Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Obama’s “dangerous legacy?” I don’t think so

December 29, 2014 — 

Syndicated columnist Byron York’s headline says “Obama’s dangerous legacy for Dems.” What legacy is that Mr. York? Rescuing America from the Great Recession and fiscal crisis Republican voodoo economics brought about?

Will it be President Obama’s legacy of securing health care coverage for 10 million (so far) Americans with the Affordable Care Act, which the Republicans are still trying to repeal? Or will it be his legacy of immigration reform that John Boehner R-Ohio and Republicans delayed for years?

Learn more »

What about the legal aliens?

December 29, 2014 — 

Mr. Obama is giving amnesty to millions of illegal aliens and allowing them to get a driver’s license (is knowing how to speak, read and write English a priority?).

What about the millions of legal aliens living in the U.S. who would love to become a citizen but can’t afford the fees, take the time off work to drive to Sacramento or San Francisco, take the citizen test and then go back and forth sometimes two to three times before being able to stand with others, raise their right hand to pledge allegiance?

Learn more »

Filled with love

December 29, 2014 — 

Once again I have been blessed with the outpouring of gifts and love from Senior Outreach nurses and the holiday crew. I opened the card and ate the cookies. The rest my kitty and I will save for Christmas Day. God bless.

Donna Day

Learn more »

An open letter to our congressman

December 29, 2014 — 

Dear Mr. LaMalfa,

I request that you please consider these points before you vote to get rid of the Affordable Care Act and work for a Republican healthcare plan.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 27, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Who wants noisy out of town neighbors?

December 27, 2014 — 

The Nevada City Kendall House B&B controversy raises many conflicting issues as noted by the recent editorial comments of Jesse Connor, Evans Phelps and Don Joy. I have to applaud Jesse Connor for his efforts by actually going out and conducting a “survey” on behalf of our community.

However, I must disagree with Connor’s “survey” results because, as most people should know, any desired “survey” results can be had depending on how that process is conducted. Unbiased third-party organizations normally carry out such surveys to assure reliable results. Question wording alone can elicit any desired result and survey questionnaires use neutral wording if the survey is to show realistic results. I’m sure I can “survey” 34 people in downtown Nevada City, as Connor did, and get completely opposite results. Consequently his “survey,” despite good intentions, doesn’t prove anything.

Learn more »

Bigelsen cured a five-year chronic infection

December 27, 2014 — 

Before seeing Harvey Bigelsen I had a chronic ear infection for five years. I tried many natural approaches and finally decided to see an ear, nose, and throat “specialist.” The specialist said he can give me antibiotics but it would only temporarily get rid of the infection because I had a hole in my ear drum. He said I would not be able to get water in my ear for the rest of my life or the infection would return due to the stagnant water lingering in the ear. A friend told me about Bigelsen so I made an appointment. Three appointments later the infection was gone. It has been fives years since then and the infection has not returned. I can swim and shower without the worry of getting water trapped in my ear and getting another infection.

Matthew Brown

Learn more »

Thank you for your service

December 27, 2014 — 

As I sat down in my easy chair to enjoy “The Union” and my morning coffee on this dreary overcast day, I opened the paper to see a picture of an American hero being welcomed and escorted through the Sacramento International Airport by an honor guard. I looked at the wonderful smile on his face as he walked along and it brought sunshine to my day. You truly did brighten my day as I hope it did others. I thank you for your service, Louis Conter and to all of the American service men.

Carol Marquis

Learn more »

The Sony affair

December 27, 2014 — 

The recent ‘Sony Affair’ has, in my opinion, been a terrible chapter in American history. First, you have the hacking of Sony’s emails and other internal correspondence which several media outlets chose to publicize under the guise of ‘Free Speech.” Hacking into anyone’s private records without their permission should be a crime and publishing that stolen data should also be a crime. ‘Free Speech’ is only a right to say whatever you think and to quote other information that you have legal access to or is in the public domain. Secondly, Sony’s decision to make a movie wherein the theme is to assassinate the living head of state of another country is not only detestable but also in terribly bad taste (which unfortunately has never stopped Hollywood before). Would we stand for anyone making this kind of movie about a United States president, or any other living person for that matter? I don’t think so. If this is Sony’s best shot at making a buck, they should get out of the business. It’s also sad to say that I feel the public’s reaction to this entire incident is a sad commentary on our moral fiber.

