Autosport group was then contacted and it blossomed from there. Having a hometown celebrity at our car show was an added attraction and well attended.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion »
Back to Top