Opinion, Analysis, Discussion

Congressman could benefit from larger turnout

August 27, 2014 — 

Our scarce Republican Congressman, Rep. Doug LaMalfa, who normally sends his aides to hear the concerns of constituents, and who doesn’t even show up for candidate forums, held court in Grass Valley City Hall on Friday morning, Aug. 15. In person!

The city council chambers were only about a quarter full. Polled as to how they heard about the meeting, most had received an email sent only to Republicans, two or three read it in the paper, several heard by word of mouth.

Learn more »

Community support for InConcert Sierra, Sierra Master Chorale

August 27, 2014 — 

As artistic director of InConcert Sierra and Sierra Master Chorale, I’m enjoying recollections and feeling proud of the 2013-14 season of exceptional classical music we brought to our community.

I wish to thank our valued contributors, advertisers, volunteers, media sponsors, musicians, board members and audiences for their enthusiastic support. Thanks also to the Grass Valley Seventh-day Adventist Church congregation, Pastors Jeff Richards and Tim McMillen, and secretary Anna McMillen for welcoming the performance of great music in the wonderful acoustic of the SDA sanctuary.

Learn more »

Meet The Union Editorial Board

August 27, 2014 — 

Andy Burton

Andy Burton has been a business owner and entrepreneur for the past 15 years. He is the owner of Full Spectrum Marketing Services, where he works with clients, both local and out of the area, to “manage their messaging” and ultimately grow their businesses. He has a corporate background in energy management software and systems having worked with clients in Australia, France and many other European countries.

Learn more »

Carrtoon: Aug. 27, 2014

August 27, 2014 — 

Learn more »

No laughing matter

August 26, 2014 — 

I was as stunned as anyone when I heard about the death of Robin Williams.

My first thought? Too young — far too young. Only 63. Especially now that 60 is the new 40.

Learn more »

What’s with the lenient plea bargains?

August 26, 2014 — 

The Tuesday, Aug. 12, edition featured Liz Kellar’s thorough recounting of Samuel Adams’ alleged extensive criminal history over the last two years.

His list of felonies, misdemeanors and failures to appear are shocking.

Learn more »

Nevada County fair supports 4-H

August 26, 2014 — 

I’m so thankful for the wonderful opportunity that Nevada County youth have to raise, exhibit and auction animals at the fair and to show their still exhibits. It was recently brought to my attention that many communities no longer have fairs because they were not able to be fiscally viable. I appreciate that we have an excellent fair CEO and board of directors. I am also aware that we have a tremendously supportive community that believes in and generously supports the youth. As a parent, teacher and 4-H leader, I see the difference they make in children’s lives.

Julie Bousfield

Learn more »

Tesla has state walking a tightrope

August 26, 2014 — 

And so California government now walks a tightrope, put in that position by one of the latest in the large corps of successful high-tech startups this state has spawned over the last few decades.

Make a misstep in one direction and the state stands to lose a huge battery plant and 6,500 jobs.

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

August 26, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Whose freedom is being tread on?

August 24, 2014 — 

If we are treading on Nancy Eubanks’ freedom (“Don’t Let Your Freedom Tread On Me,” Aug. 4)., we would be happy to stop if she would do the same for others. How have we stepped on her reproductive freedom and freedom from religion?

Birth control products and abortions are certainly available. The issue is who will be forced to pay for these choices. The answer is she should pay for her own free choices. After all, she makes a strong point for women having advanced in the job market so why is it a “war on women” to ask them to pay for their own birth control and abortions, both of which are legal in our country.

Learn more »

Over-reaching Outdoor Events Ordinance needs to be stopped

August 24, 2014 — 

On Aug. 12, I attended a mind-numbing Board of Supervisors meeting, with a morning session to review the Outdoor Events Ordinance and an afternoon session to review the same ordinance.

I obtained my “clean copy of the Outdoor Events Ordinance” that same day from our County Counsel Alison Barratt-Green, who was very helpful and explained to me the background and the intention of the ordinance. No small task.

Learn more »

Boardman: The hungry don’t care if food is genetically engineered or grass-fed

August 24, 2014 — 

I don’t know about you, but I don’t care how far the bees that make my honey stray from their hives.

If you are like me, you are clearly not part of the anti-GMO, all natural, farm-to-fork food fetish the United States in currently experiencing. You see, those bees might be feeding on nectar or pollen from GMO crops, making the honey verboten for the growing legions of righteous eaters in our midst.

Learn more »

Special thanks

August 23, 2014 — 

The Peace & Justice Center of Nevada County Directors would like to thank all who helped make our fair booth, “Our Children Need Peace to Thrive,” a great success.

This includes our 31 volunteers from the Brady Campaign, Grandmothers for Peace, Palestine/Israel Working Group, The Peace Alliance, Woolman Semester, Kentucky Flat Preschool, Communities Beyond Bias, Nevada County Drone Watch, Occupy BAFB and the Nevada County Fair Board, staff and the pubic.

Learn more »

BOS chair’s rebuttal lacks any supporting data

August 23, 2014 — 

On several occasions in the recent past and finally at the Aug. 12 Nevada County Board of Supervisors meeting, Chair Nate Beason has made public comments in an attempt to discredit the economic impact estimate prepared through the dedicated work of a dozen or more Nevada City Chamber of Commerce members affected by the recently passed Outdoor Events Ordinance.

This estimate was prepared using a combination of sources: a survey of the affected businesses, county recorder data enumerating the total number of weddings performed in Nevada County in 2013, economic information from a national wedding industry association, and some background research by a Dean of Business at a College in Bangor, Maine (a community with similarities to our own) on the “tourist dollar multiplier effect”. We are confident this is the best information available.

Learn more »

Retaliation on the ridgeline?