Ronald Avanzino

Learn more »

Holiday eviction flies in face of human kindness

December 27, 2014 — 

I read today that the residents of one Greg Zaller’s Co-Living homes will be forced to move out before Dec. 29, due to an ordinance by the city of Grass Valley. Greg Zaller, they say does not have the necessary permits to allow the house to be a residential building.

I cannot believe the callousness of such a request during the holidays. The residents are happy living there, as they say. It gives them the opportunity to turn their life around from addiction and homelessness. It certainly is better than living in the streets in the winter. Could they not give him more time, if the permit is required? I understand that these permits are also very expensive.

Learn more »

Community pitches in for Big Brothers Big Sisters’ holiday party

December 27, 2014 — 

On behalf of the 110 Bigs and Littles that attend this year’s Big Brothers Big Sisters’ holiday party, a BIG thank you to the following folks who made it such a success: Joey Bratton’s Fit Culture Studio, Briar Patch, SPD Markets, First Baptist Church; our volunteers: Tori, Lurelle, Babe, Justine, Shelly, Gordon, Frank, and the many members of Fit Culture Studio and customers of SPD Market/Nevada City that bought presents and gift cards to make our children’s Christmas a little brighter. A special thanks to Thom Stauser for the donation of food and toys for our families. It can be rough this time of year for many of our Nevada County families, however all of you stepped up to make the season joyous, if just for a small moment. Merry Christmas to all from the board of director and staff at Big Brothers Big Sisters of Nevada County.

Lindy Beatie, executive director

Learn more »

Environmental impacts of building a new school

December 27, 2014 — 

In response to the Dec. 19 article in The Union, I offer the following clarification.

The Yuba River Charter School plans have yet to address the main concerns of the neighbors in the Adams Avenue, Squirrel Creek Road and Rough and Ready Highway areas, as follows:

Learn more »

Proud to work alongside this community

December 27, 2014 — 

It’s Christmas Eve day and I am reflecting on this past year at Interfaith Food Ministry, most recently our Christmas distribution.

Once again, I am overwhelmed by the tremendous need in our community and totally blown away by your generous response to help fill that need. I am thinking of each of you right now and the monumental commitment you have made to IFM.

Learn more »

Elias: Vote exposes extent of campus anti-Semitism

December 27, 2014 — 

THOMAS ELIAS

California Focus

Learn more »

Affordable Care Act is good for rural Californians

December 26, 2014 — 

Living in a rural community shouldn’t have to come with a hefty price tag for healthcare. Thanks to the Affordable Care Act, it no longer has to.

The Affordable Care Act (ACA) is already making a difference in the lives of millions of rural Americans, including families right here in California.

Learn more »

Hemig: ‘So, publishers can do what they want?’

December 26, 2014 — 

Julie Baker, executive director for the Center for the Arts, kindly asked me last week, “So, publishers can do what they want?”

She brought this up after I mentioned a personal interest in supporting the collaboration of human service nonprofits.

Learn more »

A one-of-a-kind celebration of Christmas

December 25, 2014 — 

When the “War to End All Wars” began in August, a hundred years ago, governments on both sides were so sure of a quick victory that they assured their soldiers that they would be home by Christmas.

As a line of opposing trenches stretched from the English Channel to the Alps and men settled into living ankle deep in mud and futile suicide attacks against entrenched riflemen, machine guns and cannons, the men soon realized it to be a vain hope.

