Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Jennifer Nickel: Poachers encroaching on protected land

August 1, 2015 — 

Thanks to early conservation efforts, vast areas of prehistoric redwoods have been protected from logging where they survive in our state despite generations of an industrial economy.

These redwood forests are now under threat and help is needed if we want these ancient trees to continue into the future.

Learn more »

Donald Christensen: See 'The Producers' before it sells out

August 1, 2015 — 

My wife and I saw Sierra Stages production of “The Producers” last night. The show was very well done. Music, actors, set were very well done. The show as a whole is fantastic.

We recommend seeing the show. Please hurry and get your tickets, change your plans as I believe the show will sell very well through its run. If you are looking for an evening of pure fun, Sierra Stages mounting of Mel Brooks “The Producers” is it!

Learn more »

David Chapman: Hats off to President Obama

August 1, 2015 — 

Congratulations to President Obama and his team on what appears to be the successful negotiations with Iran over their nuclear program.

I just visited a half-dozen news sites and see that the usual suspects are still hoping to see him fail — and judging this accomplishment to be a failure even before the details have been published. I am a senior citizen who has voted for candidates on both sides of the aisle, but never been prouder of anyone that I supported.

Learn more »

Paul Berger: Facts just a mouse click away

August 1, 2015 — 

“Wake up Californians,” Dick Panzica’s letter to The Union ominously declares. Any time I read the phrase “wake up” I know what’s about to follow: a self-indulgent, uneducated rant.

Mr. Panzica is actually upset that California has a budget surplus, fearing it will go to teachers and the poor (heaven help us). Mr. Panzica’s letter represents a well-worn tactic of self-styled conservatives: take news that portrays Democrats in a flattering light and try to turn it against them. They did it to John Kerry, when the Swift-boaters took his undeniably heroic war record into tried to turn it into a tale of cowardice.

Learn more »

Laurent Clark: Political cartoon misses the mark

August 1, 2015 — 

The Union’s July 28 political cartoon of a gold panner is unfortunate. The Confederate flag represents institutionalized oppression by an illegal government whose proponents brutalized a race of people.

The Gold Rush was a mass migration of people from all over the world. There was no institutionalized government to prevent abuse of the weaker by the stronger. Whites brutalized Indians. Indians brutalized whites, Hispanics and other Indians. Germans brutalized Irish who brutalized Chinese. Mormons brutalized non-Mormons and other Mormons. Mexicans brutalized “Texicans” who returned the favor when they became stronger.

Learn more »

Richard and Wendy Chase: The kindness of strangers

August 1, 2015 — 

A few weeks ago my husband got a flat tire at the intersection of McCourtney and Lime Kiln roads. Many people stopped and offered to help, but my husband waved them on, saying he was OK.

One insistent couple stopped anyway. They got the car up on the jack and the flat tire off the vehicle. They lent him their cell phone to call me to come meet him with our other vehicle.

Learn more »

Mike Mooers: Support efforts to bring in a wider range of visitors to Nevada County

August 1, 2015 — 

Back when the Tour of California rolled through, a video was produced, “Ride Fast, Live Slow,” by the Nevada City Chamber. It lives on YouTube.

The video shows a place where young and old, active and retired coexist. It’s a place where people who live for some sweat-generating, fast-paced outdoor mojo share a place with people appreciating relaxed, easygoing living in a place steeped in history. It’s place where someone can enjoy and thrive in a life that involves all of the above.

Learn more »

Elaine Meckler: It's not a black-and-white issue

August 1, 2015 — 

I agree with the article titled “Local demonstrators support Black Lives Matter movement” that was written by Ivan Natividad and posted in The Union on July 10, that white supremacists have a very skewed opinion of anyone and everyone who is not of the “pure” Aryan race.

And, I agree with the photo that says that “BLACK LIVES MATTER,” because they do.

Learn more »

Terri Andersen: Strawser sole owner of Amgen event, not City of Nevada City

August 1, 2015 — 

This is in response to the “Our View” published in The Union on July 25 titled “Time to put our money where our mouths are.”

The theme of the “Our View” was that Nevada City Councilman Duane Strawser was being “stiffed” by Nevada City’s refusal to pay for the unexpected losses that he incurred at the recent Amgen bicycle event.

Learn more »

R. L. Crabb: It takes a village idiot

August 1, 2015 — 

It takes a village idiot

Learn more »

Ron Lowe: Walker not presidential material

July 31, 2015 — 

Republican presidential hopeful, Gov. Scott Walker of Wisconsin, is an anti-abortion extremist. With Madison, I’ve always considered Wisconsin a liberal state; where did he get the votes to become governor?

Last week, Gov. Walker signed a bill that outlaws non-emergency abortions at or beyond 20 weeks of pregnancy. Walker’s record also includes defunding Planned Parenthood, requiring doctors to have abortion privileges at nearby hospitals (now blocked by a federal court order), and requiring women to have and see ultrasounds. Walker sounds dictatorial, not the type of person to be president of the United States.