August 23, 2014 — 

In my opinion, the Board of Supervisors made a foolhardy decision by denying the appeal of the Lockyer/Ericksons regarding the deed restrictions the county wants to place on their property. The lone “no vote” was by Supervisor Anderson, who by his comments and examples showed the best understanding of the issues being debated.

By denying the appeal we taxpayers will likely pay an extreme price to cover the damages and legal expenses incurred by the Lockyer/Ericksons if their position (as more or less confirmed by the Superior Court’s recent ruling) is affirmed and upheld in the lawsuits that have been filed and will now proceed.

Learn more »

Water bond will prepare state for the next drought

August 23, 2014 — 

There’s an old saying that the best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago, but the second-best time is now.

The same holds for building reservoirs.

Learn more »

I’ll miss you, Nevada City

August 23, 2014 — 

I would like to comment on the “smoking” ordinance in Nevada City.

It’s my opinion the city council are a narrow-minded, short-term thinking kinda folk. A lot of people with good money to spend have enjoyed that beautiful little town in the past. My wife and I can be counted among those people. We will unfortunately have to find another town to adopt, as we also smoke. I hate the decision the council is rendering, but my civil liberties are in jeopardy and will not have a “nanny” telling me what and where I may do things.

Learn more »

Our view: Enthusiasm for our community can overcome apathy

August 23, 2014 — 

“The death of democracy is not likely to be an assassination from ambush. It will be a slow extinction from apathy, indifference, and undernourishment.”

— Robert M. Hutchins American educator and writer

Learn more »

Crabb: It Takes a Village Idiot

August 23, 2014 — 

Learn more »

Hemig: The Union’s new community editorial board

August 22, 2014 — 

“How could you put Stan Meckler on the editorial board?” was one comment I received.

“Reinette Senum is an interesting choice for The Union’s board,” was another emailed to me last weekend, after The Union announced it would add eight new board members to create a 15-person community-based editorial board.

Learn more »

Gaza conflict could be stopped

August 21, 2014 — 

Israel could easily bring all of this violence and carnage to a screeching halt. They could stop using heavy military equipment, creating massive death and carnage.

Equipment we in the United States provide to them with no strings attached. They are militarily occupying another country and have been for over 50 years.

Learn more »

Open letter to parents, teachers and taxpayers

August 21, 2014 — 

I would like to reiterate my position on an agenda item for the Aug. 13 meeting, regarding the Nevada County Board of Education reviewing monthly expense reports from the superintendent.

This agenda item rests on a flawed premise by asking whether or not the County Board of Education will follow California Education Code

Learn more »

I-80 diversion: lower the road, don’t raise the bridges.

August 21, 2014 — 

Regarding diverting traffic from I-80 down Highway 49:

What about lowering the roadway 16 inches? That’s a heck of a lot faster and simpler than raising all seven bridges (especially the rail crossing). Some quick digging tractor work and repaving (Hansen Bros?). Possibly a slow seven days work each? All at once? Two days of ripping up concrete. One day tractor regrading. One day pour. Three days or more concrete curing?

Learn more »

Everything I’m against

August 21, 2014 — 

Regarding the guest column, “Who is Jim Firth?” by Keoni Allen on Aug. 15, it was a great reply to Jim Hemig’s original column.

What makes it special is that our merchants put in very long hours, and it takes time for a person who is tired to take the time out to reply to Jim Firth.

Learn more »

“Good ol’ boy”: complimentary or derogatory?

August 21, 2014 — 

Publisher Jim Hemig, in his recent article, fails to capture the essence of the meaning of “good ol’ boy.”

“Good ol’ boy” around here refers to a group of people who support and protect the status quo. “good ol’ boys or girls” may have arrived here a few months ago, or they may have lived here all their lives.

Learn more »

A kind citizen’s cane

August 21, 2014 — 

Kudos to Bea, a receptionist and ticket vendor at the Nevada County Fair, who, when I asked her if there were any “cane vendors” at the fair, graciously loaned me her cane for the day.

I had inadvertently left my cane at home.

Learn more »

York: Gloomy, frantic Dems plead for more money

August 21, 2014 — 

I’ve been getting a lot of email from Democratic fundraisers lately. They seem very worried about November’s elections.

First came the highly publicized “Impeachment Red Alert” campaign, in which the Democratic congressional committee warned that Republicans will impeach President Obama if they win control of the House and Senate. Though much ridiculed, the “Impeachment Red Alert” effort was a big winner, pulling in $2.1 million in small donations in a single weekend.

Learn more »

Goodman: The ghost of Dred Scott haunts the streets of Ferguson

August 21, 2014 — 

The ghost of Dred Scott haunts the streets of Ferguson.

Thousands have been protesting the police killing of Michael Brown, an unarmed African-American teenager in the St. Louis suburb of Ferguson.

Learn more »

Facts important in understanding Gaza conflict

August 20, 2014 — 

I need to respond to an article written by Karen DeHart regarding the conflict in Gaza because it is full of prejudicial half-truths.

DeHart writes: “The Israelis are bombing defenseless people who are already their prisoners.”

Learn more »

Fundraiser yields more than $6,000 for mammography

August 20, 2014 — 

Hey fellow Nevada Countians. The next time you see Steve Loomis at Hills Flat Lumber, Robert Bare, Scott Mantel, and/or Jaysen McDaniels, be sure to give them kudos for their generosity as volunteer officials at the “2014 Saved by Second Base” fundraiser.

Proceeds exceeded $6,000 and are available to cover mammography and diagnostic costs. Anyone in need should see Melisa Agness at Insight Imaging to take advantage of Sb2B funds.

Learn more »
View 20 More Stories in Opinion, Analysis, Discussion »
Back to Top