Learn more »

The words of Christmas

December 25, 2014 — 

During these days of the Christmas season, it seems appropriate to revisit words like “Christmas,” “nativity”, and “holidays” and to remember the history and meaning of these familiar terms.

“Christmas” is derived from the title “Christ” given to Jesus of Nazareth, from whom the Christian faith has arisen.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Dec. 24, 2014

December 24, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Is there a reason for this season?

December 24, 2014 — 

On the shallow surface, some people only see Christmas as a time for “stuff”: candy canes, caroling, toys, decorated trees, egg nog, parties, and that rotund, jolly, white-bearded guy with the red suit — and don’t forget the sometimes ominous credit card balances.

“Santa,” as we know him, is a combination of many different legends; the American version of the Santa Claus figure received its inspiration and name from the Dutch legend of Sinterklaas brought by early settlers to New York in the 17th century.

Learn more »

Excellent care at Golden Empire

December 24, 2014 — 

My mother has recently passed away. She was a resident at Golden Empire for the last two and a half years.

I would like to publicly thank the staff at Golden Empire Nursing and Rehabilitation Center. I visited frequently and always seem to catch at least one member of the staff in an act of kindness. Mom was always treated with respect and care. It was as if Mom was a member of their family and not a resident there. Everyone from nursing, housekeeping, dietary, and the front office were great.

Learn more »

Grateful for Dr. Bigelsen’s therapies

December 24, 2014 — 

I am a two-time breast cancer survivor. After my initial diagnosis, I scheduled an appointment with Dr. Bigelsen who quickly confirmed my illness upon examination of my blood.

While I endured years of conventional treatments to fight the disease, Dr. B was always available to help support my body with his supplemental therapies. His advice was exceptional.

Learn more »

What has Hillary done to deserve my vote?

December 24, 2014 — 

So, the Taliban goes into a school and murders 141 people, 132 children.

Presumptive presidential nominee Hillary Clinton says these are the people we must “empathize with” and “respect.” Really? Seriously?

Learn more »

Controlling weight gain during the holidays

December 24, 2014 — 

’Tis the season of holiday goodies, extravagant meals and party snacks. While many of us tell ourselves that this is “just once a year,” we forget that overindulging can cause unwanted weight gain.

In fact, the average American typically gains five to eight pounds between Halloween and New Year’s Day. A little indulgence is OK, but too much can result in extra pounds that are hard to lose after the holidays.

Learn more »

Hot water for Christmas

December 24, 2014 — 

I don’t want to use my last name because I don’t want my children to know that I’m struggling financially. I have been living without hot water for quite a while because it would cost too much to fix.

I would like to thank A to Z Supply for giving me a new, free water heater and to ABT Plumbing for installing it free of charge.

Learn more »

Local businesses go the extra mile for anniversary party

December 24, 2014 — 

Pete and Synthia Vasilakos of Big Oak Valley would like to thank Antonio of Antonio’s Catering for serving a great meal for all 90 guests and also D.J. Ed and Debby Lawson for playing all our favorite music that we danced to at our 50th anniversary party.

Pete Vasilakos

Learn more »

Choose a compassionate option, not fur

December 24, 2014 — 

Thank you for covering the story about the protest in Nevada City regarding the fur industry. Anal electrocution, steel jaw traps, clubbing — all are common methods used to kill animals for their pelts.

No matter how one rationalizes the desire to wear fur, the suffering inflicted on the animals is undeniable.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

December 23, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Dear Mr. Bigelsen

December 23, 2014 — 

Dear Mr. Bigelsen and family — thank you!

Not one single thing, can I think of to write.

Learn more »

The most wonderful time of the year? For some, holidays are the hardest

December 23, 2014 — 

Now is the time of year for bright lights, jingle bells, Christmas carols and thoughtful gift-giving. While “Merry and Bright” rings true for many during December, this season can bring up difficult emotions for others.

Typically people spend time with family and friends during the holidays — sharing joy and laughter, memories and traditions — but not everyone looks forward to the holidays.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top