Learn more »

Isaac Orr: Fracking and water

July 31, 2015 — 

The guest column by Scott Costa, “Fracking and the California drought,” published on July 20, was an interesting read, but the article failed to put the amount of water used in the hydraulic fracturing industry into perspective. And, as a result, he overstated the impact of fracking on California’s water resources.

Seventy million gallons of water seems like a lot until you realize it amounts to only 0.0069 percent of all the water used in California, a tiny fraction of the state’s overall water use.

Learn more »

Jim Firth: The new water reality

July 31, 2015 — 

Climate Change is real. This opinion piece is not about whom or what caused it, but rather how we deal with it. I did write an opinion piece last April entitled, “When the Well Runs Dry” that summarized conditions that may lead up to mandatory water rationing. Fortunately, we’re not there — yet.

The following statement was in the April piece: “Western Nevada County doesn’t possess the aquifer storage ability that Truckee and much of the rest of rural California enjoy. The water in western Nevada County comes from rainfall and melting snowpack. We haven’t seen much of either in the last six months or three years.” California’s biggest source of fresh water is in peril. A new study in the journal Nature Climate Change shows the Sierra snowpack shrinking substantially in the years to come.

Learn more »

Jim Hemig: Let's dance

July 31, 2015 — 

Want to watch your publisher cut a rug? Well, at least make an attempt to do so?

You have an opportunity to see a preview of my dancing skills at our local Jazzercise studio next Saturday, Aug. 8.

Learn more »

Jack Sanchez: Please help struggling salmon in the Auburn Ravine

July 30, 2015 — 

Now that we know the NID’s Hemphill Dam violates two sections of the California Department Fish and Wildlife Code, send letters to Nevada Irrigation District (NID) asking GM Remleh Scherzinger and Board Chairman Jim Bachman to provide permanent fish passage over Hemphill Dam two miles upstream from Lincoln on Auburn Ravine.

NID has become a pariah water contractor concerned with its bottom line at the expense of the fishes it negatively impacts, sending water on a public waterway to its paying customers. NID has been singing a happy song for three years without action. Your voice will help salmon, so please write a letter.

Learn more »

Nate Wallin: Confederate flag very different from State of Jefferson flag

July 30, 2015 — 

The Confederate flag stands for many different things to many different people. I view the flag in many different ways myself.

But to believe that the State of Jefferson flag is just as much as the Confederate flag, you are misguided. For a person that is, I believe, educated you are highly misinformed. For an old saying “walk a mile in my shoes,” please become more aware of what the State of Jefferson is trying to do and stands for.

Learn more »

Alan Waters: First rate talent in The Producers

July 30, 2015 — 

There’s a local sweet treat and were not talking about the candy store. Last night we had the pleasure of enjoying our anniversary, locally. Our evening began at Friar Tucks for a delicious meal accompanied by beautiful music.

Next a play at the Nevada Theatre. “The Producers,” by Mel Brooks — you know has to be funny, right? It did not disappoint. The play is full of fun times, eye candy, great singing, dancing, acting and laughter. The costumes, sets and actors are first rate talent. We especially enjoyed the two main characters, Max and Leo.

Learn more »

George Harper: Not working for the benefit of Nevada City

July 30, 2015 — 

To Nevada City Councilmembers Jennifer Ray and Terri Anderson: Shame, shame on you.

After years of working on and chairing the Nevada City Classic race and getting the Amgen Tour here in Nevada City, you turned Duane Strawser down after his fronting $15,000 for the race.

Learn more »

Kathryn Jean Lopez: Mourning and second chances

July 30, 2015 — 

“This pain will come as a thief in the night. It will take away your peace if you let it; it will drag you into the harsh darkness of the misery of loss,” Maria Grizetti writes about the pain of losing a child.

And what if no one is mourning with you? What if you’re told there is nothing to mourn?

Learn more »

Amy Goodman and Denis Moynihan: Cincinnati and the murder of Samuel Dubose

July 30, 2015 — 

A stunning indictment has been handed down in Cincinnati, focusing attention again on police killings of people of color. Hamilton County Prosecutor Joseph T. Deters announced that University of Cincinnati Police Officer Ray Tensing has been charged with murder, for the July 19 shooting death of Samuel DuBose, a 43-year-old African-American man. Tensing pulled over DuBose because he was driving a car without a front license plate. As Deter said in his news conference: “He was dealing with someone without a front license plate. This is, in the vernacular, a very chicken-crap stop.” Tensing wanted to see DuBose’s driver’s license. When DuBose said he didn’t have it, Tensing made a motion to open DuBose’s car door. Within seconds of this interaction, Tensing’s right hand swung into the video frame with a pistol. He fired a single shot into DuBose’s head, which sent the car, with DuBose dead behind the wheel, rolling down the street, where it crashed to a halt. Before Tensing’s body-camera video was released, the officer claimed that his arm had been caught in the car, and he was dragged down the street. Another officer, Phillip Kidd, reported he saw the same thing. The video clearly debunked their version. Kidd should be arrested, too. Prosecutor Deters released Officer Tensing’s body-camera video, stating, “This is without question a murder.”

DuBose was killed about one week after another deadly traffic stop. In that case, in Waller County, Texas, 28-year-old Sandra Bland, also African-American, was pulled over by Brian Encinia, a white Texas State Trooper. Encinia claimed she had not signaled a lane change. The trooper’s dashboard camera recorded the stop. He demanded that Bland put out her cigarette, then told her to get out of the car, saying: “I’m giving you a lawful order. I am going to drag you out of there.” Bland can be heard saying: “You opened my car door. So you’re threatening to drag me out of my own car?” Encinia then shouted, “Get out of the car!” When Bland replied: “And then you’re going to assault me? Wow,” Encinia, brandishing a Taser, shouted: “I will light you up! Get out! Now!”

Learn more »

D.G. Engebretsen: Comparing utility meters

July 29, 2015 — 

Here’s a little something to be aware of regarding the utility (electric, gas, water, solar) meters on your home or property: you may not be getting what you think you are paying for.

If you already called your utility company and have “opted-out” of the “smart meter” program, you could possibly still be receiving smart meter radiation. That’s because some utility companies, including PG&E, are sometimes installing “Trojan Horse” utility meters on the homes of folks who have requested traditional safer analog meters. Then, the utility company commits further fraud and charges the unsuspecting customer its monthly extortionary opt-out fee.

Learn more »

Mindy Oberne: Kiwanis kicks in toward fall free medical clinic

July 29, 2015 — 

Thanks to the Gold Country Kiwanis for giving California Care Force the opportunity to do a presentation about the upcoming Free Health Care Clinic being held at the Grass Valley Veterans Hall Nov. 14-15.

Thanks also to Homer Nottingham, a Kiwanis member, who generously donated to the clinic, which is funded entirely by donations and operated by an all volunteer staff. We plan on serving 500 patients a day with medical, dental and vision care. Everyone is welcome. Kudos Kiwanis!

Learn more »

David Rubiales: The right to know

July 29, 2015 — 

Since July 1, 2014 the Nevada County Board of Supervisors has authorized $175,000 in expenditures for non-county employed attorneys in their fight against Penn Valley residents Peter and Juliette Lockyer over the county’s first and only “visually important ridge line.”

At the Nevada County Board of Supervisors meeting on July 21 the county staff requested that the supervisors authorize a further $100,000 expenditure for the same purpose, thereby upping the cost to $275,000 of taxpayer money. Thus far, the supervisors have not explained the purpose of these expenditures to their constituents. Don’t we have a right to know?

Learn more »

Hilary Hodge: Have you Yelped today?

July 29, 2015 — 

The people of Nevada County need to start using the app, “Yelp.”

I love that the people of Nevada County would rather ask a neighbor or browse a local forum for a restaurant recommendation before consulting a website or an app for dining advice. It shows that we have small-town pride and that we are willing to support our small businesses on a peer-to-peer level. I have enjoyed many nights out based on friends’ recommendations.

Learn more »

Sonia Delgadillo: Communication, community input not a priority for Nevada Joint Union board of trustees

July 29, 2015 — 

The Nevada Joint Union High School District Board held a special meeting on July 20 where it voted on important issues, yet notice about the meeting was difficult to come by and no media reported on the outcome. The following decisions impact our students.

First, though just a month earlier the district submitted a budget and LCAP (which identifies educational priorities) for public comment and a vote, at this meeting, a new expenditure of nearly $230,000 for Chromebooks was approved. This will come from additional one-time funding of $530 per student the state approved in June and added they had a plan for the remainder of these funds which they will present in August. District staff stated this funding came as a surprise in June implying that there was no opportunity for public input. The legislation is clear — as part of the new funding formula, the community is to have input into development of educational priorities.

Learn more »

John Carr: Carrtoon

July 29, 2015 — 

John Carr

Learn more »

George Boardman: Trump may be a clown, but he hit a nerve with many Americans

July 28, 2015 — 

Donald Trump, aka the clown with a comb over, has succeeded in exposing the angst of many Americans over our illegal immigration problem.

Of course, the man with the surprise hit summer TV series had to insult an entire race of people, alienate our neighbor to the south, and question the integrity of an American prisoner-of-war to make his point. But hey, anything’s fair in politics.

Learn more »

Audrey Ohlson Smith: The right to die on your own terms

July 28, 2015 — 

Thank you for the “Other Voices” by Kent Treiber regarding the right to die. I, too, am very saddened by the inaction of the Legislature on SB 128.

Whatever the Catholic church believes (and why should that matter to the Legislature), the church has no right to deny anyone the ability to make their own choices about their own lives.

Learn more »

Howard Kwasniewski: "The Producers' does not disappoint

July 28, 2015 — 

We went to Nevada Theatre last night and saw “The Producers.” This was by far one of the best local theater productions I have ever seen.

The acting was incredible and the music was perfect. Even though the performance was two and a half hours, it never felt long.

Learn more »

David Langness: Donate to the cause

July 28, 2015 — 

My wife and I decided to move to Nevada City two and a half years ago, stunned by the beauty we found here. I don’t mean the physical beauty — the mountains, meadows, forests and rivers — although the setting and the gorgeous environment definitely attracted us.

Instead, I mean the inner beauty of the people we had the privilege of meeting.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top